Predictions 2019

Can't see past the Dubs to be honest. The only hope we had was the possibility they might get bored or lose concentration but with the five in a row on the cards that's not going to happen. Mayo will probably get to the super eights but it will take a few years and a major rebuild before we can hope to make a final again. Galway are improving and probably will have the best forwards outside of Dublin but I don't think their defence is good enough. Monaghan will be competitive again and will be capable of beating anyone but not everyone. Tyrone are an all round good team but lack the X Factor of the Tyrone of old. Donegal could be serious contenders if they can built on last year but operating out of Division 2 may tell against them. Kerry are hard to judge at this stage. Common sense would suggest that it will take a couple of years to come good but you never know with Kerry. I think this year may be a year too soon but I think theirs will be the next name on Sam after the Dubs.

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 15/01/2019 13:48:08    2157297

Replying To Dubh_linn:  ""A bunch of kids " eh. The first year is often the year when a team gets a bounce in performance from a new man in charge. Kerry will have a great chance of making the final as will Mayo. Mayo will have a thougher run through Connacht but will likely come through and Kerry have another Munster title already in the bag.
Super eights will be interesting alright. Tyrone will come through ulster and give it another bash of course but I think Peter could be right."
I really hope Peter is right and maybe it's a lack of vision or hope on my part but I cannot see past Dublin winning the 5.

I'm not a gambling man but if I was I'd put the house the farm the tractors and the car and jeep on nobody getting within 8 points of Dublin In this years championship , my god didn't yer b team beat Meath the other night so where are the rest of us going!

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 15/01/2019 14:31:52    2157314

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "I really hope Peter is right and maybe it's a lack of vision or hope on my part but I cannot see past Dublin winning the 5.

I'm not a gambling man but if I was I'd put the house the farm the tractors and the car and jeep on nobody getting within 8 points of Dublin In this years championship , my god didn't yer b team beat Meath the other night so where are the rest of us going!"
Don't be exaggerating pal, it was our 'C' team :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8592 - 15/01/2019 14:58:12    2157323

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "I really hope Peter is right and maybe it's a lack of vision or hope on my part but I cannot see past Dublin winning the 5.

I'm not a gambling man but if I was I'd put the house the farm the tractors and the car and jeep on nobody getting within 8 points of Dublin In this years championship , my god didn't yer b team beat Meath the other night so where are the rest of us going!"
Leinster - Dublin
Munster - Kerry
Connacht - Mayo
Ulster - Donegal

AI - Dublin

I cannot see anyone stopping Dublin's drive for five. My hope is Donegal can be the leader of the chasing pack, particularly if we can get Paddy McBrearty back. I don't think we were too far off Tyrone last year.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9136 - 15/01/2019 15:48:43    2157347

Let's be honest here. The 5 in a row is nigh on impossible and that's been proven.
The Kilkenny team who most would see as the greatest side to ever play the game, with probably the greatest hurling manager of all,couldn't manage it.
The greatest Kerry team with whom many would claim was the greatest football manager of all , couldn't manage it.
If you were a gambling man you'd see the odds were very much against it.
Sounds like things aren't going to bad for ye poor farmers though. That's some amount of land and assets you have.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 15/01/2019 17:59:15    2157382

Replying To realdub:  "Don't be exaggerating pal, it was our 'C' team :D"
That's even worse realdub, I'm doubley depressed now :-)

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 15/01/2019 18:14:28    2157387

Replying To Dubh_linn:  "Let's be honest here. The 5 in a row is nigh on impossible and that's been proven.
The Kilkenny team who most would see as the greatest side to ever play the game, with probably the greatest hurling manager of all,couldn't manage it.
The greatest Kerry team with whom many would claim was the greatest football manager of all , couldn't manage it.
Sounds like things aren't going to bad for ye poor farmers though. That's some amount of land and assets you have."
The thing about farming is you have to have a bit of land to be a farmer. Then there will usually have to be a house of some vintage thrown in as ye olde hay shed isn't too comfortable. Also of course if you have any bit of work to do around the place you'll need the Ferguson 25, which I'm sure is the tractor Kingdomboy is referring to. Farms can be a distance away from the nearest town so the Morris Minor or Anglia isn't really such a luxury. The jeep now I grant you is a sign of affluence. There are no jeeps in Mayo.

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 15/01/2019 19:14:09    2157404

Replying To Dubh_linn:  "Let's be honest here. The 5 in a row is nigh on impossible and that's been proven.
Sounds like things aren't going to bad for ye poor farmers though. That's some amount of land and assets you have."
The land is great and I'm very lucky but i don't think I'd have anymore than anyother farmer around.

