Meath V Kerry

Meath did well in patches. The Campion goal and the pattern that lead to it was encouraging. The age-old Meath tactic of catch/kick into the full forward line had some success in the first half. Walsh has been a revelation and has a ways to go yet in his growth and development as a player. O'Sullivan has stood up as a leader in the three super 8 games. Menton/ Harnan/ Keogan/ O'Reilly/ and particularly McMahon had good performances. The full-back line were cagey on the day but are better than that level and a goalkeeping change over the winter will take a lot of pressure off them and the team as a whole. They remain at their peak at this level; not quite good enough to beat the Top 5 sides but pushing hard and making impressions, which is the best they can do. They may improve further or may not and time will tell. Im 50/50 on that question and believe 4/5 other counties to be of a similar standard going into next season. This has been Meath's best overall year in senior inter-county in maybe (arguably) 18 years and in spite of many false dawns, a few big wins, and a few nice qualifier draws in the period 02-18, most Meath people are coming around to the fact that this young side is the best we've had in a long time in many ways, if not every way.

Another point id like to make lads, there is too much bashing going on. Maybe Im feeding trolls and I admit to being triggered but Im tired of seeing Meath bashed by Kildare posters lately, with posts lacking any depth. Im tired of seeing Roscommon bashed and Cork bashed. I just don't see the point. Im tired of seeing this evergreen trend of hating their neighbours because they're more successful or have achieved more in a given year. Kildare may bounce back to this level next year and Meath may well be finished championship football in June. Thats a reality. Meath may be relegated back to division 2. Does stating these facts add anything whatsoever to the game? Does it help your own county/club to improve? I saw a statement pointing toward Meath being no longer relevant by a Kildare poster; and I agree somewhat, the jury is still out on that question. However on that issue I fight fire with fire. Kildare are pound for pound the weakest county in Ireland. Its been nearly 100 years since their last All-Ireland win. They've won a few Leinster's in my lifetime but whats that worth anymore? The last few years has produced good underage teams and all of a sudden you're on a big high horse. Concentrate on your own house lads... build a Kildare team worth cheering on. A team with consistency. A team that can go all the way. Then you can stop looking over the fence at your neighbour with his dusty old trophy cabinet, who has plenty of issues of his own and doesent need angst or jealousy. It doesent help either county build. As for the Louth's, Westmeath's, jesus wept.

Young_gael (Meath) - Posts: 587 - 04/08/2019 10:47:09    2220466

Replying To westkerry:  "Meaths FB line is the best in the country in my opinion.
What Meath miss is a partner for Menton and a few quality forwards and impact off the bench.
Not being smart here but im not sure how you can claim that Meath didn't look out of place in the super 8s, they lost esch game by 8 points.
Staying with teams for 50 mins is not what your judged on."
Fair point, we can't be judged only on the first 55 mins of games, harsh lessons were learned and hopefully we can improve. Fact of the matter is there isn't 8 " super " teams in the country, so team 6 7 and 8 are always gonna be slightly out of their depth...... in fact there is only 1 super team, out on their own, then about 4 that could beat eachother on any given day.

southmeathgael (Meath) - Posts: 885 - 04/08/2019 11:00:19    2220478

Replying To westkerry:  "Meaths FB line is the best in the country in my opinion.
What Meath miss is a partner for Menton and a few quality forwards and impact off the bench.
Not being smart here but im not sure how you can claim that Meath didn't look out of place in the super 8s, they lost esch game by 8 points.
Full back had a poor day yesterday, so did our half backs, were missing the intensity of previous outings and we did not defend as a unit, something we did well up to yesterday. Were too slow to tranisition ball from short kickouts to forwards, who in fairness to them, showed that with a good supply they can take their scores. Meath have a way to go before we reach required standard for super 8s. As you say little point judging a team on 50 minutes. However the three game against quality opposition should help their development.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2136 - 04/08/2019 11:07:51    2220484

Ah here. Are you serious? A full back line that concedes big scores week in week out?

They have a poor defence, goalie, midfield and forward line.

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 04/08/2019 11:21:48    2220488

Replying To daytona11:  "Ah here. Are you serious? A full back line that concedes big scores week in week out?

They have a poor defence, goalie, midfield and forward line."
Ah we're not that bad, we're a great bunch of lads

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 04/08/2019 12:19:59    2220529

Job done we move on the result was right if not the performance. Anyway it was a novel away trip and thanks to our Meath hosts! Enjoyed a few pre match pints in Ryan's and a few after in the O'Mahony's club house.
We'll see ye down in Tralee for the League next spring, Ciarrai Abu!!

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 04/08/2019 12:34:25    2220544

Replying To daytona11:  "Ah here. Are you serious? A full back line that concedes big scores week in week out?

Not joking given some of the weakness in goal and infront of them they are excellent.
Donal Keoghan at CHB would walk onto any team.

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 04/08/2019 12:46:08    2220551

Replying To Htaem:  "Ah we're not that bad, we're a great bunch of lads"
Im coming around to the notion that there are trolls using this forum. Nothing productive to add only inbuilt small-minded prejudiced opinions, often very stern and resilient in their opinion. People who are blinded by their emotions from games in the past. Its disappointing that such sentiment can inspire someone to even bother using a public forum.

