Football Championship 2026

Replying To brayballer:  "Dublin are doing fine and we are a duel county.Dub hurlers in Leinster final today.How are yous doing at the hurling?"
Bit like the Wicklow gaelic team so so....

Scenicparish (Donegal) - Posts: 1004 - 06/06/2026 14:03:59    2678304

Replying To HEREBENJI:  "Donegal v Cork tickets sold out in few hours so your reasoning above re that game holds no water."
That's the exact point I was making. Put that game onTV and it might not sell out or might be unattractive to Cork supporters who don't feel like travelling. Ergo unfair to their team as travelling support is down. Don't put it on TV it sells out and they have a chance of support. Mind you I'm not sure how many of the sold out tickets are Cork. What's your ground capacity?

Iveagh (Westmeath) - Posts: 27 - 08/06/2026 00:27:04    2678600

Replying To Iveagh:  "That's the exact point I was making. Put that game onTV and it might not sell out or might be unattractive to Cork supporters who don't feel like travelling. Ergo unfair to their team as travelling support is down. Don't put it on TV it sells out and they have a chance of support. Mind you I'm not sure how many of the sold out tickets are Cork. What's your ground capacity?"
Wouldn't have needed one Cork fan to sell out this game.

ORIELMAN85 (Monaghan) - Posts: 1097 - 08/06/2026 14:08:07    2678680

Replying To ORIELMAN85:  "Wouldn't have needed one Cork fan to sell out this game."
West Cork to Letterkenny is a 12hr round trip.

WIth Cork playing another match win or lose - cant seek more than a minibus of Cork supporters travelling

tirawleybaron (Mayo) - Posts: 1875 - 08/06/2026 14:44:29    2678691

Replying To tirawleybaron:  "West Cork to Letterkenny is a 12hr round trip.

WIth Cork playing another match win or lose - cant seek more than a minibus of Cork supporters travelling"
Yer man with the sombrero will probably be on the team bus.
A motor bike will suffice after that.

Seanfan (Roscommon) - Posts: 640 - 08/06/2026 16:34:14    2678713

WIth Cork playing another match win or lose - cant seek more than a minibus of Cork supporters travelling"
What has that got to do with it? We brought thousands to the Kerry game with longer trips from West and North Donegal to Killarney.

Ulsterchamps72 (Donegal) - Posts: 218 - 08/06/2026 19:34:08    2678736

Replying To Ulsterchamps72:  "What has that got to do with it? We brought thousands to the Kerry game with longer trips from West and North Donegal to Killarney."
You clearly haven't been to many Cork away matches.
A corkman is only happy when in Cork.

tirawleybaron (Mayo) - Posts: 1875 - 10/06/2026 10:40:25    2678830

Replying To tirawleybaron:  "You clearly haven't been to many Cork away matches.
A corkman is only happy when in Cork."
Sure wasn't I in Parc UiRinn not that long ago at a group game.

Ulsterchamps72 (Donegal) - Posts: 218 - 10/06/2026 11:23:01    2678840

Replying To tirawleybaron:  "You clearly haven't been to many Cork away matches.
A corkman is only happy when in Cork."
You should maybe just clarify that for Cork away 'football' matches.

bloodandbandage (Cork) - Posts: 578 - 10/06/2026 12:25:25    2678855

Replying To bloodandbandage:  "You should maybe just clarify that for Cork away 'football' matches."
If anyone on here only obtains information from what they read on Hoganstand - any amount of clarifications wont help them.
The dog on the street knows Cork football supporters dont really travel half the journey to Dublin does't get them out of Cork.
Different for the Hurler because they only really have to travel around Munster and its only 2hrs up the motorway to Dublin, once or twice a year. A very different ordeal compared to the west Cork football supporter.

All Corkmen are still unhappy outside of Cork - doesnt matter if he is a hurler, footballer or rower.

tirawleybaron (Mayo) - Posts: 1875 - 10/06/2026 16:33:22    2678888

Replying To Ulsterchamps72:  "Sure wasn't I in Parc UiRinn not that long ago at a group game."
your a great man.
Drive down to Cork there and bring a few lads up to the match with you.

tirawleybaron (Mayo) - Posts: 1875 - 10/06/2026 16:34:19    2678889

Monaghan v Roscommon. Roscommon had the more impressive league. Monaghan were squeezed out by Mayo in R1. Roscommon of course landed the big prize in the western province. Knockout football on Saturday. Should be an interesting clash.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 9805 - 10/06/2026 18:40:59    2678907

Hope they don't go to letterkenny, unless they're staying for the rally, maybe.

