Offaly Forum

Popular Posts from indaknownow

Mountbellew/Moylough Proposed Suspensions - 6 Like(s)
I believe there are significant suspensions in the pipeline for a number of players. And rightly so - Regardless of the mistakes of the referee he has to be protected and cannot be subjected to the abuse that was clearly levelled at him. Such abuse has no place in our sport and has to be severely punished. However i would be interested to see what the powers that be will be doing about the referees performance in the game. It is clear to me that he got a major call wrong which had a significant impact on the outcome. (maybe he was unsighted or whatever) but in fairness the GAA should also be taking him to task in some way for this. I would expect that he would be removed from whatever intercounty panel he is on for a season perhaps. There has to be accountability and fair play on all sides

indaknownow (National) - 04/01/2022 13:30:49

Congress Decisions - 3 Like(s)

Replying To Canuck:  "I am not much for black cards or sin bins. If a player denies a scoring chance punish it on the score board. Giving a score might be taking it too far but by returning the opportunity with a penalty will deter the foul play and if that is on the half way line so be it. Here is my problem with the sin bin and black card. A team is winning by two points with a minute to go. An opposition player gets the ball 30 or 40 meters out with clear path to goal or a team mate closer to goal unmarked, do you not think for a second that a defender will worry about a card or a sin bin ? If he knows a penalty is the result with a 90% chance o a goal he will think twice about dragging down. He may still do it but the result will be a fair result. There should be limited chance of error if the referee consults with the two lines men and the two umpires. In all five officials that at least two should agree on allowing that some might have missed it. The referees are left with too many call on their own with six other officials (total 7) on the field."
Inevitably there will be some wrong calls. but the idea here is to change the behaviour and get rid or at least reduce the behaviour out of the game. Look at the rule in football, In general, it had improved but in the last 5 mins of a game players are taking wone for the team. the introduction of a penalty is the perfect deterrent in my opinion where the punishment is actually worse than the probable outcome of not committing the crime. Anyone that thinks cynical fowling does not occur in Hurling is sadly just deluding themselves.

indaknownow (National) - 01/03/2021 09:39:24

Central Competitions Control Committee. - 2 Like(s)

Replying To Viking66:  "They already know this. Its just in the heat of battle they forget. Retrospective punishment won't work as a deterrent because they already know that they could be sent off if spotted by the ref or linesmen. We will forget about umpires for this debate who I feel should do more."
Retrospective punishment would work if there weren't so many loopholes and strokes to be pulled to get people off. The GAA needs to tighten up its act and eliminate the ability of barristers to undo the disciplinary system. As i said before fundamentally the wrong thing has happened here. 3 guys that should legitimately have been suspended for their actions have escaped and it brings the whole organisation into disrepute. The Clare and Galway county boards should be having a serious look at themselves in lodging these appeals. it sends out all the wrong messages. That said we are where we are and it seems the GAA family is great for looking after their own rather than realising that there is a bigger picture so it remains for the powers that be to tighten things up to protect the GAA from itself.

indaknownow (National) - 17/06/2022 14:43:34

Team Of The Provincial Championships - 2 Like(s)
Not exactly on topic but related. Where would you rank the teams now in the Championship? HS article last week ranked Cavan at 10, Tipp at 19, Donegal at 2 I'm not sure that the four remaining would be 1-4 but surely last week's results give rise to a Rethink. Also I was bemused with Sean Cavanagh's comments on Cavan on Sunday night. He said at the start of the Championship they were ranked 7th in Ulster. I agree they were no one's favourites. but I would say they were in the middle group of 3 in Ulster first-tier Donegal, Tyrone, Monaghan. Second Group, Armagh Cavan Down, Third Group Derry, Fermanagh Antrim. That Put them about 5th. Sorry for the rant - I just think Sean Cavanagh hasn't got a clue!!

indaknownow (National) - 24/11/2020 14:12:50

Cavan V Dublin - 1 Like(s)

Replying To lilypad:  "Have to hand it to ye lads, all this talk about refs maybe causing you the match, and not a word about what you're facing into, ye'll do well to get within ten, even with the ref of your side."
True, For Cavan to win they will need every thing to go right for them - including the ref - In fairness they have had two poor refs in their ulster semi final and final. And I dont rate Brannigan as much better. Coldrick or Goff are two of the best referees in the country and to be fair having a Meath man in the middle would probably have been the fairest all round. I doubt Cavan management/players are paying too much attention to whats been said here though. We are all just blowing wind here!!

