Wexford Hurling Thread

Replying To ExiledInWex:  "How many of them would though? And how many of them get handy summer jobs from college to help them out?
The point he makes about playing in front of 1,000 people is right too, its why we can't attract the top dual players. Unfortunately, if what you get from it doesn't match the commitment required its not going to appeal to players.
That is just life."
What do you mean by dual players?

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 18334 - 10/02/2026 19:43:11    2655842

Replying To Fulgrim:  "Off the top of my head (including those who've opted-out), you've missed:

- Paidi Foley - perhaps he shouldn't really be in the list here given how long he's been out but he sure would add size and physicality to our back-line.
- Oisin Foley
- Mickie Dwyer
- Joe Barrett"
Yeah forgot Mikie Dwyer, probably didn't get an awful lot of fame time in last few years.

The Foleys are losses but didn't have them available this past few years so didn't put em on the list.

Oisin Peppper was in around the panel under Egan but dont see him this year also.

WEXILE (Wexford) - Posts: 457 - 10/02/2026 22:00:19    2655851

Replying To Viking66:  "Ones that would definitely make the team this year? And ones that were also Championship regulars last year?

Rory O'Connor.

Its not a huge list."
McGuckin was starting too wasn't he? Or something of the championship games anyway. So was Shane Reck but pulled up before Galway throw in if memory serves me correctly.

WEXILE (Wexford) - Posts: 457 - 10/02/2026 22:04:58    2655852

Replying To ElGranSenor:  "Think I'd like to see David Codd in midfield, hurled well for the Martin's in the club championship, looked a bit rusty last weekend but that's allowable on his first start back

Wickham might be more effective off the bench given his speed

Speaking of speed, any word on when Rowley is back? And are Cillian Byrne and Luke Codd on the panel?"
Cillian Byrne is definitely in the panel. He's recovering from a knee injury and isn't far away.

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 4229 - 10/02/2026 22:44:58    2655857

Replying To Fulgrim:  "Off the top of my head (including those who've opted-out), you've missed:

- Paidi Foley - perhaps he shouldn't really be in the list here given how long he's been out but he sure would add size and physicality to our back-line.
- Oisin Foley
- Mickie Dwyer
- Joe Barrett"
Add Aj Redmond to the list

Afinestick96 (Wexford) - Posts: 869 - 11/02/2026 00:00:13    2655870

Replying To Viking66:  "If we get Patsy and Jippo back fully fit Afinestick, what back 6 would you go for based on what we have seen so far in the 3 games?
Id probably go-
Simon, Jippo, C Foley
Richie, Reck, Patsy

Not neccessarily in those exact positions as match ups will be very important too.
Niall Murphy, Philip Dempsey might come into the equation too depending how they play in the rest of the League.
And move Wickham to start midfield with Hearne.

That might all change after the Dublin game too."
That's probably our strongest 6 Viking then it's Wickham and David Codd fighting to partner Hearne in midfield

Afinestick96 (Wexford) - Posts: 869 - 11/02/2026 07:54:55    2655874

Replying To Viking66:  "Eoin Whelan has been on the bench, so I assume he isnt injured. He didnt look match fit when he was playing earlier this year though. Jacko had a procedure on his knee, back for Championship. Patsy has concussion, unknown return date, maybe not this year at all. Cian Byrne finished his apprenticeship, was late rejoining the panel. Been told Eoin Ryan has opted out for the year, but was playing Fitzgibbon and is training with his club. Might come back next year. Murphy, CBD and Rowley all injured apparently, not sure what's wrong with them. Paper said Rossi was trying to get Dunbar back. And trying to get Mac back
too maybe. Cillian Byrne hopefully back soon, was told to rest/rehab his knee for a few months after the end of the club championship. Dara Kehoe back in training the last 2 or 3 weeks. There are others going well in training too apparently, who might get League gametime also.
Really hope Rory O Connor comes back for Championship, but thats entirely up to himself. Really hope Jippo comes back too. Some of the others would maybe have something to offer, but Im not sure Id be pushing too hard to get them back if I was Rossi if they arent 100% committed. Not fair on the lads who are in there working hard now, and some weren't too much of an addition when they last were in the panel, certainly not irreplaceable."
I can't see Rory being back for championship . For him to be back ready to play championship he would have to be back in March which is next month

Afinestick96 (Wexford) - Posts: 869 - 11/02/2026 08:31:05    2655876

Replying To WEXILE:  "Yeah forgot Mikie Dwyer, probably didn't get an awful lot of fame time in last few years.

The Foleys are losses but didn't have them available this past few years so didn't put em on the list.

Oisin Peppper was in around the panel under Egan but dont see him this year also."
Think Oisín Pepper played in the Walsh Cup if I'm not mistaken

ElGranSenor (Wexford) - Posts: 874 - 11/02/2026 08:50:19    2655879

Replying To Afinestick96:  "Add Aj Redmond to the list"
Ian Carty started Championship in 2023, his only year on the panel. Was nominated for an u21 hurling all star in 2018 when he was at that grade too .

