No 2021 mayo v Tipp Ai semi Cillian O Connor 04-09. Covid nobody at the game
martinjoe (Mayo) - Posts: 571 - 01/03/2026 20:30:50 2659335 Link 0 |
Right. Mixing it up with 2016. Tipp also got to quarter or semi-final then, right?
foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 2458 - 01/03/2026 21:22:16 2659356 Link 1 |
Only seen the score, well that's that. Possibly the shortest promotion challenge ever. So deflating. I'm afraid we can bring in all the managers and coaches we like but we'll be going nowhere unless we have all our best men on the field. I can't see the year being finished out strong now, Longford are in pole position having bet Carlow and we probably won't beat Carlow. It's mad how things go, Wexford are 2 games away from promotion to Division 2. Where to from here is the next question. Square_B (Leitrim) - Posts: 1846 - 01/03/2026 22:05:25 2659365 Link 1 |
I'd agree whole heartedly with this. We have nice footballers. Nice to view within our club scene. Our boys look great prospects within the Leitrim club scene, some look amazing. We are nice to play against. One we get to playing anything outside our county bounds we are exposed big time!! We lack physicality, we lack strength, fitness, intelligence, ability to play under pressure, support play and ideas. Skill wise I think we are actually ok. Give a Leitrim player time and space and they will execute a long range pass, good score, bit of skill etc.. as good as any other player from anywhere. But when you put them under pressure, or limit their space, or impose yourself on them in any form, they cannot do it. We get run through and batted off the ball over and over. We get turned over - over and over again. We are light and tame. Extremely willing but extremely limited. For me it all boils down to the club scene. We are living 30 years in the past. Going through the motions. Our players are playing to the best of their ability. In inter county (at all levels) they then come up against teams that have been exposed to higher levels of football than any Leitrim player has ever experienced. More pressure, less space, more physicality, more systems of play. And we simply cannot cope. Our football intelligence is so low. Watching them at times is like I imagine our players thinking like "ok - I have the ball , what will I do? Ok - I have nowhere to go- emmm you seem free beside me - (even though you are in a position to do nothing) - take it off me please-ok you now have given it back to me - what will I do now- who else can I give it to?" and this goes on and on because the teams we are facing have defensive systems in place that our players have never seen the likes of before and do not know how to cope with them. Poacher (or any other manger) can help but they can't reprogram players from scratch. The manager can maximise the ability they have now and I believe the manager is not the problem. Leitrim players are maxed out and are incapable of playing any better. Schools, clubs (in provincial champs at all levels) inter-county @ minor, u20, senior results across the last 20 years don't lie- more fingers on your hands than wins. Our club scene is 30 years behind the rest of Connacht. Results speak for themselves leitrim4sam (Leitrim) - Posts: 723 - 01/03/2026 22:11:13 2659366 Link 2 |
Bring back Andy.
ORIELMAN85 (Monaghan) - Posts: 956 - 02/03/2026 00:24:00 2659385 Link 1 |
Give Stevie few more years and he will have a tune out the lads. Taytofoley83 (Leitrim) - Posts: 51 - 02/03/2026 07:59:10 2659397 Link 0 |
No thanks
ohwow (Leitrim) - Posts: 16 - 02/03/2026 08:54:46 2659404 Link 1 |
Sums it up perfectly. What we've been doing the last 20 years isn't working. How much evidence do we need before we accept this fact? The steps taken by the County board to improve this are miniscule. Its reflective of our football. Too slow, too naive, too nice and destined to fail. We've been sold a lie that we've too few clubs whereas the reality is we've too many. Talent is diluted, hence the quality is diluted. Lots of time and space but moving at a snails pace in comparison to every other county. We are producing good players but they're playing atrocious football all the way up and then they're eaten alive in the big bad world of inter county. Made out to be world beaters and players believe the hype about themselves. Get onto a county panel. Get all the gear. Get their picture in the Observer. Lots of people to tell them they're great lads. The observer tells them they're great. Not the players fault. It's the system they're come from. Don't agree? Wait for the nonsense to start about our u20s and our minors. "This is the best crop we've had in years. Some great footballers" Leave the county and we're exposed to reality. Our county final gets on the telly! Our 15 minutes. People telling us it was a great match because the result was in the balance. That doesn't mean it was good football. We're equating excitement with quality. That's why we revert back every year into the same delusion that our club fare is good quality. Its not. Its atrocious. Across the board. Now they've come up with the genius plan that they'll start the underage leagues in February to ward off any threat from other sports. Force kids to choose. Meanwhile they'll play a handful of games during the summer months. Other sports didn't create this mess for Leitrim GAA. Unfortunately we've enough people telling us that it's grand. There's a cosy consensus that we can't ruffle feathers or call this out. You're a crank if you do. Let's just ignore the evidence in front of our eyes. Rinse and repeat ad nauseum. ThePowerhouse (Leitrim) - Posts: 285 - 02/03/2026 10:08:54 2659423 Link 2 |
Reduce the number of clubs to what then? 12? Most of the people playing football in Leitrim will walk away because they won't get near playing a game for these amalgamated clubs if it is just the 'elite 15' out of the best of 2 or 3 or 4 clubs alamgated into one getting a go constantly. Posters here consistently forget that club football is the most important part of the gaa, not inter county. Breaking up historic clubs in order to feed inter county teams that may benefit by getting promoted to div 3 or something is ludicrous thinking. We just haven't the stuff at the minute to be competing. Maybe in 5-10 years we will. That is the nature of Leitrim football. Good teams arrive once every 25 years maybe consistently since the gaa began. ohwow (Leitrim) - Posts: 16 - 02/03/2026 11:00:40 2659441 Link 1 |
