Saturdays games were poor viewing, rosemount will be lucky to stay within 10 vs Milltown in semi final, a big jump from section A and B, Athlone and Moate game also a very poor standard, Moate had enough Grit and direct ball and maybe a forunate shot was enough, i See the Downs willing by 12/13 points however. Shane allen impressive again as was Harry Niall and Conteh was hard stop. Sundays intermediate game was men and boys, Shandonagh looked like a senior team at times but i think Ballinagore were just a step behind everywhere and in the end hammered really. Scahill looked fit and fast, Tynan also had a good game. PowellJohn3 (Westmeath) - Posts: 106 - 15/09/2026 14:53:49 2693910 Link 0 |
Moate finished second, for your information
MichaelScott (Westmeath) - Posts: 2 - 15/09/2026 16:34:38 2693928 Link 2 |
Agree with your post. I think Moate are very lucky to be where they are. The new format has definitely worked in their favour this year. Being realistic, the only really strong team they played in this year's championship was Tubberclair, and they beat Moate well. Apart from that, they've mainly been playing teams who would be considered intermediate standard.I was at the Tang game as well, and if Tang had a few more legs in the second half, they could probably have hung on. It does make you wonder whether the new format is actually working. Tubberclair finished top of Section B and, in my opinion, got very little reward for it. They should have been rewarded with Athlone, while Moate should arguably have got St Loman's.On the Moate back line, I thought they were shocking at times, particularly in the first half. The better teams will expose that. Moate have produced some very good footballers over the last few years, but they need to start bringing the next group through to replace some of the older lads.I genuinely can't understand why more of the U20 players aren't getting a chance. If they were good enough to start at county U20 level, surely they're good enough to be starting or at least getting serious game time with Moate. I've seen Curran and Murray play plenty of times. Curran is a great ball carrier and Murray is a real handful for any defender. He can be a bit hot-headed at times, but you need a bit of fire and aggression if you're going to win something.I was also surprised to see Darragh Lowery taken off. I thought he was doing okay and he's a serious young talent. Surely these are the lads Moate should be looking to build around going forward.
Shamrock72 (Westmeath) - Posts: 3 - 15/09/2026 17:02:18 2693931 Link 0 |
Ballymore put up a good fight but couldnt stop rosemount in the end lacking that bit of talent that rosemount have
BallymoreBest (Westmeath) - Posts: 1 - 15/09/2026 20:03:40 2693944 Link 0 |
Moate are the new Caulry.
iarmhiabu (Westmeath) - Posts: 392 - 15/09/2026 23:25:16 2693953 Link 2 |
Moate really don't deserve all the nonsense been said about them . I see them really having a go at The Downs . Murry will get his chance
Undertheroad (Westmeath) - Posts: 100 - 15/09/2026 23:27:07 2693954 Link 0 |
I hope you're right and Moate give The Downs a good game. It would be great for Westmeath football if they could really put it up to them. I can only go on what I've seen so far, though.The other thing is, Moate haven't really played anyone of the top teams yet, apart from Tubberclair, and Tubberclair beat them fairly well. So it's hard to know exactly where Moate are at until they come up against a team like The Downs.If Moate don't sort out that full-back line and bring a bit more energy into the forward line, I honestly can't see them getting within 7 or 8 points of The Downs. Their back line has been all over the place in the last few matches, especially in the first half. At times they were chasing shadows - they looked like a farmer without a farm at times! Hopefully I'm completely wrong and Moate put in a big performance and give The Downs a proper game. It would be great to see, and it would be brilliant for Westmeath football if Moate could cause a surprise. Shamrock72 (Westmeath) - Posts: 3 - 16/09/2026 10:07:38 2693962 Link 0 |
Apologies Michael.
BadgerDog (Westmeath) - Posts: 60 - 16/09/2026 10:21:19 2693966 Link 0 |
Sounds like people trying to be smart, with Lowry, Whitney, Forde, Conteh, Niall among others they are a good side.
DelaneyCup2026 (Westmeath) - Posts: 53 - 16/09/2026 10:51:59 2693968 Link 0 |
The championship has been good to Moate this year, and fair play to them for getting to a senior semi-final. I just think they could struggle when they come up against the better sides. I'm not a stats man by any means, but did Moate actually win any of their own kick-outs in the first half last Saturday? I don't think they did. Nearly every kick-out was going long and out to the right, underneath the stand. Surely something needed to be changed there because it became very predictable. If Athlone had anyone else up front to help Darragh Lough, I honestly think the game could have been over by half-time. Whitney played well at times, but he left the centre-back position open on a number of occasions. You might get away with that against Athlone, but I can't see it working against The Downs. They have the players to expose the problems Moate have in the full-back line. I'm not saying Moate don't have good players because I actually think they do. But from watching them last Saturday, I thought the management were very slow to address the problems with the kick-outs and the space being left in the back line. Those are the sort of things that need to be sorted during the game, especially against the better teams. At the end of the day, Moate stumbled over the line against an average enough Athlone side. Don't get me wrong, it's great to see Moate competing in a senior semi-final, and they deserve credit for getting there. But I do think there are question marks over the direction the team are getting from the Moate management during games. Hopefully they can prove me wrong against The Downs, because it would be great for Westmeath football to see Moate make a real push for the final. Tosserhead13 (Westmeath) - Posts: 7 - 16/09/2026 12:04:21 2693984 Link 0 |
Interesting that Hogan Stand seems to have finally found its way to Moate Claretandblue (Westmeath) - Posts: 2798 - 16/09/2026 13:23:19 2693996 Link 0 |
Good to see Moate lads have discovered Hogan Stand. Ye young lads should focus on the football and tryna get your place on the team and not be running down your team mates who have got ye to a semi final. BadgerDog (Westmeath) - Posts: 60 - 16/09/2026 15:49:49 2694014 Link 1 |
County board having a football review with everything up for discussion next week. Probably the senior format will be changed. Tweaks to intermediate and the junior championship will have to be looked at otherwise there'll be no proper junior clubs left only the second and third teams playing. Something might be happening as it was talked about on the podcast Monday night, rightly or wrongly all 2nd and 3rd teams should be in their own competition. If that means a proper junior championship and then leave those teams in their own championship format. 2maroonjerseys (Galway) - Posts: 202 - 16/09/2026 16:32:20 2694020 Link 0 |