David Gough To Referee The Final

I have to say fair play to the Dublin fans who for the most part haven't spent their evening whining about the referee, a welcome respite from the embarrassment after the hurling final, even ex players not laying into the ref (apart from Whelan on the Sunday game who made a bit of a clown of himself and as for the yoke beside him, enough said)

Thought Gough had a good game to be fair, sure he missed some things as has been discussed and the penalty a little on the soft side but overall grand.

Fair play all round, genuinely wasn't expecting the game to pan out like it did but can't wait for the replay now.

tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1328 - 01/09/2019 22:44:43    2231590

Replying To Gaillimh_Abu:  "Overall I though he had a good game. The O'Sullivan decision was controversial and he was very lucky to stay on but other than that, I saw no major cause for complaint by either side. Despite the high stakes and the huge intensity, the game was played in a very sporting fashion and there was not a single nasty incident. To me, that is an indication that the ref did a good job and that the players were generally satisfied with how he was handling the game."
I have to disagree very few of those yellows were yellow cards, look at the rule. Johnny Coopers 2nd was not a yellow it was a pull down a black. The Kerry arm around the neck was a yellow end off. This nonsense that you give a "tick" and then a yellow is NOT in the rules it's in the head of some officials. As you say a game with hardly a nasty incident, yet then ends up with a plethora of yellows and a red card! Total rubbish. The game in relation to tackling is ungovernable it is a joke actually. The football kicking, running, over lap is a joy to watch but the tacking is a total mess.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4895 - 01/09/2019 22:45:46    2231591

Replying To Jack_Goff:  "Good post. Disagree on Tom however. The man he tackled dived to the ground so it wouldn't have been fair."
Nonsense. I haven't heard any analyst say that. He dragged his man down which is what Cooper was accused of for his second yellow. If Cooper was to be the standard then O'Sullivan had to go. Gough's a good referee but he had two big calls to make today and he got both wrong, the penalty was not a penalty and o'Sullivan should have seen red. In fairness to Gough various sources have had pressure on him since his appointment so it was a difficult gig.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 01/09/2019 22:46:58    2231593

Best part about the replay is Gough wont be reffing the final, never a penalty, o' Sullivan should have seen the line.

jacktheDub (Dublin) - Posts: 944 - 01/09/2019 22:53:50    2231604

A soft penalty but technically it was a penalty. Gough made some mistakes (what referee doesnt?) but overall I thought he had a good game. I hope whoever is appointed for the replay does as well.

PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 1902 - 01/09/2019 23:54:02    2231633

Replying To Joxer:  "Nonsense. I haven't heard any analyst say that. He dragged his man down which is what Cooper was accused of for his second yellow. If Cooper was to be the standard then O'Sullivan had to go. Gough's a good referee but he had two big calls to make today and he got both wrong, the penalty was not a penalty and o'Sullivan should have seen red. In fairness to Gough various sources have had pressure on him since his appointment so it was a difficult gig."
Suck it up...we missed da peno so no impact on da game. How's about da replay n Killarney an we'll get Conor lane to ref!

blacknamber (Kerry) - Posts: 267 - 01/09/2019 23:57:41    2231634

Replying To reffingmad:  "Holding is a noting offence as per rule book, rough play is a yellow, I've no problem with Coopers cards but how O'Sullivan stayed on the field is beyond me"
We wouldn't be talking about the O'Sulivan incident if Cooper hadn't seen the line but it takes a very strong refereee in that situation to see the difference in the two incidents. It would have been so easy for DG to show O'Sullivan a second yellow but he didn't because he knows the rules better than anyone on here. He would also be a accused of "evening it up". Cooper's could have been a black for a deliberate pull down to the ground - same end result. In hindsight DG may regret not showing the black but it doesn't really matter.

I agree with another poster about Cluxton coming off the line. I'm sure DG saw it but given that not a single referee that I can remmeber has ever pulled for it, was today the day to make that statement? That needs fixed by the GAA and not by the referee on All Ireland Final day.

83,000 people baying at him with a split second to make a decision and with all this nonsense about his appointment which you wouldn't see in any other sport. 450+ posts on this forum and countless media articles about the referee. Who the hell would be a referee?
"Bravo" to him I say, he can go back to work tomorrow (yes he has a living to earn) and reflect on a job well done.

