Westmeath Football thread

Replying To mhunicean_abu:  "And if you take Clifford out of Kerry.....
When you get to 8 quarter finals in 12 years (9 in 13 now) hang around Div 1 for the same period get back to me fella"
Give me a Leinster title over an appearance in a quarter final all day long

DanGer966 (Westmeath) - Posts: 45 - 21/06/2026 23:18:27    2681061

When you get to 8 quarter finals in 12 years (9 in 13 now) hang around Div 1 for the same period get back to me fella"
Yawn !

ExiledCuCu (Cavan) - Posts: 299 - 21/06/2026 23:26:41    2681063

Replying To Temple56:  ""Leinster may not be a strong province"
Westmeath best Cavan
Louth beat Armagh
Meath beat Derry
Dublin best Donegal.

Fair play on your win today. Our injuries and inexperience around the middle caught up with us today. Better team won today. However take Beggan out of your team and yee are on par with likes of Kildare and Cavan who we played this year."
You should get out to a few games. GAA, I mean, not Rugby.

ORIELMAN85 (Monaghan) - Posts: 1128 - 21/06/2026 23:51:00    2681069

Congratulations Westmeath on a memorable 2026 championship. I have rarely enjoyed an atmosphere in Clones so vocal, positive and supportive of two teams as today. It was brilliant. The scenes on the field at half time were something else also.
It was a credit to Westmeath to see practically every supporter remain until the end to applaud their team from the field. Some dark and dreary night over Christsmas, you will be able to stick on the Leinster final and enjoy all over again. Magic.

Eddie the Exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 1367 - 22/06/2026 00:58:53    2681081

All good things unfortunately come to an end. Yesterday, what could be considered a makeshift team left everything on the field. Ray Connellan not starting, Matthew Whittaker carrying an ankle injury, Scahill not starting, changing goalkeeper, it was always going to be an uphill battle. Whittaker was superb in the first half but really felt he was done by half time as he was hobbling at times on the foot. Unfortunately as the body gave up he got badly caught for 2 turnovers in second half.

Monaghan took some great scores particularly in second half. Really felt in first half Westmeath got into good shooting positions but were afraid to take it on and instead recycled a bit more than needed. Monaghan just took the shots on.

The county board need to move quickly and talk to Mark McHugh and ratify him. Let him, Emmet and his backroom team take in as many club games as possible to add to this fantastic panel of players for next season.

Chops (Westmeath) - Posts: 928 - 22/06/2026 10:01:01    2681138

What a season, fair play to Mark and his managment team, the players and supporters. I hope Jim doesnt leave Donegal and Mark stays for at least another 2 years. We have some serious young talent to bring through over the next 2-3 years and need someone like Mark to bring them through. This is already a young group so no reason we cannot build on this Leinster title and move forward. We obviously need to get out of Division 3 and be playing at least division 2 standard football. A really positive summer and we just ran out of gas over the last 2 games but still gave it everything.

dec (None) - Posts: 311 - 22/06/2026 10:06:34    2681140

What a great year it has been, schedule very unkind to us and caused a lot of the injuries, but i'd barely change a thing. Nobody would've said we'd go on that amazing run after losing 3 x games in Division 3. Mark McHugh is the man. We have great young players coming who will give great competition to our existing squad and 6/7 arguably starting players to come back from injury. We are in a really good place, I want to see the big crowds out for the league next year the lads deserve it. Were severely lacking at some game (Vs Limerick in Mullingar) was less than 500 people.

Lakeman93 (Westmeath) - Posts: 20 - 22/06/2026 10:26:35    2681148

Quarter final champions of the world

Lakeman93 (Westmeath) - Posts: 20 - 22/06/2026 10:27:39    2681149

Replying To Lakeman93:  "Quarter final champions of the world"
Bit rich coming for the lads who finish up football before summer every year

veterngaa (Monaghan) - Posts: 1068 - 22/06/2026 10:51:39    2681156

Well done to the Westmeath players and management on a great Championship run.

Another couple of injuries wasn't sustainable into this one. Ray was a massive loss around the middle 3rd and good luck to him in recovery and all the WH players who are recovering from injuries.

It was some first half of football in one of the nicest grounds in the country. Beggan is a machine off the ground and his 6 points in the first half was unreal. He is some weapon. Monaghan overran a tired looking WH midway through the 2nd half and were full value for the win and good luck to them. Nice GAA people in the grounds.

