The McCann Ban

Ok lads, calm your heels. What happened was not very nice and I was more annoyed about how this might impact our younger gaels. The act itself was not nice but there were a couple of worse incidences over the last couple years (eye gouging) which of course were far, far worse. But whataboutery is a waste of time, I may as well be a DUP candidate!lol Not nice - punishment given - move on. As an ex-player, I've never seen this move, but I've seen a lot worse. Saying that, it's no excuse. Tiernan McCann does not deserve a witch hunt. He's an amateur player like the rest of us. I've witnessed many a man dish out much more damaging abuse over the years. Not making excuses, but we have to let the GAA authorities deal with these things as much as we love or hate the player. He broke the rules and we don't want to see the rules undermined. The poor player who lost his mouth-guard is a tough enough boy - I'm sure he's not having sleepless nights over this.

Brolly (Monaghan) - Posts: 4472 - 15/06/2019 04:02:43    2195141

Replying To Brolly:  "Ok lads, calm your heels. What happened was not very nice and I was more annoyed about how this might impact our younger gaels. The act itself was not nice but there were a couple of worse incidences over the last couple years (eye gouging) which of course were far, far worse. But whataboutery is a waste of time, I may as well be a DUP candidate!lol Not nice - punishment given - move on. As an ex-player, I've never seen this move, but I've seen a lot worse. Saying that, it's no excuse. Tiernan McCann does not deserve a witch hunt. He's an amateur player like the rest of us. I've witnessed many a man dish out much more damaging abuse over the years. Not making excuses, but we have to let the GAA authorities deal with these things as much as we love or hate the player. He broke the rules and we don't want to see the rules undermined. The poor player who lost his mouth-guard is a tough enough boy - I'm sure he's not having sleepless nights over this."
By all accounts he is a decent lad and a nice chap. I'm not saying he isnt we can all do things we regret in the heat of the moment. This isnt about the individual.

I am however making the point that the rules need to change to deal with these incidents properly. It does however seem to be the same teams getting involved in these incidents over the years.

tulachmhór (Offaly) - Posts: 145 - 15/06/2019 08:35:32    2195145

Replying To .tribute:  "Getting bored of these Tyrone lads trying to have a tough image about them talking crap on this. Ryan should have bit his finger off."
I actually agree with you. Any player silly enough to put a finger in someone's mouth deserves it bitten. I have not heard one Tyrone fan defend mccann at all. All they have been saying is there have been far worse incidents in years gone by.

Will be interesting to see how the summer progress and if any other incidents occur and what kind of reception it gets in the media.

kevin03 (Tyrone) - Posts: 276 - 15/06/2019 15:31:43    2195270

Replying To clondalkindub:  "
Replying To kevin03:  "[quote=Barnowl94:  "[quote=kevin03:  "[quote=THE_SNAPPER:  "https://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/2017/0627/885998-burns-banned-for-12-weeks-for-kicking-ball-at-umpire/

The following was tTaken from the above 2017 article;

"Louth's Ryan Burns has become the latest inter-county Gaelic footballer to receive a 12-week ban for 'minor physical interference with an official' after kicking a ball at an umpire in the Wee County's qualifier defeat to Longford."

McCann must have friends in high places ?"
Why?

The rules are clear on interfering with officials. 12 week ban.

Previous eye gouge incidents have only got a 1 game ban so looks like McCann was hard done by."
Hard done by?
You are a funny funny guy.
Lifetime ban was deserved for what he did."]Haha seems have more jokes than I do.

Put it this way. Would you rather have your eye viciously poke with the chance of going blind aka philly McMahon or have someone put a hand in your mouth while you were wearing a gum shield? I am seriously asking you.

People seriously need to take a long at themselves and see past their Tyrone hate rid."]I kind of agree and I'm no fan of Tyrone but what did he really do that was so bad? Ok his hands shouldn't be near his lips? But what's the worst thing he could of done? I think it looks worst than what happened imo , what exactly did he do that was so bad? Tyrone posters know I'm no fan of the way their team behaves but I think there's been an overreaction on this incident. Just my opinion."]Donegal say their man's vision was gone for a bit after the incident, and it was clearly his eye the doctor was looking at when he was treating him. They eyes can be delicate enough, any lad deliberately putting his hand in an opponents face and leaving him with an eye injury can consider himself very lucky to just get 2 games.

