Two-Group Leinster SHC

Replying To Tadhg2020:  "The Munster championship has always been well supported. Of course it helps that all competing counties would finish top 3 in leinster but the round robin has really caught the imagination of the public . They want to be there regularly. 27k average again this season says it all really."
It hasnt always had that level of support. Even as recently as the mid teens. It has currently because you had 4 sets of supporters who had genuine cause to believe their county might win an AI title this year. Leinster had none.
There are other advantages too. Maths, History and Geography, to put it into school terms.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 19868 - 28/05/2026 16:24:32    2676325

Replying To Tadhg2020:  "Now they are all excuses not reasons. There is no justifiable excuse for an attendance of 4000 at a senior leinster championship match in Wexford Town. None whatsoever. The town has a population of 22k and the county has a population of 164k so geography has absolutely nothing to do with it. There should have been 10k wexford diehards there alone. Sure season ticket holders should cover the 4k or close to it.
Maybe, just maybe, its because everyone in wexford knew that they were safe from the drop due to the insurance policy?
I wonder if Wexford were in genuine jeopardy of dropping our of the Leinster Championship what kind of a crowd would have shown up? I would bet that it would be a lot more than 4k. Thats more embarrassing than the performances tbh."
Most of that 22000 would prefer to watch a Wexford League soccer match than pay 25 euro to see a poorly set up young hurling team likely lose a dead rubber game in the Park.
If there was no relegation as there isnt currently in Munster the crowd wouldn't have been any better or worse.
And not too many lads made the 4 or 5 hour trek from Galway either. The longest trip away you would have if you still lived in Limerick would be an hour or so to Walsh Park or PUC.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 19868 - 28/05/2026 16:28:59    2676328

Replying To Tadhg2020:  "Now they are all excuses not reasons. There is no justifiable excuse for an attendance of 4000 at a senior leinster championship match in Wexford Town. None whatsoever. The town has a population of 22k and the county has a population of 164k so geography has absolutely nothing to do with it. There should have been 10k wexford diehards there alone. Sure season ticket holders should cover the 4k or close to it.
Maybe, just maybe, its because everyone in wexford knew that they were safe from the drop due to the insurance policy?
I wonder if Wexford were in genuine jeopardy of dropping our of the Leinster Championship what kind of a crowd would have shown up? I would bet that it would be a lot more than 4k. Thats more embarrassing than the performances tbh."
I was actually surprised the crowd was as "big" as 4,000. I'd have expected only about 3,000 myself, when you consider we had nothing to play for, it was a long trip for Galway, and they don't tend to travel in great numbers anyway.

I'm obviously much closer to the Wexford scene than you. What I realise and you must not realise is that we don't have a diehard support of anywhere close to 10,000. What we have is a massive crowd of people who jump on the bandwagon when things are going well, and turn their back on us when they're not.

These people love a day out to Croke Park, but nowhere else. We'd probably bring 40,000 there for a Leinster Final or All-Ireland semi-final. But last time we were in Thurles for a quarter-final (two years ago), we had to send back roughly one-third of our 8,000 allocation.

Don't know how or why you'd think we'd have 4,000 season ticket holders, considering:
a) they're capped at something like 3,500 per county anyway;
b) the main benefit of them is to be assured of an All-Ireland Final ticket if your county makes it there, and unfortunately that's not something that concerns us very often
c) in the breakdown of attendance at last year's final, less than 2,600 were season ticket holders, obviously from counties with a much higher chance than ourselves of making the Final and where you'd therefore expect season tickets to be in much greater demand.

Pikeman96 (Wexford) - Posts: 3715 - 28/05/2026 16:49:06    2676337

Replying To Pikeman96:  "I was actually surprised the crowd was as "big" as 4,000. I'd have expected only about 3,000 myself, when you consider we had nothing to play for, it was a long trip for Galway, and they don't tend to travel in great numbers anyway.

I'm obviously much closer to the Wexford scene than you. What I realise and you must not realise is that we don't have a diehard support of anywhere close to 10,000. What we have is a massive crowd of people who jump on the bandwagon when things are going well, and turn their back on us when they're not.

