Tipp v Cork 43,348
Clare v Waterford 18,388
Galway v Kilkenny 10,489
Wexford v Kildare hurling 3,848
Offaly v Dublin hurling 4,651"
It was Kildare v Wexford.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 19363 - 23/04/2026 21:37:03    2668234

Sad to see the main stand in Castlebar half empty today. Mayo v Roscommon. I remember going there on a cold winter night in February for a league game against Dublin and the stand been packed out. I know there was a decent crowd in the terraces but thought the Mayo supporters would have come out in force, especially when AM is manager

DublinBrian (Dublin) - Posts: 24 - 26/04/2026 23:10:49    2669016

Sad to see the main stand in Castlebar half empty today. Mayo v Roscommon. I remember going there on a cold winter night in February for a league game against Dublin and the stand been packed out. I know there was a decent crowd in the terraces but thought the Mayo supporters would have come out in force, especially when AM is manager

DublinBrian (Dublin) - Posts: 24 - 27/04/2026 06:26:35    2669036

Replying To DublinBrian:  "Sad to see the main stand in Castlebar half empty today. Mayo v Roscommon. I remember going there on a cold winter night in February for a league game against Dublin and the stand been packed out. I know there was a decent crowd in the terraces but thought the Mayo supporters would have come out in force, especially when AM is manager"
You can thank the Connacht Council for that. They are an absolute disgrace.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 12054 - 27/04/2026 09:46:15    2669062

Replying To yew_tree:  "You can thank the Connacht Council for that. They are an absolute disgrace."
€35 for stand with no child/student/OAP prices.
Probably €45 for the Final.

Seanfan (Roscommon) - Posts: 514 - 27/04/2026 10:27:26    2669096

Replying To Seanfan:  "15,321.
€35 for stand with no child/student/OAP prices.
Probably €45 for the Final."
Suppose over 15k isn't to bad of an attendance for a semi. Dont think either of the lenister semis this week will get near that to be fair. There seam to be a lot of Roscommon supporters in the terraces. Probably the best supported county in the country per population. Fair play the rossies. I hope yous win the final now. But looked dreadful the main stand in front of the tv half empty. The councils and the GAA in a whole have dreadful marketing.

DublinBrian (Dublin) - Posts: 24 - 27/04/2026 20:22:05    2669352

Replying To DublinBrian:  "Sad to see the main stand in Castlebar half empty today. Mayo v Roscommon. I remember going there on a cold winter night in February for a league game against Dublin and the stand been packed out. I know there was a decent crowd in the terraces but thought the Mayo supporters would have come out in force, especially when AM is manager"
Was thinking that myself. Often close to full house for league games a few years ago.

If Dublin and Louth don't fill Portlaoise on Saturday it will be poor lookout.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 4236 - 27/04/2026 21:21:58    2669367

Replying To DublinBrian:  "Suppose over 15k isn't to bad of an attendance for a semi. Dont think either of the lenister semis this week will get near that to be fair. There seam to be a lot of Roscommon supporters in the terraces. Probably the best supported county in the country per population. Fair play the rossies. I hope yous win the final now. But looked dreadful the main stand in front of the tv half empty. The councils and the GAA in a whole have dreadful marketing."
The Gaa hierarchy have being doing almost everything in their power whether wittingly or unwittingly to turn people off going to championship games this several years. The connacht council just increased student prices from €5 to €35 thats a 600% increase!!
Some teams are playing championship games two weekends in a row now that means families out huge money not to mention player welfare!! These games especially in good weather are beautiful family events where kids are the real winners and with new rules the quality of games are so good now but people are staying away and I don't blame them. The Gaa are driving our games onto paid subscription channels. The economical boost to a county town hosting a bumper championship game cannot be underestimated and the Gaa at local level does so much for the local economies but in the summer months when this should be at its peak its being eroded by very very poor decisions by GAA hierarchy. They could easily have intercepted in connacht to prevent a 600% hike in student prices just like they intercepted with high profile counties and clubs who massively overspent on vanity projects. Instead they continue to inflict maximum PR damage driving grassroots people away from the gates and eroding tradition under the guise of player welfare . Many people genuinely believe that the gaa are more concerned with concerts and other sports in Croke Park than actual gaa games and I am inclined to believe them. Its become a money mogul and the excuse is that all the money made filters down to clubs...Well every club in the country is self sufficient with v limited resources take note of this example Croke Park officials and RTE when you are at it.

