MONEY

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "You're right dublin are spending more money than the rest of us yet they don't have the same out going's which begs the question where is their money going?"
Jays, that's great timing with your questions about where money is going to in some counties.
Maybe the " outgoings " are just not going out to the right places.
Kerry's outgoings would be more than most sure ,so probably need to be looked at too I'd say. Tis a poor enough return for all those millions that Kerry group are ploughing in over the last decade. Ah sure, I'm sure ye will have some lad tot it all up and find that it's grand.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 02/10/2019 06:46:54    2240833

Replying To TheUsername:  "Its no skin of my nose really if yee are content to pay it, do. Your system is your system and if you think it works, fair play, its Mayos choice after all, no one is holding a gun to your heads.

I'm pretty content with what i wrote, we clearly have a different opinion, but i can live with that.

Rinse and repeat at your own peril."
What do you mean it's Mayo's system? You reckon players shouldn't be looked after? We are not the only county that run up huge logistical costs every year...do you realize the cost of sending a team and all backup members to Dublin in the height of summer?

Kerry I'm sure this year in getting to the final ran up big costs.

I've never jumped on the Dublin AIG bandwagon, the more Dublin can get from sponsorship or any other means then fair play to them but Dublin do have an advantage with practically zero travel during the championship. Their players also have the advantage of not traveling long distances for training...that of course is not the Dublin players fault but it is an advantage.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11225 - 02/10/2019 09:13:42    2240850

Replying To catch22:  "Jays, that's great timing with your questions about where money is going to in some counties.
Maybe the " outgoings " are just not going out to the right places.
Kerry's outgoings would be more than most sure ,so probably need to be looked at too I'd say. Tis a poor enough return for all those millions that Kerry group are ploughing in over the last decade. Ah sure, I'm sure ye will have some lad tot it all up and find that it's grand."
If 5 in a row minor titles and 5 in a row junior titles and a national league title plus 1 senior allireland title is a poor return this decade I'd like to what you think is a good return?

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 02/10/2019 10:15:12    2240869

Replying To yew_tree:  "What do you mean it's Mayo's system? You reckon players shouldn't be looked after? We are not the only county that run up huge logistical costs every year...do you realize the cost of sending a team and all backup members to Dublin in the height of summer?

Kerry I'm sure this year in getting to the final ran up big costs.

I've never jumped on the Dublin AIG bandwagon, the more Dublin can get from sponsorship or any other means then fair play to them but Dublin do have an advantage with practically zero travel during the championship. Their players also have the advantage of not traveling long distances for training...that of course is not the Dublin players fault but it is an advantage."
The system is the choice Mayo choose to make to facilitate players living a way of course they should be looked after, the point i was making if costs escalate in facilitating to the tune of 1.1 mill, is there a case to made for doing that differently, rather paying for lads to be transported to and from Mayo from Dublin, its a huge sum of money. Why for example does everything have to happen without county boarders, is it not better for player welfare to have more localized training camps outside Mayo, S/C work done close to home, why do the team need to travel from Mayo to Dublin with so many Mayo players living in Dublin. Ultimately its up to Mayo to spend what they see fit, its a huge figure though, 1.1 mill on transport and food is just massive and unsustainable and comes at a cost elsewhere im sure. I mentioned it in rebuttel to someone who grinding an axe with Dublin, its not Dublin responsibility how Mayo choose to spend thier funds, or with decisions they make. 1.1 mill is eye watering and if it was Dublin i would be looking at is that the most efficient use of those funds and is their a more strategic way of doing it. It seem there is just a culture of there is just one way of doing this and that leads to a disadvantage, the first point of call is a level of personal responsibility and corporate governance.

I dont mind people talking about us having advantage really, when you are at the top you expect to be shot at, i dont mean that condescendingly.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 02/10/2019 10:35:48    2240875

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "If 5 in a row minor titles and 5 in a row junior titles and a national league title plus 1 senior allireland title is a poor return this decade I'd like to what you think is a good return?"
Yah, Kerry's advantages in these areas need to be addressed alright and something done before anymore damage is done to the games at these levels. A lot of money being spent to achieve these peripheral titles alright. It can't be allowed to continue.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 02/10/2019 11:07:11    2240888

Replying To TheUsername:  "The system is the choice Mayo choose to make to facilitate players living a way of course they should be looked after, the point i was making if costs escalate in facilitating to the tune of 1.1 mill, is there a case to made for doing that differently, rather paying for lads to be transported to and from Mayo from Dublin, its a huge sum of money. Why for example does everything have to happen without county boarders, is it not better for player welfare to have more localized training camps outside Mayo, S/C work done close to home, why do the team need to travel from Mayo to Dublin with so many Mayo players living in Dublin. Ultimately its up to Mayo to spend what they see fit, its a huge figure though, 1.1 mill on transport and food is just massive and unsustainable and comes at a cost elsewhere im sure. I mentioned it in rebuttel to someone who grinding an axe with Dublin, its not Dublin responsibility how Mayo choose to spend thier funds, or with decisions they make. 1.1 mill is eye watering and if it was Dublin i would be looking at is that the most efficient use of those funds and is their a more strategic way of doing it. It seem there is just a culture of there is just one way of doing this and that leads to a disadvantage, the first point of call is a level of personal responsibility and corporate governance.