Soma (UK) - Posts: 2630 - 15/06/2019 17:19:44    2195306

Replying To Soma:  "
Replying To clondalkindub:  "[quote=kevin03:  "[quote=Barnowl94:  "[quote=kevin03:  "[quote=THE_SNAPPER:  "https://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/2017/0627/885998-burns-banned-for-12-weeks-for-kicking-ball-at-umpire/

The following was tTaken from the above 2017 article;

"Louth's Ryan Burns has become the latest inter-county Gaelic footballer to receive a 12-week ban for 'minor physical interference with an official' after kicking a ball at an umpire in the Wee County's qualifier defeat to Longford."

McCann must have friends in high places ?"
Why?

The rules are clear on interfering with officials. 12 week ban.

Previous eye gouge incidents have only got a 1 game ban so looks like McCann was hard done by."
Hard done by?
You are a funny funny guy.
Lifetime ban was deserved for what he did."]Haha seems have more jokes than I do.

Put it this way. Would you rather have your eye viciously poke with the chance of going blind aka philly McMahon or have someone put a hand in your mouth while you were wearing a gum shield? I am seriously asking you.

People seriously need to take a long at themselves and see past their Tyrone hate rid."]I kind of agree and I'm no fan of Tyrone but what did he really do that was so bad? Ok his hands shouldn't be near his lips? But what's the worst thing he could of done? I think it looks worst than what happened imo , what exactly did he do that was so bad? Tyrone posters know I'm no fan of the way their team behaves but I think there's been an overreaction on this incident. Just my opinion."]Donegal say their man's vision was gone for a bit after the incident, and it was clearly his eye the doctor was looking at when he was treating him. They eyes can be delicate enough, any lad deliberately putting his hand in an opponents face and leaving him with an eye injury can consider himself very lucky to just get 2 games."]Did you not see the boot studs being trailed across his face ?

THE_SNAPPER (Louth) - Posts: 2019 - 15/06/2019 20:49:37    2195414

Replying To .tribute:  "Getting bored of these Tyrone lads trying to have a tough image about them talking crap on this. Ryan should have bit his finger off."
Was scrolling through this thread on my phone a bit lackadaisically and inadvertently touched the red-thumb-down button apparently, and they won't let me take it back.
Apologies.

extranjero (Wexford) - Posts: 375 - 15/06/2019 21:47:19    2195496

"Ok lads, calm your heels. What happened was not very nice and I was more annoyed about how this might impact our younger gaels. The act itself was not nice but there were a couple of worse incidences over the last couple years (eye gouging) which of course were far, far worse. But whataboutery is a waste of time, I may as well be a DUP candidate!lol Not nice - punishment given - move on. As an ex-player, I've never seen this move, but I've seen a lot worse. Saying that, it's no excuse. Tiernan McCann does not deserve a witch hunt. He's an amateur player like the rest of us. I've witnessed many a man dish out much more damaging abuse over the years. Not making excuses, but we have to let the GAA authorities deal with these things as much as we love or hate the player. He broke the rules and we don't want to see the rules undermined. The poor player who lost his mouth-guard is a tough enough boy - I'm sure he's not having sleepless nights over this.
Brolly (Monaghan) - Posts: 4460 - 15/06/2019 04:02:43 2195141"

It appears that you can put on a GAA jersey, take to the playing field, commit acts of thuggery and not face any real consequences afterwards.
Donning a jersey for your club or county should not exempt you from facing the full rigors of the law should you willfully and deliberately assault another whilst representing the aforementioned.
If the GAA deem an offence has been committed then the guilty party or parties should not only face disciplinary measures from the GAA but they should also be subject to a Gardaí investigation aswell. If you assault someone on the streets you will be arrested and charged where appropriate.

THE_SNAPPER (Louth) - Posts: 2019 - 15/06/2019 22:26:53    2195535

Full rigours of the law. Furthermore, as well should be two words. Improving though......