Well done to Mark Mc Hugh, WH players and management and thanks to all for a great summer of football...

Laker1500 (Westmeath) - Posts: 27 - 22/06/2026 10:53:28    2681157

Replying To Eddie the Exile:  "Congratulations Westmeath on a memorable 2026 championship. I have rarely enjoyed an atmosphere in Clones so vocal, positive and supportive of two teams as today. It was brilliant. The scenes on the field at half time were something else also.
It was a credit to Westmeath to see practically every supporter remain until the end to applaud their team from the field. Some dark and dreary night over Christsmas, you will be able to stick on the Leinster final and enjoy all over again. Magic."
Fair play, Clones was great craic and both sets of fans seemed to get on well, turned the screw on us in the last 18 mins more experience from Monaghan told while our absentees and fatigue caught up on us. Hope you go and beat Louth now and push on into the championship.

Lakeman93 (Westmeath) - Posts: 20 - 22/06/2026 10:59:58    2681160

I'd imagine the Westmeath championship will go ahead as planned by the County Board. It'll be tough on a lot of lads, especially the county footballers who are also hurling.

From hearing McHugh's speech after the game yesterday, you get the sense we might not see a few of the inter-county lads in the first round or two. He more or less said himself that some of those boys probably shouldn't have been playing yesterday, only they were desperate to line out for Westmeath.

Fighting-Cocks69 (Westmeath) - Posts: 182 - 22/06/2026 11:41:26    2681176

Very proud of these players and management.
Coming out of Wexford Park, no one saw this season, a win against Longford and a good showing against Meath was the most we could hope for.

7 Championship games, a Leinster Title beating Kildare, Meath and Dublin on the way, that crazy extra time in Mullingar, Every panel member and backroom team have giving us the best year of Senior Football for Westmeath ever.

No post mortem on Sunday, a more experienced, fitter (in injuries) team won on the day. Like Galway, they were just 2 games too far.

Watching the support, kids especially, idolise and support this journey has done more to promote the game in Westmeath than any 10 year plan a committee could ever come up with.

I hope the county board give these lads a break and dont put too much pressure with starting the club championship, I can see a lot of these lads struggling as the weeks progress.

Now, lets get Jim McGuinness ratified as Donegal manager, and get McHugh ratified with us...

The future is bright Yop Westmeath.

Corofin123 (Westmeath) - Posts: 19 - 22/06/2026 12:26:11    2681190

Replying To Fighting-Cocks69:  "I'd imagine the Westmeath championship will go ahead as planned by the County Board. It'll be tough on a lot of lads, especially the county footballers who are also hurling.

From hearing McHugh's speech after the game yesterday, you get the sense we might not see a few of the inter-county lads in the first round or two. He more or less said himself that some of those boys probably shouldn't have been playing yesterday, only they were desperate to line out for Westmeath."
There are very few dual players involved with footballers, Jack Duncan and Shane Ormsby the only two? Football championship starting it seems on weekend of 11th July so at least footballers have three weeks before it begins. Hard to see Whittaker, Scahill and Connellan starting that weekend and clubs might ease some players back in but there's not much room for manoeuvre with top 3 qualifying.

Claretandblue (Westmeath) - Posts: 2684 - 22/06/2026 16:05:29    2681290

Replying To Corofin123:  "Very proud of these players and management.
Coming out of Wexford Park, no one saw this season, a win against Longford and a good showing against Meath was the most we could hope for.

7 Championship games, a Leinster Title beating Kildare, Meath and Dublin on the way, that crazy extra time in Mullingar, Every panel member and backroom team have giving us the best year of Senior Football for Westmeath ever.

No post mortem on Sunday, a more experienced, fitter (in injuries) team won on the day. Like Galway, they were just 2 games too far.

Watching the support, kids especially, idolise and support this journey has done more to promote the game in Westmeath than any 10 year plan a committee could ever come up with.

I hope the county board give these lads a break and dont put too much pressure with starting the club championship, I can see a lot of these lads struggling as the weeks progress.

Now, lets get Jim McGuinness ratified as Donegal manager, and get McHugh ratified with us...

The future is bright Yop Westmeath."
Club players make up 97% of the playing cohort so while acknowledging the fantastic efforts of our county players, the club championships need to proceed. Club players are important too. We have lots of dual club players so it's football one weekend and hurling following.

Claretandblue (Westmeath) - Posts: 2684 - 22/06/2026 16:08:30    2681293