Galway Football thread

Can't for the life of me know why PJ brought in Mickey Graham and Galligan? They aren't the names you bring in if you are trying to win the Tailteann cup never mind Sam!!

3rdmidfielder (Australia) - Posts: 495 - 29/06/2026 14:46:36    2682911

Replying To galwayford:  "If P.Joyce is to be kept on as Manager, surely Galway county board should send him on a coaching course. Sometimes he does'nt seem to grasp the basics. Example he's on the sideline wearing a Dublin blue tracksuit."
Fair play to Joyce.A closet Dub fan lol.

brayballer (Wicklow) - Posts: 718 - 29/06/2026 15:03:49    2682917

Replying To Marooned:  "Some of the lesser lights did very well yesterday. Molloy and O'Laoi scored 0-5 between them. And O'Loai won a lot of breaking ball especially after half time. Where Sean Kelly was badly missed was I'm pretty sure he would have marked Scully and Scully wouldn't have had the same influence on the game with Kelly hounding him.

The problem was Galway only got 0-2 from Walsh, McDaid, Tierney and Comer. That won't cut it from a group of players of that quality."
I think I would have left McDaid out there. He has shown on numerous occasions what he can do when the tough get going...his display against Armagh in '22, AI final in '22, his 2nd half display against Dublin in '24 and his 2nd half display against Roscommon this year. Its difficult to replace his tenacity and experience. He had just scored and was unlucky with another. Many analysts thought that when he went off in the CF the tide turned in Roscommons favour. I believe he would have been vital in the final stretch yesterday..

Dualstar22 (Galway) - Posts: 30 - 29/06/2026 15:18:56    2682926

I cannot see any scenario where the County Board make a move and ask Joyce to step aside.

Joyce himself indicated he's staying for another two years.

Maybe things/opinions will change in the coming weeks but it'll be more of the same for 2027.

FallenStar (Galway) - Posts: 437 - 29/06/2026 15:35:20    2682936

Replying To brayballer:  "Fair play to Joyce.A closet Dub fan lol."
Says the one from the soccer chanting Hill 16! Gaelic indeed!

Crashingwaves (Galway) - Posts: 358 - 29/06/2026 16:01:47    2682945

The big backroom team, between them, have somehow failed to see that we have an issue between the posts. This team includes a specialist goalkeeping coach and former inter-county goalkeeper, who was recently an inter-county manager himself, and a former goalkeeping coach and goalkeeper, of this Parish, widely regarded as an expert in his field. How does that happen? That was the winning and losing of this game. And many games before it.

crankyincorofin (Galway) - Posts: 131 - 29/06/2026 16:30:09    2682952

Whoever is over Galway next year need to find 2 new goalies way 2 much messing going on last 5 years Gleason just is not good enough I know people will say there no movement for kickouts he is not able to kick it out short or medium that's why no one looks for it and how management have let this situation develop for 5 years is baffling Galway need players who actually look up and kick the ball into forwards I'd say yesterday between 6 backs and both midfielder I doubt they kicked ball 10 times the backs did actually ok with the space the Dublin forwards had to run into Galway forwards no space because players out the field just slow hand passes no drive at all honestly I think it's time for management to call it a day players are not really playing for him now , it's basically same group of players last 5 years play few new players in league gone then some players start championship matches 2 weeks later not even on panel way 2 much messing around with players ,, i genuinely thought adding Dave Morris would have helped improve way we play but it not worked out that way , and looking at underage teams not much look forward to coming through, as for these developments squads a pure box ticking exercise never seen such a waste when in reality they could be very beneficial if there was any development being done , the old saying u reap what u sow is very apt in this regard , there are lots of people who would be willing to help out and with some great ideas but unfortunately the powers that be no interest in listening to anyone all they say can't be done not how can we help ye ,,

Kickitout (Galway) - Posts: 1162 - 29/06/2026 17:36:46    2682988

Replying To FallenStar:  "I cannot see any scenario where the County Board make a move and ask Joyce to step aside.

Joyce himself indicated he's staying for another two years.

Maybe things/opinions will change in the coming weeks but it'll be more of the same for 2027."
The board won't replace him for one reason alone and it's widely known in Galway what the reason is.