These people love a day out to Croke Park, but nowhere else. We'd probably bring 40,000 there for a Leinster Final or All-Ireland semi-final. But last time we were in Thurles for a quarter-final (two years ago), we had to send back roughly one-third of our 8,000 allocation.

Don't know how or why you'd think we'd have 4,000 season ticket holders, considering:
a) they're capped at something like 3,500 per county anyway;
b) the main benefit of them is to be assured of an All-Ireland Final ticket if your county makes it there, and unfortunately that's not something that concerns us very often
c) in the breakdown of attendance at last year's final, less than 2,600 were season ticket holders, obviously from counties with a much higher chance than ourselves of making the Final and where you'd therefore expect season tickets to be in much greater demand."
On the season ticket holder point i was referring to both counties. If you have paid for a ticket you are more likely to attend. There was a decent KK following in Tullamore, for example, and a lot of them were season ticket holders.
I fully acknowledge that you know more about wexford hurling than me. However I stand by my point. If Wexford hurling cannot get support at home then all the debate about improving Wexford hurling is moot. Nobody cares so how can you improve if nobody cares... you have confirmed that yourself unfortunately.

Tadhg2020 (Limerick) - Posts: 493 - 28/05/2026 18:29:10    2676349

Replying To Viking66:  "Most of that 22000 would prefer to watch a Wexford League soccer match than pay 25 euro to see a poorly set up young hurling team likely lose a dead rubber game in the Park.
If there was no relegation as there isnt currently in Munster the crowd wouldn't have been any better or worse.
And not too many lads made the 4 or 5 hour trek from Galway either. The longest trip away you would have if you still lived in Limerick would be an hour or so to Walsh Park or PUC."
More excuses unfortunately. 29k turned up for the dead rubber in gaelic grounds.

Tadhg2020 (Limerick) - Posts: 493 - 28/05/2026 18:31:00    2676350

Replying To Tadhg2020:  "More excuses unfortunately. 29k turned up for the dead rubber in gaelic grounds."
Excuses? I was there.
Of course there were 29000 in the GG.
If Wexford had won 5 of the last 8 AIs and were going for a 6th in 9 years the Park would also be packed.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 19868 - 28/05/2026 19:51:57    2676358

Replying To Tadhg2020:  "On the season ticket holder point i was referring to both counties. If you have paid for a ticket you are more likely to attend. There was a decent KK following in Tullamore, for example, and a lot of them were season ticket holders.
I fully acknowledge that you know more about wexford hurling than me. However I stand by my point. If Wexford hurling cannot get support at home then all the debate about improving Wexford hurling is moot. Nobody cares so how can you improve if nobody cares... you have confirmed that yourself unfortunately."
Now you are finally getting it......took your time getting there.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 19868 - 28/05/2026 19:53:17    2676359

Replying To Tadhg2020:  "On the season ticket holder point i was referring to both counties. If you have paid for a ticket you are more likely to attend. There was a decent KK following in Tullamore, for example, and a lot of them were season ticket holders.
I fully acknowledge that you know more about wexford hurling than me. However I stand by my point. If Wexford hurling cannot get support at home then all the debate about improving Wexford hurling is moot. Nobody cares so how can you improve if nobody cares... you have confirmed that yourself unfortunately."
Again on the number of season ticket holders - if the number of season ticket holders between both of last year's All-Ireland finalists was just 2,600 combined, don't know why you'd expect 4,000 between two counties who haven't been in a Final in 30 long years in our case, and in almost a decade in the other.

The crowd at that Offaly v Kilkenny match in Tullamore was barely 6,000. Wasn't there myself, but knowing the patterns of support both counties tend to have, and allowing for who was at home and who was away, I'd estimate no more than 1,500 to 2,000 from Kilkenny.

Re. your reply to Viking - that match v Tipp in the Gaelic Grounds wasn't a dead rubber. Limerick needed at least a draw to be sure of a place in the Munster Final. But either way, a team that's won three of the last five All-Ireland titles is still on the crest of a wave as far as support is concerned. If we ever somehow managed that, we'd have sellout crowds for at least five years, and many more complaining about how they couldn't get tickets.

