Replying To BarneyGrant: "Ripe to be taken apart if they don't start on high octane as they did against Limerick. They never give up but they won't retrieve a big deficit against any of the main contenders.
Might be better to go the Rushie route and congest the space because we don't have the pace. Doggedness and physicality is a positive but open then to be crippled by frees,
No doubt but that they do much better when attacking open space up front and with the open of targeting the inside men. It might appear predictable but it clearly pays dividends even against the top teams as evidenced by last Sunday, as well as Limerick last year and Cats in Nowlan," Yeah, we beat Wexford last year by getting the ball in quick and not letting it out easily. And then exposing aerial weakness and having "goal poacher" mentality. No secret to a lot of how to win matches, its the same at u12 as at senior. Really hopeful for the year ahead, I think Leinster is winnable. Lets start with a good win at the weekend and then go from there.
ExiledInWex (Dublin) - Posts: 1616 - 15/04/2026 09:20:58
Nice double header in Tullamore this Sat 18th:-
Offaly v Dublin Leinster Senior Camogie Championship @4pm Offaly v Dublin Leinster Senior Hurling Championship @ 6.30pm
Great to see Currie & Rushe back in the Dublin Senior Hurling Panel for the Championship. Hopefully we get off to a good start, with no injuries.
Think we have a excellent chance of giving the Leinster Hurling Championship a right good go of it. Hopefully......
Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 4886 - 15/04/2026 10:49:36
Excellent win for our u19 Hurlers last night, who won the Leinster Hurling League by beating the Cats in Nowlan Pk. FT Kilkenny 3-16 v Dublin 3-21
Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 4886 - 16/04/2026 08:33:47
Replying To Fionn: "Excellent win for our u19 Hurlers last night, who won the Leinster Hurling League by beating the Cats in Nowlan Pk. FT Kilkenny 3-16 v Dublin 3-21" Yes. Be interesting to see how the under 20s get on now when meeting the other top teams, Sailed through the group.
BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 4216 - 16/04/2026 12:36:14
Replying To BarneyGrant: "Yes. Be interesting to see how the under 20s get on now when meeting the other top teams, Sailed through the group." I hope it is not another false dawn Barney, but I genuinely feel there is a definite air of optimism about Dublin Hurling. And there seems to be a lot better hurling talent coming through for us, than football talent coming through. I would love to see our Hurlers win Leinster this year.
I think the AI semi last year, has left the players with a lot to prove to themselves this year.
As for Leinster, Offaly away this weekend, then Home to Kildare Away to Wexford Away to Galway Home to Kilkenny.
Tough draw in fairness, but let's get off to a good start on Sat hopefully.
Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 4886 - 16/04/2026 13:46:11
Replying To Fionn: "I hope it is not another false dawn Barney, but I genuinely feel there is a definite air of optimism about Dublin Hurling. And there seems to be a lot better hurling talent coming through for us, than football talent coming through. I would love to see our Hurlers win Leinster this year.
I think the AI semi last year, has left the players with a lot to prove to themselves this year.
As for Leinster, Offaly away this weekend, then Home to Kildare Away to Wexford Away to Galway Home to Kilkenny.
Tough draw in fairness, but let's get off to a good start on Sat hopefully." I would be surprised at other than comfortable win in Tullamore.
It will be tight between top four but Im moderately confident of at least beating one of others to give us 6 points minimum and third place at least.
BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 4216 - 16/04/2026 14:43:52
Dubs Football squad named for our Leinster Championship opener away to Wicklow 3pm Sunday in Aughrim:-
Comerford Murchan Doran Byrne McEneaney McMorrow Kennedy Howard Lahiff Bugler Scully White Small McGinnis Con
Subs- O'Sullivan, MacMahon, Smith, O'Connor, Murphy, POCB, Dunne, Deering, O'Callaghan, Collie, Costello.
Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 4886 - 16/04/2026 19:29:26
Dubs Hurling squad for our Leinster opener away to Offaly tomorrow:-
Brennan Groarke Smyth McHugh EOD Crummey(c) Doyle C.Burke Donohoe Whitely B.Hayes Power Purcell Hetherton O'Sullivan
subs- Gibbons, Ryan, O'Riain, Gallagher, Keogh, Bellew, Dunphy, D.Burke, R.Hayes, Dunleavy, & Rushie.
