Donegal GAA thread

Replying To Scenicparish:  "The League form, wherther it's 6 points after 3 matches or a loss in Hyde Park has no bearing in the Championship.
Jim used the League to add a few players to the panel and try a few players in different positions."
What players did the Fintown/glenties/dunfanaghy messiah try out in different positions than normal ?

eunans4ever (Donegal) - Posts: 1716 - 22/03/2026 08:38:32    2662153

Replying To eunans4ever:  "What players did the Fintown/glenties/dunfanaghy messiah try out in different positions than normal ?"
I don't know do you watch or attend many Donegal matches?
For a start one of our All Stars from last year is playing in a different line in the back line. A player that should have got an All Star last year played in a different line in the forward line for the first 2 league matches.

Scenicparish (Donegal) - Posts: 883 - 22/03/2026 20:06:52    2662344

Replying To Scenicparish:  "I don't know do you watch or attend many Donegal matches?
For a start one of our All Stars from last year is playing in a different line in the back line. A player that should have got an All Star last year played in a different line in the forward line for the first 2 league matches."
So all the defenders are still in defence and all the forwards are still at the other end ??

Not many genuine geniuses in Fintown/glenties outside the main messiah…

eunans4ever (Donegal) - Posts: 1716 - 22/03/2026 20:59:02    2662364

Replying To farneygael3:  "named as captain and told not allowed to play by higher up. Id question the 20s management on decision to name captain. looks terrible on the sqad"
Worry about your own county...monaghan favs for u20s etc etc...

totalrecall (Leitrim) - Posts: 1196 - 22/03/2026 21:36:01    2662374

Replying To eunans4ever:  "What players did the Fintown/glenties/dunfanaghy messiah try out in different positions than normal ?"
Sure when he goes you can replace him with the dream ticket of Haran and Mulgrew...

totalrecall (Leitrim) - Posts: 1196 - 22/03/2026 21:37:37    2662375

Replying To totalrecall:  "Sure when he goes you can replace him with the dream ticket of Haran and Mulgrew..."
Well I guess a wins a win. First goal followed by a few points and thinking was a comfortable day at the office but the goal concessions were very frustrating. Not tracking runners and understanding the real danger. It reminded me a bit of a covid match against monaghan in ballybofey a few years ago. Just way too open.
They tightened things up at the back and unlike last week there was real strength coming off the bench. Mchugh helped though and Shane O'Donnell really helped. He really does conduct the attack and is very hard to dispossess and is very composed. He has lovely control of the ball, very good balance and a nice turn of pace.
Mcgee has been very good the whole way through and monaghan really struggled with his size and power.
The game will have surely helped shea malones confidence as well.
Hopefully mulreanny and mccole are ok for next week and maybe a few others. Kerry will be looking to flex the muscles next week and performance like today wouldn't lead to a pretty result.

Ulsterchamps_32 (Donegal) - Posts: 984 - 22/03/2026 22:24:22    2662383

Replying To Ulsterchamps_32:  "Well I guess a wins a win. First goal followed by a few points and thinking was a comfortable day at the office but the goal concessions were very frustrating. Not tracking runners and understanding the real danger. It reminded me a bit of a covid match against monaghan in ballybofey a few years ago. Just way too open.
They tightened things up at the back and unlike last week there was real strength coming off the bench. Mchugh helped though and Shane O'Donnell really helped. He really does conduct the attack and is very hard to dispossess and is very composed. He has lovely control of the ball, very good balance and a nice turn of pace.
Mcgee has been very good the whole way through and monaghan really struggled with his size and power.
Hopefully mulreanny and mccole are ok for next week and maybe a few others. Kerry will be looking to flex the muscles next week and performance like today wouldn't lead to a pretty result."
I think we will put in a performance next week, we will certainly need to. Kerry the best in the country at the moment.