I dont mind people talking about us having advantage really, when you are at the top you expect to be shot at, i dont mean that condescendingly."
http://www.mayonews.ie/sports/32760-who-s-in-mayo-s-backroom-team

James Burke is part of the Mayo management team and as you will see in link one of his main roles is training the Dublin based players. But for Mayo to attempt reach the professional set up Dublin are used too they obviously have to all train as a squad at least once a week and come championship all collectively.

I am certain counties have weighted up options of training at home or renting a pitch more central. I know Roscommon under John Evans used to train in St. Lomans Gaa pitch in Mullingar. Was as central you could possibably get to cater for lads in Roscommon,Sligo,Galway,Limerick and Dublin but it was maybe just slightly cheaper once you organised food(Usually get it cheaper when using local Roscommon catering company and training withing Roscommon) and renting the use of the grounds. They extra work involved in organising sessions, Time transporting up all equipment etc it was eventually realised it was a waste of time.

sourmilk93 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1142 - 02/10/2019 11:44:29    2240902

Replying To TheUsername:  "The system is the choice Mayo choose to make to facilitate players living a way of course they should be looked after, the point i was making if costs escalate in facilitating to the tune of 1.1 mill, is there a case to made for doing that differently, rather paying for lads to be transported to and from Mayo from Dublin, its a huge sum of money. Why for example does everything have to happen without county boarders, is it not better for player welfare to have more localized training camps outside Mayo, S/C work done close to home, why do the team need to travel from Mayo to Dublin with so many Mayo players living in Dublin. Ultimately its up to Mayo to spend what they see fit, its a huge figure though, 1.1 mill on transport and food is just massive and unsustainable and comes at a cost elsewhere im sure. I mentioned it in rebuttel to someone who grinding an axe with Dublin, its not Dublin responsibility how Mayo choose to spend thier funds, or with decisions they make. 1.1 mill is eye watering and if it was Dublin i would be looking at is that the most efficient use of those funds and is their a more strategic way of doing it. It seem there is just a culture of there is just one way of doing this and that leads to a disadvantage, the first point of call is a level of personal responsibility and corporate governance.

I dont mind people talking about us having advantage really, when you are at the top you expect to be shot at, i dont mean that condescendingly."
Plenty of fake news out there username eh? You've made the reference to 'nobody hold a gun' to mayos or anyone else's head. The fact is in GAA there is to a certain extent if you want to win an all Ireland. You have to match or exceed the preparation of the standard bearer, in this case Dublin. That will cost money, if you want to compete with them then you have to give your players the best chance by having them looked after in terms of training, dietary and recovery. Dublin haven't got where they are by talent alone they are possibly the most professional prepared team in the gaa history. That level increases every era with the next county coming through raising the level. Everyone else has to match it to keep up thereby having a gun to there heads.

Spoddgy (Mayo) - Posts: 660 - 02/10/2019 13:19:52    2240923

Replying To sourmilk93:  "http://www.mayonews.ie/sports/32760-who-s-in-mayo-s-backroom-team

James Burke is part of the Mayo management team and as you will see in link one of his main roles is training the Dublin based players. But for Mayo to attempt reach the professional set up Dublin are used too they obviously have to all train as a squad at least once a week and come championship all collectively.

I am certain counties have weighted up options of training at home or renting a pitch more central. I know Roscommon under John Evans used to train in St. Lomans Gaa pitch in Mullingar. Was as central you could possibably get to cater for lads in Roscommon,Sligo,Galway,Limerick and Dublin but it was maybe just slightly cheaper once you organised food(Usually get it cheaper when using local Roscommon catering company and training withing Roscommon) and renting the use of the grounds. They extra work involved in organising sessions, Time transporting up all equipment etc it was eventually realised it was a waste of time."
Fair play.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 02/10/2019 13:57:30    2240934

Replying To Spoddgy:  "Plenty of fake news out there username eh? You've made the reference to 'nobody hold a gun' to mayos or anyone else's head. The fact is in GAA there is to a certain extent if you want to win an all Ireland. You have to match or exceed the preparation of the standard bearer, in this case Dublin. That will cost money, if you want to compete with them then you have to give your players the best chance by having them looked after in terms of training, dietary and recovery. Dublin haven't got where they are by talent alone they are possibly the most professional prepared team in the gaa history. That level increases every era with the next county coming through raising the level. Everyone else has to match it to keep up thereby having a gun to there heads."
That's it exactly spoddyy.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 02/10/2019 14:25:39    2240943