At the end of the day it was passed on to me and il pass it on to my son if he wants it, there isn't much of a living to be made of it these days unlike back in my father and grandfathers time hence I got a normal day job and my wife is a teacher and she owns the Jeep.

I think jim gavin and Dublin will learn from ours and Kilkennys mistakes when it come yer drive for 5 but sure we'll revisit this thread in August and I promise I won't tell you I told you so :-)

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 15/01/2019 20:24:02    2157418

Replying To Llaw_Gyffes:  "The thing about farming is you have to have a bit of land to be a farmer. Then there will usually have to be a house of some vintage thrown in as ye olde hay shed isn't too comfortable. Also of course if you have any bit of work to do around the place you'll need the Ferguson 25, which I'm sure is the tractor Kingdomboy is referring to. Farms can be a distance away from the nearest town so the Morris Minor or Anglia isn't really such a luxury. The jeep now I grant you is a sign of affluence. There are no jeeps in Mayo."
Ye have it rough by the sound of it alright.
Sure I remember hearing poor old Pee complaining about how hard it was to keep his 3 houses.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 15/01/2019 20:40:26    2157426

It was a draw actually:) bloody penalties my ass

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 15/01/2019 20:56:53    2157432

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "The land is great and I'm very lucky but i don't think I'd have anymore than anyother farmer around.

At the end of the day it was passed on to me and il pass it on to my son if he wants it, there isn't much of a living to be made of it these days unlike back in my father and grandfathers time hence I got a normal day job and my wife is a teacher and she owns the Jeep.

I think jim gavin and Dublin will learn from ours and Kilkennys mistakes when it come yer drive for 5 but sure we'll revisit this thread in August and I promise I won't tell you I told you so :-)"
Ah, you're comfortable enough so. Practically Gentry compared to the majority of us.
I've pawned the bicycle and put 20 euro on Kerry and 10 on Mayo. Fingers crossed I'll not have to walk the 5 miles to work and back for too long :-0
We'll revisit in time so and see how it plays out.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 15/01/2019 20:57:51    2157433

Replying To Dubh_linn:  "Ye have it rough by the sound of it alright.
Sure I remember hearing poor old Pee complaining about how hard it was to keep his 3 houses."
Pee wasn't a farmer though and he kept the jeep at the house in Dublin. To blend in like!

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 15/01/2019 21:08:23    2157436

Replying To Llaw_Gyffes:  "Pee wasn't a farmer though and he kept the jeep at the house in Dublin. To blend in like!"
Sure he probably parked it for free at Enda's gaff. Ye own half the city.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 15/01/2019 21:28:13    2157442

Replying To Dubh_linn:  "Sure he probably parked it for free at Enda's gaff. Ye own half the city."
Wrong party , but he was very friendly with Bertie though maybe he gave him a whip round.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 15/01/2019 21:45:50    2157448

Replying To royaldunne:  "Wrong party , but he was very friendly with Bertie though maybe he gave him a whip round."
Party loyalty's don't come into it.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 15/01/2019 22:06:37    2157451

Replying To bloodyban:  "
Replying To TribalThing:  "Connacht Football: Mayo
Leinster Football: Dublin
Munster Football: Kerry
Ulster Football: Monaghan

All Ireland Football Winners: Dublin
Footballer of the Year: Paul Manion

Leinster Hurling: Galway
Munster Hurling: Clare

All Ireland Hurling Winners: Galway
Hurler of the Year:
Padraic Mannion"
Was that your 2018 hurling predictions aswell? Clare won't win Munster,they never do . Galway may win Leinster but there 'll be at least one day out...probably the All Ireland final where they fail to turn up again. I'd say
Leinster Hurling : Galway
Munster Hurling : Tipperary
All Ireland : Cork"
Haha.

Sure at the start of last year we could have all said

" Limerick wont win the All ireland, they never do"

Clare have been in the last two Munster finals and should have won last year. They have as much as chance as any team in Munster to win it this year.

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2479 - 16/01/2019 01:45:31    2157481

Connacht Football: Galway
Leinster Football: Dublin
Munster Football: Kerry
Ulster Football: Tyrone

All Ireland Football Winners: Dublin

Leinster Hurling: Kilkenny
Munster Hurling: Cork

All Ireland Hurling Winners: Cork

Byanthon (Tyrone) - Posts: 1780 - 16/01/2019 09:35:22    2157509

Replying To TheUsername:  "I think Kerry are one of the teams that can hit the score quota to beat Dublin and wold have the esteem to go toe to toe with Dublin, if you can do that you have a good chance. They have some very talented players and the engine of youth. A little luck also helps.