Dothesimplethingswell (Sligo) - Posts: 61 - 27/04/2026 22:02:20    2669379

Replying To yew_tree:  "You can thank the Connacht Council for that. They are an absolute disgrace."
Sticking up for Armagh fans here and I'm sure it's the same with the teams that keep winning , first they had Tyrone, then Fermanagh and now this weekend they have Down. That's 3 matches in 4 weeks. Now young families with a couple or three children don't have much time to gather a few quid to go and see something they enjoy. Not on at all.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2646 - 27/04/2026 23:05:27    2669396

Replying To DublinBrian:  "Suppose over 15k isn't to bad of an attendance for a semi. Dont think either of the lenister semis this week will get near that to be fair. There seam to be a lot of Roscommon supporters in the terraces. Probably the best supported county in the country per population. Fair play the rossies. I hope yous win the final now. But looked dreadful the main stand in front of the tv half empty. The councils and the GAA in a whole have dreadful marketing."
No amount of marketing was going to make €35 for a child's stand ticket at a provincial semi-final seem rational.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2774 - 27/04/2026 23:14:09    2669399

Do you want the Connacht centre of excellence rebuilt or not? Do you expect these things to just grow out of the ground? Ye don't have a hurling championship, and have smallest football championship, there's very few occasions they can make money.. Stay away if your unfortunate enough not to be able to afford it, but im sure their all ears if you have an alternative plan.

cuttothebone (Kildare) - Posts: 178 - 27/04/2026 23:18:22    2669400

Sligo v Leitrim 2800 I read somewhere
Leitrim v Galway 4841

Sligoman1234 (Sligo) - Posts: 677 - 28/04/2026 07:19:18    2669408

There's a lot of confusion on the football championship format 2026. I don't think that is good for attendances either.

Westmeath and Down both provided headline shock wins against big opposition and yet could end up in tier 2.
Similarly, Cavan lost a Rd1 match and 2 weeks ago and don't even know which competition they will be in come May! Meanwhile, a Div4 team or a relegated team can reach a Munster SFC final by accident of fortune in the draw and end up in Sam Maguire (not this year but you know what I mean).
It is beyond daft.

Eddie the Exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 1314 - 28/04/2026 08:08:58    2669409

Replying To Eddie the Exile:  "There's a lot of confusion on the football championship format 2026. I don't think that is good for attendances either.

Westmeath and Down both provided headline shock wins against big opposition and yet could end up in tier 2.
Similarly, Cavan lost a Rd1 match and 2 weeks ago and don't even know which competition they will be in come May! Meanwhile, a Div4 team or a relegated team can reach a Munster SFC final by accident of fortune in the draw and end up in Sam Maguire (not this year but you know what I mean).
It is beyond daft."
The type of people who are "confused" obviously haven't great interest in the first place.
Not defending JP but it was €5 for kids on 3 sides of the ground Sunday.
Kids tickets in Croke Park are Davin end see through the nets seats.
If due to no hurling and only 5 matches on Irish soil shouldn't the GAA have some kind of equalisation fund to help out.
Munster with its €8m hurling receipts could help out too.

Seanfan (Roscommon) - Posts: 514 - 28/04/2026 09:55:22    2669433

Connacht Council mentioned the bill to repair the dome was the reason for the crazy stand prices. Is the dome not insured?

suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1789 - 28/04/2026 10:37:09    2669448

Hurling
Cork v Limerick 43,369
Waterford v Tipp 11,982
Galway v Offaly 6,557
Dublin v Kildare ?????
Kilkenny v Wexford 13,576

Football
Tipp v Cork 1,755
Clare v Kerry 5,226
Mayo v Ros 15,321
Leitrim v Galway 4,843
Fermanagh v Armagh 8,931
Donegal v Down said to be full to 9k capacity.

Seanfan (Roscommon) - Posts: 514 - 28/04/2026 11:10:54    2669456

Replying To cuttothebone:  "Do you want the Connacht centre of excellence rebuilt or not? Do you expect these things to just grow out of the ground? Ye don't have a hurling championship, and have smallest football championship, there's very few occasions they can make money.. Stay away if your unfortunate enough not to be able to afford it, but im sure their all ears if you have an alternative plan."
Insurance covered the dome rebuild. We ar win a cost of living crisis and the Connacht Council decide to increase child stand tickets from €5 to €35. The optics along are terrible and the attendance figure showed many stayed away in protest. I've seen bigger attendances and batter atmospheres at Mayo league games. This was a Connacht semi final.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 12054 - 28/04/2026 11:38:18    2669470