Hurling Championship 2026

Thank God for the Leinster Championship

twbm (Clare) - Posts: 65 - 24/05/2026 17:43:31    2675085

Replying To Tadhg2020:  "Great win tbf. I thought they were going to blow it with all the wides but they held firm. I only got to listen to second half on radio as I was travelling but they need to continue this into next game."
Yes. Were able to pick off points, a few.real beauties on line, when Cats had momentum.

Fantastic day for us. Outranks anything ive seen in 50 years, including beating them in 2011, 13 , and yourselves last year.

Once upon a time my best moment was drawing with them in league 1976. Sad maybe but true.

Proud of them. Bumped into couple of players after game. They looked like they had just gotten out of bed.

Days like these ....

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 4323 - 24/05/2026 19:23:36    2675125

These Sunday Game people hate us. Better get used to it.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 4323 - 24/05/2026 21:57:35    2675181

Hoggie... Never showed against Kilkenny. What might have beens..

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 4323 - 24/05/2026 22:04:32    2675186

A great win, huge for Dublin hurling. We know this group have a lot of skill, are great going forward. All built on a very competitive Senior Club scene.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4967 - 24/05/2026 22:05:31    2675187

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "Yes. Were able to pick off points, a few.real beauties on line, when Cats had momentum.

Fantastic day for us. Outranks anything ive seen in 50 years, including beating them in 2011, 13 , and yourselves last year.

Once upon a time my best moment was drawing with them in league 1976. Sad maybe but true.

Proud of them. Bumped into couple of players after game. They looked like they had just gotten out of bed.

Days like these ...."
It has the makings of a great final. Galway have serious scoring power but look open at back and Dublin di seem to have their number so....

Tadhg2020 (Limerick) - Posts: 438 - 24/05/2026 23:08:53    2675201

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "Hoggie... Never showed against Kilkenny. What might have beens.."
He showed a number of times against Kilkenny. He was the best forward on show in 2019 when he scored, I think it was 3-10. The problem was he almost fighting a one-man battle that day. He was excellent in 2013 too when they dumped Kilkenny out.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2824 - 24/05/2026 23:30:33    2675206

Replying To arock:  "A great win, huge for Dublin hurling. We know this group have a lot of skill, are great going forward. All built on a very competitive Senior Club scene."
Well done Dublin. Absolutely delighted for ye. That was no shock yesterday

bloodandbandage (Cork) - Posts: 560 - 25/05/2026 08:30:38    2675232

Looks like Clare are planning to replicate Tipp's feat!

Crashingwaves (Galway) - Posts: 345 - 25/05/2026 09:35:10    2675242

Replying To WanPintWin:  "He showed a number of times against Kilkenny. He was the best forward on show in 2019 when he scored, I think it was 3-10. The problem was he almost fighting a one-man battle that day. He was excellent in 2013 too when they dumped Kilkenny out."
Fair enough, Silly comment on part.

The fact that he spoke for two minutes at start of his TSG pitch without mentioning Dublin was odd, I have to say! Jabob not much better.

It genuinely does not annoy me and at least Dalo was there to see funny side of it.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 4323 - 25/05/2026 09:57:52    2675249

Replying To Crashingwaves:  "Looks like Clare are planning to replicate Tipp's feat!"
They threw in the towel after the Hayes goal and weren't at the races for the 2nd half. It just turned into a turkey shoot after that. Cork won't care though, big final to look forward to in a few weeks.

bloodandbandage (Cork) - Posts: 560 - 25/05/2026 09:59:23    2675251

Well done Dublin. Nothing against Galway, but I hope you win Leinster and book a place in the AI semi-finals. Then who knows...
I'm getting ahead of myself. There's an intriguing Leinster final to look forward to. One where I can relax and enjoy as a neutral.

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2896 - 25/05/2026 10:01:46    2675254

Fair play to Dublin yesterday. I had my doubts given the history but on form that's not an upset and they're looking good to make back to back semi finals.