Sindar (Roscommon) - Posts: 348 - 02/09/2019 00:20:45    2231637

Replying To festinog:  "I suppose it's only natural now that the Meath seniors are little more than fluffers for Dublin in the run up to more serious games, their fans would have to find something else to get excited about. And what's better than a Meath man who has come closer to stopping Dublin than any Meath team has in over ten years."
why are you having a pop at Meath?we are talking about Dublin v Kerry.everyone is entitled to their opinion on the ref and game including you,but you bring up about Meath not testing Dublin.If you want to go there Galway are hardly much of a threat to Dublin either are they?On the ref thought he done well considering all the stuff before the game,yes he got a couple of calls wrong but everyone makes mistakes players do,manager's do,he is human after all as well.But sure hey if it makes you feel better have a pop at Meath but we did have a better year than Galway?

Proudroyal (Meath) - Posts: 254 - 02/09/2019 01:07:06    2231645

Replying To endgame:  "It's laughable the number of Meath posters coming on here lauding David Gough's performance.Have ye no team to support.I'd like to have seen Gough referee the Meath team of the 1980s,Mick Lyons,Liam Harnan and all.The Royals would have finished with about 12 men on the field.Conor Lane of Cork seems to be the best ref around at the moment.Gough too fussy for my liking and Kerry's pre match mind games (which were unfair on Gough) did influence his performance today."
In fairness endgame,you could say that about most team's in the 70's 80's even the 90's game was much tougher then (a lot more let go).I thought gough done well considering all that was said before the game,he did get a couple of calls wrong ,peno probably was soft and should have been retaken (umpire should see it as well) o suillvan was lucky to stay on but I thought cooper call was right was fouling all day,Kerry could have maybe has a free out near the end but he can't get everything right he is only human after all.

Proudroyal (Meath) - Posts: 254 - 02/09/2019 01:22:50    2231646

Replying To Joxer:  "Nonsense. I haven't heard any analyst say that. He dragged his man down which is what Cooper was accused of for his second yellow. If Cooper was to be the standard then O'Sullivan had to go. Gough's a good referee but he had two big calls to make today and he got both wrong, the penalty was not a penalty and o'Sullivan should have seen red. In fairness to Gough various sources have had pressure on him since his appointment so it was a difficult gig."
Penalty was as clear a third man tackle as you'll ever see. While it wasn't a vicious foul or anything he stopped Clifford from contesting the ball in, 100% a penalty by the rule book. Refs often bottle those but it doesn't mean it's not a penalty. Johnny was getting roasted and went on to commit two more ridiculous fouls and got himself sent off, he can have no complaints.

Toms tackle was a free but not a yellow. The Dublin man (small I think) threw himself to the ground theatrically making it look much worse than it was and Gough wasn't buying it. If Cooper hadn't been already sent off we wouldn't be hearing a peep about it.

Also note Stephen O'Brien didn't get a clear penalty in the second half.

I must say I'm astonished to see Dublin fans irate with a ref. I thought ye were above such things and only Kerry complain about refs?

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 02/09/2019 01:40:36    2231647

Replying To tearintom:  "I have to say fair play to the Dublin fans who for the most part haven't spent their evening whining about the referee, a welcome respite from the embarrassment after the hurling final, even ex players not laying into the ref (apart from Whelan on the Sunday game who made a bit of a clown of himself and as for the yoke beside him, enough said)

Thought Gough had a good game to be fair, sure he missed some things as has been discussed and the penalty a little on the soft side but overall grand.

Fair play all round, genuinely wasn't expecting the game to pan out like it did but can't wait for the replay now."
Easy to be magnanimous when you have a second chance, would be very different if they lost.

ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1246 - 02/09/2019 04:58:08    2231660

I honestly don't know why anyone would be a ref these days. Two of the biggest games of the year in both all irelands all the talk has been about the refs in the aftermath. Being slated on telly by biast "analysists" and forums like this being created weeks in advance of a final is just wrong. Regardless of whether he got all the calls right or wrong he was going to be slated. Took balls to send lads off in both Hurling and football all ireland but in my opinion both were correct calls and you could say had a bearing on both games.
Simple fact of the matter is a forum should be created for helping refs....be it video replays (tmo/var effort) or a second ref on the pitch I don't know but either way the game could be in serious trouble in a few years with lack of referees. And at the end of the day why would you put your hand up for such a job.