Your claim that "nobody cares" is insulting. Many people do indeed care about Wexford hurling and are doing their best to improve things. It's more the case that many people who profess to care don't care enough to try do anything about it, and turn their backs and criticise rather than offer to get involved and help.

Pikeman96 (Wexford) - Posts: 3715 - 28/05/2026 22:32:10    2676377

Replying To CeachtPeile:  "So, in a competition with 13 teams (5 Munster, 8 Leinster) you have 12 qualifying (8 to prelim QFs and 4 to QFs). The only team missing out is Leinster 8. You have Munster 4 in twice so I assume you mean all Munster teams qualify. That would make practically every round robin game (22 in total) pretty meaningless. So that's the Munster and Leinster championships largely destroyed as well as the McDonagh. Hhhhmmmm...."
How about mine on page 1? - please critique.

If we want to develop more teams:
- Lein KO 9, splitting into a 'quartet & quintet'
- Lein quintet & Muns trio v both quartets (8v8)
- Curtail or abolish NHL to accommodate '8v8'
- Top 6 of 16 to AIC Liam McC Cup KO
- 7 to 12 to new AIC Liam Shield KO (new Tier 2)
- 13 to 16 to AIC Joe McD Cup KO (new Tier 3)
Etc....

omahant (USA) - Posts: 3434 - 29/05/2026 02:00:08    2676383

Replying To Tadhg2020:  "The Munster championship has always been well supported. Of course it helps that all competing counties would finish top 3 in leinster but the round robin has really caught the imagination of the public . They want to be there regularly. 27k average again this season says it all really."
Has it? A spot check disproves this.
Limerick v Waterford 2018 Gaelic Grounds 23,194.
Limerick v Tipperary 2018 20,403
(How funny that the year Limerick went all the way for the first time in 45 years the Gaelic Grounds was a little better than half full, they really came out of the woodwork didn't they!).
Tipp Cork 2018 Semple 22,456
Clare v Limerick 2017 Semple Stadium Attendance: 19,168
Waterford Clare 2016 Semple 19,715
Cork Waterford 2015 Semple 21,047

Well supported? Most of the above were Munster Semi finals. A Munster Final will always sell out and I know lots of neutrals who go to it.

That average above is swelled by huge bandwagons in Limerick and Cork. Support in Waterford is totally dead. Tipp support (according to my GF's family) was terrible this year for All-Ireland champions.

Whether or not they would come out of Leinster, well if me granny....

The reality is that Limerick and Cork are a mile ahead of everybody else as we saw with Clare v both teams.

StoreysTash (Wexford) - Posts: 2079 - 29/05/2026 10:18:55    2676391

Replying To StoreysTash:  "Has it? A spot check disproves this.
Limerick v Waterford 2018 Gaelic Grounds 23,194.
Limerick v Tipperary 2018 20,403
(How funny that the year Limerick went all the way for the first time in 45 years the Gaelic Grounds was a little better than half full, they really came out of the woodwork didn't they!).
Tipp Cork 2018 Semple 22,456
Clare v Limerick 2017 Semple Stadium Attendance: 19,168
Waterford Clare 2016 Semple 19,715
Cork Waterford 2015 Semple 21,047

Well supported? Most of the above were Munster Semi finals. A Munster Final will always sell out and I know lots of neutrals who go to it.

That average above is swelled by huge bandwagons in Limerick and Cork. Support in Waterford is totally dead. Tipp support (according to my GF's family) was terrible this year for All-Ireland champions.

Whether or not they would come out of Leinster, well if me granny....

The reality is that Limerick and Cork are a mile ahead of everybody else as we saw with Clare v both teams."
So over 20k isnt well supported??
You had a very conveniently rounded up 4k at your last home game. So a poor MSHC attendance is 5 times your last one.
For the record tipp had just under 77k for their 2 home games this season. Waterford sold out Walsh park for both home games. They cant do anymore than that.
Im not sure what you are trying to achieve with this??

