Galway Football thread

Replying To ozbound:  "I don't have any skin in the game of this at all. I Just don't think it's right that a club be allowed build a new facility 5 minutes away from a clubs pitch/clubhouse in that clubs playing catchment. Cappagh Park could surely be developed which is in knocnacarra. I don't know what club you are from but I can't see you being too happy with a rival club doing what Salthill are attempting to do."
I'll ask my question again.
Where would you recommend they build their facility?
They're buying their own land. Paying for their own facilities.
Nothing stopping the surrounding clubs from doing the same.
It takes less effort to to complain about other clubs than make your own club better.

StopTheLights (Galway) - Posts: 459 - 14/02/2026 21:17:22    2656414

Replying To Drax_the_destroyer:  "Cutting out the silly 1st half errors and ability to score goals a key factor also."
Or maybe just maybe kerry took the foot off the gas when they thought they had it won but sure it's Galways ÿear start booking the hotel lads .

S1234 (Mayo) - Posts: 818 - 14/02/2026 22:40:28    2656432

Replying To GDL:  "I dint think I've warmed up even after the change of clothes, but that was bananas. I can't explain any of it. A big shout out to Finian, I thought he was brilliant, McHugh was a steady hand at the back when he came in, the McGrath save in the second half was amazing, Shane McGrath was brilliant in the second half, Maher came thundering into the game in the second half but Matt Tierney was my player of the match. He was massive in the first half when we needed something."
I can explain it, Kerry are a much, much better side and took their foot off the gas when they thought they had the game won, simple as that.

JimB1991 (Donegal) - Posts: 130 - 14/02/2026 23:09:45    2656442

Replying To StopTheLights:  "I'll ask my question again.
Where would you recommend they build their facility?
They're buying their own land. Paying for their own facilities.
Nothing stopping the surrounding clubs from doing the same.
It takes less effort to to complain about other clubs than make your own club better."
Cappagh park

Alwaysencourage (Galway) - Posts: 576 - 14/02/2026 23:32:32    2656450

Replying To S1234:  "Or maybe just maybe kerry took the foot off the gas when they thought they had it won but sure it's Galways ÿear start booking the hotel lads ."
Time for you to concentrate on your own team.

Alwaysencourage (Galway) - Posts: 576 - 14/02/2026 23:33:18    2656451

Replying To S1234:  "Or maybe just maybe kerry took the foot off the gas when they thought they had it won but sure it's Galways ÿear start booking the hotel lads ."
Yeah, if there's one thing kerry are known for its 'taking the foot off the gas'

Jonnytest (Galway) - Posts: 11 - 15/02/2026 03:53:45    2656470

Interesting to see a couple from other counties spending their Valentines night complaining about the Galway football team

PressureKick (UK) - Posts: 350 - 15/02/2026 07:49:27    2656473

Replying To JimB1991:  "I can explain it, Kerry are a much, much better side and took their foot off the gas when they thought they had the game won, simple as that."
Can you explain your obsession with Galway?

Crashingwaves (Galway) - Posts: 287 - 15/02/2026 08:23:22    2656476

Replying To JimB1991:  "I can explain it, Kerry are a much, much better side and took their foot off the gas when they thought they had the game won, simple as that."
In the context of digestion, gas and wind are usually the same thing.

In football though, Galway had the wind 2nd half, and according to yourself, Kerry gave up the gas.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 4551 - 15/02/2026 08:38:52    2656480

No matter what the circumstances or game your 'explanation' of a Galway match never gives Galway any credit. Your other alias straight in on this thread also!
Ignoring the impact of the gale force wind and the impact of two pointers or the impact of this Galway team consistently fighting back in tight matches.
Add back into this panel Silke, Daly, Conroy, McDaid, S Walsh, Thompson and possibly Comer and there is clearly a good team there.

Trucker1 (Galway) - Posts: 468 - 15/02/2026 08:50:20    2656482

Replying To PressureKick:  "Interesting to see a couple from other counties spending their Valentines night complaining about the Galway football team"
It's actually hilarious.You could set your clock by them.

Alwaysencourage (Galway) - Posts: 576 - 15/02/2026 09:35:37    2656488

Could see silke was in bother at the huddle and cogger hadn't much time to prepare.
In fairness to o Lee he had a massive impact, tracked seanie a good bit and was very effective going forward.
He is doing well at half back.
Maher what a trooper, just a defiant attitude and never stopped.

