Monaghan GAA thread

Replying To worple:  "I do
That's when it was Gaelic football"
I take my hat off to you at well over 90 years of age post away online. Sadly you wont be adding to your titles this year.

ORIELMAN85 (Monaghan) - Posts: 1109 - 13/06/2026 20:05:16    2679337

Well done Monaghan. The better team by miles. The only positive I can take from today is that ye didn't win by 15 points or more. Best of luck going forward. Always have huge respect for ye

dave1988 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1418 - 13/06/2026 20:41:48    2679344

Well done Monaghan it was far from the competitive contest that I and many others expected. From the moment you took the lead with the goal 1st half you took total control of the contest and never shook from that control against a Roscommom side that looked a pale shadow of the team that had conquered Connacht five weeks earlier.

Drax_the_destroyer (UK) - Posts: 899 - 13/06/2026 21:04:22    2679359

Congratulations, far superior side and 9 points flattered us. Best of luck ahead. Will be shouting for ye for rest of championship.

Ros2013 (Roscommon) - Posts: 648 - 13/06/2026 21:05:20    2679361

Replying To Ros2013:  "Congratulations, far superior side and 9 points flattered us. Best of luck ahead. Will be shouting for ye for rest of championship."
Fair play. Was quietly optimistic but have to say i was surprised how easy it turned out in the end. Roscommon's big players went missing after 40 mins.
It's bonus territory for Monaghan now...just the way we like it.

Eddie the Exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 1351 - 13/06/2026 22:04:37    2679384

Well done Monaghan. Totally deserved win and could easily have been 15 or 20 points with the amount of chances ye missed. By far the better team. We were way off the pace and couldn't lay a glove on ye. Best of luck next week and hopefully beyond.

D.Hyde (Roscommon) - Posts: 346 - 13/06/2026 22:45:01    2679400

Well I went from cursing Monaghan during the first 20 mins or so to celebrating them for the remainder.
Not sure what was going on early on, did we feel we needed to buildup a big lead because we were playing with the wind? Taking shots that were very questionable You could see Roscommon were doing their best to keep things tight in first half knowing they had wind in second.
From listening and reading post match commentary, I think the Monaghan team are being hugely disrespected. Monaghan dismantled Roscommon today,they did not know how to play against us.
Roscommon are a great team, a very tough team to play but oh, how Monaghan played them.
Let's keep doing what we're doing, let's keep being the "magic people, voodoo people" of the Championship

Blackcardnot (USA) - Posts: 115 - 13/06/2026 22:49:44    2679401

Replying To Eddie the Exile:  "Fair play. Was quietly optimistic but have to say i was surprised how easy it turned out in the end. Roscommon's big players went missing after 40 mins.
It's bonus territory for Monaghan now...just the way we like it."
We shouldn't like it, no wonder we've not won Sam.

tommyjohn (Monaghan) - Posts: 74 - 13/06/2026 23:30:28    2679416

I seem to recall being ridiculed for suggesting the beige meant nothing and calling lads out for lambasting the team. We use to complain when too much emphasise was placed on league and we were gassed for championship. Well lads we are fairly cooking now. This has been Monaghans best display in championship football since the 2015 ulster final

updafaughs (Monaghan) - Posts: 170 - 14/06/2026 11:08:12    2679470

Had a feeling we would win but not by that much. Very controlled performance, completely dominating the rossies. Midfield excellent, upfront we just toyed with them and at the back we done enough to shut them out. Mc Carron has had a second coming since the new rules, his movement and ability to make space is so good. I would say it was our best performance since the 2023 run to the semi final given the opposition. It leaves us with a great chance to make a semi final, I'd be happy to avoid an ulster team. Is it neutral?

222 (UK) - Posts: 943 - 14/06/2026 11:58:29    2679479

Replying To 222:  "Had a feeling we would win but not by that much. Very controlled performance, completely dominating the rossies. Midfield excellent, upfront we just toyed with them and at the back we done enough to shut them out. Mc Carron has had a second coming since the new rules, his movement and ability to make space is so good. I would say it was our best performance since the 2023 run to the semi final given the opposition. It leaves us with a great chance to make a semi final, I'd be happy to avoid an ulster team. Is it neutral?"
Wow steady on jese roscommon were rubbish they admit themselves over on there webpage it was there worst performance all year semi final is a world away at this minute yes good in second half but plenty to work on bit of realism needed here it's our first good performance since roscommon in league 2 final last year or down in armagh last year

Farneyblueandwhite (Monaghan) - Posts: 156 - 14/06/2026 14:00:16    2679510

Replying To Farneyblueandwhite:  "Wow steady on jese roscommon were rubbish they admit themselves over on there webpage it was there worst performance all year semi final is a world away at this minute yes good in second half but plenty to work on bit of realism needed here it's our first good performance since roscommon in league 2 final last year or down in armagh last year"
How's Cavan doing?

Blackcardnot (USA) - Posts: 115 - 14/06/2026 15:11:41    2679523

Replying To Blackcardnot:  "How's Cavan doing?"
I dunno here in inniskeen stewarding I think there bet as usual

Farneyblueandwhite (Monaghan) - Posts: 156 - 14/06/2026 15:36:18    2679533

The paranoia on here just because I play down our opposition and they were poor you assume I am from cavansteady on fella

Farneyblueandwhite (Monaghan) - Posts: 156 - 14/06/2026 15:43:31    2679534

So looks like Donegal or Westmeath in last 12. Bring it on

updafaughs (Monaghan) - Posts: 170 - 14/06/2026 16:16:42    2679547

Great win against what was a poor Roscommon team yesterday. Tactically far superior than Roscommon on the day hats off to Gabriel and his team. I thought Beggan in particular was super yesterday, kickouts were on point yesterday. It's a simple game under the new rules, if we can win more kickouts than our opponents we have enough potent forwards to win against most opposition. Bring on the draw!

Cm1 (Monaghan) - Posts: 9 - 14/06/2026 16:34:50    2679548

So Donegal or Westmeath it is …

veterngaa (Monaghan) - Posts: 1059 - 14/06/2026 17:23:31    2679560

Replying To Farneyblueandwhite:  "Wow steady on jese roscommon were rubbish they admit themselves over on there webpage it was there worst performance all year semi final is a world away at this minute yes good in second half but plenty to work on bit of realism needed here it's our first good performance since roscommon in league 2 final last year or down in armagh last year"
Edit I did mean QF. However results today really will test that, don't want donegal

222 (UK) - Posts: 943 - 14/06/2026 17:38:12    2679570