David Brady On Kerry And Fitzmaurice

His comments on the ulster club championship and drinking this year were scurrilous. Kevin Cassidy didn't take kindly to it. And then of course it was revealed his own celebratory drinks story. Tipped Mayo to beat Roscommon by 17. Now stirring again on radio and Twitter over the ex Kerry managers Irish examiner column. Kerry are no angels but the GPS incident with Lee Keegan was a new low for me. Why do off the ball and other publications give him so much oxygen. Tomas O Se summed mayo up well, get over excited and put players on pedestals. Horans comments post league final were a tad arrogant

One of the weakest pundits in the game

I think Mayo will beat Galway and would luv it to give them a beating in Killarney
We owe them one.

ThyKingdomComeThyWillBeDone (Kerry) - Posts: 26 - 02/07/2019 18:58:14    2204469

I don't know what Brady said about and I couldn't care less. His analysis is so weak I find it kind of funny listening to him actually.

I like Eamon but I am not gone on his column and that article about mayo looked like he was just trying to say something controversial. It was poor tbh and I think mayo people are perfectly entitled to be annoyed about it if that kind of thing offends them.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 02/07/2019 20:41:38    2204535

Brady is dead right on this one Fitzmaurice was being sneaky lets see if he will respond or go quiet like he did when pat spillane called him out. No kerry man can complain about the so called dark arts of which kerry are number 1 in committing

brisbane (Galway) - Posts: 674 - 02/07/2019 20:47:23    2204538

Replying To ThyKingdomComeThyWillBeDone:  "His comments on the ulster club championship and drinking this year were scurrilous. Kevin Cassidy didn't take kindly to it. And then of course it was revealed his own celebratory drinks story. Tipped Mayo to beat Roscommon by 17. Now stirring again on radio and Twitter over the ex Kerry managers Irish examiner column. Kerry are no angels but the GPS incident with Lee Keegan was a new low for me. Why do off the ball and other publications give him so much oxygen. Tomas O Se summed mayo up well, get over excited and put players on pedestals. Horans comments post league final were a tad arrogant

I think Mayo will beat Galway and would luv it to give them a beating in Killarney
We owe them one."
Welcome! Someone who takes DB and Twitter seriously I see. Ah well.........

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7345 - 02/07/2019 20:53:58    2204551

Replying To GeniusGerry:  "I don't know what Brady said about and I couldn't care less. His analysis is so weak I find it kind of funny listening to him actually.

I like Eamon but I am not gone on his column and that article about mayo looked like he was just trying to say something controversial. It was poor tbh and I think mayo people are perfectly entitled to be annoyed about it if that kind of thing offends them."
What I don't get about fitzmaurice Gerry is for 6 years all we could get out of him was the odd sound bite and since he stepped down we can't shut him up.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 02/07/2019 21:14:40    2204569

Replying To ThyKingdomComeThyWillBeDone:  "His comments on the ulster club championship and drinking this year were scurrilous. Kevin Cassidy didn't take kindly to it. And then of course it was revealed his own celebratory drinks story. Tipped Mayo to beat Roscommon by 17. Now stirring again on radio and Twitter over the ex Kerry managers Irish examiner column. Kerry are no angels but the GPS incident with Lee Keegan was a new low for me. Why do off the ball and other publications give him so much oxygen. Tomas O Se summed mayo up well, get over excited and put players on pedestals. Horans comments post league final were a tad arrogant

We owe them one."
Owe what ..

They ended the Kerry era as we know it today ..summer of 2017.
Big 2 tag had officially gone and was finally accepted by the media , and Kerry haven't got it back since.

The freak result in Limerick in 2014 bought Kerry another 5 years as a the apparent main challenger to Dublin media .
Never were..

Mayo despite the injuries could beat ye down there this year and so could Galway.
Your in the wolf-pack now.

BeJasus (UK) - Posts: 383 - 02/07/2019 21:29:48    2204585

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "What I don't get about fitzmaurice Gerry is for 6 years all we could get out of him was the odd sound bite and since he stepped down we can't shut him up."
Makes sense to me, when you're Kerry manager you walk the Kingdom with a target sign on your back, so cuteness prevails. "Shut mouth catches no flies" ala Christy Browns Da.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8592 - 02/07/2019 21:31:03    2204586

Replying To realdub:  "Makes sense to me, when you're Kerry manager you walk the Kingdom with a target sign on your back, so cuteness prevails. "Shut mouth catches no flies" ala Christy Browns Da."
Or lose lips sink ships as ye would say in Dublin eh realdub?

