Leitrim GAA thread

Well done to our neighbours on their great win at the weekend please and thanks. Super performance from them and credit where credit is due thank you. They deserve all the plaudits they get thanks so much. Well done Sligo.

bláthach (Leitrim) - Posts: 453 - 23/02/2026 20:25:40    2658254

Replying To bláthach:  "Well done to our neighbours on their great win at the weekend please and thanks. Super performance from them and credit where credit is due thank you. They deserve all the plaudits they get thanks so much. Well done Sligo."
Ha ha no one celebrating beating a hurling county by a single score ,dyer stuff ,roscommon the ones that need praise for what there doing ...

Timmy86 (Sligo) - Posts: 355 - 23/02/2026 20:57:41    2658258

Replying To bláthach:  "Well done to our neighbours on their great win at the weekend please and thanks. Super performance from them and credit where credit is due thank you. They deserve all the plaudits they get thanks so much. Well done Sligo."
We love you. Be humble and nice please. All the best for Galway, Mayo, LEITRIM, Roscommon and Sligo this weekend. Up in the air and go.

moros (Roscommon) - Posts: 1278 - 23/02/2026 20:59:20    2658259

Don't forget Leitrim's other neighbours who won- Donegal beat Armagh, and Cavan beat Kildare

leitrim4sam (Leitrim) - Posts: 720 - 23/02/2026 23:43:08    2658281

Not forgetting Longford with a decent result too. Fermanagh with a large Leitrim presence in the backroom doing appallingly though.

ohwow (Leitrim) - Posts: 5 - 24/02/2026 09:11:14    2658299

Yet again yer safe after 4 games.

Michaelbeag (Roscommon) - Posts: 53 - 24/02/2026 21:30:15    2658464

Ye are great people's. Up the West. Hope they all win the weekend. Spirit of Arigna!

moros (Roscommon) - Posts: 1278 - 24/02/2026 22:16:37    2658471

Is there nothing that can be done about Roscommon posters coming on here being demeaning towards Leitrim? Seems to be pages and pages of particular posters on here being WUMs and they are getting away with it

ohwow (Leitrim) - Posts: 5 - 25/02/2026 10:36:26    2658501

Replying To ohwow:  "Is there nothing that can be done about Roscommon posters coming on here being demeaning towards Leitrim? Seems to be pages and pages of particular posters on here being WUMs and they are getting away with it"
I agree with this thanks so much for highlighting. The ironic thing is they are the ones who get annoyed please if anyone dare suggest that their little team is not as good as they think (which is true) thank you all for agreeing. They would do well to remember previosu years where they were much fitter than teams in the league thank you and then calved in the championship- the same will happen this year.

But the mods should either ban these posters or stop putting up their posts on this page- I am sure they young Leitrim footballers look on this forum please and thanks and all they see are people making fun of them. Have some respect- it is not that hard. Thank you.

bláthach (Leitrim) - Posts: 453 - 25/02/2026 11:24:02    2658519

Replying To bláthach:  "I agree with this thanks so much for highlighting. The ironic thing is they are the ones who get annoyed please if anyone dare suggest that their little team is not as good as they think (which is true) thank you all for agreeing. They would do well to remember previosu years where they were much fitter than teams in the league thank you and then calved in the championship- the same will happen this year.

But the mods should either ban these posters or stop putting up their posts on this page- I am sure they young Leitrim footballers look on this forum please and thanks and all they see are people making fun of them. Have some respect- it is not that hard. Thank you."
Probably the best thing young Leitrim footballers can do is see what's being said here by simple Rossies. Motivation.

Tacaí Liatroma (Leitrim) - Posts: 1264 - 25/02/2026 12:02:01    2658529

Once again why is the Admin letting so much nonsense being posted on here?

It has taken me a few days to come to terms with Leitrim performance last Sunday. One of the most deflating performances I've seen from Leitrim in over 30 years going to games. This was an Antrim team bereft of confidence playing in our home ground and we did noting to take the game to them. It takes away the opportunity of promotion for the year and reality bring an end to the Steven Poacher era which means we will be starting from ground zero again.

I posted here last week saying we should not be underestimating Antrim and it proved to be the case. Added in to the fact that 2/3 best players in McNulty and Tom Prior weren't fit to start and we were going to be up against it.
Did Cillian McGloin injure himself in his first game back against London (hence why he was taken off in the first half) or has he left the panel since?

To be honest it looked like our only game plan was to wait for Barry McNulty to come on and play the hero card and save the day again.
He was excellent again but thats surely not a way for any management team to set up a team.