The leinster final will be a close one imo but with our injuries and their superior goal threat I'd give the Dubs the edge. Hopefully both make the semis. The balance has evened up a bit between the provinces this year and I think it fair to say ourselves and dublin, despite having flaws are 3rd and 4th in the country atm. One of them will get the chance to prove it against Clare in a quarter which should be a good game as well

Overdahill (Galway) - Posts: 120 - 25/05/2026 10:07:02    2675257

Replying To bloodandbandage:  "They threw in the towel after the Hayes goal and weren't at the races for the 2nd half. It just turned into a turkey shoot after that. Cork won't care though, big final to look forward to in a few weeks."
No disrespect but the big final is the AIF. Cork should know that by now!

Crashingwaves (Galway) - Posts: 345 - 25/05/2026 11:14:12    2675288

Replying To Crashingwaves:  "No disrespect but the big final is the AIF. Cork should know that by now!"
A Munster final will always be big for us, and I can guarantee Limerick would say the same. Obviously, a Leinster title is not going to mean the same for a Galway person.

bloodandbandage (Cork) - Posts: 560 - 25/05/2026 11:33:49    2675300

Replying To Crashingwaves:  "No disrespect but the big final is the AIF. Cork should know that by now!"
They are both big. One is just bigger. The munster championship is a very big prize.

Tadhg2020 (Limerick) - Posts: 438 - 25/05/2026 11:33:55    2675301

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "These Sunday Game people hate us. Better get used to it."
Why do say that?? Silly statement.

richiepmurphy (Kilkenny) - Posts: 91 - 25/05/2026 11:37:30    2675303

Replying To bloodandbandage:  "They threw in the towel after the Hayes goal and weren't at the races for the 2nd half. It just turned into a turkey shoot after that. Cork won't care though, big final to look forward to in a few weeks."
Both games took a similar pattern. I was listening to the Ck/Clare match on radio and Shane McGrath was totally bemused by what he was watching. He said one that God himself couldn't defend out there because there was so much space and that he would have scored a few points himself for that same reason.
Tipp were out already but Clare just didnt believe there was anything there for them which is a pity.

Tadhg2020 (Limerick) - Posts: 438 - 25/05/2026 11:37:37    2675304

Replying To Overdahill:  "Fair play to Dublin yesterday. I had my doubts given the history but on form that's not an upset and they're looking good to make back to back semi finals.

The leinster final will be a close one imo but with our injuries and their superior goal threat I'd give the Dubs the edge. Hopefully both make the semis. The balance has evened up a bit between the provinces this year and I think it fair to say ourselves and dublin, despite having flaws are 3rd and 4th in the country atm. One of them will get the chance to prove it against Clare in a quarter which should be a good game as well"
June 7 be interesting. Bookies price on Galway to me seems short. Not saying Dublin will win but its not a game I'd have either obviously ahead of the other on form.

Dublin have done well - not conceded a goal in three games - since realising that defence was ripe for another Cork like plucking on a dry sod,

Thought it was interesting the way Cork dealt with anticipated Clare defensive line by not allowing Conlon any latitude to play his normal role. Limerick, Galway and Cork are capable of doing that to ourselves and on any given day even a very good team can be made look like Christy Ring fodder,

So caution the bye word here anyway!

Heard that Leinster Council is going to be running a scheme to get thousands of juvenile players from participating counties to attend the final. With that, the relative uniqueness and importance of the game and the growing interest in our hurlers here should make for a decent 40k-ish crowd.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 4323 - 25/05/2026 11:48:48    2675311

Replying To WanPintWin:  "He showed a number of times against Kilkenny. He was the best forward on show in 2019 when he scored, I think it was 3-10. The problem was he almost fighting a one-man battle that day. He was excellent in 2013 too when they dumped Kilkenny out."
He was good both days.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 19780 - 25/05/2026 12:03:19    2675318