Fitz really made some big mistakes and if I were him I wouldn't be so quick to point out other people's mistakes.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 02/07/2019 21:52:34    2204606

Replying To realdub:  "Makes sense to me, when you're Kerry manager you walk the Kingdom with a target sign on your back, so cuteness prevails. "Shut mouth catches no flies" ala Christy Browns Da."
Fitzmaurice and Brady both at the same game nowadays. Say or write something controversial on Radio, TV or online to draw attention to yourself and hopefully make a bigger name for yourself.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7345 - 02/07/2019 21:56:45    2204609

Replying To GreenandRed:  "Fitzmaurice and Brady both at the same game nowadays. Say or write something controversial on Radio, TV or online to draw attention to yourself and hopefully make a bigger name for yourself."
Funny thing is when Fitzmaurice was managing kerry he complained how the media can effect the players with unfair coverage and criticism next thing fitzmaurice is at it himself tells you everything you need to know about the fella.

brisbane (Galway) - Posts: 674 - 02/07/2019 22:05:34    2204618

Replying To BeJasus:  "Owe what ..

They ended the Kerry era as we know it today ..summer of 2017.
Big 2 tag had officially gone and was finally accepted by the media , and Kerry haven't got it back since.

The freak result in Limerick in 2014 bought Kerry another 5 years as a the apparent main challenger to Dublin media .
Never were..

Mayo despite the injuries could beat ye down there this year and so could Galway.
Your in the wolf-pack now."
Lol

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 02/07/2019 22:08:53    2204623

Look Brady is hard listen too...but I had too laugh at Eamonn Fitz complaining about dark arts..Kerry the masters for years. Fact is all the top teams live on and often cross that edge...

Mayo were ridiculed for years as being soft and nice boys..."They are the type of fellas you'd live to see your daughter come home with"...was it Pat Spillane or Joe Brolly that said that?

Kerry boys used to love us cause we used to roll over for them...them days are thankfully gone.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11231 - 02/07/2019 22:09:24    2204625

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "What I don't get about fitzmaurice Gerry is for 6 years all we could get out of him was the odd sound bite and since he stepped down we can't shut him up."
What did you expect. He's a pundit now. That's what he's paid to do. When he was in the job he had to shut his trap or he'd be roasted by every know it all in Kerry and you'd be the first to complain about it. Jays, but there's no winning with some fellas.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 02/07/2019 22:14:52    2204635

Replying To yew_tree:  "Look Brady is hard listen too...but I had too laugh at Eamonn Fitz complaining about dark arts..Kerry the masters for years. Fact is all the top teams live on and often cross that edge...

Mayo were ridiculed for years as being soft and nice boys..."They are the type of fellas you'd live to see your daughter come home with"...was it Pat Spillane or Joe Brolly that said that?

Kerry boys used to love us cause we used to roll over for them...them days are thankfully gone."
They used to love Dublin too , and thankfully no more -:)

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 02/07/2019 23:20:20    2204683

On Matt Cooper's radio show, Brady tipped Mayo to beat Roscommon by "12-15 points". Even a football ignoramus from Kilkenny like me knew that prediction was off the wall! In one sense, fair play to him for going all-in on a prediction and not taking the Martin Carney "if Mayo play to their full potential I think they should just about win with 2 or 3 points to spare" route, but my God, what a clanger of a prediction!

ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1246 - 03/07/2019 06:20:07    2204724

As alluded to by several other posters, David Brady is not one of the more reflective or incisive analysts out there. In general, I would say that Mayo pundits tend not to do their county side too many favours, unlike the Dubs or Kerry pundits who tend to tow the party line.

Though I mostly found Fitzmaurice to be a genteel enough chap as a manager, these comments do seem a touch on the rich side. Was he not manager of Kerry in 2014 when they started causing dust-ups at the end of extra time, in order to wind the clock?

There are very few top-level sides who don't engage in gamesmanship of some kind.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 03/07/2019 10:02:43    2204769

We owe them one."
Spot on.

Hes a parody.

Most people I know turn him off.

Joke he gets airtime

IamDonegal (Donegal) - Posts: 134 - 03/07/2019 20:19:02    2205109

I reckon when horan gets beat this weekend david bradys name will not doubt be linked to replacing horan

brisbane (Galway) - Posts: 674 - 03/07/2019 21:15:21    2205148

Brady's only in it for the Craic. You couldn't go taking him seriously. He predicted O Shea to mark Donahy for a laugh and it came true. Been living off that call for a few years.
Fitzmaurice is a serious hippocrit. The 2014 Replay between Kerry and Mayo had the worst referee at that level in 30 years. FitMaurices team played him like a fiddle. If Mayo have got cynical, they learned from matches like that.

tirawleybaron (Mayo) - Posts: 1109 - 04/07/2019 21:55:36    2205654

Brady like Brolly and most of them talk mince to stir controversy and keep getting paid gigs. But to be fair Fitzmaurice is doing the same here. Talking mince.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7896 - 04/07/2019 22:12:25    2205661