Antiquated thinking. High level sport has moved away from the notion that it'll just magically happen. You are espousing the policy that Leitrim GAA have been operating by for the past 20 years. What, hope and pray that the stars will align and we produce a good team? You're also ignoring the reality that the players capable of competing at an elite level have lots of other options in their lives. Do you honestly think that they're going to hang around waiting for the magic to happen? I've said this before, this is not the end of clubs. There is more to being a club than just results on the field. The GAA is unique in the part that plays in society. It's more than just a sporting organisation. What we are ignoring is that we are not catering for the playing side. Inter county football is elite sport. Its tough. Its unforgiving. There's big money involved. We're in dreamland if we think we're ever going to get anywhere near the top with our current set up. It is not going to happen. Absolutely, pick out your elite players. Offer them them higher quality football on a regular basis. That's how you improve. Competitive games at the highest level improve players. Thats in every sport. Are we that special that we ignore this reality? There is ample room to cater for the kid that just wants to stay fit or just wants to play because his friends are playing. That kid is just as important as the kid who could be the next Seamus Quinn. But as we stand we are not giving the elite player the opportunity to progress. We're not. How much evidence do you want? Look, I get it. There are those amongst us who are quite happy to continue this charade and are happy to fail. Equally, there are those of us who want better. That's life. It's tough. Nothing good comes easy. It takes hard work. The notion that we cross our fingers and hope for the best is ludicrous. By your theory we should be coming into another golden age right about now. How's that plan working out? ThePowerhouse (Leitrim) - Posts: 285 - 02/03/2026 11:50:33 2659457 Link 1 |
I think we need to support the lads at this critical juncture of the five year programme please thanks so much. It's not all going to be plain sailing thanks in advance for agreeing. bláthach (Leitrim) - Posts: 458 - 02/03/2026 12:23:56 2659467 Link 1 |
I am glad you think common sense is antiquated and is a telling comment If you are telling a parish that they must fold into an amalgamation to benefit an inter county team that still probably won't win anything, what will the motivation be for members of that club to do so? And if amalgamations are so good and for the benefit of players then how come our underage teams win nothing either, because it is all amalgamations at that level, indeed some ridiculous four parish ones at times. I assume then you'll say they aren't getting high level coaching and that is the problem there. There is always an excuse to trot out. Never once is the expression just not good enough used. Where is the room to cater for average players if there are 10 amalgamated clubs in the county? What exactly is the charade? Even if we followed your plan for the next 20 years do you reckon we'd win a senior connacht title? Not a hope. Nobody is crossing fingers here, indeed fingers are going into pockets to contribute generously to the county set up year after year after year, for little reward. Never have lads been so well looked after in that regard. I'd say the last half decent teams was under Joe Reynolds and Mickey Moran so there's a while to go yet before my theory is proven. ohwow (Leitrim) - Posts: 16 - 02/03/2026 13:20:47 2659485 Link 0 |
Any update on the club scene? Duffsbluff (USA) - Posts: 1 - 02/03/2026 13:47:06 2659496 Link 0 |
A lot of contradictions within the one post and I'll try and decipher the point you're trying to make. Essentially, I think what you're trying to say is that "what's the point and let's keep at it"
ThePowerhouse (Leitrim) - Posts: 285 - 02/03/2026 14:58:57 2659524 Link 0 |
Nope - Spring League in the bin (thankfully). League brought forward to the end of this month and will hopefully allow championship to be played on good pitches with middling weather in July/August/September opposed to the contrary in September/October/November as has been the case. God knows our county team will be long finished come July - sorry not sorry if my realism offends the forever optimists on here.
DontMindMe (Leitrim) - Posts: 17 - 02/03/2026 15:51:35 2659548 Link 0 |
That's your interpretation of it I suppose and fair play to you. Your idea is to amalgamate clubs, go ahead there and show me your list of teams you'd have competing at adult level until I have a look at it. You're essentially saying 140 years of Leitrim club football is irrelevant, let's rip it up and start again so the inter county set up might compete at some unspecified level for unspecified trophy glory. ohwow (Leitrim) - Posts: 16 - 02/03/2026 15:53:53 2659549 Link 0 |
IMO - Our number of clubs is fine. We have a very low population base , extremely low numbers of people living in Co. Leitrim. That's ok. leitrim4sam (Leitrim) - Posts: 723 - 02/03/2026 19:04:07 2659599 Link 0 |
So what are we going to do about our club scene? We've already improved things from when we had twenty senior teams; we're down to eight, surely making things much more competitive. But what else can we do? What are other counties doing right that we're not? Or are we not doing anything wrong and it's just a simple question of demographics and there's nothing to be done about it? Tacaí Liatroma (Leitrim) - Posts: 1267 - 02/03/2026 19:05:54 2659600 Link 0 |
Just popped here don't bite my head off, Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 3726 - 02/03/2026 20:03:29 2659610 Link 0 |
Ros are in Division one love and have three wins. Yes and we still have the fears of relegation. Hopefully it will work out. As for yourselves. Could you get relegated from Division four. Now that really would be "calving" as you say. Keep it up in the air and keep working hard. Please thank you very much.
moros (Roscommon) - Posts: 1286 - 02/03/2026 21:13:03 2659626 Link 0 |