Connolly Returns

Replying To Llaw_Gyffes:  "Every counties second favourites team! Have you ever, I mean ever, met anyone from Galway, Roscommon or even Sligo? I'd say Belclare spilled his hot cocoa when he read that."
Its an interesting debate you can be liked or be respected, i thought it was odd when you mentioned being disliked, who wants to be liked in competitive sport you want to win, be feared and respected.

I dont think there has ever been a team with more good will behind them then Mayo at the moment if im honest, its an incredible story to be fair and cracking fans. If it wasnt us id like to say Mayo win one.

Good will champions.

Happy Mayo day!

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 04/05/2019 10:18:52    2181793

Replying To lilylanger:  "Well I dont assume to know everything about the Dubs unlike your good self. So I got their manager's name wrong big deal. Its still been 10 years since you beat them. Not wrong about that :)"
You're wrong again it's actually 9 years and 9 months since we hammered them last.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 04/05/2019 10:35:32    2181796

Replying To mayotyroneman:  "Shows the state the dubs are in ..bringing in two former greats to paper over the cracks!"
We're Jim Gavin's Lonely Hearts Club Band

We hope you have enjoyed the show

;)

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 04/05/2019 10:37:18    2181798

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "You're wrong again it's actually 9 years and 9 months since we hammered them last."
Yesterday all my troubles seemed so far away.
Now it looks as though they're here to stay.
Oh, I believe in yesterday.

Suddenly, I'm not half the man I used to be.
There's a shadow hanging over me.
Oh, yesterday came suddenly.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 04/05/2019 11:59:40    2181811

Replying To TheUsername:  "Its an interesting debate you can be liked or be respected, i thought it was odd when you mentioned being disliked, who wants to be liked in competitive sport you want to win, be feared and respected.

I dont think there has ever been a team with more good will behind them then Mayo at the moment if im honest, its an incredible story to be fair and cracking fans. If it wasnt us id like to say Mayo win one.

Good will champions.

Happy Mayo day!"
I didn't actually mention being disliked, I was just responding to your comment about us being everyones second favourite team. To be honest I don't care if other teams supporters want to spit on us as long as we win Sam. I want to win five in a row and have every other county hate us. Galway and the Ros hate us as it is and us winning nothing. Just imagine how apoplectic they would be if we actually won something. The Dubs thrive on being unpopular as most winning teams do. If people feel sorry for you it usually means you're losing as we well know.

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 04/05/2019 21:58:26    2181873

Replying To mayotyroneman:  "Shows the state the dubs are in ..bringing in two former greats to paper over the cracks!"
Going for 5 in a row is awful state to be in, how pathetic Dublin must be alright. Here for you, hun xx

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 04/05/2019 22:24:23    2181875

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Ah he'll be back all right, that's probably why paul Flynn retired, they're all slowly making their way back for the coronation in September.

Will the 5 in a row celebrations be held in the Phoenix Park ?
I suppose it'll be the only place big enough to hold the millions of fan that'll come out for the party."
Your Dublin obsession is getting worse lad , please get help.

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 04/05/2019 23:01:35    2181881

Yea we are doomed , twas great while it lasted , we are in some state all right , god help us .

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 04/05/2019 23:10:19    2181882

Would you stop, two fantastic battle proven players, any panel in Ireland would be delighted to have them.

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 1908 - 05/05/2019 01:09:28    2181894

Replying To superbluedub:  "Your Dublin obsession is getting worse lad , please get help."
Hey I'm just trying to join in on the excitement of ye winning the 5 in a row, I mean it's the least I can do after the GAA went to a lot of trouble financially and logistically to get ye there.

I wonder will the excitement be as big next year when ye are goin for the 6 in a row? Personally I don't think it will, watching Celtic winning the Scottish title for the 8th time in a row yesterday was pretty dull and I'm a big fan of Celtic.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 05/05/2019 08:50:33    2181902

There have been some juvenile threads & comments on HS over the years, but this trumps them all.

greysoil (Monaghan) - Posts: 965 - 05/05/2019 09:05:27    2181904

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "Jim Gavin just confirmed on Newstalk!
This is massive ! O'Carroll and Connolly back! HAIL HAIL THE DUBS ARE HERE"
You were partially correct.
Connolly returns ...... to Boston

greysoil (Monaghan) - Posts: 965 - 25/06/2019 08:43:08    2200420

Replying To greysoil:  "There have been some juvenile threads & comments on HS over the years, but this trumps them all."
And yet you see fit to bump the thread with your recent comment!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 25/06/2019 09:31:37    2200439

Replying To Jackeen:  "And yet you see fit to bump the thread with your recent comment!"
Sure why not!

greysoil (Monaghan) - Posts: 965 - 25/06/2019 10:24:42    2200469

Replying To greysoil:  "Sure why not!"
Exactly

Out in June

You might as well stay relevant in some way wha

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 25/06/2019 10:30:15    2200476

Connolly the younger doing a decent job around the middle this summer so far.

His best game for Dublin against Galway last week.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13707 - 25/06/2019 10:35:58    2200480

He'll regret this forever imo.

20 years time he'll look back and say to himself "what was I thinking"

Best of luck to him anyway he owes Dublin football nothing.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 25/06/2019 10:36:55    2200481

Isnt it scary to think that we arent even putting out our best team.

But sure players in all the other counties are leaving in their droves becuase of Dublin, Dublin dont have this problem.

Thats Collie Basquel and Dermo of to the states this year

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 25/06/2019 10:44:52    2200487

Replying To jimbodub:  "Exactly

Out in June

You might as well stay relevant in some way wha"
Well that's the difference I guess. My internet in the game remains even when we are not still involved. No soccer terrace alternative for me :-)

greysoil (Monaghan) - Posts: 965 - 25/06/2019 10:56:54    2200495

Did Jim Gavin invite him back into the squad but he turned it down? Or was that never on the cards?

Green_Gold (Donegal) - Posts: 1874 - 25/06/2019 11:27:50    2200517