Attacking wise in the First Half (apart from get the ball to Ryan O'Rourke who was being double marked) we seemed to have no plan against the wind. We had no ideas on how to break Antrim down in either fast counter attacks or in slow attacks when they had everyone back.
We didn't trust Oisin McLoughlin or Paul Honeyman to get at their markers at all even though we all know they are well capable of doing so. We then took Oisin McLoughlin off for the second half when we had the wind even though he is a 2 point threat?

Defensively in the First half we were at Sea, If Antrim were in anyway a half decent outfit they would have been ahead by 15 or 16 points at the break. We were sitting back in a low block and not putting any pressure on the ball what so ever. They could get a shot off at every attack.
We didn't seem to have a plan for our '3up' players. Constantly we had McNamara, Quinn and another defender left as our 3 attacking players while attackers tried to defend - Honeyman made a mistake for their last goal exactly from this.
We showed no intent or defensive know-how and every time Antrim ran at us they had success.
Our discipline is poor. Eoin McLoughlin, McNamara, Diffley and Quinn all gave away soft frees and were getting involved in needless stuff off the ball.
The reality is this comes from the line.
In the Middle third we were taken apart. We couldn't win the ball in the air or we couldn't get near a break. dismantled. I'm not sure if this is a structure thing in how we are set up or its the reality of the personnel we have available. We need Conor Quinns height and ability but he becomes a liability with his lack of maturity throughout games.

We don't have a number 6 who can control the game from deep or we don't have an 11 who can link the play when we are in possession. Solving both of these issues in an immediate concern before our next game. That's a selection issue and Poacher will have to be brave about dropping or moving more experienced players from their favoured positions.

Any update on injuries?

We need to be seeing some progression and development of our players and some accountability from management. The results and or performances have been terrible as a whole both this year and last year. We still have excellent players available to us so we can't just write everything off as a 3 year plan or whatever.

Leitrim1234 (Leitrim) - Posts: 359 - 25/02/2026 12:16:41    2658532

Anyone know when the league is starting up?

Gantric (Leitrim) - Posts: 2 - 25/02/2026 12:18:38    2658534

Replying To ohwow:  "Is there nothing that can be done about Roscommon posters coming on here being demeaning towards Leitrim? Seems to be pages and pages of particular posters on here being WUMs and they are getting away with it"
Or AKAs.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 8452 - 25/02/2026 12:35:13    2658540

Replying To Leitrim1234:  "Once again why is the Admin letting so much nonsense being posted on here?

It has taken me a few days to come to terms with Leitrim performance last Sunday. One of the most deflating performances I've seen from Leitrim in over 30 years going to games. This was an Antrim team bereft of confidence playing in our home ground and we did noting to take the game to them. It takes away the opportunity of promotion for the year and reality bring an end to the Steven Poacher era which means we will be starting from ground zero again.

I posted here last week saying we should not be underestimating Antrim and it proved to be the case. Added in to the fact that 2/3 best players in McNulty and Tom Prior weren't fit to start and we were going to be up against it.
Did Cillian McGloin injure himself in his first game back against London (hence why he was taken off in the first half) or has he left the panel since?

To be honest it looked like our only game plan was to wait for Barry McNulty to come on and play the hero card and save the day again.
He was excellent again but thats surely not a way for any management team to set up a team.

Attacking wise in the First Half (apart from get the ball to Ryan O'Rourke who was being double marked) we seemed to have no plan against the wind. We had no ideas on how to break Antrim down in either fast counter attacks or in slow attacks when they had everyone back.
We didn't trust Oisin McLoughlin or Paul Honeyman to get at their markers at all even though we all know they are well capable of doing so. We then took Oisin McLoughlin off for the second half when we had the wind even though he is a 2 point threat?

Defensively in the First half we were at Sea, If Antrim were in anyway a half decent outfit they would have been ahead by 15 or 16 points at the break. We were sitting back in a low block and not putting any pressure on the ball what so ever. They could get a shot off at every attack.
We didn't seem to have a plan for our '3up' players. Constantly we had McNamara, Quinn and another defender left as our 3 attacking players while attackers tried to defend - Honeyman made a mistake for their last goal exactly from this.
We showed no intent or defensive know-how and every time Antrim ran at us they had success.
Our discipline is poor. Eoin McLoughlin, McNamara, Diffley and Quinn all gave away soft frees and were getting involved in needless stuff off the ball.
The reality is this comes from the line.
In the Middle third we were taken apart. We couldn't win the ball in the air or we couldn't get near a break. dismantled. I'm not sure if this is a structure thing in how we are set up or its the reality of the personnel we have available. We need Conor Quinns height and ability but he becomes a liability with his lack of maturity throughout games.