Sportsfanatic90 (Westmeath) - Posts: 244 - 15/02/2026 10:05:52    2656491

Replying To smallfrank:  "Delighted with the win but lads our kick outs are a major issue and mos people beside me on the terrace felt the same. The only positive I can see this evening is that Raymond Galligan the former Cavan keeper seems to be have been added to the back room team and was involved in the warm up. He might help but we couldn't win our own ball second half even with Tierney, McGlinchey McDaid in the middle"
I see journalists are breaking the "Galligan" news this weekend. I have asked and was told by 1 person in the know that he's the goalkeeping coach and another person in the know that he's just helping out one or two times a week. I have to say I liked McGrath in goal last night. His frees were terrible but I saw him kick them with the under 20s before and he was very good, weather didn't help him. Definitely worth another look though.
One other noticeable thing, we are getting turned over a lot now in our FB line, I wonder are teams targetting this. Going back to McGrath against Meath(goal), Cogger last night(goal) and lucky against Armagh.

smallfrank (Galway) - Posts: 578 - 15/02/2026 10:06:16    2656492

I don't really understand what improvements people are seeing with Eamon McGrath in goal. The kick outs were still long and predictable, frees were missed, and he didn't handle a crucial high ball which led to a goal. At this stage it feels like it's "anyone but Gleeson", which is hard to take when he was the goalkeeper in two All-Ireland finals. McGrath seems to be getting praised for things Gleeson gets ridiculed for.

WonTon5 (Galway) - Posts: 134 - 15/02/2026 10:48:46    2656503

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "In the context of digestion, gas and wind are usually the same thing.

In football though, Galway had the wind 2nd half, and according to yourself, Kerry gave up the gas."
Kerry maintained there 10 point lead up to the last 14 minutes so the argument the game flipped at half time is just incorrect. Fair play Galway got a bit of a run on them and a couple of goals in the last 10 but that was an anomaly not a representation of how the game went overall. Good result for Galway though, gives them a chance of staying up.

JimB1991 (Donegal) - Posts: 130 - 15/02/2026 11:04:16    2656504

Replying To JimB1991:  "Kerry maintained there 10 point lead up to the last 14 minutes so the argument the game flipped at half time is just incorrect. Fair play Galway got a bit of a run on them and a couple of goals in the last 10 but that was an anomaly not a representation of how the game went overall. Good result for Galway though, gives them a chance of staying up."
Kerry were not as dominant in first half as the scoreline suggested. Galway 55% possession in that half but sloppy mistakes were costly. In the last quarter Galway reduced the error count and this coupled with a strengthening wind were the reasons for the turnaround.

anotheralias (Galway) - Posts: 1028 - 15/02/2026 11:15:41    2656505

Replying To WonTon5:  "I don't really understand what improvements people are seeing with Eamon McGrath in goal. The kick outs were still long and predictable, frees were missed, and he didn't handle a crucial high ball which led to a goal. At this stage it feels like it's "anyone but Gleeson", which is hard to take when he was the goalkeeper in two All-Ireland finals. McGrath seems to be getting praised for things Gleeson gets ridiculed for."
The biggest difference I see is McGrath actually has a mid range kickout. He's also definitely more accurate on the longs than Gleeson. Considering wind impact, McGrath was better into wind than the all Ireland winning keeper on other side.

Also he's 21 and Gleeson is 31 so any comparison flatters McGrath

systematic (Galway) - Posts: 244 - 15/02/2026 11:30:03    2656511

Is there any info available as to the nature and extent of injuries to players referenced by PJ in the post match comments?

giveitlong (Galway) - Posts: 1304 - 15/02/2026 11:33:19    2656513

Fairly pulled that one out of the bag.
Let's be honest we were poor until the last 15 minutes.
Can't criticise the effort whatsoever in the opening 55 mins but the quality wasn't there.
We have huge improving to do.
I'm none the wiser about the goalkeeping situation after last night.
McGrath mixed the good with the bad.
Regardless of who is in there our strategy is to go long and scrap for breaks so his kickouts did that just fine.
Bad error for the first goal and got himself into trouble in possession in the first half which almost cost a goal as well. Doesn't look overly comfortable on the ball.
He made a few nice saves on the flip side.

Did Flaherty get injured or was it tactical?

One thing all three of the keepers have in common is that they aren't consistent long range free takers.
A lot of the top teams have someone who can nail a high percentage of long range frees - crucial with the two point rule.
The fact we don't have one (whether a goalie or not) is a huge weakness in the team.
Tierney kicked one in the second off the hands - but he had a strong wind behind him and it was just outside the arc.
We need someone who can take them off the ground

galwayman2 (Galway) - Posts: 1357 - 15/02/2026 11:33:47    2656514

Replying To WonTon5:  "I don't really understand what improvements people are seeing with Eamon McGrath in goal. The kick outs were still long and predictable, frees were missed, and he didn't handle a crucial high ball which led to a goal. At this stage it feels like it's "anyone but Gleeson", which is hard to take when he was the goalkeeper in two All-Ireland finals. McGrath seems to be getting praised for things Gleeson gets ridiculed for."
In fairness to McGrath it was his first competitive match in goal he did make a few mistakes but overall was good with ball in hand way better with mid range kickouts and even took a good Free out of defense to find his man defensively deserves start v Ross Gleason has being there for 5 years so maybe it's time to go with different option like outfield players need change things up

Kickitout (Galway) - Posts: 1129 - 15/02/2026 11:53:38    2656520