A lot will depend of their new manager and whether he can get a competitive system in place at the back and midfield and plug a few gaps. You would think Donnie Buckley would help on that score. I think it may be getting the opportunity to play Dublin, in the last few years they have struggled to beat teams like Monaghan, Galway and Mayo to earn the right to have a crack at the Dubs. Id be looking there as a priority first if i was Kerry.

I admittedly dont know an awful lot about Peter Keane bar the couple of minors, but i know he was the popular choice in Kerry and there is a decent backroom in place. When i looked at the situation there i would have gone for someone like Liam Kearns myself and surprised there wasnt much of a support for him, he has a terrific CV behind him and been effective in heat of late summer months with limited resources. But i wouldn't have the local knowledge of Kerry football as some of the lads on here.

But looks all to play for this year with many counties fancying their chancres, Galway, Donegal, Tyrone, Kerry and Mayo looking strong contenders and you wouldn't be amazed seeing any in a final, despite this being a non-competitive era :) Mongahan and Kildare maybe a bit behind but always competitive in my opinion.

Dublin themselves will have to prove to be competitive this year, you constantly have to earn that right and is never easy."
I think you are hitting on the main crux for people beating Dublin and that is getting the requisite scores. Mayo have come close because of their strength around the half back line and midfield and their ability to pin Dublin back but them and Tyrone still lacked the free scoring to beat Dublin.

Kerry this year will have a forward line that can all contribute scores and help turn their men in the half and full back line but will probably struggle to match Dublin in midfield. At the back, there is hope with Donie Buckley on board to develop a cohesive plan which is something that Fitzmaurice never learned (compare the replay against Mayo with the first round of the league last year to show how little was learned about protecting the full back line.

As for Liam Kearns, I think he track record in Kerry with some clubs definitely didn't play in his favour. His time with Rathmore was underwhelming and sees him as a perennial bridesmaid like John Evans. I think both do a great job with other counties but wouldn't be up to top level standard.

It's Dublin's title to lose this year. Mayo to improve with new blood like Brian Reape, Fionn McDonagh and Ryan O'Donoghue in the forward line. Tyrone to add some cutting edge to their already impressive team with Coney, McCurry and Canavan drafted in. Galway to hopefully come out of their shell and play football as they have the makings of a serious team with McDaid back and another year under the belt of Michael Daly, O'Ceillaigh and others. Donegal to make a serious push given the strength of their panel but a lot with rest on getting McBrearty back. Kerry could challenge if their defence matures and they solidify the central positions by sticking with the likes of Gavin Crowley, Jason Foley and Tadhg Morley to man these positions.

Overall, I think we are in for a bumper year of football with the likes of Armagh, Kildare, Roscommon etc bubbling just below the top level.

macruiskeen (UK) - Posts: 37 - 16/01/2019 10:22:57    2157517

Replying To oakleafersir:  "Football:
Ulster- Monaghan
Connacht- Galway
Munster- Kerry
Leinster- Dublin
All Ireland- It's a bold call but I think Donegal might be the ones to stop the the Dubs. (Will probably change my mind on who will win Sam/stop the Dubs by May time)
Hurling:
Leinster- Galway
Munster- Cork
All Ireland- Galway"
I don't think thats being bold at all. i nailed my colours to the mast a good while ago and i think Donegal are the one team that can trouble dublin. they have pace and power in attack and are aggressive defenders. although this all completely depends on how mc brearty and murphy come back into the fold.
I'll move of the main thoroughfare for a minute and i'll predict your own county Derry to gain promotion and make inroads in the championship. Leitrim to gain promotion out of division 4 and my own cavan to stay up in division 1 (just about) and make an ulster final for the first time in 18 years!!!!! I'm also expecting to see a lot more from Armagh this year, i just hope it's not at our expense.

theweanling (Cavan) - Posts: 414 - 16/01/2019 11:21:10    2157537

Ulster DONEGAL
Connacht Galway
Leinster Dublin
Munster Kerry

ALL Ireland Final Donegal Mayo
All Ireland Winner Donegal

Kingofthehill100 (Mayo) - Posts: 68 - 16/01/2019 12:51:37    2157556