Replying To Spoddgy:  "Plenty of fake news out there username eh? You've made the reference to 'nobody hold a gun' to mayos or anyone else's head. The fact is in GAA there is to a certain extent if you want to win an all Ireland. You have to match or exceed the preparation of the standard bearer, in this case Dublin. That will cost money, if you want to compete with them then you have to give your players the best chance by having them looked after in terms of training, dietary and recovery. Dublin haven't got where they are by talent alone they are possibly the most professional prepared team in the gaa history. That level increases every era with the next county coming through raising the level. Everyone else has to match it to keep up thereby having a gun to there heads."
Is that true though really, Mayo have spent more then Dublin some years, i mean what are the individual things Dublin have in preparation that other counties dont? I dont really mind that popular view point, and it seems counties are always looking to do what Dublin do, but what is it exactly?

As a Dub im kind on envious of some of the facilities and other aspects of prep other counties have.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 02/10/2019 15:28:55    2240961

What is also strange is taking the figure of 1.1 mill, give a match day panel of 60k in salary for a year, prob an average wage in another job and let them be professional for the year and live in Mayo. Its all getting a bit mad that the cost of being amatuer is getting more or certainly getting closer to being more expensive then being professional.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 02/10/2019 15:43:39    2240965

"Money, get away
Get a good job with good pay and you're okay
Money, it's a gas
Grab that cash with both hands and make a stash
New car, caviar, four star daydream
Think I'll buy me a football team"

It would be funny to hear if the Pink Floyd loving Kerry fans start singing this whilst playing us. That could help the paupers of Kerry GAA raise a few bob ;)

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 02/10/2019 16:08:29    2240971

Replying To TheUsername:  "What is also strange is taking the figure of 1.1 mill, give a match day panel of 60k in salary for a year, prob an average wage in another job and let them be professional for the year and live in Mayo. Its all getting a bit mad that the cost of being amatuer is getting more or certainly getting closer to being more expensive then being professional."
Except 1.1 million divided by a match day panel of 26 is actually 42k.

Also 500k of that is catering. So 600k on travel divided by 26 match day panel members is 23k.

Except the 600k actually covered at least 5 teams worth so that's 4.6k per match day panel member.

Except you also have to pay mileage for players who don't make the match day panel, which was ridiculous to use in the first place.

It also covered team buses, hotels, hotel meals, other members of staff mileage etc etc.

Nice try there with the quick maths. Just accept Dublin are advantaged in this area and move on.

jonjon (Mayo) - Posts: 99 - 02/10/2019 16:17:46    2240973

Replying To jonjon:  "Except 1.1 million divided by a match day panel of 26 is actually 42k.

Also 500k of that is catering. So 600k on travel divided by 26 match day panel members is 23k.

Except the 600k actually covered at least 5 teams worth so that's 4.6k per match day panel member.

Except you also have to pay mileage for players who don't make the match day panel, which was ridiculous to use in the first place.

It also covered team buses, hotels, hotel meals, other members of staff mileage etc etc.

Nice try there with the quick maths. Just accept Dublin are advantaged in this area and move on."
It was more a concept, to illustrate, the growing cost of amateur Vs professional then actual numbers i ran with a professional panel of 15+5 say. More a state of the union and the topic in the game for debate, rather then an axe to gring with Mayo

Like i say no skin of my nose, if you think you are doing it right no business of mine really, id be critical if it was Dublin and would be open minded about looking at it a different way. Im not looking at this debate as binary or absolute, i.e. Mayo are doing it wrong and im right etc thats juvenile just trying to have an open minded debate, of course player welfare is cruical, i just think there could be better ways and more cost effective ways doing things, perhaps im wrong and Mayo have cracked it every cent. Its an interesting topic and 1.1. mill i still think is ridiculous, but thats just my opinion and ultimately irrelevant. Each to their own.

I would have a bit of gra for Mayo though truth be told and would like to see everything work out for them, for a few reasons family, family club involvement in Mayo and a couple of heads in backroom teams throughout the grades. So i dint really have an axe to grind, with Mayo, despite my opinion on the figures.

Any how if you lads are happy, in not going to wreck your buzz.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 02/10/2019 17:23:16    2240991

Replying To jonjon:  "Except 1.1 million divided by a match day panel of 26 is actually 42k.

