Roscommon GAA thread - 5 Like(s)
Replying To 32_4_1: "Cork are that price, as they have far greater ability. Poorly managed, often lack direction and fight, but if the mood takes them could beat Roscommon well. Roscommon are well managed, play close to their ability, fight hard, yet are still only at the level or thereabouts of a misfiring Cork. Roscommon are playing to their extreme, if Meath and Cork suddenly decide to pick it up and click, would beat Roscommon heavily tbh.
The bookies know this. Refer back to previous recent wins over Meath and Cork until the cows come home. If Meath and Cork decide to perform on any given day, Roscommon simply aren't on their level!" You are living in the past. Cork and Meath's are not the sides that use to challenge and win All Irelands their level right now are teams that was unable to get out of Div 2. In Meath's case they had the opportunity to make up for failing to not gain promotion by winning Leinster by beating Div 2 Louth but failed there also.
As outsider looking in I highly doubt you'll get any Roscommon poster on here that thinks their team are well managed and playing close to their ability or to their extreme if they were they would be favourites to win by a few points to spare in that round 3 game in Portlaoise. The punters know the way Roscommon are managed and performing makes it a 50/50 against Cork.
Drax_the_destroyer (National) - 05/06/2025 13:56:27
Mickey Harte - Where To Next.? - 5 Like(s)
Replying To spudmunky: "I don't really care where he goes I'm just glad to see the back of him...
I'm more interested in what the Derry County board are going to do next now that he is gone and I have no problem with an RG reappointment..." You or anyone else having no problem with that would want to give their own head a bit of wobble
Drax_the_destroyer (National) - 09/07/2024 17:56:19
Leitrim GAA thread - 4 Like(s)
Replying To Boxtyeater: "Before the Mayo match I wonder would a 5day warm weather camp be any benefit to the squad. Weather is changing on this island by Saturday. A 5 day trip away for boxyburgerbuns and away from these online forums would be a benefit
Drax_the_destroyer (National) - 10/04/2025 15:23:07
Galway Football thread - 4 Like(s)
Replying To PressureKick: "Specifying Connacht finals and specifying exactly 8 seasons ago is extreme cherrypicking. Someone could just as easily say that Roscommon have beaten Galway in championship a total of twice in 22 years
Back in real-time, the last 3 championship wins have been by Galway and none of the scorelines have been particularly close" It's no cherry picking never mind extreme. its the factual info on rivalry between the two counties since 2016. 5,3,4 was the margin of victory for Galway in the last three Championship games and it took added time point from Comer to be sure of the win in the last match. Should they meet in the Connacht final or All Ireland series in 2024 it will highly likely be a well contested competitive game.
Drax_the_destroyer (National) - 28/11/2023 17:13:26
Roscommon GAA thread - 4 Like(s)
Replying To endgame: "Mayo are very ordinary at the moment. Unfortunately Roscommon have been really poor all year and couldn't capitalise on Mayo's ordinariness. Galway celebrated the provincial title because it's all they'll get. Connacht is miles off having an All Ireland winning team. 23 years and counting. Today was a close and exciting match but the quality was not very good." You are a bit of moaning Mary aren't you? Championship isn't all about who wins the All Ireland title. Regardless of how ordinary you think any team is it was two Div one teams in action and two big neighbour rivals fighting it out for a provincial title. One needs to appreciate Connacht titles/finals because once they are gone they aren't coming back and memorable moments like that final will be lost to history and folklore.
Drax_the_destroyer (National) - 05/05/2024 20:38:07
Mayo GAA Thread - 3 Like(s)
Replying To Bon: "But sure what do people want it to say? He was sacked and there's no nice way of saying that." There is no sacking in amateur game. Gentleman agreements do be in place for a period time and if not working out they part ways in a gentleman way. For all the years of service McStay has given to Mayo as a player and manager he deserved a bit more respect in that statement last night.