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 18334 - 11/02/2026 09:05:16    2655880

Replying To WEXILE:  "McGuckin was starting too wasn't he? Or something of the championship games anyway. So was Shane Reck but pulled up before Galway throw in if memory serves me correctly."
Neither were regular championship starters last year, Shane only started 1 game, and wasn't fully fit in that either.
Charlie wasn't a regular starter last year and definitely wouldn't be a certain starter this year, which might have been one of the reasons he didnt commit.

Rory is the only player who would tick both those boxes of the lads who aren't in currently.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 18334 - 11/02/2026 09:08:07    2655881

Replying To WEXILE:  "Yeah forgot Mikie Dwyer, probably didn't get an awful lot of fame time in last few years.

Oisin Peppper was in around the panel under Egan but dont see him this year also."
Oisin Pepper was on the panel the last 2 years. Not sure if he still is.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 18334 - 11/02/2026 09:09:03    2655883

Replying To ElGranSenor:  "Don't know about the squad but think 9 who played in the Championship last year are currently unavailable

Mac
Jippo
Rory
Eoin Ryan
McGuckian
Dwyer
Casey
Shane Reck
Dunbar"
It's a massive loss to the group, if you were to pick a championship panel of 26 based on club form, talent etc they all would be in it. Three of them have been riddled with injuries (Mac, Ryan, Dwyer) to be fair to them but young guys like Reck, Eoin Ryan, McGuckian stepping away isn't a good look. Anyway might aswell focus on the players that have committed to the cause and support them.

On top of that group that have recently left the panel, we have another cohort of strong club players that won't commit at all - 2 x Foley's, Barrett, AJ Redmond, many more? As others have said here, seeing lads that played underage the whole way through and not bothering to commit at senior level for whatever reason is very concerning.

Timbertony (Wexford) - Posts: 507 - 11/02/2026 10:28:55    2655897

Replying To Viking66:  "If we get Patsy and Jippo back fully fit Afinestick, what back 6 would you go for based on what we have seen so far in the 3 games?
Id probably go-
Simon, Jippo, C Foley
Richie, Reck, Patsy

Not neccessarily in those exact positions as match ups will be very important too.
Niall Murphy, Philip Dempsey might come into the equation too depending how they play in the rest of the League.
And move Wickham to start midfield with Hearne.

That might all change after the Dublin game too."
That's a strong back 6 in fairness.

Simon isn't my favourite player, but we badly need his experience right now.

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 4229 - 11/02/2026 10:44:00    2655900

Replying To Timbertony:  "It's a massive loss to the group, if you were to pick a championship panel of 26 based on club form, talent etc they all would be in it. Three of them have been riddled with injuries (Mac, Ryan, Dwyer) to be fair to them but young guys like Reck, Eoin Ryan, McGuckian stepping away isn't a good look. Anyway might aswell focus on the players that have committed to the cause and support them.

On top of that group that have recently left the panel, we have another cohort of strong club players that won't commit at all - 2 x Foley's, Barrett, AJ Redmond, many more? As others have said here, seeing lads that played underage the whole way through and not bothering to commit at senior level for whatever reason is very concerning."
Think Shane Reck is a long term injury rather than chose to step away but I agree its very disappointing so many lads seem to be choosing not to play for Wexford this year. Fair play to the lads who have committed lets get 100% behind them . Hoping for a good Wexford following in Croker Saturday week. Has the makings of a very good double header

Afinestick96 (Wexford) - Posts: 869 - 11/02/2026 13:09:25    2655922

Replying To Viking66:  "Ian Carty started Championship in 2023, his only year on the panel. Was nominated for an u21 hurling all star in 2018 when he was at that grade too ."
Is he still travelling Viking ? Forgot about him he done well in 2023 for us and was always an excellent player for Taghmon

Afinestick96 (Wexford) - Posts: 869 - 11/02/2026 13:12:32    2655924

Replying To Viking66:  "Ian Carty started Championship in 2023, his only year on the panel. Was nominated for an u21 hurling all star in 2018 when he was at that grade too ."
A loss that's often overlooked. He's an exceptional athlete. Haven't seen him in a long time but his auld lad is an encyclopedia of hurling

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 4229 - 11/02/2026 13:40:42    2655930

Replying To Doylerwex:  "A loss that's often overlooked. He's an exceptional athlete. Haven't seen him in a long time but his auld lad is an encyclopedia of hurling"
For sure!

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 18334 - 11/02/2026 13:57:54    2655933

Replying To Afinestick96:  "Is he still travelling Viking ? Forgot about him he done well in 2023 for us and was always an excellent player for Taghmon"
Yes

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 18334 - 11/02/2026 13:58:33    2655934

Replying To Doylerwex:  "That's a strong back 6 in fairness.

Simon isn't my favourite player, but we badly need his experience right now."
Deserves credit for sticking around rather than throwing his hat at it like many others. Ridiculous situation last year v Dublin with Hetherton roasting Foley in the air and Donohue left struggling out the pitch.

Timbertony (Wexford) - Posts: 507 - 11/02/2026 13:59:09    2655935