Young_gael (Meath) - Posts: 587 - 04/08/2019 13:02:21    2220562

Replying To westkerry:  "Not joking given some of the weakness in goal and infront of them they are excellent.
Donal Keoghan at CHB would walk onto any team."
Keoghan is excellent. He wouldnt get into the Dublin team though.

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 04/08/2019 13:12:00    2220570

Replying To daytona11:  "Keoghan is excellent. He wouldnt get into the Dublin team though."
He would comfortably get into the Dublin team, he's actually better man marker then he is an attacking wing back........dealt fairly comfortably with Ciaran Kilkenny in Leinster final which no one seem to be able to do......would get in either corner back, or wing back.

southmeathgael (Meath) - Posts: 885 - 04/08/2019 13:57:16    2220591

Kind of depends on who's doing the judging. It's disappointing our performance level dropped off in the last quarter of matches all right. It still definitely was good to get the experience of consistently playing good teams. Meath's group was tough. Obviously Dublin are the best team in Ireland but Meath got a group that had the next 3 best teams. The other group did not have 3 very good teams. As someone else said here a lot of years this is going to be said about a more than one team that they don't belong in the super 8's as in any given year it will be tough to get 8 evenly matched teams playing to a high standard.

bdbuddah (Meath) - Posts: 1338 - 04/08/2019 14:05:29    2220596

Replying To Young_gael:  "Im coming around to the notion that there are trolls using this forum. Nothing productive to add only inbuilt small-minded prejudiced opinions, often very stern and resilient in their opinion. People who are blinded by their emotions from games in the past. Its disappointing that such sentiment can inspire someone to even bother using a public forum."
There's a fair few trolls on HS Young_gael, just take their obsession with Meath as a complement.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 04/08/2019 15:45:11    2220642

Listen my good man, we know we have a fair bit to do and we feel that we can eventually get there with a bit of tweaking. Another thing the day we have to worry about Kildare is a sad day indeed. You are one of the counties in Leinster and Ireland that at your very best ARE NOT ABLE TO WIN, end of. A half good Meath or Offaly would kick the you know what out of the beat that the lilies have to offer. Now crawl back under that stone like a good man or maybe get a few Coill Dubh hurlers to assist again.

MillerX (Meath) - Posts: 1061 - 04/08/2019 17:01:35    2220680

Listen my good man, we know we have a fair bit to do and we feel that we can eventually get there with a bit of tweaking. Another thing the day we have to worry about Kildare is a sad day indeed. You are one of the counties in Leinster and Ireland that at your very best ARE NOT ABLE TO WIN, end of. A half good Meath or Offaly would kick the you know what out of the beat that the lilies have to offer. Now crawl back under that stone like a good man or maybe get a few Coill Dubh hurlers to assist again.

MillerX (Meath) - Posts: 1061 - 04/08/2019 17:20:47    2220688

Replying To MillerX:  "Listen my good man, we know we have a fair bit to do and we feel that we can eventually get there with a bit of tweaking. Another thing the day we have to worry about Kildare is a sad day indeed. You are one of the counties in Leinster and Ireland that at your very best ARE NOT ABLE TO WIN, end of. A half good Meath or Offaly would kick the you know what out of the beat that the lilies have to offer. Now crawl back under that stone like a good man or maybe get a few Coill Dubh hurlers to assist again."
We've easily beaten Meath the last time we met in the championship in Navan. But hey ignore that fact though. That doesnt count though as it doesnt fit your agenda.

2-16 to 0-13

P O'Rourke; C McGill, D Keogan, D Tobin; P Harnan, M Burke (0-01), S McEntee (0-01); B Menton (0-02), R Jones; J Toher (0-01), C O'Sullivan, E Wallace; G Reilly, B McMahon, D Lenihan (0-05, 0-02f

The Meath team hasnt chanhed that much either.

Good man

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 04/08/2019 17:27:41    2220694

Replying To daytona11:  "We've easily beaten Meath the last time we met in the championship in Navan. But hey ignore that fact though. That doesnt count though as it doesnt fit your agenda.

2-16 to 0-13

P O'Rourke; C McGill, D Keogan, D Tobin; P Harnan, M Burke (0-01), S McEntee (0-01); B Menton (0-02), R Jones; J Toher (0-01), C O'Sullivan, E Wallace; G Reilly, B McMahon, D Lenihan (0-05, 0-02f

Good man"
All I have to say is 1928, not since have you hit the top, end of.

MillerX (Meath) - Posts: 1061 - 04/08/2019 17:38:57    2220700

Replying To daytona11:  "We've easily beaten Meath the last time we met in the championship in Navan. But hey ignore that fact though. That doesnt count though as it doesnt fit your agenda.

2-16 to 0-13

Good man"
8 players who aren't on team ?? Nah that's only over 50%. Lol

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 04/08/2019 17:39:08    2220701

2-16 to 0-13

Good man"
That Match was in Tullamore, surely you were there

Royalace (Meath) - Posts: 121 - 04/08/2019 18:05:05    2220716

Replying To MillerX:  "All I have to say is 1928, not since have you hit the top, end of."
Yeh 2001 was yesterday.

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 04/08/2019 18:14:33    2220724

2-16 to 0-13

Good man"
yes i to would also ignore that fact though...probably because we haven't played Kildare in the championship in Navan since 2011 ! Or maybe that is the game you are talking about ?

WhyTheLongFace (Meath) - Posts: 875 - 04/08/2019 18:28:27    2220728