Looking forward to heading down for the double header.
Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 4886 - 17/04/2026 08:47:02
Great news for Dublin GAA at the official ceremony earlier this afternoon, with the first sod being turned at the new Dublin GAA Centre of Excellence in Holystown. Completion date set for 18-24 months time. Pitches, seated area's, floodlights, astro pitch, gym, indoor training facility, and other facilites.
Great to see both this and Spawell finally taking off.
Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 4886 - 17/04/2026 23:05:41
Replying To BarneyGrant: "I would be surprised at other than comfortable win in Tullamore.
It will be tight between top four but Im moderately confident of at least beating one of others to give us 6 points minimum and third place at least." Life is full of surprises. Offaly having Mitchell back was huge for them. Very early days yet. The trio of games between ourselves and Wexford will be interesting.
WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2762 - 18/04/2026 22:08:15
Replying To WanPintWin: "Life is full of surprises. Offaly having Mitchell back was huge for them. Very early days yet. The trio of games between ourselves and Wexford will be interesting." Offaly had our number. Outhurled and out thought.
Not taking from Offaly or our lads digging out a draw but it was shambolic at times. Panicky mess at times. Offaly had our backs formation in ribbons after 15 minutes.
Hard to expect anything positive at this stage.
BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 4216 - 19/04/2026 00:07:33
Lucky to get out of Aughrim according to witness statements!
BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 4216 - 19/04/2026 18:39:57
Replying To southmeathgael: "Dublin the gift that keep on giving these days, thanks lads, keep it up please" LOL......
Ye lost the run of yourselves and you came on to the Dublin forum..... Dont even get me started..... lol
Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 4886 - 20/04/2026 09:04:24
Well the weekend for the Dubs was very uninspiring and underwhelming, to say the least.
Previous years failings once again raised their ugly head for our Hurlers. Conceding goals too easily. We led 1-18 to 2-13 at HT and I honestly thought we would raise it again in the 2nd half.
Donal Burke to the rescue very late on for us to leave it at 4-22 to the Dubs 2-28. And we were lucky to get the draw tbh. Well done Offaly. We had 11 players on the scoreline but importantly Hedger was kept scoreless. A hell of a lot of improving to do in this Leinster Hurling Championship.
Galway were very impressive with their dismantling of the Cats. The Tribesman look head and shoulders above everyone else in Leinster.
Now for the footballers - dismal tbh. Absolutely no midfield. 2-16 is a very poor return against a Division 4 team, and conceding 2-14 to Wicklow also... Wicklow were excellent. At half time we led 1-11 to 1-07 and most expected us to kick on from there.... We had 7 scorers, and even scored 3x 2pointers, but Con only scored 1pt from a free. Paddy small top scored for us with 1-06.
Dubs ended up losing 3 players to injury and also a red card late on to newcomer Smith. We began the game with just 7 starters from last years AI 1/4 Final v Tyrone. Massive changing of the guard tbh.
But Wicklow will literally be kicking themselves. Some bad wides late on from them ensured the Dubs survived in Aughrim. They were that close to beating us....
On the sideline Deano took charge, again and as most agree, the 12 week suspension for Ger is excessive....
Good to hear Deano say after the game say that Kilkenny, McGarry, Theo, Lee, Luke and hopefully the 3 from yesterday will be back for the semi final clash v the current Leinster Champions Louth......
Finally, a word on Westmeath - wow what a win beating the pre-game Leinster favourites for this year, Meath. Looks like the Royals got ahead of themselves and now could face a much more difficult route ahead, further down the line. It was only Westmeath 2nd ever Championship win over Meath, and boy did they celebrate at FT. A Leinster Final appearance could be on for them.
I think we will have to improve massively to beat Louth in our semi.... We were miles off it yesterday.
Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 4886 - 20/04/2026 09:38:01
https://www.rte.ie/sport/football/2026/0419/1569076-rock-dubs-didnt-get-performance-we-would-have-liked/
Biggest cheer of the day tbh... ;o) Says a lot about how bad we played though unfortunately...