We don't have a number 6 who can control the game from deep or we don't have an 11 who can link the play when we are in possession. Solving both of these issues in an immediate concern before our next game. That's a selection issue and Poacher will have to be brave about dropping or moving more experienced players from their favoured positions.

Any update on injuries?

We need to be seeing some progression and development of our players and some accountability from management. The results and or performances have been terrible as a whole both this year and last year. We still have excellent players available to us so we can't just write everything off as a 3 year plan or whatever."
Great post. Sums up my thoughts, I made a few attempts to post my feelings after Sunday's game but the admin did not post them.
I dont think there was anything overly controversial in it.

We do everything at a snails pace, we lack athleticism throughout the team, Conor Quinn height should be a huge advantage to us but numerous times he got his hands on kickouts but couldn't actually catch the ball, dropped it without being contested, he made one great catch but we really miss the likes of Pierce Dolan.

James Rooney is very good on break ball he was missed on Sunday. McNamara is not a wing back. Diffley not a center back. Clancy is very raw but such an honest footballer he gives it everything. Keith Keegan is a warrior but it didn't happen for him on Sunday. We were so reluctant to kick the ball inside, we went over and back the two point arc then we eventually got turned over, we need to do things faster.

Lads bringing the ball into the tackle, not strong enough to break tackle getting turned over or ref pulling them for over carrying, this happen over and over again, did the management get word to players to stop this? Because it kept happening.

I was hoping for a lot more from Leitrim this year and not looking for promotion looking for progress and to build on a somewhat encouraging end to 2025, ive not seen it tbh.

Leitrim Gaa reminds me of a secondary school that aren't really serious about the school football team, they participate in all the competitions but its not driven by the school, pupils aren't encouraged to do extra, the good lads are guaranteed their place without putting in much effort, if we win we win if we dont we dont, we have our excuses ready.

I felt Poacher had the hardest job in Gaa last year and I felt for him but im not seeing progress this year it is worrying.

We got a goal just before half time, there was a bit of pulling and dragging before half time, Barry on, I was expecting big energy at the start of the second half and we were flat.

Hopefully we see a reaction next day out.

3rdmidfielder (Australia) - Posts: 457 - 25/02/2026 13:45:39    2658553

We don't get as long to give ye the rub.
Ye start at us April to end of June.

Michaelbeag (Roscommon) - Posts: 53 - 25/02/2026 14:04:55    2658561

I doubt the hunger to go back up to div 3 was really there. Too many inexperienced lads not willing to do the grind needed to stay up

gaelsboy (Leitrim) - Posts: 733 - 25/02/2026 15:23:16    2658586

It's all part and parcel of the game, Roscommon are our biggest rivals on the pitch.

Gantric (Leitrim) - Posts: 2 - 25/02/2026 15:42:49    2658595

"Leitrim Gaa reminds me of a secondary school that aren't really serious about the school football team, they participate in all the competitions but its not driven by the school, pupils aren't encouraged to do extra, the good lads are guaranteed their place without putting in much effort, if we win we win if we dont we dont, we have our excuses ready."

Very strong comment by 3rdmidfielder, and hard to argue with it.

EddieMatt (Leitrim) - Posts: 12 - 25/02/2026 16:53:26    2658617

Replying To EddieMatt:  ""Leitrim Gaa reminds me of a secondary school that aren't really serious about the school football team, they participate in all the competitions but its not driven by the school, pupils aren't encouraged to do extra, the good lads are guaranteed their place without putting in much effort, if we win we win if we dont we dont, we have our excuses ready."

Very strong comment by 3rdmidfielder, and hard to argue with it."
Very good post and observation. Many in other of the "weaker" counties can identify with these sentiments.

Freethinker (Wicklow) - Posts: 2090 - 25/02/2026 17:08:32    2658621

Replying To EddieMatt:  ""Leitrim Gaa reminds me of a secondary school that aren't really serious about the school football team, they participate in all the competitions but its not driven by the school, pupils aren't encouraged to do extra, the good lads are guaranteed their place without putting in much effort, if we win we win if we dont we dont, we have our excuses ready."

Very strong comment by 3rdmidfielder, and hard to argue with it."
Don't agree with last post. These lads are up for it and will be bitterly disappointed with their performance. Couldn't understand it especially failing to compete at midfield which gave our attack no chance to shine. Still believe we can beat Tipp if we learn from last Sunday and predict Antrim will beat Wicklow if they perform to the same level of last Sunday. I am still a believer in this talented if young group .& we defeated Tipp last year missing some of our best players-no Ryan or Barry which is a big plus for Sunday.A win would lift morale.

leitrimabu1 (Leitrim) - Posts: 170 - 25/02/2026 17:24:40    2658622