Replying To galwayfball: "We are Israels 2nd biggest trading partner. So obviously Loads of companies have links to Israel
Allianz parent company was specifically name in the UN Special Rapporteurs report as being complicit in genocide. If these other companies you are all mentioning have links to Israel but have not been named as complicit in genocide by the UN you are not comparing like with like.
Several people have said this and answered the question as to why Allianz yet they are ignored and many of you just keep naming other companies with links to Israel but have not been named in the report.
Even if according to yourself they are the same. They are in fact not and its safe to assume the Special Rapporteur has probably done more research than you
I've no problem with players refusing to be seen to promote Allianz. I've also no problem with players being fine with it
I look forward to everyone continuing to name companies not named by the UN as complicit in genocide and asking why not them despite being told why several times." Give it a break will you. We are here to talk about Galwag football
Galway456 (Galway) - Posts: 157 - 26/01/2026 22:05:14
Replying To togoutlads: "11 points down in our own backyard and Moran started subbing off key players, giving us a chink of an opportunity to make a comeback. But let's face it, Galway were way off the mark. Not a good start. Cleaned in midfield and almost all breaks until McGlinchey came in. Backs very porous and gifting 2 point frees repeatedly. Forwards' goal taking ability very poor and were again lacking clear attacking plays. What's happening with our coaching? We're looking quite poorly prepared for a Div 1 campaign. We were actually being hammered until we saved some face at the end once Mayo subbed off those men. Concerning." Mayo have a mountain of work done, as for Galway it's clear Joyce and co aren't going to pick up on prep and fitness for another few weeks yet.
Objective for this league campaign is to do enough to avoid relegation and blood as many new players as possible so the key fixtures will be against Monaghan and Roscommon.
Drax_the_destroyer (UK) - Posts: 670 - 26/01/2026 23:56:02
hi all.,can anyone please tell me if john daly and james mcloughlin are part of the panel or not?
gbay (Galway) - Posts: 281 - 27/01/2026 02:27:34
I hope Fionn McDonagh can keep that up, it was a brilliant debut. Even a couple of those points he scored he had a Mayo defender right on his boot but he angled it in a way that he wouldn't be blocked. Mulhern is still u20 this year, he made a couple of mistakes but some of his passing was a joy to watch and scored 3 points and was unlucky not to score a goal. Lets hope McGlinchey can stay fit, expect him to make an impact this year if he can. Oisin McDonagh left a few scores behind him but won every ball that came his way, he'll certainly get more chances.
Would imagine Joyce will regret not stating Barrett, think he's unlikely to see game time come later on in the season but we really struggled in the first 50 minutes around the middle, Tuohy either won or got his hand to every ball that came his way.
It took Sean Kelly a while to get going but he was outstanding from 45 minutes onwards.
Finishing was pathetic though, very little composure in front of goal. 7 0r 8 very good goal chances missed. Finnerty, Flaherty & Kelly missed really easy ones, got to better.
TheBishop (Galway) - Posts: 298 - 27/01/2026 09:47:51
Replying To galwayfball: "We are Israels 2nd biggest trading partner. So obviously Loads of companies have links to Israel
Allianz parent company was specifically name in the UN Special Rapporteurs report as being complicit in genocide. If these other companies you are all mentioning have links to Israel but have not been named as complicit in genocide by the UN you are not comparing like with like.
Several people have said this and answered the question as to why Allianz yet they are ignored and many of you just keep naming other companies with links to Israel but have not been named in the report.