Anyone else hear that PG might be asked to step in to assist the Dubs in Ger's absence..?
Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 4886 - 20/04/2026 09:45:21
I thought Con wasn't playing :-(
Was following on X and it seemed that Wicklow might have won with a bit in hand had even on or two bad misses been converted late on, dominated the last ten minutes?
At least it will guarantee an interesting semi final with a big crowd in Portlaoise. There are not good but at least one would expect that they will go down fighting. Rome expects each man to do their duty!
BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 4216 - 20/04/2026 10:01:35
I somewhat clumsily said to Offaly chap in Tullamore who would know his onions that they were probably safe from relegation.
His response would indicate that Dublin won't be the only team to get a "shock" and that survival is not their goal at all. What was a four horse race is now much more open and Dublin still in mix but need to win next two to have any chance.
Badly need to get defence sorted and accept that a sweeper is required, Man on man is suicidal at this stage. Badly badly caught for pace if they don't win primary possession which in fairness they did well enough to get out of jail but another day like that and we are dead meat.
BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 4216 - 20/04/2026 10:10:14
Replying To BarneyGrant: "I somewhat clumsily said to Offaly chap in Tullamore who would know his onions that they were probably safe from relegation.
His response would indicate that Dublin won't be the only team to get a "shock" and that survival is not their goal at all. What was a four horse race is now much more open and Dublin still in mix but need to win next two to have any chance.
Badly need to get defence sorted and accept that a sweeper is required, Man on man is suicidal at this stage. Badly badly caught for pace if they don't win primary possession which in fairness they did well enough to get out of jail but another day like that and we are dead meat." We were very badly exposed by an Offaly team waiting in the long grass for us. Fair play to Offaly.
Cant see anyone beating Galway in Leinster. Couple of massive games for us. The Wexford and Kilkenny games will be hell for leather.
I just hope we improve, and as you say Barney, man on man isnt working for us....
Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 4886 - 20/04/2026 11:46:48
Replying To Fionn: "https://www.rte.ie/sport/football/2026/0419/1569076-rock-dubs-didnt-get-performance-we-would-have-liked/
Biggest cheer of the day tbh... ;o) Says a lot about how bad we played though unfortunately...
Anyone else hear that PG might be asked to step in to assist the Dubs in Ger's absence..?" I did hear the same Fionn and wouldn't be surprised because right now with Ger sidelined from all match day activity we really really need a steady pair of hands in around the squad on matchday. The other lads are working hard no doubt but the experience just isn't there yet.
Very flat performance in Aughrim and it's hard to get the head around going to a Div 4 county and not comfortably winning by double figures. You would have imagined for our newer lads that the chance to impress, cement a place in the team would overcome the hunger from the host team but wasn't the case on Sunday. We have zero midfield and if we are going to persist with the current set up then we are doomed to fail I'm afraid. Will need all hands to the pump to get over Louth and down in Portlaoise Louth will really fancy taking us out.
TrueBlue35 (Dublin) - Posts: 326 - 20/04/2026 14:17:51
Replying To TrueBlue35: "I did hear the same Fionn and wouldn't be surprised because right now with Ger sidelined from all match day activity we really really need a steady pair of hands in around the squad on matchday. The other lads are working hard no doubt but the experience just isn't there yet.
Very flat performance in Aughrim and it's hard to get the head around going to a Div 4 county and not comfortably winning by double figures. You would have imagined for our newer lads that the chance to impress, cement a place in the team would overcome the hunger from the host team but wasn't the case on Sunday. We have zero midfield and if we are going to persist with the current set up then we are doomed to fail I'm afraid. Will need all hands to the pump to get over Louth and down in Portlaoise Louth will really fancy taking us out." Spot on TrueBlue35....
You would expect that game to be one for the newbies to lay down a marker... Quite the opposite happened.
Dont forget we will lose another 2-3 of the old guard at the end of this season. A frightening thought....
If all the lads are back, I think we could give Louth a good battle, but Midfield... wth... scary lack of talent in that area... The new kick out rules are exposing it in spades....
Anyway, another road trip on the way in 2 weeks... ;o)
Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 4886 - 20/04/2026 17:17:31