hurlinglad15 (Meath) - Posts: 36 - 02/09/2019 07:20:07    2231674

The only call he got wrong with the penalty was that it wasn't retaken

oneoff (UK) - Posts: 1380 - 02/09/2019 08:25:13    2231685

Replying To arock:  "I have to disagree very few of those yellows were yellow cards, look at the rule. Johnny Coopers 2nd was not a yellow it was a pull down a black. The Kerry arm around the neck was a yellow end off. This nonsense that you give a "tick" and then a yellow is NOT in the rules it's in the head of some officials. As you say a game with hardly a nasty incident, yet then ends up with a plethora of yellows and a red card! Total rubbish. The game in relation to tackling is ungovernable it is a joke actually. The football kicking, running, over lap is a joy to watch but the tacking is a total mess."
Seeing as you're so worried about the rules whats your view of the penalty? Seeing as Steveo was almost on the penalty spot when it was taken?

oneoff (UK) - Posts: 1380 - 02/09/2019 08:26:56    2231686

Replying To arock:  "I have to disagree very few of those yellows were yellow cards, look at the rule. Johnny Coopers 2nd was not a yellow it was a pull down a black. The Kerry arm around the neck was a yellow end off. This nonsense that you give a "tick" and then a yellow is NOT in the rules it's in the head of some officials. As you say a game with hardly a nasty incident, yet then ends up with a plethora of yellows and a red card! Total rubbish. The game in relation to tackling is ungovernable it is a joke actually. The football kicking, running, over lap is a joy to watch but the tacking is a total mess."
Clearly you dont know the rules. You are correct as the 2nd yellow should have been a black ut as cooper was on a yellow if he got a black for the 2nd foul it's still a sending off. Yellow and a black equals a red.

A game doesn't have to be dirty to have plenty of yellows. Constant fouling and pulling are yellow card offences. The dubs just arent used to a ref applying the rules of the game to them

kevin03 (Tyrone) - Posts: 276 - 02/09/2019 09:31:57    2231718

"he dragged his man down" Really? Seems like a massive exaggeration of what really happened. That incident and the Cooper incident are chalk and cheese.

Sindar (Roscommon) - Posts: 348 - 02/09/2019 10:02:03    2231730

Cooper was warned 3 times before got a yellow and the tackle may be difficult to Ref, but there is nothing in the rule book that say you can catch and hold a player when he has the ball, or when he does not have the ball. He is lucky to stay on the pitch for most matches as he consistently fouls his opponent, sometimes these incidents catches up with you and it reminds me of the quote: 'you can fool most of the people most of the time but you cannot fool everyone all of the time'.

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 02/09/2019 10:10:06    2231736

Replying To GeniusGerry:  "Penalty was as clear a third man tackle as you'll ever see. While it wasn't a vicious foul or anything he stopped Clifford from contesting the ball in, 100% a penalty by the rule book. Refs often bottle those but it doesn't mean it's not a penalty. Johnny was getting roasted and went on to commit two more ridiculous fouls and got himself sent off, he can have no complaints.

Toms tackle was a free but not a yellow. The Dublin man (small I think) threw himself to the ground theatrically making it look much worse than it was and Gough wasn't buying it. If Cooper hadn't been already sent off we wouldn't be hearing a peep about it.

Also note Stephen O'Brien didn't get a clear penalty in the second half.

I must say I'm astonished to see Dublin fans irate with a ref. I thought ye were above such things and only Kerry complain about refs?"
Gerry, the Stephen O'Brien incident was outside the box. Cooper put his hand on Clifford's shoulder for the penalty. If that happened up the field would you expect a free? No. O'Sullivan took his man down. It was probably a black not yellow. No complaints though. I'm sure the calls will even themselves out over the two games.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 02/09/2019 10:38:23    2231752

agree with another poster about Cluxton coming off the line. I'm sure DG saw it but given that not a single referee that I can remmeber has ever pulled for it, was today the day to make that statement? That needs fixed by the GAA and not by the referee on All Ireland Final day.

Sindar (Roscommon) - Posts: 250 - 02/09/2019 00:20:45

Bang on, the GAA needs to tackle the issue of goalies stealing yards for penos. It is rife and happens on nearly every penalty.

It would have been ridiculous to suddenly decide to police it in the All-Ireland Final.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13705 - 02/09/2019 10:43:21    2231755

Who do we think will get the replay?

Whyalwaysmeath (Meath) - Posts: 27 - 02/09/2019 10:56:55    2231759