Even if according to yourself they are the same. They are in fact not and its safe to assume the Special Rapporteur has probably done more research than you
I've no problem with players refusing to be seen to promote Allianz. I've also no problem with players being fine with it
I look forward to everyone continuing to name companies not named by the UN as complicit in genocide and asking why not them despite being told why several times." Regarding your point, Ireland is indeed Israel's second largest trading partner but it's for integrated circuits and subassemblies used by our medical device, pharma, and tech sectors - much of that being US owned. So if you can suggest an alternative source, I'm sure these massive employers here might be interested but I don't think Hamas or Hezbollah have focused a lot on that kind of R&D!
togoutlads (Galway) - Posts: 1116 - 27/01/2026 10:56:33
Replying To togoutlads: "Regarding your point, Ireland is indeed Israel's second largest trading partner but it's for integrated circuits and subassemblies used by our medical device, pharma, and tech sectors - much of that being US owned. So if you can suggest an alternative source, I'm sure these massive employers here might be interested but I don't think Hamas or Hezbollah have focused a lot on that kind of R&D!" Lads there is a separate post on the main threads board for this, could ye discuss this there and keep this one for football . I'm interested in the Israel problem too but I come here for football entertainment. Bad enough the thread being continually hijacked by the Mayo poster with the multiple aliases
Trucker1 (Galway) - Posts: 465 - 27/01/2026 11:51:09
The Galway style of handpassing the ball does'nt work. They try and handpass the ball over the bar or into the net. They never score 2 pointers.
galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2720 - 27/01/2026 12:20:01
Had a look back at some of the game, a lot more positive now after my initial viewing in Pearse Stadium. A couple of lapses in concentration in tracking runners, poor turnovers and giving away soft frees in our own half was our downfall. Nothing major there that cannot be worked on and improved on as the weeks go on and more minutes into the legs
Overall though really impressed with supply into our forward line and movement, exactly what we have been crying out for. The scores will come.
If we do meet Mayo in a Connacht final I think we have a lot more impact to come back than they do.
ahsure. (Galway) - Posts: 1752 - 27/01/2026 13:37:02
Seeing how we struggled in midfield on Sunday, you'd have to wonder will we regret letting young Brady go off to Cavan?
Tribes98 (Galway) - Posts: 3 - 27/01/2026 14:15:42
Watched the game back. 23 Galway Kick Outs, we won possession from 7 12 in the first half we won 5 11 in the second half we won 2 20 of the 23 went long and we won possession on 4 of them. Won 3 from 3 on the short ones. Unbelievable that he kept going long when you watch it back.
smallfrank (Galway) - Posts: 567 - 27/01/2026 15:15:35
Replying To Tribes98: "Seeing how we struggled in midfield on Sunday, you'd have to wonder will we regret letting young Brady go off to Cavan?" NO is the short answer. We were missing Darcy Maher Conroy McDaid Tierney. Brady would not be near these nor the 34 on panel hence why he is gone to Cavan. I would however be interested to know about his clubmate Patrick Egan is he on panel?
Eire89 (Galway) - Posts: 460 - 27/01/2026 16:30:59
Replying To jobseekersbent: "Gleeson - 5: Kickouts not good enough for this level and a desperate free taker. Flaherty needs to be looked at again if he is the next option. McGrath - 6: Mixed the good with bad. Fitzgerald - 6: Very uncomfortable on the ball. Still think Kelly needs to go FB. Glynn - 7: Did ok. O'Laoi - 7: Some engine but got injured again. McHugh - 6: Wasn't great for the first 2 goals. Molloy - 6: Doesn't bring much to the team going forward or defensively. Kelly - 6: Not a midfielder but injuries dictated him playing midfield yesterday. Would prefer him FB. Hernon - 5: No impact. Flaherty - 6: Scored 1 point but could/should have scored 1-2. Better coming off the bench. Mulhearn - 6: Solid debut. Poor free at the end of the first half led to Mayo 2-pointer. Looks classy. Silke - 5: No impact going forward. Played out of position. O McDonagh - 7: 2 great scores but poor missed free. Promising start. Finnerty - 8: So good at times. Needs to improve his goal finishing. F McDonagh - 9: Excellent debut. Couldn't have done much better.
Subs - 7: McGlinchey, McGrath and Barret all made a difference but Barret gave away a 2 pointer and silly black card. Walsh didn't look great.
Does anyone know who was cut from the panel after the FBD?" I would say on rewatch that it was Fitzgerald's error for both goals, moreso for second one and Dylan did very little wrong for first one and actually put callinan in out away from goal for second one.
systematic (Galway) - Posts: 239 - 27/01/2026 16:45:55