Drax_the_destroyer (National) - 26/06/2025 15:43:20
Pre Season Competitions - 3 Like(s)
Replying To germac: "Great to hear Cavan have tabled a motion to Saturdays Central Council meeting requesting to reverse the decision to drop all pre season competitions, surely all players and management would be delighted with this as it would be ideal to adjust to any rule changes before NFL begins" Connacht GAA said they will back that motion and if pre-season are to return the Connacht GAA should show a bit of common sense by moving all games out of 2,000 capacity air dome and play matches in county grounds that would attract 5 to 7,000 people plus they can continue to stream the games.
Drax_the_destroyer (National) - 23/10/2024 00:01:38
Galway Football thread - 3 Like(s)
Replying To galwayman2: "Great to dig out that win without the two boys up front. It wasn't looking good with ten mins to go.
Plus Neilan gave Mayo a succession of soft frees .throughout the game.
We need to improve a lot though going forward.
Sean Mulkerrin should be nowhere near the tram going forward - not up to this level.
He's dreadful in possession" Poor Cora on the Sunday game trying to make out the officials was against Mayo is mildly humorous
Drax_the_destroyer (National) - 04/05/2025 21:59:12
Roscommon GAA thread - 3 Like(s)
Replying To MayoDan: "I was joking obviously. Certain posters here were obsessed with the scheduling after the U20 final. Everyone knows the schedule for failing to top the group.
Also playing one game per week is no issue for young lads. I was playing soccer and gaelic every week at their age." Worst "joking" I've seen on here. Are you watching the Ulster final today to see what fatigue and tiredness does players/teams? and they are both well conditioned Senior teams. Your low level soccer and gaelic every week as a young lad isn't comparable
Drax_the_destroyer (National) - 10/05/2025 19:37:34
Replying To B&G: "Davy must now be sweating with Andy Moran now available" More chance of Paddy Joe the barber getting involved with Roscommon team than Andy Moran.
Drax_the_destroyer (National) - 05/07/2024 23:33:59
Replying To ForeverBlue2: "I fear Galway missed the boat last year when letting an average Armagh team beat them in the All Ireland Final… loosing their top scorer early in the game while the other 2 marquee forwards were having a stinker really hurt them on the day… Unfortunately they might not get as good an opportunity again…!" Average teams don't reach All-Ireland final and especially when you reach it by beating Kerry.
Drax_the_destroyer (National) - 07/01/2025 13:26:31
Sligo GAA thread - 3 Like(s)
Replying To eoinog: "Do you get paid to showboat between the different counties ?. You have about 3 posts on the Galway page about the game." Paid and showboat?. Watched the match live posted at half time and full time on the Galway thread and then gave my praise to Sligo on here. As for you enough of playing the WUM more than tiresome at this stage.
Drax_the_destroyer (National) - 03/04/2025 13:28:14
Leitrim GAA thread - 3 Like(s)
Replying To boxtyburgerbuns: "They have won 3 nfl titles in over 50 years. They win Connacht frequently because only two counties are in with a shout of winning it. They haven't a hope of an AI in the future but in fairness to them they still come out for more every year and the supporters always believe. That is admirable in a way." Mayo have won just two of the last nine Connacht senior titles. Same as Roscommon. Galway have won 5 including three in a row and for me very much the team to beat in Connacht once again this year.
U20 should give a good idea to where senior level will be in Connacht in the years ahead.
U20 title winners since it became U20 in 2018
Galway 2
Roscommon 2
Sligo 2
Mayo 1
Mayo will be favourites to win U20 this year. Connacht at that grade as competitive as any province.
Drax_the_destroyer (National) - 06/01/2025 20:36:04
Irish At The Paris Olympics - 3 Like(s)
Replying To ForeverBlue2: "Rashida ran out of puff again in the last 50m.. she was lucky enough to end 4th..: Hopefully now she can give the relay team a good boost for their final.." To put some context on the run Rashida gave Friday night.
In the 400m race the Bronze medal winners in the last six Olympics posted times of 49.46, 49.85, 49.72, 49.93, 49.89, 49.72 and Adeleke had a better time in 4th (49.28) and all the more impressive when you consider it was her first Olympic final and is just 21. The sky is the limit for her so long as she can keep injury free for the La Olympics.