indaknownow (Cavan) - 02/12/2020 09:36:24

Should Referees Be Asked To Explain - 1 Like(s)

Replying To KillingFields:  "It would also change how referees are thought of. They are known but nobody knows personality of refs or see's the good parts of a referee. The only people a ref should be explaining any decisions after a game to are an appointed assessor or a coach of a team involved(within reason) and with a coach only on the specifics of rules.."
If handled properly it could be a positive thing for referees. I'm not saying that the Referee should necessarily be grilled after every game but if there was some explanation (from Official GAA) then that might help. Referees are human and make Mistakes so there has to be some tolerance for that. But referees that are constantly below the standard required should not get the Big games. IMO the ref in the Ulster game made 3 or4 errors on Sunday. Often these Errors cancel out but on Sunday they all went against Cavan. If there was some explanation of them that might go some way to alleviating the frustration of Cavan supporters. The Idea of a referee Pundit being employed to look at specific issues has some merit. I honestly don't Rate Sean Cavanagh as a pundit on football matters and he hasn't a clue about refereeing. But I was very surprised that there was so little analysis of the Referees performance on Sunday given the huge focus on the Cavan Penalty the week before. Similarly very little made of the Tipp Goal that was Disallowed. Maybe the attitude would have been different if Cavan And Tipp had lost. If that's the case then it's too late - The whole idea is to improve the standard of ~Refereeing and for transparency across the board. Final Shot - Neither of the two referees I have mentioned should be involved for the remainder of the season - and that also goes for the linesman in Ulster who appears to have called the 2nd black Card.

indaknownow (National) - 24/11/2020 10:17:18

Cavan V Dublin - 1 Like(s)

Replying To breffnibluewhite:  "not so sure about that rte stated that brannigan informed cassidy about the foul but called it a push this was heard on his microphone which is a yellow card but cassidy issued a black card."
I have a problem with this and the roll of Brannigan in this black card saga. Its clear that there was a foul for a push/late tackle/shoulder in the back. But it is clear that the referee didnt award a free for it. He stopped play, consulted with his linesman, and issued a yellow card. From my reading of the rule book a linesman may bring to the attention of the referee instances of foul play during a break in play. It is not the job of the linesman to call frees as they happen (unlike soccer). So my question is Did Cassidy stop play for a Free called by Brannigan? If so thats not in the rule book. And If so and Branningan said it was a push Why was a black card issued?

indaknownow (Cavan) - 01/12/2020 14:41:00

Mountbellew/Moylough Proposed Suspensions - 1 Like(s)
Replying to Killing fields Question 'how does removing a referee for a year improve his standard of refereeing?' Like all good politicians - I'm delighted you asked the question as it goes to the heart of the point i was trying to make. The origin of this whole problem was a poor/bad decision by the referee - plain speaking he got a big call wrong. This is not a first year referee refereeing an u12 league match. this guy refereed the all ireland minor final in 2021. And the GAA need to be fair to all sides in this matter. just as they are rightfully saying to the players - your behaviour is not acceptable and you accept the punishment. They should be saying to all referees at this level - this is not the standard of refereeing i expect from you and as a result you are dropped for a period. No party should be above the law. We have all come across referees who act like god. I think such actions would send a good message to them too.

indaknownow (National) - 05/01/2022 09:15:08

Proposed Hurling Rule Changes - 1 Like(s)

Replying To Canuck:  "So because someone dives we should not have a new rule for pulling down someone about to score a goal. Think about that ? Why do we make things so difficult ? How about if any of the officials see that it was a dive it is dealt with by sending the diver off and giving a free the other way that will probably put over the bar. How about if you don't want to stop the game and review, all penalties are reviewed afterwards and if a dive was seen deal with the player. "It is not as simple as that." Yes it is and we need to stop trying figure how things won't work. A good rule is a one that will be required seldom or hopefully never. It is the deterrent . I grew up when the goalie got run over nearly in every game. How often is goalie interfered with now because of the consequences. Mistakes will happen. Correct them and move on. As regards reffing. It as totally ridiculous to have one man in the fastest sport in the world, on the largest playing surface expecting to do and see everything. There are six other officials out there. Train them or remove some of them and use a second referee. I have no time for these people who don't want change to match the changes in the games. The games as played today are only a cousin of when they started and continue to evolve."
You make a lot of sense. The problem here is that there is cynical play in hurling (as well as football). I don't think that the rule in football is perfect - there are still some areas that need tidying up and it still doesn't deter the cynical fowling in the last 5 minutes when the game is in the melting pot. I think that addressing the issue where a definite goal-scoring opportunity is averted is a positive thing but I'm not sure that this version of a rule will necessarily succeed. The problem with refereeing is that the standard and resources will vary significantly from Senior intercounty to Junior B club! but if we look at the senior intercounty the referee will have two umpires looking straight at the play from less than 20m away. player goes down he can easily consult with umpires to ascertain what happened and make the appropriate decision based on all the information he has. As an aside i would categorize diving as cynical play too and the punishment should be the same as the others for that. I have long been a fan of the idea that there should be no sin bin as a punishment of cynical fouls in football. simple alternate deterrant. all cynical fouls no matter where they occur are punished by a free on the 21. in the last 5 minutes of normal time plus any injury time the punishment is a penalty.

