This is the kind of nonsense I am on about we have no clue what sort of relationship these people have. Can you elaborate how things will get bad for Gaza/palestine have you been blind to the free rein that Isreal have had for last year. It was under Biden watch that putin began his invasion of Ukraine too. I don't like trump but deriding the people who voted as stupid is wrong and part of problem. perhaps listening to their POV will help rather than causing the division to grow and allow the real agitators get their way. Also are you suggesting it would have been smart to elect Harris or retain Biden? jm25 (Galway) - Posts: 1269 - 06/11/2024 17:40:37 2578646 Link 1 |
Trump puts himself first. You should thankful with what you have got in Ireland and now keep fingers crossed that your wealth doesn't take a bit hit in the next four years
Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3479 - 06/11/2024 18:01:44 2578652 Link 1 |
If biden survived trump could run again in 3024.....
Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 3107 - 06/11/2024 18:36:26 2578658 Link 1 |
She was in the White House for about 4 years not 4 months. She stood for WIDE OPEN BORDERS and MEN IN WOMENS SPORTS, etc. No mystery why that lost. She had the CELEBRITY VOTE but not regular tax paying Americans. The US is over $35 TRILLION in debt yet we are funding Wars for OTHER COUNTRIES BORDERS while the US Southern border has been abused for years. Is it any wonder why Trump/Vance/RFK etc won?
Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2251 - 06/11/2024 19:13:30 2578665 Link 1 |
Many of the Trump voters are uneducated in comparison to Harris voters but they're not stupid. Democrats ran another poor candidate against him. Many Democrats voters are, allegedly educated and 'liberal' in comparison to working class Republican voters. It's, generally, easier to be liberal when you've a few quid. Democrats didn't seem to portray Harris in a hugely positive light, explain what she would do to improve America. Reacting to Trumps antics, past and present, many of them staged, seemed to be their tactic, same as in Trump's previous campaigns. They even brought out those good Obama folks out to bash Trump, again! I thought Harris was an infinitely better candidate than Hilary Clinton and should have been their Number 1 pick for all their campaign. They should have left Mayo for Sam as far away from a Presidential race as it was possible. I think most of their campaign, with less Harris positivity and too much reaction to Trump, gave him even more publicity and made them look weak. Same as 2016. You'd think they'd have learned from theur mistakes? For me, they've highlighted the difference between uneducated and stupid.
GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7628 - 06/11/2024 19:46:07 2578669 Link 1 |
With the English and Americans changing their governments,is there any possibility of it happening here??a lot of change in other European countries to.. CTGAA10 (Limerick) - Posts: 2370 - 06/11/2024 20:07:53 2578673 Link 1 |
Hilarious mention the trillions of debt. The Donald will make sure that keeps going up. It skyrocketed under him last time but i am sure you knew that.
TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 8107 - 06/11/2024 21:54:04 2578680 Link 0 |
What you don't have can't take a hit… and Ireland really suffered the last time he was elected.. yeh..?
ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 2982 - 06/11/2024 22:24:49 2578682 Link 1 |
So the working class Republicans are uneducated !!! Ffs cop on
nails (Galway) - Posts: 21 - 06/11/2024 22:56:24 2578687 Link 2 |
Change to? SF/Lab/PBP/Soc Dem/Greens/Lefty Indos? Unlikely to get any more than 60 seats between them on a good day! Even if they did get the magic 89 how long would it last? 3 months? Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1925 - 06/11/2024 22:59:05 2578688 Link 1 |
Republicans won the following nails (Galway) - Posts: 21 - 06/11/2024 23:18:02 2578693 Link 0 |
The debt was due to the terrible 4 years under Trump and embarrassing effort at running the show during covid. In most other countries Trump would not be allowed to run again never mind get voted in again.
Drax_the_destroyer (UK) - Posts: 233 - 06/11/2024 23:33:52 2578694 Link 1 |
What you don't have? many Americans companies currently in Ireland. Didn't suffer the last time as house and Senate didn't allow it, different story now with full power for Trump.
Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3479 - 06/11/2024 23:42:35 2578696 Link 0 |
Apologies. Good spot. Should have said they're uneducated in comparison to the 'liberal' middle class, many of whom vote for the Democrats.
GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7628 - 07/11/2024 00:11:29 2578697 Link 0 |
Tech and Pharma multinationals abandoned everything and went back to the US. They didn't want to make a fuss about it so they kept it quiet like. Them stories you hear about pharma companies, Pfizer, Amgen, MSD, Boston Scientific etc, expanding in Ireland is fake news. Though it's not the greatest strategy for Ireland's future to be too reliant on foreign companies. In a way we were governed by the UK, then governed ourselves, but, arguably, in 2024 we are governed by Brussels and US multinationals.
GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7628 - 07/11/2024 00:22:29 2578698 Link 0 |
. That's simply not true. It was over 43k in 2023. link cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5158 - 07/11/2024 02:27:42 2578700 Link 0 |
So it's a done deal? Hardly a democracy we live in so.......
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 13682 - 07/11/2024 06:17:59 2578708 Link 1 |
With FF and FG in bed together now and SF the main opposition party our democracy has been over for quite some time. I just hope the greens get eradicated. We'll have another grand coalition who won't solve any real problems but toss out enough crumbs for people to want more. Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 3107 - 07/11/2024 08:06:23 2578711 Link 0 |
All seats are dependent on how people vote. Sin é - democracy. If 60% of seats are filled by Centrists and right of Centre then there's a serious chance they'll form a Coalition. I'd prefer a Centre/leftist Coalition but can't see it based on opinion polls and the Euros/locals. Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1925 - 07/11/2024 08:39:06 2578715 Link 0 |
It skyrocketed under Obama, Bush, Biden, and yes Trump too. Trump kept it in country though with the Military and Infrastructure, etc. The others prefer to send it out of the country for wars and other peoples borders.
Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2251 - 07/11/2024 09:11:02 2578724 Link 0 |