Drax_the_destroyer (National) - 11/08/2024 01:49:58
Shock Results Of 2024 - 3 Like(s)
Replying To yew_tree: "Mayo won the FBD and NFL last year…meant sweat f all come championship where we flopped. Fact is Mayo are in transition and nowhere near the team from 2012-2017. We seem to be always a talking point for da rossie posters here for some reason. We probably 3rd or 4th favs for Connacht this years after that London result.
Well done to Brigid's…great result and hopefully they take the cup back across (just about) the Shannon." "We probably 3rd or 4th favs for Connacht this years after that London result"
Kerry level of poor mouthing right there.
"Fact is Mayo are in transition and nowhere near the team from 2012-2017"
Granted Mayo aren't near that level both as individuals or collectively now however the transition period was mainly done by James Horan and the expensive management team of McStay, Rochford,Buckley, McHale looked to hit the ground running which they did by winning the FBD and Div 1 titles last year. Then came a road block in the shape of Roscommon in the Connacht championship.
That defeat was seen in the eyes of many pundits as a blessing in disguise with a number of weeks to prep for the All-Ireland series and it looked that way when Mayo powered past Kerry. What followed left more questions than answers. Only beating Louth at home by the narrowest of margins allowed the doubts creep in and then arrived the killer blow to the season that promised a lot more by losing to Cork and worse of all getting outscored 1-6 without reply in the last 20 minutes.
A mini boost was got by beating neighbours Galway next but it was low quality match and Galway three main players weren't match fit. The "reward" for that win was against a rested Dublin in Croke Park and Mayo facing up to their 3rd match in 3 weeks and performances against Cork, Galway was no way convincing that they would be competitive for 70 minutes v Dublin and so it proved.
Drax_the_destroyer (National) - 10/01/2024 13:23:51
Replying To S1234: "Top 2 in connacht that gave me a good laugh .
So they are sob stories when they say they will loose and cocky when they say they will win ..hope it's ye in final though so we can pay yous back for last year." Great we got a laugh out of you Clare from the Mayogaablog. After the way Kerry eased past you in 2nd gear and how you only managed to beat Div 3 Sligo by three points at home it's probably for the best to keep the head down and park such cockiness for until after the Connacht final and if you manage to pull off upset win v Galway or Roscommon.
Drax_the_destroyer (National) - 15/04/2025 15:33:07
Replying To dave1988: "Andy is a mayo man. Not many people here think he's not . All just a bit of slagging.." How is he a Mayo man when he's from Ballaghaderreen in county Roscommon?
Drax_the_destroyer (National) - 02/07/2025 13:52:58
Roscommon GAA thread - 2 Like(s)
Replying To MayoDan: "It's well known that young players recover much faster than lads in their late 20s or 30s. Also have to remember that the Roscommon players would have been just off 2 weeks holidays from school/college. So no way would they have been any more fatigued than usual.
You seem to be obsessed with bookie odds. I don't bet at all myself." Well known old wife's tales. in reality the amount of training along with so many competitive inter county championship games in a short space would be new to these young players. it has a higher stimulus on them. Don't forget at that age they are still developing their bodies are going through a rapid growth phase, which can make them more prone to injuries due to the intensity of training and the tough match schedule without a two week break some where in between and it all added up to huge competitive and physical demands on their bodies.
As for obsessed with bookie odds? not really I'm explaining why the odds was that long before the game.
Drax_the_destroyer (National) - 04/05/2025 13:38:14
Galway Football thread - 2 Like(s)
Replying To JimB1991: "No, I'm from Donegal. Feel like we would have been well equipped to deal with Galway and owe them one from last year." Sure you are and I'm from China.
Drax_the_destroyer (National) - 04/07/2025 21:54:56
Galway Football thread - 2 Like(s)
Div 1 status was secured with that win in Tyrone some weeks ago, were always going to beat Monaghan and the point in Hyde Park was huge one as would be down without it.
Wasn't great today but only lost by two points away to Kerry when it looked like the margin would be a lot bigger. With players coming back from injury should be alright shape to give the expected Connacht final a right good rattle.
Drax_the_destroyer (National) - 24/03/2024 22:55:46