Canavan honoured with 25-year award

September 15, 2019

Peter Canavan.
©INPHO/Ken Sutton.

Peter Canavan has been recognised as the best player in the 25 year-history of the Irish News Ulster All-Stars.

The legendary forward, who skippered Tyrone to their maiden Sam Maguire Cup success in 2003 and won a second All-Ireland medal two years later, was a popular winner of the special award which was presented at a ceremony in Armagh on Thursday night.

Donegal captain Michael Murphy was honoured with the Player of the Year award for 2019 and was joined by team-mates Shaun Patton, Stephen McMenamin, Paddy McGrath, Ryan McHugh, Eoghan ‘Ban’ Gallagher, Jamie Brennan and Paddy McBrearty on the Team of the Year. Tyrone and Armagh were the only other counties represented on the XV.

Meanwhile, hurling excellence awards were presented to Down, Armagh and Antrim’s Neil McManus.

Most Read Stories