indaknownow (National) - 04/03/2021 10:04:00

Should Referees Be Asked To Explain - 1 Like(s)

Replying To JoeSoap:  "On the Ulster final, when the mark wasn't called - BBC commentary said that it wasn't given because the ball in was part-blocked by a Donegal defender? I didn't notice that myself but that's what they said on BBC commentary - can anyone clarify if that is the rule, once a kick pass has been partially blocked or deflected, no mark can be called?"
To answer your question the rule on the Mark reads as follows. When a player catches the ball cleanly on or inside a 45m line from a kick in play (i.e. not from set-play) delivered by an attacking player on or beyond the opposing team's 45m line, that travels at least 20m and without it touching the ground. There is no mention of a block in the rule the only one is that it hasn't touched the ground which it didn't. In any case there was no block on the Kick so that's not the issue. It was just a mistake by the Ref.. one of a few he made on Sunday.

indaknownow (National) - 25/11/2020 16:53:49

That Tyrone/Armagh Row - 1 Like(s)

Replying To anotheralias:  "This debate fascinates me and as is the case with many aspects of the GAA it is not black and white. I am inclined to lean towards the lenient school of thought i.e that it was handbags and that some of the cards and associated suspensions were/are un-necessary. But what really interests me is that i hear many of the people who are calling this incident a minor/handbag type issue are the same people who were labelling the acts of the Mountbellew players as an assault. I will challenge any one to justify a reason why the minor pushes that the referee got was remotely as bad,or carried as much risk of serious injury, as at least 10 of the interactions in the Armagh v Tyrone melee. For sure the officials have to be protected and what 2 of the Mountbellew players did was wrong and deserves some level of suspension. But should players not be protected also against physical abuse or are players "children of a lesser God". Do they not have families to go home to as well. As I said at the start it is a fascinating debate and it difficult for the GAA to legislate. But pragmatism and fairness should apply and hopefully they will , with fair and reasonable punishment where it is justified ( in the handling of both the aftermath of the Armagh / Tyrone game and in the Mountbellew disciplinary scenario)"
Two very different things you are talking about. From what i saw on sunday night im guessing that most of the players who saw red was for 'contributing to a melee' My understanding of that rule is that if you get involved in a melee in any way you run the risk of getting a red card. The suspensions in the Mountbellew/Moylough case arise from abuse of the referee. any form of verbal or physical abuse to a referee carries a suspension. so it is not the severity of the abuse alone. Also suspensions are minimum recommendations the committee in charge has the power to impose larger sanctions. I would imagine the guys sent off on Sunday will get the minimum suspension. Probably just one game. I'm guessing that referees have been told that if a melee develops send a few off instead of the usual one or two from either side. Its probably a directive from croke park to clamp down on this. and fair play to Mr Goff he's not afraid to apply the rules to the letter of the law - as Johnny cooper well knows!!

indaknownow (National) - 08/02/2022 12:20:39

Central Competitions Control Committee. - 1 Like(s)

