How Long Have You Been Posting?

Early 00s I think. Have seen many WUM posters over the years PaddyOGall, Ballboy, Liathroidboy, TheMaster, Loyal2theRoyal. Some great posters of the past as well like Patrique, Hurlingdub, Cuederocket.... They could really enhance the forum by converting it to a Bulletin Board with user stats, avatars, ability to edit your own posts and so on. It hasn't really come on technically over the past 20 years.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 01/10/2019 15:17:19    2240669

Replying To Joxer:  "Early 00s I think. Have seen many WUM posters over the years PaddyOGall, Ballboy, Liathroidboy, TheMaster, Loyal2theRoyal. Some great posters of the past as well like Patrique, Hurlingdub, Cuederocket.... They could really enhance the forum by converting it to a Bulletin Board with user stats, avatars, ability to edit your own posts and so on. It hasn't really come on technically over the past 20 years."
Did Patrique pass away? He was from Antrim if I recall correctly. I vaguely remember something like some poster came on and told everybody he had passed away or have I my wires crossed?

Dessie_Cross (Armagh) - Posts: 142 - 01/10/2019 15:28:13    2240672

Jaysus good question. If memory serves me correct I joined around 2009 or 2010 though I had been a regular visitor for a couple of years before actually creating an account. Can't remember the trigger or who said what to make me go to the bother of having an account but something obviously annoyed me more than the normal things that annoy me.....

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 01/10/2019 15:48:52    2240685

Replying To Dessie_Cross:  "Did Patrique pass away? He was from Antrim if I recall correctly. I vaguely remember something like some poster came on and told everybody he had passed away or have I my wires crossed?"
Ah ye he did. His son came on to tell us at the time. He suffered no fools and the place was all the better for him being here. I think that was either in 2010 or 2011?

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 01/10/2019 15:54:10    2240688

Replying To cavanman47:  "JayoCluxton was a good poster too. Is he around under a new username these days?

Will be red thumbed for saying it but Snuff was a pain in the hole most of the time.

Is Horse from Laois still here?

Orlaith from Derry was the original Lady of HS, Jackeen. But you've well outlasted her at this stage!

Jim from Wexford still gets my vote for the greatest post I've seen on here after the 08 hurling final. He disappeared afterwards. Seem to recall he posted an illegible message once about 2 years later but I could be mistaken."
Oh jesus ye remember Orlaith! :) Jim's post will go down as one of the all time greats. Somebody posted it up again there only this year again. JayoCluxton lives on I'm sure. As does Loyal2theRoyal. Do you remember Moo Moo? Jaysus he was insufferable. Ditto the Master. Gas all the same.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 01/10/2019 15:58:01    2240689

Replying To Dessie_Cross:  "Did Patrique pass away? He was from Antrim if I recall correctly. I vaguely remember something like some poster came on and told everybody he had passed away or have I my wires crossed?"
Passed away unfortunately.

A gentleman of the highest order.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13704 - 01/10/2019 16:43:08    2240700

Replying To Jackeen:  "Oh jesus ye remember Orlaith! :) Jim's post will go down as one of the all time greats. Somebody posted it up again there only this year again. JayoCluxton lives on I'm sure. As does Loyal2theRoyal. Do you remember Moo Moo? Jaysus he was insufferable. Ditto the Master. Gas all the same."
Insufferable would be one word for the master alright.
There was another lad way back called Paidi the Saviour. He was around when Paidi O'Se was with Westmeath.
I never had strong feelings about Westmeath either way but that guy made it difficult to like them.
Two best posters IMO are Ollie and GaryMc82 (the chap from Derry). Both very fair minded. Think Ollie is still around, not sure about the other lad.

Greenfield (Meath) - Posts: 522 - 01/10/2019 17:12:25    2240711

He did indeed. He passed away in 2011

http://www.hoganstand.com/forum/Details/69613?County=National&PageNumber=0&TopicID=69613

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 01/10/2019 17:16:20    2240712

Ah lads I'm after being in stitches here going back over old threads. Orlaith started a thread saying how she pictured posters on here. Paddyogall posted this...;))))

Jackeen: Likes to hang out on talbot street with her mates, Enjoys Flagons of Linden Village cider. Loyal2theroyal: An all round top guy Dellboypolecat: A 12 year old boy. Likes making paper airplanes, eating sweets Runrua: Failed trader, lost Millions when the Dot com bubble burst, now works with the Public sector as a financial anaylist Orlaith: Bit immature. Still believes in santa Claus, the tooth fairy God etc What i am really like Paddyogall: Very successful, Super Intelligent. BEng in Civil Engineering. Masters in Energy Futures, Hoping to do my MBA in the Michael Smurfitt school of Business. 28 years old. I dabble in the futures market

paddyogall (Mayo) - Posts: 5110 - 24/09/2009 11:09:56    435069

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 01/10/2019 17:52:40    2240723

I remember reading posts in 2007 but did not sign up until late into the 2008 season around the time of cork v kerry and cork v kilkenny semi finals..there wasn't much of cork voice to be heard on it back then and sort of the same today...don't post too often as I try go for quality posts rather than quality ;)

pidge (Cork) - Posts: 543 - 01/10/2019 18:22:08    2240727

Replying To cavanman47:  "JayoCluxton was a good poster too. Is he around under a new username these days?

Will be red thumbed for saying it but Snuff was a pain in the hole most of the time.

Is Horse from Laois still here?

Orlaith from Derry was the original Lady of HS, Jackeen. But you've well outlasted her at this stage!