totalrecall (Leitrim) - Posts: 1196 - 22/03/2026 23:04:40    2662391

Think ye may have peaked to soon haha

S1234 (Mayo) - Posts: 989 - 23/03/2026 08:27:54    2662413

Replying To Ulsterchamps_32:  "Well I guess a wins a win. First goal followed by a few points and thinking was a comfortable day at the office but the goal concessions were very frustrating. Not tracking runners and understanding the real danger. It reminded me a bit of a covid match against monaghan in ballybofey a few years ago. Just way too open.
Hopefully mulreanny and mccole are ok for next week and maybe a few others. Kerry will be looking to flex the muscles next week and performance like today wouldn't lead to a pretty result."
very poor goal concessions for sure, we struggled a lot with O'Hanlons pace especially, missing a bit of cuteness at times yesterday to deal with the likes of him. but I thought Ryan made a big difference and like you say especially Shane O'Donnell really helped in the second half, he's just so good on the ball and creating space. while it was nip and tuck up til Beggan's error and the third goal I really felt we were turning the screw on them in the second half and thought it was noticeable that we tightened up a bit second half, I don't really remember any big goal chances for Monaghan in the second half but open to correction

I was in the Pat McGrane, can anyone confirm if Langan was being a lazy runner and blocking that sideline ball, was the ref right to bring it up? from my view it looked like the ball was just kicked in to him but was the other side of the pitch obviously. Was a lot of boos about it anyway and felt that was a big moment in the game as we were getting more momentum

Jason McGee brilliant again I am just so happy to see him motoring so well. and Shea Malone really excellent as well when he got the ball, I loved the point off his left he got in the 2nd half was a classy strike

bit worried about Mulreany as he was hobbling a little bit in Roscommon too so I wonder is he carrying something that got aggravated again yesterday. though he sprinted off the pitch when subbed so definitely looking ok!

Looking forward to the final in Croke Park, I would rather not be facing Kerry to be frank but I hope we give a good account of ourselves, I know people don't seem to put much stock in league titles but we only have one in our history it would be brilliant to get another

enjoyed the game regardless and always knew Monaghan would have a kick in them, if they get past the local derby against Cavan I would not be surprised if they ambushed Derry to be honest, they have the players to do so if it comes together for them on the day

CCFabu (Donegal) - Posts: 312 - 23/03/2026 09:50:37    2662434

Replying To totalrecall:  "I think we will put in a performance next week, we will certainly need to. Kerry the best in the country at the moment."
Kerry looked great early on yesterday but they can be got at too as Armagh showed.
The last 2 games have been a wake up call for us but I know we are missing lots of key players you'd need fit and playing their best if we are to get another decent crack at Sam Maguire this year so not reading too much into it either.
Also we were safe in Div 1 so there was no pressure on us and when you lift the foot off the throttle that bit and start easing up teams like the Rossies are well capable of taking adavantage.
We need to shore up central defence somehow, we are far too easy ran through.
Looking ahead I think we will beat Down but the Ulster semi final will be the real tester, the way the Championship is laid out now getting to the provincial final is very important and we are going for a historic 3 Ulster's in a row so I can't see us busting a gut too much next Sunday either, anyway it will be great experience for the younger players to get their chance and show what they can do against the All Ireland Champions in Croker.
It has the potential to be a great high scoring game of football.
As long as we give a good account of ourselves on the day I won't be too worried if we don't win it, in my eyes we have the league won already having topped the division.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 3774 - 23/03/2026 10:18:02    2662447

We played in about 2nd gear yesterday. Upped it to 3rd for a while in the 2nd half to pull away. Well done to Sean Martin on his senior debut as well.

I don't think we'll be as lax in Sunday against Kerry, if we are we'll be on the end of a hiding so expecting us to push up through the gears again. Should give us a good indication of where we are at.

McGee was phenomenal again yesterday. Himself and Hugh will have a point to prove this weekend having missed out from the start last July.

Looking forward to the trip back up to the capital, hopefully we have a sizeable support travelling.

peiledoir20 (Donegal) - Posts: 1513 - 23/03/2026 10:24:54    2662449

Replying To totalrecall:  "Sure when he goes you can replace him with the dream ticket of Haran and Mulgrew..."
Why would u want the glenties/fintown/dunfanaghy messiah to go ????