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "On your point 2, i'm sure their own procedures require this to be completed within a timeframe, a timeframe that had lapsed because it was not legitimately held when they thought it was held. Apparently the issue is with regards to the original "meeting" that offered the ban, not last nights appeal. It is now likely to be too late to go back and restart this. No county would have accepted those bans if they GAA did not follow their own rules in implementing the bans so regardless of what you think about "fair minded" people, every county will try and get decisions like this overturned. The GAA love quoting rule this rule that!!! From a Clare perspective I have and had no problems with the lads being banned but I had a problem with the lack of transparency around the process and it is this lack of transparency that has led to the fingers being pointed at the Sunday Game rightly or wrongly. Its amazing to think that no one from the GAA came out to clarify the process here if only to take the heat off the Sunday Game if in fact there was no collusion. The silence is telling in my opinion that all is not right and as a result I am delighted the GAA coped one in this instance by breaking their own rules."
I'm not sure of the timelines or whatever but whatever happened in this instance is not correct. GAA needs to get its house in order. something as simple as where a decision is appealed on a technicality i.e. there is no contrary evidence to disprove the claim the process recommences from the date of appeal. The GAA isn't a court of law - it sets rules and sanctions etc as is sees fit and these laws are agreed through its structures. Surely it can pass such motions to protect itself. If there were no benefits to challenging these on a technicality then there would be no challenges. Does any right minded person believe that these 3 players should not be sanctioned for what they did.? By right minded i mean non partizan Clare or Galway supporters.

indaknownow (National) - 16/06/2022 14:51:06

Replying To Viking66:  "Me. If the referee saw them and sent them off fair enough. If not then at the final whistle that's the game and everything in it finished with. Except in 2 circumstances. If any of the lads they hit got badly injured then retrospective bans for sure. And I don't mean 1 or 2 games. I mean 6 months minimum. And fines paid to the victims. Especially if any of them had to miss time off work. And secondly for simulation. Any player guilty of simulation should be banned. And if the simulation caused a sending off that affected the result then their team should be disqualified from whatever competition it occurred in. That would put a stop to alot of #### that happens on the pitch."
Not totally disagreeing with you but there are some flaws in what you suggest. Any player playing intercounty (and a lot of Senior Club fixtures must know that the matches are televised and therefor should be honour bound that anything they are caught doing by the referee or the CCCC can attract the appropriate sanction. (whether the opponent was injured or not) the object of any sanctions is to stop the bad behaviour it is not to act as an incentive not to get caught - its the same with drink driving laws!!! In relation to the point made by Canuck - it is not an overrulling of the ref for sanctions to be applied on foot of video evidence it is a supplementation of the information provided in the referees report. It is likely that the referee was asked if he saw the incident and he has said that he didn't then in that case the sanction will be applied. Finally the GAA need to be more Transparent in the process for CITING of incidents post game. This might improve the consistency.

indaknownow (National) - 16/06/2022 17:05:19

replying to anotheralias but im conscious of all the other posts today. I agree its hard to know what the right thing is here. But i do know that the wrong thing would be some sort of a farcical cover up. Any fair minded person can agree what happened yesterday was disgraceful. There are rules within the GAA which cover 'contributing to a melee'. and the GAA needs to be implementing those rules. David Goff tried to apply them in the league game between Armagh and Tyrone - but unfortunately the appeals system in the GAA didn't support him properly. The argument that a person stuck in the middle of that yesterday was trying to stop it is fine but if the GAA implemented its own rules then everyone would know that - if I'm in the middle of a melee for whatever reason I will get a ban - then that puts the onus on the person to get away from it, Hence no melee. All it would take is a few instances of stern punishments for all and sundry for the whole country to stand up and change the behaviour - I know that would be particularly harsh on Galway on this occasion as they would be seriously depleted for the next round - but unfortunately some county will have to take the blame. (Maybe it would be some poetic justice for them appealing their hurlers ban a few weeks ago on a technicality). unless some sort of a stand is taken now this thing will never change.

indaknownow (National) - 27/06/2022 15:11:35

Wexford Football Championship - 1 Like(s)

