Offaly Forum

Popular Posts from tonorio

Galway hurlers to Munster? - 2 Like(s)
Galway should have home games in Leinster no question. They offered to play Offaly in Tullamore last year if Offaly would agree to play them in Galway the next time they were drawn together. Offaly county board agreed to this but were overruled by the Leinster Council as they weren't sure they money generated would stay with the Leinster Council. So while the underage teams not getting can be blamed on the counties, the no home games is a Leinster Council decision

tonorio (National) - 17/11/2016 15:20:36

Division 3 Relegation - 2 Like(s)
Ah stop with the conspiracy. There is genuine hatred between Westmeath and Offaly and there was nothing more they wanted than to relegate us today. The fact is they are 1 man team and without Heslin they are poor. If Derry were good enough they would have stayed up

tonorio (National) - 25/03/2018 16:58:51

The Dubs Fans - A Credit. - 1 Like(s)
After 2006 Leinster final I got sucker punched under the cusack stand and kicked on the ground by 3 Dublin "fans". Left a bitter taste in my mouth. 7 months later Dublin played laois in the o'byrne Cup final in tullamore as portlaoise was been upgraded. I was working in a pub and dreading the influx of dubs. Walked into work and the place was full of them. Went on to have the best and most enjoyable day in work I had. Salt of the earth and they were funny witty and dead sound. That was the real Dublin fans, not the clowns from the year before. Went to the 2007 Leinster semi final and even though Dublin hammered us again the craic with the Dublin fans was brilliant again. Only had good experiences since in both hurling and football

tonorio (National) - 22/07/2018 11:22:15

Leinster Final 1997 - 1 Like(s)
I remember the match well, Saturday evening throw in and us standing on the hill. Despite the great start Offaly got, there was notable tension, among us anyway, as you never had that Meath team beat. Sure enough they were eating into the lead until Roy Malone scored the second goal and we breathed a huge sigh of relief! I never saw anything from the Meath fans but we did go straight from the Hill to the centre of the pitch and didn't meet too many. They were disappointed but sound in the pubs after it alright

tonorio (National) - 28/04/2021 15:33:15

Jimmy Cooney RIP - 1 Like(s)

Replying To clooney:  "RIP to Jimmy and his family he made a mistake and nobody holds that against him in Clare, but we were the best team in Ireland in 1998 IMO and were up 3/4 points with Barry Murphy bearing in on goal I would definitely have fancied us in Final. its all water under the Bridge now jimmy was a fine tough corner back and Croak Park officials did handle it badly and i am sure Jimmy suffered a bit for it cant ever remember him reefing again."
While I agree Clare would have gone onto win the game as they had weathered most of the Offaly comeback there are a few things with this post. 1. Barry Murphy was out under the Hogan Stand ushered out by Kevin Martin not through on goal. (pedantic I know) 2. There should never have been a replay. Offaly had the first game won and then Clare were given a phantom free to draw the first game. He never even told the players what the free was for just waved them away

tonorio (National) - 03/08/2023 17:23:19

Sham of a NHL or what? - 1 Like(s)
As an Offaly man I am thrilled we stayed up. After the Galway debacle we were competitive in every other game and that was what kept us up. I agree its nonsense that we are in a quarter final but I also think that only having 5 league games is equally stupid. I like the current system but I would change it to playing every team home and away, 2 up and 2 down and the winner is who finishes top. That would take 10 dates to finish, there is already 8 dates pencilled in for the current format for knockout games so it wouldn't take a lot of planning. I think it would be a lot better, 1B wouldn't be over after 1 game and look how tight 1A is. Would also give lower teams more games as well and isn't that what everyone wants, players and supporters? I certainly think its worth a try

tonorio (National) - 27/03/2017 22:38:40

Hurling Championship Prediction Competition - 1 Like(s)
Wexford v Antrim - Wexford Dublin v Westmeath - Dublin Limerick v Clare - Limerick Kilkenny v Galway - Galway Cork v Waterford - Cork

tonorio (National) - 26/04/2023 08:08:24

Combined Pro12 and Champions Cup Thread - 1 Like(s)

