Mayo V Down

any chance of an upset here, especially in Newry?

gbar (None) - Posts: 10 - 17/06/2019 14:15:52    2196514

This will prove a tricky obstacle for Mayo. Paddy Tally will have Down well drilled. But you would still expect Mayo to come through.

gaelicgab (USA) - Posts: 878 - 17/06/2019 14:40:20    2196541

I'd be expecting Mayo to come through but they will need to be fully tuned in.

the_walls (Mayo) - Posts: 495 - 17/06/2019 14:42:59    2196543

Replying To gbar:  "any chance of an upset here, especially in Newry?"
Every chance of an upset, of course, but I think Mayo will have too much for Down in the end.

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 17/06/2019 14:52:26    2196547

Will certainly be taking the 6 point spread on Down.

BeJasus (UK) - Posts: 383 - 17/06/2019 14:59:42    2196553

Is this game televised? For me its the draw of the round!

doubletree (Dublin) - Posts: 164 - 17/06/2019 17:16:21    2196660

Hard to know where we are at the minute. We lost to Roscommon having dominated midfield. Defence looks shaky, our forwards are struggling to score and now we have lost Matty Ruane. There is only so much big Aido can do on his own. Would be hopeful rather than confident.

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 17/06/2019 19:16:52    2196731

Replying To doubletree:  "Is this game televised? For me its the draw of the round!"
No its not on tv

tommy132 (Mayo) - Posts: 601 - 17/06/2019 20:38:27    2196766

Mayo could easily be knocked out Sat evening, its the joys of the qualifiers anything can happen.
Its better that Mayo are playing away, awful record at home.
Seems to be a real negativity around Mayo, the way they lost to Roscommon was not good, they did score 17 points which is decent for a mayo team.
I think Mayo will win it, with a few lads back and a few others will be fitter like D O Connor who was off the boil against Roscommon.
Be either D O Connor or Vaughan to midfield which isnt too bad but still a big loss with Ruane gone.

tommy132 (Mayo) - Posts: 601 - 17/06/2019 20:44:11    2196768

Are Mayo fans nervous about this one?

I watched Down v Armagh and for me Down were the better team and only for Mooney's red card I think they would of won.

Mayo are a strange team they play to the level of the opposition wether it's Derry Fermanagh Kildare Kerry Dublin so for me you never know with Mayo, pity it's not on tv Mayo games should always been on tv there's always entertainment one way or another.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 18/06/2019 11:20:26    2197000

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Are Mayo fans nervous about this one?

I watched Down v Armagh and for me Down were the better team and only for Mooney's red card I think they would of won.

Mayo are a strange team they play to the level of the opposition wether it's Derry Fermanagh Kildare Kerry Dublin so for me you never know with Mayo, pity it's not on tv Mayo games should always been on tv there's always entertainment one way or another."
It'll be tight, so is the Pair Esler pitch. We should win but I'm nervous. We need a big improvement on the last game. Hopefully Coen and Boland will start.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7337 - 18/06/2019 11:47:25    2197014

Think this could be game of the weekend.. Down will be well up for this one, and with Harrison, Mooney etc they have some quality. Dont think Ruane is as big a loss as Mayo make out, would expect Cillian to come back and maybe brother Diarmuid move to midfield.
Down will get a big score but maybe Mayo will have to much for them ..

Belclare (Galway) - Posts: 904 - 18/06/2019 12:04:50    2197029

It's a banana skin and if we don't bring our A game we will be knocked out. Nervous enough

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11227 - 18/06/2019 12:37:22    2197052

Does anyone know if Sky are showing this game or are they showing a qualifier game at all this weekend?

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 18/06/2019 13:03:14    2197073

Mayo are a strange team. They make hard work of the lower division teams but equally can beat any of the top 4 Div 1 teams. They should win this game quite easily however Ruane is a big loss. Will Cillian be back anytime soon?

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 18/06/2019 13:19:51    2197081

Replying To Belclare:  "Think this could be game of the weekend.. Down will be well up for this one, and with Harrison, Mooney etc they have some quality. Dont think Ruane is as big a loss as Mayo make out, would expect Cillian to come back and maybe brother Diarmuid move to midfield.
Down will get a big score but maybe Mayo will have to much for them .."
Ruane was Mayo's best player in the League. He is a massive loss.

Mfs (Mayo) - Posts: 251 - 18/06/2019 13:28:21    2197086

Can't wait for this, full house in newry mayo will know they've been in a game.
I think and i hope I'm wrong that mayo will be too strong for us especially in the physical stakes, we our not strong in midfield and mayo will target our kickouts which could drive them on.

We have the forwards that could hurt them but we will need everyone on there game if we can get mayo frustrated then its game on.

Safe travels to all mayo supporters here's hoping for a great game.

Yourjoking (USA) - Posts: 704 - 18/06/2019 13:45:55    2197096

Replying To Jackeen:  "Mayo are a strange team. They make hard work of the lower division teams but equally can beat any of the top 4 Div 1 teams. They should win this game quite easily however Ruane is a big loss. Will Cillian be back anytime soon?"
Heard COC played a half HR in a challenge against Clare 2 weeks ago and played in the A v B game last weekend but hard see him been near full match fitness but regardless of that they well need him for the frees as they don't have any other player who seems to be able put it over consistently

Galwayjoe86 (Galway) - Posts: 258 - 18/06/2019 14:10:19    2197105

Replying To Mfs:  "Ruane was Mayo's best player in the League. He is a massive loss."
He has started two championship games ever.. Ye have O Shea x 2 Vaughan and o Connor.. It shouldn't be an issue

Belclare (Galway) - Posts: 904 - 18/06/2019 14:25:22    2197112

Replying To Belclare:  "He has started two championship games ever.. Ye have O Shea x 2 Vaughan and o Connor.. It shouldn't be an issue"
He played in Mayo's Last 8 games. Seamie O'Se and Vaughan are both injured. So we either have to rob the forwards for a second midfielder or start a man that was only brought into the panel after the league. If there was a team of the league picked Ruane would have been on it. Dominated midfield against Roscommon in Championship.

Mfs (Mayo) - Posts: 251 - 18/06/2019 14:46:17    2197122