Expertinall (UK) - Posts: 148 - 10/06/2026 18:52:40    2678909

You fear for Kildare Saturday. Could be cricket score. They are embarsement and at all time low.

hlynch12 (Limerick) - Posts: 83 - 10/06/2026 23:17:07    2678929

Games are now seemingly going ahead in Northern Ireland, Meath county board contacted Derry saying they were happy to travel. PSNI might yet intervene Derry county board said depending on trouble which could erupt on a Friday night. The time factor is pretty tough though coming out of Derry city at 9 pm on a Saturday night won't bring any families from Meath up. Daft time to put it on for a team that brought over 40,000 to all Ireland semi last year., similar with Armagh who would bring 25,000 to Croke Park if Louth agreed. Two huge counties population wise and support wise and GAA making sure to limit attendance. GAA plus 4:30 match Meath v Derry and 7pm match Roscommon in clones would make a lot more sense. 2 hrs will bring you to south Roscommon from clones . 4hrs to big populations in south Meath from Derry. Coupled with away fixture in cork last timr seems very unfair .

dickie10 (UK) - Posts: 961 - 11/06/2026 18:48:45    2679040

Did I hear right Armagh will still heavily outnumber Louth fans in the Monaghan club ground, Inniskeen they are playing at? Would Louth have not been better off nominating a bigger county ground?

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 12125 - 11/06/2026 22:50:31    2679057

Replying To dickie10:  "Games are now seemingly going ahead in Northern Ireland, Meath county board contacted Derry saying they were happy to travel. PSNI might yet intervene Derry county board said depending on trouble which could erupt on a Friday night. The time factor is pretty tough though coming out of Derry city at 9 pm on a Saturday night won't bring any families from Meath up. Daft time to put it on for a team that brought over 40,000 to all Ireland semi last year., similar with Armagh who would bring 25,000 to Croke Park if Louth agreed. Two huge counties population wise and support wise and GAA making sure to limit attendance. GAA plus 4:30 match Meath v Derry and 7pm match Roscommon in clones would make a lot more sense. 2 hrs will bring you to south Roscommon from clones . 4hrs to big populations in south Meath from Derry. Coupled with away fixture in cork last timr seems very unfair ."
It's an open draw!! Nothing unfair about it. The 40,000 in Croke Park last year decreased to 6,000 in Tullamore in quarter final

Claretandblue (Westmeath) - Posts: 2665 - 11/06/2026 22:57:07    2679060

Replying To yew_tree:  "Did I hear right Armagh will still heavily outnumber Louth fans in the Monaghan club ground, Inniskeen they are playing at? Would Louth have not been better off nominating a bigger county ground?"
If they went to Dublin or Clones - they would be outnumbered.

Just wouldn't go to Navan because they wouldn't want so see Meath benefit from it.

tirawleybaron (Mayo) - Posts: 1875 - 12/06/2026 09:06:20    2679073

Replying To yew_tree:  "Did I hear right Armagh will still heavily outnumber Louth fans in the Monaghan club ground, Inniskeen they are playing at? Would Louth have not been better off nominating a bigger county ground?"
Dont think its going to be a heavy outnumbering but should have a bit nore.
All Armagh season ticket holders were offered a ticket. We have between 3-3.5k. Then add the few the county board and sponsors would get.

Louth season ticket holders got their allocation (seen numbers 7-800 but cant confirm accuracy of that number) and then Louth Clubs got around 40 tickets each going by some clubs social media posting.

There was no club or general sale in Armagh, season tickets only.

ArmaghAndProud (Armagh) - Posts: 56 - 12/06/2026 09:28:27    2679075

Replying To dickie10:  "Games are now seemingly going ahead in Northern Ireland, Meath county board contacted Derry saying they were happy to travel. PSNI might yet intervene Derry county board said depending on trouble which could erupt on a Friday night. The time factor is pretty tough though coming out of Derry city at 9 pm on a Saturday night won't bring any families from Meath up. Daft time to put it on for a team that brought over 40,000 to all Ireland semi last year., similar with Armagh who would bring 25,000 to Croke Park if Louth agreed. Two huge counties population wise and support wise and GAA making sure to limit attendance. GAA plus 4:30 match Meath v Derry and 7pm match Roscommon in clones would make a lot more sense. 2 hrs will bring you to south Roscommon from clones . 4hrs to big populations in south Meath from Derry. Coupled with away fixture in cork last timr seems very unfair ."
Where is Northern Ireland? A supposed place with neither Anthem nor flag.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2732 - 12/06/2026 09:53:40    2679080