Replying To tribeinbrum:  "Ormond they've lost 10 straight games and been generally awful. If they survive fair play to them but I doubt it so a trip to Ealing next year is plausible, unless Ealing go up. As for the timing issue well that was explained away today but does not distract away from the fact that it's disastrous news in what is a crucial few weeks for us. I wish pat all the best at Bristol and hope it works out for him there. He brought something to Connacht that we may never see again in our first ever trophy.... That will never be forgotten and the last four years have seen an incredible rate of improvement. Whoever comes in next has a hell of a job. Out of the names mentioned I'd hope Carolan is in the running but outside of that id love big Bernard to head back west...."
I said when Henshaw left that Lam would be next. People sneered and laughed at me on the local radios facebook page but I could see it coming. Henshaw was Connachts poster boy, a homegrown guy who came through the ranks, he could have been the lynchpin for the next 10 years and give youngsters something to aim for. But when he left why would Lam stay? He has achieved everything he possible could at the club. At Bristol he will have input into who comes and goes, something which no coach of an Irish province will have. Plus Bristol is a traditional club and in a huge rugby area in England. I think he will have huge success. It's not as if he went to Wasps or Saracens, or even Newcastle or Sale where the majority of the public don't care about rugby. As for the North situation I fear for the quality of life he will have after rugby. Look at the condition of retired NLF players after they retire. A frightening prospect. While the authorities I feel do care about head injuries the clubs themselves only the see the players as commodities. Look at the Toulouse player last year, North, even Ireland with O'Driscoll getting them to play on while clearly concussed. I even saw it in my own club last year where winning is all that matters. It is a serious issue within the game. I stopped playing myself at the end of last season and I will never let my kids near the game. There were young lads 16/17 who were bigger than the first team players. The collisions are getting bigger and so are the risks. Its a real worry for the future of the game

tonorio (OtherSports) - 07/12/2016 12:42:38

NFL Round 2 Predictions - 1 Like(s)
Division 1 Kerry vs Dublin........... Kerry by 3 Armagh vs Tyrone...... Armagh by 2 Monaghan vs Mayo.... Mayo by 1 Donegal vs Kildare...... Donegal by 2 Division 2 Down vs Galway......... Galway by 6 Cork vs Clare............... Draw Meath vs Roscommon.. Roscommon by 2 Offaly vs Derry.................... Derry by 5 Division 3 Antrim vs Limerick...... Antrim by 2 Laois vs Westmeath.... Laois by 3 Longford vs Louth...... Longford by 2 Wicklow vs Fermanagh... Wicklow by 1 Division 4 London vs Waterford.... Waterford by 2 Sligo vs Carlow..... Sligo by 6 Cavan vs Wexford.... Cavan by 6 Tipperary vs Leitrim.... Tipp by 5

tonorio (National) - 01/02/2022 09:55:25

The greatest hurling shock of all time! - 1 Like(s)

Replying To Marlon_JD:  "great result for Westmeath hurling. And with Carlow having beaten Laois, after only been beaten by 2 points by Kilkenny last year, the Leinster U21 championship is looking very competitive. When was the last time both Kilkenny's minor and u21 hurlers were out of the championship before the Leinster final? Interesting times in Leinster hurling. Huge congrats to Westmeath U21's. With their seniors unbeaten in the championship, after winning division 2, this could be a year to remember for the county."
1986 was the last time Kilkenny weren't in either minor or under 21 Leinster finals

tonorio (National) - 26/05/2016 11:06:29

Galway v Offaly (Hurling) - 1 Like(s)

Replying To perfect10:  "it gives me no pleasure to see offaly where they are.but they have no hope whatsoever of winning this game. it is sad to see them where they are,and i wonder what all the 1990's all ireland winners are doing except talking on tv."
This perception the players of the 80s & 90s not giving anything back is just plain wrong. Most, if not all, have given their time and efforts to try get offaly hurling back. Joe Dooley and Brian Whelehan have managed the senior team, John Troy, Duignan, Daithi Regan, Johnny Dooley and Stephen Byrne have all been selectors at some stage Byrne managed the under 21s, Johnny Pilkington, Joe Errity, Johnny Dooley have all managed the minor team. Simon and Barry Whelehan have been involved in development squads. Duignan and Regan managed Ballinamere to the first minor title last year. And that's just off the top of my head. The 80s & 90s were a fluke, offaly hurling was nothing before then and it's gone back to nothing again. The county board are so far behind the times in developing underage it's laughable. Last year we had reasonable success at 15,16 and 17 level but all of the managers were replaced. Unfortunately it's not going to change anytime soon

tonorio (National) - 15/06/2017 10:41:30