David Gough To Referee The Final

Replying To Joxer:  "Of course. I have many work colleagues living, working in Dublin, members of clubs but who are from the country. How many are supporting the Dubs v Kerry? Zero."
It's not exactly a good fixture for the neutral. Once mayo are knocked out the underdog factor is much less present. Kerry are underdogs but they still are in the shake up every year bar the last 2 seasons. They also have a hope, there wouldn't be a sense of the unbelievable if they won despite all we are reading lately

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 17/08/2019 11:47:46    2226731

Replying To Jackeen:  "Why was there no objection against Coldrick? It has little to do with where the ref lives and everything to do with them feeling aggrieved at refs decisions. NO other county goes on the way Kerry do about refs."
Jackeen, if all the shite talk on here proves anything it is that Kerry can be easily fecked over by a reff and no one will care and infact they'll only be delighted, Tyrone are in the same boat but ye don't have that problem.

So it's up to us to highlight these injustices when they occur.

Simple as that.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 17/08/2019 12:07:46    2226735

Replying To Jackeen:  "Why was there no objection against Coldrick? It has little to do with where the ref lives and everything to do with them feeling aggrieved at refs decisions. NO other county goes on the way Kerry do about refs."
About from Dublin who have a history of it that's already been posted here. Or did you miss that?

oneoff (UK) - Posts: 1380 - 17/08/2019 12:09:17    2226737

I think all sides discussing this, when viewed rationally may have points, but in the GAA world nothing is clear cut. In terms of the inclusitivity of LGBTQ+ members it's obviously a good thing that he will be the first openly gay man to ref an All Ireland. David Gough announcing the GAA's decision to be represented in the Dublin Pride Parade on the Late Late show was a big thing. David Gough's work on this from the time of his wearing of the rainbow wrist band for a NFL game, which was ruled out by Croke Park but he was supported by many within the GAA such as Jim Gavin, right through to his work this year with the President John Horan on the Belong campaign has helped with inclusivity within the GAA which is a good thing.
On the other hand his open admission he got a major call wrong in the 2016 Kerry v Dublin semi final puts him under pressure should he make any error in this years All Ireland. When you add in that he has taught in Templeogue in Dublin, lives in Dublin, works in DCU along with Jason Sherlock, being involved in coaching with Dublin Cumman na mBunscoil, being in photos with Dublin players & the Sam Maguire, the optics of it are not great.
Nobody doubts his integrity or impartiality but if he gets a key decision wrong that decides the outcome of the final for either side, people will question his appointment. There is huge pressure on him now which is wrong & was avoidable.

moc.dna (Galway) - Posts: 1212 - 17/08/2019 13:23:33    2226750

There was plenty of discussion around Coldrick.
Coldrick like Gough shouldn't be reffing Dublin games. I only difference was we already seen Gough in action in 2016 so know what's coming.
No other poster comes across as condescending as you Jackeen.

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 17/08/2019 13:59:29    2226756

Replying To moc.dna:  "I think all sides discussing this, when viewed rationally may have points, but in the GAA world nothing is clear cut. In terms of the inclusitivity of LGBTQ+ members it's obviously a good thing that he will be the first openly gay man to ref an All Ireland. David Gough announcing the GAA's decision to be represented in the Dublin Pride Parade on the Late Late show was a big thing. David Gough's work on this from the time of his wearing of the rainbow wrist band for a NFL game, which was ruled out by Croke Park but he was supported by many within the GAA such as Jim Gavin, right through to his work this year with the President John Horan on the Belong campaign has helped with inclusivity within the GAA which is a good thing.
On the other hand his open admission he got a major call wrong in the 2016 Kerry v Dublin semi final puts him under pressure should he make any error in this years All Ireland. When you add in that he has taught in Templeogue in Dublin, lives in Dublin, works in DCU along with Jason Sherlock, being involved in coaching with Dublin Cumman na mBunscoil, being in photos with Dublin players & the Sam Maguire, the optics of it are not great.
Nobody doubts his integrity or impartiality but if he gets a key decision wrong that decides the outcome of the final for either side, people will question his appointment. There is huge pressure on him now which is wrong & was avoidable."
Good post, they should have got an Ulster or Connacht ref, bit of a no brainer.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2739 - 17/08/2019 14:34:58    2226762

Replying To moc.dna:  "I think all sides discussing this, when viewed rationally may have points, but in the GAA world nothing is clear cut. In terms of the inclusitivity of LGBTQ+ members it's obviously a good thing that he will be the first openly gay man to ref an All Ireland. David Gough announcing the GAA's decision to be represented in the Dublin Pride Parade on the Late Late show was a big thing. David Gough's work on this from the time of his wearing of the rainbow wrist band for a NFL game, which was ruled out by Croke Park but he was supported by many within the GAA such as Jim Gavin, right through to his work this year with the President John Horan on the Belong campaign has helped with inclusivity within the GAA which is a good thing.
Nobody doubts his integrity or impartiality but if he gets a key decision wrong that decides the outcome of the final for either side, people will question his appointment. There is huge pressure on him now which is wrong & was avoidable."
What your saying is very valid but would you not think more of a fella for admitting he got a call wrong? Especially in a day and age where referees are such a closed shop.
You can learn from mistakes.