Nice try there with the quick maths. Just accept Dublin are advantaged in this area and move on."
Dubs have always enjoyed that advantage

Didn't do much good until the right players came along

It's nothing new but only became a problem for some when Dublin started to win

Before that it was used as a stick to beat them with

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20598 - 02/10/2019 20:17:00    2241026

Fairly sure very similar set of variables existed in 2006 and 2012

Dubs probably even slept in their own beds..

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20598 - 02/10/2019 21:05:34    2241049

Replying To TheUsername:  "Is that true though really, Mayo have spent more then Dublin some years, i mean what are the individual things Dublin have in preparation that other counties dont? I dont really mind that popular view point, and it seems counties are always looking to do what Dublin do, but what is it exactly?

As a Dub im kind on envious of some of the facilities and other aspects of prep other counties have."
Well the for starters the ability for the Dublin panel to train collectively more often with less players working away home which has always been the case for Dublin. That's an issue for the governance of the country and not for Dublin GAA. This is about Dublin right now being the standard bearer, a group of players who are talented but have certainly being helped achieve their success with the preparation afforded them by the management, the county board and their partners. There have been plenty article about what and who provides services to the Dublin senior team. Another area you would look at is the training the senior team do other counties would look at Dublin's training to find ideas for their own training. You must remember the noughties when Armagh and Tyrone made their breakthroughs everyone else was trying to copy them. If Dublin seniors won 5 in a row by pushing cars in the car park in training everyone would start doing it and expanding on it. You look at the way the Dublin players play the game the talent only gets you so far Dublins preparation helps them to play to their best and better together as a team. The team that beats this Dublin team no doubt will be a talented group but also will be as well if not better prepared by their management and county board resulting in a lot of money being spent. Just look at the back room teams involved and equipment used aswell as training camps, accommodation, travel, travel expenses, different specialists ie. sport psychologists, catering, etc. This is what has happened down through the years I'm sure you knew that.

Spoddgy (Mayo) - Posts: 660 - 02/10/2019 21:56:22    2241058

Replying To jimbodub:  "Dubs have always enjoyed that advantage

Before that it was used as a stick to beat them with"
Seems a contradictory argument,

Dublin players live in Dublin = advantage.

Country players live in Dublin = disadvantage. (Let's drive them around the country, then drop them home).

Same set of circumstances an advantage for one county and disadvantage for another, but everyone living in the same place, with huge financial cost ranging in millions.

Only in Ireland.

Leinster counties in general must be advantaged given such proximity to the mother ship, it's only Dublin who seem to have capatilised on it

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 02/10/2019 22:01:38    2241061

Replying To jimbodub:  "Dubs have always enjoyed that advantage

Before that it was used as a stick to beat them with"
Dublin always had certain advantages yes. But it's only in the short enough term they have had millions upon millions pumped into them with no end in sight and they have had nearly all games at their new home venue Croke park. No doubting the quality they have available to them but it's never going to end under current gaa plans. I know they want money that the Dublin support can provide but they are killing the game putside Dublin with this ridiculous bias and favouritism they get off the gaa

sourmilk93 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1142 - 02/10/2019 22:03:58    2241063

Replying To Spoddgy:  "Well the for starters the ability for the Dublin panel to train collectively more often with less players working away home which has always been the case for Dublin. That's an issue for the governance of the country and not for Dublin GAA. This is about Dublin right now being the standard bearer, a group of players who are talented but have certainly being helped achieve their success with the preparation afforded them by the management, the county board and their partners. There have been plenty article about what and who provides services to the Dublin senior team. Another area you would look at is the training the senior team do other counties would look at Dublin's training to find ideas for their own training. You must remember the noughties when Armagh and Tyrone made their breakthroughs everyone else was trying to copy them. If Dublin seniors won 5 in a row by pushing cars in the car park in training everyone would start doing it and expanding on it. You look at the way the Dublin players play the game the talent only gets you so far Dublins preparation helps them to play to their best and better together as a team. The team that beats this Dublin team no doubt will be a talented group but also will be as well if not better prepared by their management and county board resulting in a lot of money being spent. Just look at the back room teams involved and equipment used aswell as training camps, accommodation, travel, travel expenses, different specialists ie. sport psychologists, catering, etc. This is what has happened down through the years I'm sure you knew that."
I get honestly that, that is the narrative but it's all subjective.

What is it specifically that Dublin do, that other counties don't, or just count afford objectively? What does the envied eye see and wish they had?

To give an example I would be envious of counties who have some great COE facilities in their counties that benefit all the grades. Mayo are planning to have two in their county alone.

Dublin intercounty currently train in the club fields at Innisfallis GAA club in Dublin, they train at separate sites to the u de rage teams.

So objectively what is it specifically Dublin have in prep other counties want, aspire to or would envy?

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 02/10/2019 22:52:24    2241073