Tadhg2020 (Limerick) - Posts: 493 - 29/05/2026 12:14:18    2676414

Replying To Pikeman96:  "Again on the number of season ticket holders - if the number of season ticket holders between both of last year's All-Ireland finalists was just 2,600 combined, don't know why you'd expect 4,000 between two counties who haven't been in a Final in 30 long years in our case, and in almost a decade in the other.

The crowd at that Offaly v Kilkenny match in Tullamore was barely 6,000. Wasn't there myself, but knowing the patterns of support both counties tend to have, and allowing for who was at home and who was away, I'd estimate no more than 1,500 to 2,000 from Kilkenny.

Re. your reply to Viking - that match v Tipp in the Gaelic Grounds wasn't a dead rubber. Limerick needed at least a draw to be sure of a place in the Munster Final. But either way, a team that's won three of the last five All-Ireland titles is still on the crest of a wave as far as support is concerned. If we ever somehow managed that, we'd have sellout crowds for at least five years, and many more complaining about how they couldn't get tickets.

Your claim that "nobody cares" is insulting. Many people do indeed care about Wexford hurling and are doing their best to improve things. It's more the case that many people who profess to care don't care enough to try do anything about it, and turn their backs and criticise rather than offer to get involved and help."
Are you really trying to justify 4k with this?
You are entitled to take my comments any way you choose to but it doesnt change the stat of 4k ( rounded up to a nice even number) is pathetic for a tier 1 hurling county at home. It does indicate that the game had lost its support and that very few members of the hurling public are interested in supporting the county team. If you have lost that then you really are in trouble. The last part of your post confirms that because you cannot do it on your own. You need their support and its clearly not forthcoming atm.

I was in Tullamore. It felt a lot bigger than 6k. The traffic before and afterwards was akin to a 10k plus crowd as was the atmosphere. I really donr understand why you are so enthusiastic in your defence of a questionable 4k attendance. In my opinion it should be the starting point in any conversation about the Wexford Senior hurling team standards and profile in your county.

Tadhg2020 (Limerick) - Posts: 493 - 29/05/2026 12:23:54    2676420

Tadhg2020, I can still remember an All-Ireland qualifier v Limerick in 2008-2009 in Wexford Park.
There was about 50 Limerick people there that day and that is probably being generous.
Galway to Wexford is 4 hours drive.
Wexford were out so interest was non-existent. My gf is from Tipp and the Tipp crowd in Limerick was non-existent last weekend by all accounts.
Its not 5 years ago since Wexford Park was packed to the gallows for these matches v Galway/Kilkenny/Dublin or Nowlan Park was packed for games v Kilkenny, Waterford, etc.
People follow success, when success isn't there people don't follow. Surely even the most deluded GAA fan would admit this? Its not 20 years since Munster Rugby was the biggest show in Limerick.
Cork have huge crowds now but against Wexford in 2016 when Wexford beat them for the first time since 1956 there was a handful of Cork people at it.

StoreysTash (Wexford) - Posts: 2079 - 29/05/2026 14:40:08    2676452

Tadhg, I went looking for the crowd at that Wexford v Cork match in 2016 on Wikipedia.
15,540 and turns out it was a double header with Clare and Limerick afterwards!!
15k between 4 counties would be less than 4k per county? Poor enough showing really?

StoreysTash (Wexford) - Posts: 2079 - 29/05/2026 14:42:53    2676454

Replying To Tadhg2020:  "Are you really trying to justify 4k with this?
You are entitled to take my comments any way you choose to but it doesnt change the stat of 4k ( rounded up to a nice even number) is pathetic for a tier 1 hurling county at home. It does indicate that the game had lost its support and that very few members of the hurling public are interested in supporting the county team. If you have lost that then you really are in trouble. The last part of your post confirms that because you cannot do it on your own. You need their support and its clearly not forthcoming atm.

