Westmeath Football thread

Delighted to see Seanan Baker back on a pitch again-another young lad who has had his fair share of injuries

Bruno@1 (Westmeath) - Posts: 322 - 01/05/2026 16:35:46    2670236

Replying To Meridian:  "Apart from a few positional differences you nearly had it Mick. One big change though is Danny McC was left out in favour of Senan Baker. I don't agree with that change but there you go. Other will agree with it.

I have nothing personal against Senan Baker but for me he just hasn't been doing it for Westmeath at this level and I am very surprised he is back in. I hope he proves me wrong."
Its touch and go with mattie whittaker. I'm led to believe he was named for the match programme

mickcunningham (Westmeath) - Posts: 1973 - 01/05/2026 18:24:29    2670250

An absolute massive opportunity for Senan. He is good enough and it's up to him to take this chance. A very young full forward line. Hopefully Matty is fit enough to start and play the full match.
Very tough to be facing Kildare without Luke, Lynam & Sam Smyth. All starters obviously if fit.

I hope to see a packed Westmeath crowd in O'Connor Park to drive on the lads.

Matthew (None) - Posts: 1120 - 01/05/2026 19:45:16    2670262

Senan can be mercurial but it's a gamble. Hopefully he lights it up as he is capable of it. It should be tight. If Whitaker is fully fit we can win it. Hopefully we have a great crowd there.

Iarmhisamhi (Westmeath) - Posts: 52 - 01/05/2026 21:57:16    2670292

Would imagine Senan is in for free taking as much as anything, hasn't produced his best in a long time been unlucky with injuries too. Hopefully he delivers, tough ask to come in from the cold like that

Bluelake (Westmeath) - Posts: 359 - 02/05/2026 12:54:14    2670343

Good luck to all tomorrow. Our need is great. For that reason I think we will win

mickcunningham (Westmeath) - Posts: 1973 - 02/05/2026 14:46:02    2670362

waking up today and hard not to be full of hope for the players and management
they put a lot of work in all year and twould be great to see some rewards for their efforts
certainly well able to get the result today
best wishes to luke for his recovery
he's a superb ambassador for himself and our gaa community
Iarmhí abú

d7h (Westmeath) - Posts: 33 - 03/05/2026 09:06:48    2670557

Time to stop crying about Luke not playing.
Yea be good to have him.They lost to wexford and Laois with him, Wicklow last year.
So be it. There's enough talent on the pitch to win today.

Joeynyc (Westmeath) - Posts: 11 - 03/05/2026 11:25:49    2670581

Well done Westmeath! Congratulations, and best of luck in the final.

kudos (Louth) - Posts: 301 - 03/05/2026 16:19:47    2670646

Fair play to Westmeath Yee have backed up the Meath performance and came through another tight game.Best of luck in the final .

Proudroyal (Meath) - Posts: 411 - 03/05/2026 16:53:18    2670653

Replying To Joeynyc:  "Time to stop crying about Luke not playing.
Yea be good to have him.They lost to wexford and Laois with him, Wicklow last year.
So be it. There's enough talent on the pitch to win today."
Pretty prophetic post. One of our greatest ever victories. Every player a hero. Three more championship games guaranteed. Brilliant support too.

Claretandblue (Westmeath) - Posts: 2621 - 03/05/2026 17:04:19    2670655

Ah what a win. Backed up the Meath performance and more. Great to be in the draw for Monday. Great support and one of the great days for Westmeath football. Losing was unthinkable as we know we can mix it with anyone. And doing it without 2 of our best players. Even better!

Iarmhisamhi (Westmeath) - Posts: 52 - 03/05/2026 18:08:28    2670682

Brilliant from Westmeath all over the park today especially in extra time when after being deflated with a last second point taking victory away from them -they powered on in extra time and were worthy winners.Huge support for Westmeath today which was great to see and great for the lads-roll on the 17th and a crack at the Dubs in Croker.

Bruno@1 (Westmeath) - Posts: 322 - 03/05/2026 18:12:57    2670684

Wonderful performance all over the field today . Great credit to all

mickcunningham (Westmeath) - Posts: 1973 - 03/05/2026 18:48:34    2670697

To a man westmeath were outstanding today but I have to give special credit to the back three dillion, drumm and scahill outstanding. Defenders dont get much credit but the tackling and turn overs were brilliant. Brandon deservedly gets man of match and took the game to kildare. No doubt tge best team won today, well done mark mchugh and his management, what a turnaround in player belief in a year, roll on leinster.

Upforthegame23 (Westmeath) - Posts: 179 - 03/05/2026 19:32:04    2670723

Replying To Upforthegame23:  "To a man westmeath were outstanding today but I have to give special credit to the back three dillion, drumm and scahill outstanding. Defenders dont get much credit but the tackling and turn overs were brilliant. Brandon deservedly gets man of match and took the game to kildare. No doubt tge best team won today, well done mark mchugh and his management, what a turnaround in player belief in a year, roll on leinster."
A brilliant performance of skill passion and never say die spirit.
Roll on Sunday week!

jobber (Westmeath) - Posts: 1941 - 03/05/2026 21:58:45    2670760

Great win today and a serious team performance. The depth in this panel is superb, especially considering we were without Lynam, Loughlin, CMac, Guerin, and only had a half-fit Whittaker.
After listening to The Sunday Game, they were seriously impressed with our work rate and overall intensity
I thought Shane Allen fully deserved MOTM - Brandon Kelly was superb, but Allen's turnovers and defensive work were outstanding all day.
The only thing I'd question is Scahill going for it in the 69th minute - after the Wexford game I'd have thought we'd have learned our lesson, especially with Beirne getting that score. I didn't think we'd have the legs or depth for extra time, but to be fair, it worked out in the end.
I hate going back to it, but I think McHugh has been the best thing to happen to Westmeath in a long time. A lot of those lads were banging on the door when Dessie was manager, but he didn't take many chances and stuck with the more experienced, seasoned players.
Fair play to these lads now they're really proving themselves.

Fighting-Cocks69 (Westmeath) - Posts: 172 - 03/05/2026 22:00:13    2670762

Replying To Fighting-Cocks69:  "Great win today and a serious team performance. The depth in this panel is superb, especially considering we were without Lynam, Loughlin, CMac, Guerin, and only had a half-fit Whittaker.
After listening to The Sunday Game, they were seriously impressed with our work rate and overall intensity
I thought Shane Allen fully deserved MOTM - Brandon Kelly was superb, but Allen's turnovers and defensive work were outstanding all day.
The only thing I'd question is Scahill going for it in the 69th minute - after the Wexford game I'd have thought we'd have learned our lesson, especially with Beirne getting that score. I didn't think we'd have the legs or depth for extra time, but to be fair, it worked out in the end.
I hate going back to it, but I think McHugh has been the best thing to happen to Westmeath in a long time. A lot of those lads were banging on the door when Dessie was manager, but he didn't take many chances and stuck with the more experienced, seasoned players.
Fair play to these lads now they're really proving themselves."
Move on we are on the up give out about blue shirted ones who might be playing tailteann if you have to. Iarmhi Abu

jobber (Westmeath) - Posts: 1941 - 03/05/2026 22:37:21    2670769