Ah Ref tries to sum it up: GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 8672 - 27/07/2026 16:42:48 2687584 Link 0 |
Would have unreal but that wasn't the time for messing around. Put it over the bar, put the ball dead . Game over!
richiepmurphy (Kilkenny) - Posts: 146 - 27/07/2026 17:00:00 2687596 Link 0 |
A big congrats to the neighbours and especially Andy Moran! I knew Andy talked good but he has proven he can walk it as well. I'll admit I doubted whether he had the capabilities but it seems that he is meticulous in how he's approached the job managing Mayo. From the stuff mentioned about looking for funding, linking the underage, development squads and senior teams and trying to set up lads with jobs closer to home to reduce the numbers living away in Dublin. Then marry that with working out a style of play that goes with Mayos strengths and creating something that Mayo were always lacking, multiple scoring forwards and long range shooters. Add to that a belief that they could take on the best and win in an All Ireland final. To put that all together in year 1 is some achievement. Take a bow. FullOfPorter (Roscommon) - Posts: 552 - 27/07/2026 17:17:56 2687597 Link 0 |
Congratulations to Mayo from the Wee County! An unbelievable performance of guts, determination, fight, resilience, doggedness, class, talent! Everyone wrote you off. Enjoy the celebrations Shearer (Louth) - Posts: 945 - 27/07/2026 17:18:24 2687598 Link 1 |
Congratulations to all in Mayo! Enjoy the celebrations! God loves an underdog! TheChampion (Wicklow) - Posts: 39 - 27/07/2026 22:32:56 2687657 Link 0 |
Absolutely delighted. SIncerest congrats to all. Brilliant performance.Brilliant football. Great for football, badly needed for Connacht football and absolutely mighty for Mayo football. Enjoy. I hope my following comment is not construed as sour grapes from a Galway perspective because its absolutely not, but i have to say that Mayo got the rub of the green from refs decisions perspective. Maybe not enough to influence the result as Mayo were CLEARLY THE BETTER TEAM and thoroughly deserved the win but since i , and others,previously commented on Kerrys luck in getting to final , i think in the interests of consistency , it should be referenced. I think most pundits have avoided this point as nobody wants to be seen to rain on the parade. I think the decision balance was more subtle than in kerrys QF or SF or indeed in the Galway Dublin QF but i do think the double hop miss was blatant and if it was a Kerry player that had gotten away with it i would be going crazy. Also whilst the Mayo tackling/hounding was fantastic there was a few of them that, in my opinion, should have been given as Kerry frees. Maybe there was one or 2 decisions that went Kerrys way , but my view is that on this occasion, thankfully, Kerry did not get the rub from the officials. anotheralias (Galway) - Posts: 1104 - 28/07/2026 10:25:56 2687712 Link 2 |
What a quote…. Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 5218 - 28/07/2026 11:28:21 2687727 Link 0 |
Lads listen back to the RTE radio commentary of the second half if you haven't done already. It is truly astounding Eddie the Exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 1385 - 28/07/2026 12:09:11 2687752 Link 0 |
Not sure about your comments on the officiating. Kerry did also get away with a double hop, the only difference was Mark O'Shea missed his effort. If the Mayo one was blatant in your opinion, I'm assuming that was just as blatant. On your point about the Mayo tackling, I actually thought Kerry got a soft free early on for at least one. Not sure if it was Dylan Casey or Paul Murphy, but he grabbed the Mayo attacker's arm and pulled him down on top of him. Had he been turned over, a goal was on. The referee was fairly anonymous which was a good sign and both teams played in a way that helped also. Some stuff was missed, like a square ball from Kerry which led to the 45 Páidí Clifford scored and I'm sure some things on the other side. There was nothing very contentious however, and in my opinion no team got anything much more favourable than the other. WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2971 - 28/07/2026 12:14:45 2687755 Link 0 |
https://x.com/FOXFOOTY/status/2081676228495659366/video/1?s=46 Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 5218 - 28/07/2026 12:57:46 2687767 Link 0 |
Yes it does come across as sour grapes. There's a time to keep your mouth shut and this was the time. eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 2526 - 28/07/2026 13:01:32 2687769 Link 0 |
Well done to our neighbours, great result and great celebrations, and rightly so! The ref missed a double hop by Tom O Sullivan first half aswell. The one by Beirne, the ref was looking straight at it and missed it. If he pulled on that..it's just a 1 point game in last 2 or 3 minutes and Kerry aren't needing to get the 2 point shot away at the end. But it would have been harsh on Mayo if Kerry levelled or won it. They were the better team once they settled after the first 20mins. Hunger and drive and resilience and had the quality up top to make it count. D O Connor was excellent, considering how little football he had played. ROD a true leader hand my Player of the Year. Kobe didn't hit heights of previous games, missed a few but it didn't bother him in the least, kept at it. Beirne is an excellent young lad, the left footed forward Mayo have missed for so long! Well done again and enjoy the next few weeks/months! D.Hyde (Roscommon) - Posts: 360 - 28/07/2026 13:16:43 2687775 Link 0 |
What a feeling….i think I'm not alone in that I often day dreamed of what it would be like if we won it and it's even better than I ever imagined. Absolutely buzzing. Thousands and thousands in Castlebar last night. yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 12225 - 28/07/2026 13:47:57 2687783 Link 0 |
Slightly off topic but Mayo ye have really sound people I've talked to many people from the Neale, Shrule, Glencorrib and other areas of South Mayo and their always sound and up for a bit of craic ColmFlaherty (Galway) - Posts: 200 - 28/07/2026 13:59:18 2687789 Link 0 |
Would generally agree but if it was the other way round youd be the first on here mentioning it and thered be plenty rowing in behind you. Kerry were also hard done by in the 2011 final v dublin,especially in the closing stages. In any event these things happen and Mayo are still very worthy champions. Seniorleague (Galway) - Posts: 232 - 28/07/2026 14:47:24 2687808 Link 0 |