I was in Tullamore. It felt a lot bigger than 6k. The traffic before and afterwards was akin to a 10k plus crowd as was the atmosphere. I really donr understand why you are so enthusiastic in your defence of a questionable 4k attendance. In my opinion it should be the starting point in any conversation about the Wexford Senior hurling team standards and profile in your county."
I dont think anybody is defending the attendance. There were only 2500 in the Park to see us lose to Westmeath after being 17 points up.
We know theres a large proportion of the Wexford hurling public not supporting the team. Theres even a large proportion of our county standard players not playing for it.
You arent telling us anything new and its getting tiresome. You have way more posts on our thread than you do on the Limerick thread. Why is that?

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 19868 - 29/05/2026 15:27:41    2676462

Replying To StoreysTash:  "Tadhg, I went looking for the crowd at that Wexford v Cork match in 2016 on Wikipedia.
15,540 and turns out it was a double header with Clare and Limerick afterwards!!
15k between 4 counties would be less than 4k per county? Poor enough showing really?"
Ok, i get it. You are in denial.

For the record, I was one of the limerick fans in Wexford Park that day. There was torrential rain throughout most of the game. I had to buy clothes after the game because I was so wet. There were a lot more than 50 of us there. Many left or didnt go in at all but there were a decent amount of us in the bars. I remember the Rossies were playing there the same day and there were a good few of them around too. I met a few neighbours in that big pub by the water. It was full of Limerick and Rossies.

Tadhg2020 (Limerick) - Posts: 493 - 29/05/2026 16:02:17    2676466

Replying To StoreysTash:  "Tadhg2020, I can still remember an All-Ireland qualifier v Limerick in 2008-2009 in Wexford Park.
There was about 50 Limerick people there that day and that is probably being generous.
Galway to Wexford is 4 hours drive.
Wexford were out so interest was non-existent. My gf is from Tipp and the Tipp crowd in Limerick was non-existent last weekend by all accounts.
Its not 5 years ago since Wexford Park was packed to the gallows for these matches v Galway/Kilkenny/Dublin or Nowlan Park was packed for games v Kilkenny, Waterford, etc.
People follow success, when success isn't there people don't follow. Surely even the most deluded GAA fan would admit this? Its not 20 years since Munster Rugby was the biggest show in Limerick.
Cork have huge crowds now but against Wexford in 2016 when Wexford beat them for the first time since 1956 there was a handful of Cork people at it."
Cork hurling have always had big crowds. They are the best supported team in the championship. Limerick and Clare would be next. Tipp would be close then. Either way, that's not the point but you already know that. Wexford would be playing Joe McDonagh hurling next season if it wasn't for Kildares presence in the Championship. You have lost your supporters along the way. Thats the point. Ye need to concentrate on that and not the munster championship.

Tadhg2020 (Limerick) - Posts: 493 - 29/05/2026 16:06:59    2676467

Replying To Tadhg2020:  "Ok, i get it. You are in denial.

For the record, I was one of the limerick fans in Wexford Park that day. There was torrential rain throughout most of the game. I had to buy clothes after the game because I was so wet. There were a lot more than 50 of us there. Many left or didnt go in at all but there were a decent amount of us in the bars. I remember the Rossies were playing there the same day and there were a good few of them around too. I met a few neighbours in that big pub by the water. It was full of Limerick and Rossies."
Ah here this is turning into closing time and who can tell the tallest stories :-D

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 19868 - 29/05/2026 16:10:04    2676468

Replying To Tadhg2020:  "Ok, i get it. You are in denial.

For the record, I was one of the limerick fans in Wexford Park that day. There was torrential rain throughout most of the game. I had to buy clothes after the game because I was so wet. There were a lot more than 50 of us there. Many left or didnt go in at all but there were a decent amount of us in the bars. I remember the Rossies were playing there the same day and there were a good few of them around too. I met a few neighbours in that big pub by the water. It was full of Limerick and Rossies."
Tbh Tadhg we are a little odd. Similar to Limerick people in ways.
An example of this would be that the biggest crowd in the Park in the last good few years was for a Walsh Cup group game against Kilkenny in 2023, nearly 13000 turned up of a January night just to see what the new floodlights looked like.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 19868 - 29/05/2026 16:17:47    2676469