Dublin 10 In A Row Odds!

Replying To Hitnhurl:  "Where the never ending conveyer belt? Cork just hammered them in u20s and kerry absolutely dominating minor.........It's always the same wen a special crop come along down the years "best ever unbeatable we all doomed lol ..........donegal kerry cork and more have great talent coming through and the resources to make sure the championship won't be a one team affair"
That's total nonsense. Kildare beat them last year. Are you honestly saying Kildare are ai contenders in next 5 years?? Meath have beaten them past 3 years (not this year) at minor/new minor level. Yet we not gonna beat them at senior. Totally different set up.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 12/08/2019 18:10:16    2224812

Replying To joeteor:  "Paddypower, they offered it before the final last year. This is old news."
No boylesports actually.
What I can't get is they 9/1 for 9 in row, but they drift to 12/1 for ten?? Why the big jump. Look Dubin John has ensured the 10 in a row. This is money for old rope would the bank give you twelve times ur investment in 5 years?? Not a hope.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 12/08/2019 18:12:55    2224813

Replying To Gaillimh11:  "Just because dubs were beaten at minor and u-20 unfortunately doesn't signal their demise at senior level for the foreseeable future. All they need are 2-3 quality footballers from those teams pushing for a place on the senior panel every year to keep them firing- and they have those footballers!!"
Same goes for other counties' minor and U20 teams presumably. Cork look like they are getting their act together in fairness. I think maybe 4 or 5 of those lads may transition to senior if not more. Dublin have a backbone of key players on the verge of retiring, all between 29-31 plus Clucko. If they all go in the same year or even over two years, no county could replace them no matter how good your minors or U20s are.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 12/08/2019 18:15:03    2224814

Replying To Tacaí Liatroma:  "Which well known bookmaker?

Regarding 10 in a row, well, why not. You say our mysterious bookie is offering shorter odds on 8 in a row than Kerry to win this year. (I assume therefore that they've offered odds on various Dublin streaks.) Eight in a row is easily possible too. But guess what: Jim Gavin won't be manager forever, and you can be sure that Kerry's future holy grail will be to win more consecutive championships than whatever Dublin end up with, be it 5, 8, 10 or whatever."
https://www.irishmirror.ie/sport/gaa/gaelic-football/gaelic-football-news/dublin-already-odds-six-row-18920594

tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1336 - 12/08/2019 18:15:21    2224815

Replying To PK57:  "This "it never lasts" argument is grand except Dublin aren't just winning games, they are destroying all in front of them. The average winning margin by Dublin in this year's championship is 14.9 points and their lowest winning margin(excluding the dead rubber in Omagh) is 10 points. If you think a team is going to come from nowhere and stop them then you need a reality check. Is it not at all alarming to you that 10 in a row is a possibility. Maybe we should be talking about someone giving them a game first, before we talk about this era ending."
This Dublin and Mayo team started out around the same time in 2010 the Mayo team who should have won a few allirelands have now gone into serious decline while Dublins team have got younger and more successful and are heading for history in the 1st of September.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 12/08/2019 18:19:19    2224818

A load of nonsense.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 12/08/2019 18:48:58    2224834

The only gombeens around are those pretending Dublin don't have it in the bag.

"meath are coming good this year I'm feeling very nervous about them"

"meath were a Div 2 super 8's we'll get are test"

"cork, roscommon and Tyrone were not at the races, Mayo won't fear Dublin and have momentum behind them"

"mayo are finished, kerry will have all the motivation in the world to stop the 5 in a row, it will be a close game"

Lads yous are making a show of yourselves at this stage. I just want to know if this kerryism will continue into next year when you go for the six.

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 12/08/2019 20:01:49    2224870

Replying To waynoI:  "A load of nonsense."
No it's a cert. the only question is, is a bought all ire as good as a won one??? Not saying that dubs don't have extremely talented players x they do. But the money helps. Come on are devenish gonna get a bunch of cows to moo? Are bradys gonna slice up a lilly ham? Is jack slator going to get a talking Renault? No but aig can get the all blacks to wish dubs well. There is 31 county competing at a different financial level, and financial doping is better than epo.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 12/08/2019 20:30:53    2224884

Don't put your money on 12/1 it will never happen.

Are they giving odds on a Dublin North v Dublin South final in 2023?

tirawleybaron (Mayo) - Posts: 1105 - 12/08/2019 20:59:59    2224895

Replying To Joxer:  "Same goes for other counties' minor and U20 teams presumably. Cork look like they are getting their act together in fairness. I think maybe 4 or 5 of those lads may transition to senior if not more. Dublin have a backbone of key players on the verge of retiring, all between 29-31 plus Clucko. If they all go in the same year or even over two years, no county could replace them no matter how good your minors or U20s are."
Are you putting your money on 10 in a row?

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7840 - 12/08/2019 21:37:26    2224913

Replying To legendzxix:  "Are you putting your money on 10 in a row?"
Absolutely not. Sure Kerry people keep telling us how young their team is, how great the've done this year and that it's a year too soon to beat the Dubs. On this evidence the Dubs will be lucky to get 5 let alone 10 with our creaking 30 year olds about to hang up their boots. Our golden generation is coming to an end. Kerry are just starting their period of dominance.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 12/08/2019 22:03:30    2224927

Replying To Joxer:  "Absolutely not. Sure Kerry people keep telling us how young their team is, how great the've done this year and that it's a year too soon to beat the Dubs. On this evidence the Dubs will be lucky to get 5 let alone 10 with our creaking 30 year olds about to hang up their boots. Our golden generation is coming to an end. Kerry are just starting their period of dominance."
Seeing as that post was sarcasm you're pretty much putting your money on the 10. That's about as close to an admission we'll get from a dub these days.