ColmFlaherty (Galway) - Posts: 125 - 29/06/2026 18:48:48    2683017

Own kickout retention 48%, Dublin's 78%. Kerry, in their game, 88%. That's difference. That is the problem. That's it. Simple as. And this management team, some of them there many long years, cannot for the life of them face our glaring Achilles heal and sort it out. No use talking at this stage.

togoutlads (Galway) - Posts: 1134 - 29/06/2026 19:24:52    2683028

Sunday's match against Dublin was another brutal reminder of where we actually are.

Another quarter-final exit from the Senior Championship, and another year where the talk was bigger than the performance. The first half was awful to watch, slow, predictable, back and forth, with no real attacking identity and no clear sign of a team that knew exactly how it was going to hurt Dublin.

People can blame the referee if they want, but that is only avoiding the real issue. The bigger problem is the mindset in Galway football. We talk every year as if we are genuine All-Ireland contenders, but we have not won one since 2001. At some stage, the county has to stop believing its own hype.

Serious questions now have to be asked about the management setup. There seems to be too many chiefs on the sideline, but not enough clear leadership when the pressure comes on. When the game is slipping away, we do not look like a team getting sharp, decisive direction from the line. We look uncertain.

Joyce has had plenty of time with this group. This is not year one or year two. The same problems keep appearing, and the same excuses keep being made. At some point, loyalty has to give way to honesty. This setup has not delivered when it matters.

Selection also needs a proper review. Some players seem to be locked in no matter what, while others appear to get very little meaningful opportunity come championship. Shane McGrath was named on team sheets and barely got a chance. Oisín Mac Donnacha had a strong league campaign and then was hardly seen. That has to be frustrating for lads who were brought into the panel and probably believed they would get a fair shot.

From the outside, it felt like the core team was already decided long before championship, and everyone else was fighting for scraps. That is not how you build real competition in a squad.

There is talent in Galway, but talent alone is not enough. We need a hard, honest review of the management, the style of football, the selection policy, and the players who have been there year after year without getting us over the line.

No more excuses. No more hype. No more talking ourselves up every spring and wondering what went wrong by summer. Something has to change.

Yvrjd (Galway) - Posts: 27 - 29/06/2026 19:52:48    2683032

Replying To Yvrjd:  "Sunday's match against Dublin was another brutal reminder of where we actually are.

Another quarter-final exit from the Senior Championship, and another year where the talk was bigger than the performance. The first half was awful to watch, slow, predictable, back and forth, with no real attacking identity and no clear sign of a team that knew exactly how it was going to hurt Dublin.

People can blame the referee if they want, but that is only avoiding the real issue. The bigger problem is the mindset in Galway football. We talk every year as if we are genuine All-Ireland contenders, but we have not won one since 2001. At some stage, the county has to stop believing its own hype.

Serious questions now have to be asked about the management setup. There seems to be too many chiefs on the sideline, but not enough clear leadership when the pressure comes on. When the game is slipping away, we do not look like a team getting sharp, decisive direction from the line. We look uncertain.

Joyce has had plenty of time with this group. This is not year one or year two. The same problems keep appearing, and the same excuses keep being made. At some point, loyalty has to give way to honesty. This setup has not delivered when it matters.

Selection also needs a proper review. Some players seem to be locked in no matter what, while others appear to get very little meaningful opportunity come championship. Shane McGrath was named on team sheets and barely got a chance. Oisín Mac Donnacha had a strong league campaign and then was hardly seen. That has to be frustrating for lads who were brought into the panel and probably believed they would get a fair shot.

From the outside, it felt like the core team was already decided long before championship, and everyone else was fighting for scraps. That is not how you build real competition in a squad.

There is talent in Galway, but talent alone is not enough. We need a hard, honest review of the management, the style of football, the selection policy, and the players who have been there year after year without getting us over the line.

No more excuses. No more hype. No more talking ourselves up every spring and wondering what went wrong by summer. Something has to change."
The manager?

Seanfan (Roscommon) - Posts: 693 - 29/06/2026 20:13:25    2683037

Had Galway pencilled in for an all ireland appearance as dark horses looked to be flying this last few weeks but there you go gutted like ourselves good luck in 27

Farneyblueandwhite (Monaghan) - Posts: 183 - 29/06/2026 20:30:58    2683040

Was thinking if/when Joyce leaves who would be the candidates to take his place.

I would've had Kevin Johnson on the shortlist prior to the u20 gig, but the results their would put me off.

I'm not clued in as others would be on management for the club's but the only other coach inside Galway that might have something is Alan Glynn that I can think or know off.

ColmFlaherty (Galway) - Posts: 125 - 29/06/2026 21:01:59    2683045