Jim from Wexford still gets my vote for the greatest post I've seen on here after the 08 hurling final. He disappeared afterwards. Seem to recall he posted an illegible message once about 2 years later but I could be mistaken."
Agree with all of this, i think it's just the dubs who championed snuff, i thought he was an a hole meself.. ruanua was another great poster!

achara (Monaghan) - Posts: 561 - 01/10/2019 19:07:32    2240733

Replying To Greenfield:  "Insufferable would be one word for the master alright.
There was another lad way back called Paidi the Saviour. He was around when Paidi O'Se was with Westmeath.
I never had strong feelings about Westmeath either way but that guy made it difficult to like them.
Two best posters IMO are Ollie and GaryMc82 (the chap from Derry). Both very fair minded. Think Ollie is still around, not sure about the other lad."
Ollie is excellent.

The man has some knowledge on the history of the games.

He doesn't post anywhere near as much as he used to.

Cuederocket was a poster I got on well with in the past. He's not on here ever now and I'd love to know that nothing had happened to him.

Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts: 4207 - 01/10/2019 19:22:25    2240737

Replying To johnnos bulls:  "Since 03/04 i'd say too. Ballboy was the man. He had a tenth of the country wound up."
I've been reading the site on off for years but kinda forgot about it for a while and signed up about 2 years ago as it's my only place to chat GAA most times as I live abroad.

As for Ballboy was he the "GODS or what" fella

Breezy (Limerick) - Posts: 1236 - 01/10/2019 19:22:40    2240738

i'd say i am here since around 2001/2001
Myself and Holymoly joined at same time
Had some great debates down the years with the like of Fear an Srath Ban, Aidan Galway, Thomas Clarke, Jayocluxton, Shinners, Loyal2daRoyal etc
Mes, I'd say your the one I know longest on here, yourself and Breffni? Didn't we figure we were both in the tide after the final in 13 but didn't realise it.

Met Real Kerry Fan once or twice down the years.

Patrique was great, God rest him. Few videos of him going around a while back in his Antrim gear :)

Snuff is a legend. He played a stereotype and ye all fell for it :) Legend of a man!!

Jackeen, I remember when you were only a kitten on here! Look at you know, the Queen of feckin Sheba!! :)

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 01/10/2019 19:39:19    2240741

Around 2008. Had more time on my hands in the early post college years. A lot of the posters such as HagandChesse have long since disappeared.

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 01/10/2019 19:44:41    2240742

Yes he has passed to the great forum above

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 01/10/2019 20:01:29    2240744

3 years, but 2 accounts got banned for trolling HS as Gaeilge and also banned recently for posting about Palestine flags

DuhallowRed (Cork) - Posts: 267 - 01/10/2019 20:05:40    2240746

Replying To Jackeen:  "Oh jesus ye remember Orlaith! :) Jim's post will go down as one of the all time greats. Somebody posted it up again there only this year again. JayoCluxton lives on I'm sure. As does Loyal2theRoyal. Do you remember Moo Moo? Jaysus he was insufferable. Ditto the Master. Gas all the same."
Had many a run in with moo moo and themaster. But in fairness there was no real harm to either them. Does anyone remember 51longago? Now he was insufferable. (Bit like me ) :)
Favorite posters are furlong, Ollie, htaem, royallegend richieq. Realdub jackeen, and too many others to list.
One of my favorite posters from Meath was bettystownroyal. Him and Ollie were hilarious when they got going.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 01/10/2019 20:07:35    2240747

Replying To Jackeen:  "Ah lads I'm after being in stitches here going back over old threads. Orlaith started a thread saying how she pictured posters on here. Paddyogall posted this...;))))

Jackeen: Likes to hang out on talbot street with her mates, Enjoys Flagons of Linden Village cider. Loyal2theroyal: An all round top guy Dellboypolecat: A 12 year old boy. Likes making paper airplanes, eating sweets Runrua: Failed trader, lost Millions when the Dot com bubble burst, now works with the Public sector as a financial anaylist Orlaith: Bit immature. Still believes in santa Claus, the tooth fairy God etc What i am really like Paddyogall: Very successful, Super Intelligent. BEng in Civil Engineering. Masters in Energy Futures, Hoping to do my MBA in the Michael Smurfitt school of Business. 28 years old. I dabble in the futures market

paddyogall (Mayo) - Posts: 5110 - 24/09/2009 11:09:56    435069"
Is there a way to access all the old threads jackeen, I'd love to look back at them, there could be a flagon of linden village in it for you.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 01/10/2019 20:32:25    2240756

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "i'd say i am here since around 2001/2001
Myself and Holymoly joined at same time
Had some great debates down the years with the like of Fear an Srath Ban, Aidan Galway, Thomas Clarke, Jayocluxton, Shinners, Loyal2daRoyal etc
Mes, I'd say your the one I know longest on here, yourself and Breffni? Didn't we figure we were both in the tide after the final in 13 but didn't realise it.

Met Real Kerry Fan once or twice down the years.

Patrique was great, God rest him. Few videos of him going around a while back in his Antrim gear :)

Snuff is a legend. He played a stereotype and ye all fell for it :) Legend of a man!!

Jackeen, I remember when you were only a kitten on here! Look at you know, the Queen of feckin Sheba!! :)"
Yeah yourself and Breff are the longest round these parts.

I think Jimbo is around a long while too.

I think it was the Tide in 2011 maybe? Could be 13 either. It's a pub I tend to frequent a lot after matches!

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13704 - 01/10/2019 20:33:28    2240759