I am with you on this one. The atmosphere in the Neller for the Dublin v Kilkenny game was special. I would go 2 tier along both sidelines Seats top tier and terracing below. A small piece of the golf course would enable this and there is space behind the main stand. Seating area not the full length of the sideline to ensure the clubhouse wasn't overly affected. Then improvements to both endline terraces. It could be done. Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 4980 - 26/05/2026 21:12:06 2675895 Link 0 |
I find any such suggestion to be ridiculous. Have you ever been involved with a team? I can tell you, no team goes out to lose a game.
yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 12094 - 26/05/2026 21:38:52 2675903 Link 1 |
Not true, Kerry fans starting shouting at officials that Donegal had breached the 2 up rule, because they only seen two Donegal players, but they failed to see Oisin Gallen was over getting water at the side of the pitch.
Commodore (Donegal) - Posts: 1849 - 27/05/2026 08:46:06 2675919 Link 3 |
There's a big difference in going out to lose a game and not caring if you win. The system suits good teams who go out early. It's not rocket science.
Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2686 - 27/05/2026 12:10:33 2675978 Link 0 |
All people want is consistency with refs and any reviews/objections after games. tommy132 (Mayo) - Posts: 672 - 27/05/2026 14:27:20 2676026 Link 0 |
Thanks, Mick. We've mighty hearing aids here stateside. According to your fellow Kerry poster, Legendxik, it was okay to boo irrespective of what Murphy may have done in last week's game. Scroll back a few posts and you'll see it. "It's understandable many are against heckling but Saturday was a reasonable exception after the league final in incident." There is nothing at all reasonably acceptable about the scurrilous booing of Michael Murphy by the Kerry fans in Fitzgerald Stadium, Killarney, on Saturday, May 23rd in their All-Ireland SFC Round 1 game against Donegal. And fair play for staying until the end of the game. I hope that it sets a trend for other Kerry fans to follow. foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 2553 - 27/05/2026 16:05:01 2676083 Link 1 |
Can you highlight to everyone who Murphy preformed 'another' closed fist tackle on and at what stage of the game? Must have missed that one myself as well as everyone else in the country because you're the first one to mention it. To justify booing as well I must add. You Yerra boys are some craic. peiledoir20 (Donegal) - Posts: 1644 - 27/05/2026 16:22:25 2676090 Link 1 |
Oh stop with the self righteous pontificating. This forum is reaching rugby level pretension. Too bad were not so outraged about onfield violence,diving,feigning injury and sledging. Seniorleague (Galway) - Posts: 27 - 27/05/2026 16:46:13 2676101 Link 2 |
Ah here, don't be chatting, there's even an armagh contributor over on the Kerry board going to town on murphy and his use of the dark arts. I mean, armagh!!! (If ever a team loved a closed fist tackle, leaving a knee in and we'll not mention the nastier stuff) Apparently he's tarnished is reputation and Donegal realise they can only win an all Ireland by resorting to the hateful stuff. Theyre a gas crowd altogether. You'd nearly think they were nervous about meeting us down the line.
WeGoAgain (Donegal) - Posts: 196 - 27/05/2026 16:50:52 2676103 Link 0 |
Some have referred to an incident in the '09 final. That incident wasn't right either. If the player involved had been around the year after and had been heckled by the opposition from that final, not sure there could have been many complaints. There are reasonable exceptions IMHO. The incident in the league final was dangerous. If a player lets himself down, there's going to be a reaction to it. legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 9754 - 27/05/2026 16:54:45 2676108 Link 1 |
"Not caring if you win" any player or team that goes out with that attitude is already beaten.
yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 12094 - 27/05/2026 19:27:04 2676148 Link 0 |
There's a lot of football to look forward to until the final. Time to move on. Derry could surprise Armagh. Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2686 - 27/05/2026 19:46:08 2676151 Link 1 |
Mike Quirke had now come out and said that it was not a closed fist incident. Maybe that will put that one to bed, for Kerry posters?
Expertinall (UK) - Posts: 116 - 27/05/2026 19:48:00 2676152 Link 1 |
It was only a question ofthe margin, after the sending off, so lm sure a few did get out early. I think 15v15 would have been interesting, but Kerry injured, and ring rusty players, might not have matched Donegal, all the way to end? Expertinall (UK) - Posts: 116 - 27/05/2026 19:57:40 2676154 Link 0 |
Tailteann might be cavans level..... Your probably hoping to draw them in next round! Still you can't deny the Munster opposition have fallen out of the Tailteann without much fight. Expertinall (UK) - Posts: 116 - 27/05/2026 20:03:03 2676155 Link 0 |