We'll agree to disagree.
Square_B (Leitrim) - Posts: 2322 - 27/07/2026 21:07:34 2687641 Link 0 |
Only two starters from both finals I believe, O'Donoghue and O'Connor. I think it's 5 more involved in some action on both days. It just shows the massive turnaround. Even some lads who breaking in as young players in 2021 weren't on the panel at all yesterday. WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2978 - 27/07/2026 21:21:05 2687643 Link 0 |
When you have a former President of the USA and the current Prime Minister of Canada commenting on the win, you know you are in different territory in exposure than other counties victories in the past. ohwow (Leitrim) - Posts: 269 - 27/07/2026 22:06:05 2687650 Link 1 |
Just as a further aside I see on twitter as of this evening the Sunday Games clip of the closing stages of the game has 17.4 million views!! ohwow (Leitrim) - Posts: 269 - 27/07/2026 22:11:45 2687651 Link 1 |
Don't worry, he saw nothing of the sort.
peiledoir20 (Donegal) - Posts: 1709 - 27/07/2026 22:37:15 2687660 Link 1 |
2 starters in common, Ryan O'Donoghue and Diarmuid O'Connor. Matty Ruane, Tommy Conroy, Conor Loftus and Paddy Durcan all started in 21 and came off the bench yesterday. Jordan Flynn was a sub in 2021 and started yesterday. Then in the panel at large Robbie Hennelly, Aidan O'Shea, Darren McHale and Cillian O'Connor were on both panels
otgarom (Mayo) - Posts: 16 - 27/07/2026 23:12:50 2687672 Link 0 |
'and a whopping 6 of those in 10 years 2012-2021' The group from this era were a very good group. They didn't play well in 2021 final but they really got few breaks in the previous 5 finals they played and had really unlucky timing in the very hard competition they faced in this era. GreenMan1987 (Meath) - Posts: 141 - 27/07/2026 23:16:58 2687675 Link 0 |
Agreed
Seniorleague (Galway) - Posts: 242 - 28/07/2026 06:10:51 2687688 Link 0 |
Rte coverage of the the game itself and especially the celebrations has been fantastic. Some of the slow-mo reels on social media in particular.
richiepmurphy (Kilkenny) - Posts: 149 - 28/07/2026 10:41:32 2687715 Link 1 |
Hmm not sure they deserve that praise, I think some of the camera work and commentary below par, but we'll leave that for another thread
ohwow (Leitrim) - Posts: 269 - 28/07/2026 12:03:54 2687748 Link 0 |
Sorry Barney but if Kerry got to play ALL their biggest games at home ye would be giving out too and rightly so.
Seniorleague (Galway) - Posts: 242 - 28/07/2026 14:54:38 2687814 Link 2 |
Anyone here old enough to remember Down winning in 1960? First time it was won by one of the 6 counties. I don't remember it, I'm not old enough but It must have been a huge moment. Cbar (Mayo) - Posts: 387 - 28/07/2026 23:57:13 2687935 Link 0 |
Offaly in 1982 was mental in the aftermath of the Kerry defeat for the 5 in a row, in lesser times of technology, the sun visor stickers all accross the windows leading up were "Kerry for 5" and etc. etc. When Offaly won, of course the Offaly AI champions equivalent came out and in a mint green transparent full width of windsreen and about 4 inches deep were adorned on every Hilmant Hunter, Mark 3/4 Cortina, Austin A30/40 and their equivaents that moved...The Seamus Darby story later tells how it ruined his life after the aftermath, one would hope today most players are well grounded and will live out normal lives after Mayos win..it was well over due.
Fairplayalways (Offaly) - Posts: 1041 - 29/07/2026 12:13:00 2687976 Link 0 |
I was around alright but we didn't have a telly.
ponga (Mayo) - Posts: 664 - 29/07/2026 21:22:51 2688086 Link 0 |
Short of moving Croke Park I really don't see what the solution is. It never bothered them when they had very good teams. Or even not so good teams.
BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 4522 - 30/07/2026 07:54:07 2688104 Link 0 |
I was on the cabal and behind the goals when Derby got that goal. Never experienced anything like that. We were swept up and down several times with crushes from that to the final whistle.
Freethinker (Wicklow) - Posts: 2319 - 30/07/2026 09:50:59 2688119 Link 1 |
It must have been amazing in fairness.
Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 5248 - 30/07/2026 10:12:03 2688120 Link 0 |
That Sunday Game video currently nearly on 24 million views. Surprised the gaa didn't demand it to be geoblocked and only viewed through gaa go ohwow (Leitrim) - Posts: 269 - 30/07/2026 11:13:28 2688133 Link 0 |
I have been lucky as my Dad brought me to many finals as a kid regardless of Kerry playing or not. CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 4237 - 30/07/2026 11:42:30 2688138 Link 0 |
I think its wonderful to be part of history.While Kerry have been so successful in football its ironic Kerry have been involved in so many historic finals as losers. CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 4237 - 30/07/2026 11:52:13 2688142 Link 0 |