Very strange take

I hope he leads us well into the future personally - cannot understand the logic of those of us who that want him out.

eunans4ever (Donegal) - Posts: 1716 - 23/03/2026 10:32:14    2662451

Replying To S1234:  "Think ye may have peaked to soon haha"
Wouldnt that be great, get the popcorn

monaghanmad (Monaghan) - Posts: 470 - 23/03/2026 11:22:08    2662467

Replying To monaghanmad:  "Wouldnt that be great, get the popcorn"
We outnumbered you with support in your home ground yesterday. Just take a wee bit of time to have a think about that to yourself.

peiledoir20 (Donegal) - Posts: 1513 - 23/03/2026 11:37:55    2662473

Pot calling the kettle black here

NPadraigAbu (Donegal) - Posts: 115 - 23/03/2026 13:09:28    2662511

Any word on the injury front on when some of these lads will be returning?

No signs of Shaun Patton, Ciaran Thompson, Daire O'Baoill, Oisin Gallen, Ciaran Moore yesterday and now Brendan McCole and Gavin Mulreany seem to have picked up injuries too. I was hoping a few of those players would be back getting minutes in the legs, as Ulster Championship is only about 4 weeks out now.

Commodore (Donegal) - Posts: 1669 - 23/03/2026 13:15:05    2662514

Replying To eunans4ever:  "So all the defenders are still in defence and all the forwards are still at the other end ??

Not many genuine geniuses in Fintown/glenties outside the main messiah…"
Naomh Conaill must be doing something right, current Senior Football County Champions.
8 senior Titles since 2005.
I think you could call the Donegal Senior Team Manager's Club by it's proper name? It shows how much respect you have for him and Naomh Conaill Club in General.

Scenicparish (Donegal) - Posts: 883 - 23/03/2026 13:24:47    2662517

Replying To CCFabu:  "very poor goal concessions for sure, we struggled a lot with O'Hanlons pace especially, missing a bit of cuteness at times yesterday to deal with the likes of him. but I thought Ryan made a big difference and like you say especially Shane O'Donnell really helped in the second half, he's just so good on the ball and creating space. while it was nip and tuck up til Beggan's error and the third goal I really felt we were turning the screw on them in the second half and thought it was noticeable that we tightened up a bit second half, I don't really remember any big goal chances for Monaghan in the second half but open to correction

I was in the Pat McGrane, can anyone confirm if Langan was being a lazy runner and blocking that sideline ball, was the ref right to bring it up? from my view it looked like the ball was just kicked in to him but was the other side of the pitch obviously. Was a lot of boos about it anyway and felt that was a big moment in the game as we were getting more momentum

Jason McGee brilliant again I am just so happy to see him motoring so well. and Shea Malone really excellent as well when he got the ball, I loved the point off his left he got in the 2nd half was a classy strike

bit worried about Mulreany as he was hobbling a little bit in Roscommon too so I wonder is he carrying something that got aggravated again yesterday. though he sprinted off the pitch when subbed so definitely looking ok!

Looking forward to the final in Croke Park, I would rather not be facing Kerry to be frank but I hope we give a good account of ourselves, I know people don't seem to put much stock in league titles but we only have one in our history it would be brilliant to get another

enjoyed the game regardless and always knew Monaghan would have a kick in them, if they get past the local derby against Cavan I would not be surprised if they ambushed Derry to be honest, they have the players to do so if it comes together for them on the day"
The Langan incident was just Gough being Gough as far as I'm concerned. Langan was walking away from the monaghan player taking the sideline and he kicked the ball directly at him and then looked to the officials. Not dissimilar to when players charge directly into opposition players after winning a free looking for the ref to bring it forward.
On a side note, does anyone know if the season ticket gets you entry into the division 3 and 4 finals too or will I have to shell out a few more euros for that?

WeGoAgain (Donegal) - Posts: 159 - 23/03/2026 14:16:07    2662546

Season Ticket Holders can now download their tickets for the League Final. General sale from 4pm today.

Beagslife (Donegal) - Posts: 5 - 23/03/2026 14:23:03    2662547

And are still miles ahead of Mayo thankfully

eddieSize5Balls (Donegal) - Posts: 321 - 23/03/2026 14:48:54    2662561