LaLu (Louth) - Posts: 233 - 16/06/2019 01:24:28    2195596

You must have been on here calling for bans for half the Cavan and Armagh teams when they hadn't even the manners to wait for the game to start before engaging in a slug fest.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 16/06/2019 11:20:20    2195663

In fairness he probably never thought about biting as it's more of a donegal thing to grab the fingers and try to break them by forcefully bending them backwards :)

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 16/06/2019 11:23:54    2195664

Replying To extranjero:  "Was scrolling through this thread on my phone a bit lackadaisically and inadvertently touched the red-thumb-down button apparently, and they won't let me take it back.
Apologies."
The thumbs are anonymous so who cares! Now you've got a red thumb and a brown nose. Well done.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 16/06/2019 11:30:17    2195669

Unusual move for the Tyrone cheerleaders to keep drawing attention back to the nasty actions of McCann.

greatpoint (USA) - Posts: 427 - 16/06/2019 13:07:42    2195697

Replying To greatpoint:  "Unusual move for the Tyrone cheerleaders to keep drawing attention back to the nasty actions of McCann."
We've all condemned the behavior and there's no point in refusing to acknowledge it. Just calling out the over the top reactions that always accompany these incidents,and that can be true for other teams and their players also.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 16/06/2019 17:27:36    2195853

Ok...so the trial by media has finished. MC cann has got his ban which is the appropriate ban. He will miss Tyrone's next 2 games if they progress beyond Longford next weekend he won't be a great loss anyway on his form this year. His performance against Donegal would have meant him getting dropped anyway so no great loss.

mayotyroneman (Tyrone) - Posts: 1821 - 16/06/2019 18:33:07    2195935

Ok...so the trial by media has finished. MC cann has got his ban which is the appropriate ban. He will miss Tyrone's next 2 games if they progress beyond Longford next weekend he won't be a great loss anyway on his form this year. His performance against Donegal would have meant him getting dropped anyway so no great loss.

mayotyroneman (Tyrone) - Posts: 1821 - 16/06/2019 20:56:37    2196044

Replying To LaLu:  "Full rigours of the law. Furthermore, as well should be two words. Improving though......"
"Full rigours of the law. Furthermore, as well should be two words. Improving though......

LaLu (Louth) - Posts: 198 - 16/06/2019 01:24:28 2195596"

If bullying someone for their spelling mistakes is your thing then you have come to the right place here on Hoganstand.

Hoganstand seems to be very happy and content to facilitate you, which is sad really given they do not provide posters with any option to amend any typos a post may have and/or delete a post. Once you push that 'Post Message' button you then expose yourself to the anger & stress of bullies.

I previously stated that; "Correcting someone's spelling and grammar can be helpful in the correct context, but using it as a weapon is low.

Language is tough. Some people are dyslexic, some people speak English as a second language, some people don't have the best education and some just make an error. Trying to make yourself look better by pointing out other people's mistakes is a crappy thing to do"

Your repeated mocking of my spellings and grammar is unwelcome.

THE_SNAPPER (Louth) - Posts: 2019 - 17/06/2019 21:05:35    2196779

Replying To seanie_boy:  "You must have been on here calling for bans for half the Cavan and Armagh teams when they hadn't even the manners to wait for the game to start before engaging in a slug fest."
Now your acting like a northern politician. I done this but you done that. Call it as it is!!

.tribute (Cavan) - Posts: 360 - 18/06/2019 02:41:21    2196904

Replying To LaLu:  "Full rigours of the law. Furthermore, as well should be two words. Improving though......"
Wise up with that nonsense.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 18/06/2019 08:10:04    2196922

Replying To .tribute:  "Now your acting like a northern politician. I done this but you done that. Call it as it is!!"
What is it with some of you Cavan posters and "northern politics"? you must have an axe to grind over something unless your gona tell me free state politicians are always honest and tell it how it is!

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2385 - 18/06/2019 10:28:40    2196968

Replying To SaffronDon:  "What is it with some of you Cavan posters and "northern politics"? you must have an axe to grind over something unless your gona tell me free state politicians are always honest and tell it how it is!"
I've yet to carry out an official recount, but I believe that was just one poster

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5010 - 18/06/2019 10:32:23    2196971