Replying To Pikeman96:  "Can assure you I'm at plenty of meetings and on plenty of calls where this and many other topics are discussed. For what it's worth, currently part of a sub-committee considering championship structures, and here are options we're considering: Option A - if people want games spaced out more, with more rest weeks: Return to the 2020 & '21 structures, with four groups of three. Advantage: takes just six rounds hurling and six football, so 12 weeks total instead of 16, which fits far more neatly into calender currently available. Disadvantage: your championship could be over after three games played in the space of a fortnight. Maybe get round that by reverting to one week hurling, one week football, etc. Option B - if people want to retain the two groups of six structure that's so popular: Make sure that people have to accept that games will come thick and fast after each other. Could be even more squeezed in future years if Wexford hurlers progress to All-Ireland semi-final or final, or if footballers reach Tailteann Cup final. A big help would be if Leinster pushed back the opening date of the provincial club championships and played them straight through instead of a gap week between each round, but that's outside our direct control. Option C - three groups of four. Has the advantage of taking just six rounds if three group games, quarters, semis, and final. But problem here is finding a fair and acceptable to way to get eight quarter-finalists from three groups, without needing some sort of play-offs and therefore extra rounds of fixtures. Asked for thoughts on this a page or two back, but no suggestions yet. Option D - a variation on C: An innovative suggestion by one of our committee that you draw four groups of three, but teams in one group play teams from a different group - so for example, the three teams in Group A play the three in Group B. So you get three group games, top two in each group progress to quarter-finals, and bottom goes into relegation semi-finals. Sounds good until you consider that all three teams in Group A could beat all three teams in Group B. Now you'd have a team in Group A going into relegation despite having six points, while two teams from Group B would still progress to quarter-finals despite having no points at all. Option E - expand all grades in both hurling and football to 16 teams each, and run everything as four groups of four. Advantage: Takes six round for each code, so 12 total, which again fits more neatly into the calendar. Disadvantage: despite others here already calling for it in hurling, think as shown by Oulart-The Ballagh this year (let's consider them a senior team in the intermediate grade), gap is just far too great for senior hurling to remain truly competitive throughout if you promote four intermediate teams. You could just be padding it out with virtual cannon fodder. Option F - retain hurling as two groups of six, but expand football to 16 teams per grade, with four groups of four. Half advantage: takes 14 rounds total (eight hurling + six football). Disadvantage: likely pushback from the mainly footballing clubs as they're not guaranteed as many games as in hurling. There you have it. I think A or B are most likely, despite neither of them bringing anything new to the table at all."
How about another option. and it works no matter how many teams are at a grade (So long as there is an even number in every Grade) Before each round there is an open draw do decide who you play. you play 4 or 5 rounds in this format and after that the top 8 teams go into quarter finals. The only proviso is that you cant play the same team twice in the league stage. Quarter finals are seeded 1 v 8, 2 v 7, 3 v 6, 4 v 5 based on the table standings. Head to head results (if the teams have played each other) then Score difference taken into account do decide placings. You probably need 4 or 5 league rounds to get a fair table. There is an element of luck of the draw in it too which adds to the championship feel. I think its a realistic option. If you went for 4 rounds you save 2 weeks overall.

indaknownow (National) - 26/09/2022 10:27:48

Tailteann Cup 2022 - 1 Like(s)

Replying To Loughduff Lad:  "How so? The League is our Secondary competition. Its played in winter months. It's meant to be used by teams to develop. And it's 7 games. Basing the layout of the Championship based on the League is head scratching, we don't do it anywhere else in the GAA. As the saying goes, Leagues are for playing, Championships are for winning. I like the League, but we're putting a huge risk to Championship. Let Championship decide championship, with relegation and promotion based on your previous years performance. That's literally how we do it up and down the country"
The championship is based on the championship. If you get to your provincial final no matter where you perform in the league then you get into the all ireland series. If you win the tailteann cup regardless of where you finish in the league you get into the all ireland. So the first 9 places out of 16 are awarded based on championship performance. after that rating the teams on their league position is a much better assessment of relative position. how can you compare Armagh who were beaten in the first round of ulster by Donegal to Wexford who beat Offaly in leinster prelim but then lost to dublin.. Oh wait Armagh are in Div 1 Wex finished in the bottom half of Div 4. Some people just want to give out about everything. Maybe I'm the bigger fool for even engaging!!

indaknownow (National) - 21/06/2022 10:44:20

Mountbellew/Moylough Proposed Suspensions - 1 Like(s)