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 1899 - 17/08/2019 14:56:37    2226766

Exactly.
You see if during the winter someone posted up a topic - should official X be in charge of a game if Y county is participating, given official X has connections with county Y - most posters would be able to debate it, they would say well maybe that's not a great idea, it would put him under pressure, you could see why there might be a question around impartiality ect ect.
However you add Kerry to the mix and now its nothing but hysterical outrage on here about some dirty orchestrated campaign by the Kerry GAA to blacken a poor man's name!
It seems rationality goes out the door if something has the potential to impact on Kerry, the usual mud-slingers will be out in force as the last few pages of content demonstrates.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 17/08/2019 15:01:34    2226768

Replying To westkerry:  "There was plenty of discussion around Coldrick.
Coldrick like Gough shouldn't be reffing Dublin games. I only difference was we already seen Gough in action in 2016 so know what's coming.
No other poster comes across as condescending as you Jackeen."
Haha give over!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 17/08/2019 15:34:47    2226775

Replying To oneoff:  "About from Dublin who have a history of it that's already been posted here. Or did you miss that?"
English please?

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 17/08/2019 15:36:13    2226776

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Jackeen, if all the shite talk on here proves anything it is that Kerry can be easily fecked over by a reff and no one will care and infact they'll only be delighted, Tyrone are in the same boat but ye don't have that problem.

So it's up to us to highlight these injustices when they occur.

Simple as that."
But I'm asking why there was no uproar like the uproar over Gough in 2015? If it was as simple as where the ref lived then surely there would be a similar reaction to what there is now? Its simply because Gough foolishly admitted to getting a call wrong in a match and Kerry hold a grudge.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 17/08/2019 15:39:33    2226777

Just keep appointing a different ref until Kerry win, then they won't have a problem.

You could appoint the Dahliai Lama and some Kerry lads would take issue as he flew over Dublin once, you just have to put up with the noise, it's their way, victim mode activated.

Glad we are keeping a low profile to be honest.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 17/08/2019 15:48:39    2226779

Replying To Jackeen:  "But I'm asking why there was no uproar like the uproar over Gough in 2015? If it was as simple as where the ref lived then surely there would be a similar reaction to what there is now? Its simply because Gough foolishly admitted to getting a call wrong in a match and Kerry hold a grudge."
I think that had a lot to do with not a lot of people down here being aware of coldrick living in Dublin till the documentary came out that Christmas .

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 17/08/2019 15:51:47    2226780

Replying To Jackeen:  "English please?"
Obviously should have been apart. How answer the question...

oneoff (UK) - Posts: 1380 - 17/08/2019 15:55:17    2226781

Replying To Jackeen:  "Haha give over!"
Shock horror someone has a different view to you and it's ignored

oneoff (UK) - Posts: 1380 - 17/08/2019 15:56:42    2226782

Replying To Jackeen:  "But I'm asking why there was no uproar like the uproar over Gough in 2015? If it was as simple as where the ref lived then surely there would be a similar reaction to what there is now? Its simply because Gough foolishly admitted to getting a call wrong in a match and Kerry hold a grudge."
Someone has already pointed this out and because you didn't like the answer you ignore it

oneoff (UK) - Posts: 1380 - 17/08/2019 15:59:58    2226783

Replying To suckvalleypaddy:  "Wrong decision again, the GAA very consistent with those. Hurling ref. Owens is from the Kilkenny metro area and shops and socialises there surely and refused to use hawkeye in 2015 final, GAA don't care. Refs must be from neutral area, nothing against Gough he is a good ref. I agree with Eamon Fitz on this one. Obviously, Dublin are the better side, but that is not important."
Much ado about nothing. For what it's worth I think maybe Eamon Fitz should have kept his opinion to himself at this stage of the season. Whoever referees a final has a difficult job and putting a ref who was at least 50/50 to get the job under the microscope was not helpful. This argument coming from some ex Kerry players that the appointment is wrong because it is unfair to Gough himself is a bit disingenuous, surely he could be left to speak for himself if that was the case. In the championship so far Kerry have got 26% of their scores from frees compared to Dublin's 19%, doesn't prove anything, but on the face of it Kerry are not faring too bad as regards the awarding of frees in the scoring zone.

sligo joe (Dublin) - Posts: 674 - 17/08/2019 16:00:42    2226784

Grown ups admit when they make a mistake. The fact that you describe that as foolish is a poor reflection on you.

greysoil (Monaghan) - Posts: 965 - 17/08/2019 16:57:11    2226787

Gas how there was never an issue with the referees when we weren't winning or was it that the referee were just better back then. Yeah, that must it, silly me.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 17/08/2019 17:27:01    2226792

Replying To Joxer:  "Same thing though is it not. If people knew that he was going to be impartial then they would not call for his removal. If people doubted that he could be impartial then they would call for his removal. Remember, removal would be hugely damaging to Gough's reputation personally. So people are willing to do this so must have just cause and that is because they are questioning his impartiality. I've spoken to some on the "removal side" this week and they're all saying that "he'll give Dublin everything". Now two were from Kerry and one Kildare but still it's clear that his ability to be impartial is in question."
Daft post again.

Damaging to Gough's reputation?? It's not personal. Refs should not be appointed to games when they live and work in one participating county. That's a universal law that should be applied. Universal for everyone, not personal.

Can you not grasp this concept Joxer? It's not questioning an individual's integrity, just putting proper procedure in place. Transparency, eliminating any risk of bias.

BliainanÁir (Laois) - Posts: 598 - 17/08/2019 17:55:29    2226800