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 12/08/2019 23:12:57    2224957

Dublin wont do an 8 in a row. They probably wont even do a 6 in a row. Ridiculous that they are odds on to win the next 2 All Irelands. If nothing else, boredom will get the better of them. When you have achieved "immortality" what more is there to achieve? I think they will win this year but I will be surprised if some hungry pretender doesn't come through next year and beat them.

PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 1903 - 13/08/2019 05:24:50    2224988

Another boring thread about Dublin - endless BS, who cares if they win 10 in a row! The Dublin media rarely mention how the cunning BA used state funding to get the Dubs into a totally dominant position. Dublin's success is tainted by a disgraced politician, one of their own, unfortunately. The comparison with Kerry or the KK hurlers is odious.

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1791 - 13/08/2019 07:57:21    2224997

Replying To TheUsername:  "It's great having young lads like MDM and Mick Fitz breaking through alright! :D"
I never said they were young lads just that they were not starting in 2015 along with 7 of the other current starters which would indicate there is a constant conveyor belt of excellent good footballers.
Compare this to Kilkenny - they had more or less the same players during their period of dominance. When those players retired Kilkenny fell back into the pack.

hopballref (Galway) - Posts: 377 - 13/08/2019 08:13:27    2224998

Replying To royaldunne:  "No it's a cert. the only question is, is a bought all ire as good as a won one??? Not saying that dubs don't have extremely talented players x they do. But the money helps. Come on are devenish gonna get a bunch of cows to moo? Are bradys gonna slice up a lilly ham? Is jack slator going to get a talking Renault? No but aig can get the all blacks to wish dubs well. There is 31 county competing at a different financial level, and financial doping is better than epo."
Never heard as much rubbish, Not a word about money when Kilkenny were going for 5 in a row and rightly so. Avonmore/Glanbia are one of the biggest corporations worldwide with Vast resources as AIG. Yet people to big enough to see that it was Cody and an extremely hard working top class group of players alone that drove their dominance.
People need to stop making begrudging excuses for their own counties short comings.
Kildare had more success under sponsorship of Tegral than they'll ever have under Brady Ham down to the plain simple fact we had better players. Plain and simple.
I'm pretty sure that come 5.30 on the 1rst of September when the dubs have completed 5 in a row they went give a fiddlers about how people think they "bought" it.
The history books will tell the only thing that matters and to hell with the begrudgers.

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 1908 - 13/08/2019 09:11:01    2225015

Replying To hopballref:  "All it takes it to bring in one or two top-class players each season which is what they have been doing.
Don't necessarily need good minor and U-20 teams.
Out of the minor teams that Kerry have produced recently - how many would make Dublin team? Clifford. Possibly Sean o ' Shea."
Oh is that all it takes? Just one or two possible all star winners each year? Here I'll get on to Horan now and tell him, the gap will be closed in no time.

jonjon (Mayo) - Posts: 99 - 13/08/2019 09:52:17    2225028

Replying To jonjon:  "Oh is that all it takes? Just one or two possible all star winners each year? Here I'll get on to Horan now and tell him, the gap will be closed in no time."
Not sure if you are having a go at my comment or agreeing with me in the fact that Dublin, due to population, are capable of bringing in one or two top quality players each season ... ?

hopballref (Galway) - Posts: 377 - 13/08/2019 15:00:31    2225150

Replying To baire:  "Another boring thread about Dublin - endless BS, who cares if they win 10 in a row! The Dublin media rarely mention how the cunning BA used state funding to get the Dubs into a totally dominant position. Dublin's success is tainted by a disgraced politician, one of their own, unfortunately. The comparison with Kerry or the KK hurlers is odious."
By "Dublin media" I presume that you mean national media, headquartered in the capital. I'm not too sure how many reputable GAA journalists would be from Dublin either. I stand corrected but if memory serves, the commencement of the flow of serious cash to Dublin GAA was sanctioned by a Kerry man, Sean Kelly, who was GAA president at the time. I'm not too sure on what basis this Dublin team's achievements would be tainted, they never won an AI through the back door and they have to play 8 games to win one. Has it ever been this difficult for any team? I would argue, no.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 13/08/2019 16:12:10    2225168

Replying To Bon:  "Never heard as much rubbish, Not a word about money when Kilkenny were going for 5 in a row and rightly so. Avonmore/Glanbia are one of the biggest corporations worldwide with Vast resources as AIG. Yet people to big enough to see that it was Cody and an extremely hard working top class group of players alone that drove their dominance.
People need to stop making begrudging excuses for their own counties short comings.
Kildare had more success under sponsorship of Tegral than they'll ever have under Brady Ham down to the plain simple fact we had better players. Plain and simple.
I'm pretty sure that come 5.30 on the 1rst of September when the dubs have completed 5 in a row they went give a fiddlers about how people think they "bought" it.
The history books will tell the only thing that matters and to hell with the begrudgers."
Mind, sand can be far hard on the ears.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 13/08/2019 17:21:31    2225192