Replying To KillingFields:  "I've seen numerous people say that because some M/M players were completely out of order, that we can't talk about the standard of refereeing. That's complete nonsense, and why I'm saying it's a separate issue. How will the standard of refereeing improve in general if referees aren't accountable for very poor errors? A player performing poorly will be dropped. A good manager will give him feedback on why he was dropped, where he needs to improve, what he needs to learn etc. Saying refs are human and make mistakes doesn't address specifics at all. Every ref will make plenty mistakes during a game. That's a given. The issue is with the very clear mistakes and those which are critical. We never want to have a 2010 Leinster Final incident again. Someone above mentioned the issue is with the mark rule itself. That's also nonsense. If a ref doesn't know the rules, especially one which has been so publicised, then it's a serious problem. We had an incident of a ref not knowing a rule, when Kerry got a late goal to draw with Monaghan in 2018. The Monaghan player was penalised for playing the ball on the ground. In what was the last play, Kerry got possession from the free and worked a goal. The Monaghan player was entitled to play the ball as it happened, but the ref didn't know. These issues need to be tightened up. WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 1209 - 05/01/2022 10:42:15 going on about making refs accountable is exactly why there is constantly incidents in the GAA with referees being chased/assaulted/abused. Refs are accountable already but the process in which they are trained and how they learn and develop needs to be improved. Refs can make mistakes even on big issues/common rules. Main learning is that they dont make that mistake again and that comes from reviews with referee development officers/full time staff working solely with referees to coach and develop refs within a county. How exactly would you tighten up these issues?"
The fact that the powers that be in the GAA don't make refs accountable in a transparent fashion when they make mistakes is probably a major contributing factor for some of the abuse that they get. There is an element of frustration there that when the referee makes a mistake there never appears to be any consequence for the ref and he is back out the next week. NOTE THIS is not an excuse for the behaviour of the M/M players in any way but it is the reality and the perception is that the referee just gets away with being crap. I agree that YEs the referee needs to be reviewed / retrained and assisted to not make the same mistake but he also needs to be removed from circulation for a period of time the that level - if only for optics sake. Percetion is reality after all!!

indaknownow (National) - 05/01/2022 21:51:35

Armagh Vs Galway - 1 Like(s)

Replying To FootblockREF:  "It should be a long ban but the GAA loves a bit of the cute whore or the melted rogue especially in the back room where the deals are done. And our rules are written with that mindset. Tiernan McCann dived against Monaghan in 2015 and got Darren Hughes sent off. It's been 7 years since that incident and despite diving being a growing cancer in the game, there is no rule for it. Then you had the farce of the game this summer where players were suspended for "contributioning to a melee" only to find the rulebook doesn't specify how many players makes up a melee. I'll always have the deepest respect for John Mullane because he took his medicine on 2004 at a time when court injunctions were appearing every second week. He missed the semi final v KK, where they lost by 2 points. But, and this is true, the Waterford Chairman tried to get Mullane off on the spectacular logic that he was sent off in the Munster Championship so the All Ireland semi final was a different competition. Him and his like are the people who write the rules. GAA have a serious problem that they have no intention of fixing because they created the problem."
Would you read the rulebook before you make - up your own rules. 1. there is a rule about diving it comes under the rule to feign a foul or injury and it is a yellow card offence. 2. A melee is any incident involving 3 or more players. The problem is the court of public opinion and the fact that within the GAA there is no real appetite to close the loopholes that allow players to get off for fear that you might want to use the self same loophole yourself!! I was listening to someone on RTE radio last night talking about the Galway captain being sent off yesterday and assuming that his suspension would be appealed as there were lots of others involved. I didnt see the incident properly myself but by the sounds of it there were loads of people involved and if that is the case instead of the Galway captain getting exonerated everyone else involved should get the suspensions they deserve. A message needs to go out that this sort of behaviour will not be tolerated.

indaknownow (National) - 27/06/2022 08:27:23

another test for the processes and procedures of the CCCC this week. I hope they get this one right.

indaknownow (National) - 27/06/2022 08:28:44

Wexford Hurling Championship 2022 - 1 Like(s)
So whats the thoughts on the games for the weekend. Senior - I fancy Ferns, the second half of the match between these two in the group stages was epic. I note that the martins have only got 4 goals in the championship whereas Ferns have got 15. But Martins got 2 of their 4 goals against Ferns. I am hoping for a great game. and i think Ferns will just get by, by a point or 2. Intermediate - Cant see past Oulart Here, These sides met in the Second Game of the group and i think there was something like a 18 point margin. I feel that Taghmon have improved and will close the gap to a single digit margin but i'm expecting there to be 8 points in it to Oulart. Intermediate A - This is a tough one to call - After their promotion last year Horeswood didn't exactly sparkle in the group stage. but they have been impressive against more fancied opposition in the knock out rounds. Liam Mellows have been consistent all year barring a largely irrelevant loss to Shels in the final group game. It would be some achievement for Horeswood to put back to back Champ wins but it think Liam Mellows will shade this by a couple of points. Junior - Glynn Barntown seem to be the form team but it would appear that they were in the Weaker group so hard to judge. Davidstown have to be fancied on the basis that its a first team V's a second string and they have a potential match winner in David Dunne who should really stand out at this grade. I'm going for Davidstown but not by much. Junior A - Clongeen have been knocking on the door at this grade for a few years - i think it is their third final so im going to back them to make it third time lucky by about 6 points.

indaknownow (National) - 11/08/2022 12:25:59