Non-Gaa Forum

Replying To jm25:  "Cant see connection really working much until you have lads playing outside kicking position"
He generates plenty of NFL media interest and on X and YouTube and a lot of comments of him being Irish.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 8402 - 15/12/2025 10:51:41    2648383

Replying To jm25:  "The smell of weed especially in Dublin City in recent months is unreal.

Their is a greater Garda visibility around OConnell street then 10 years ago I regularly see people getting nicked when I'm around there"
I remember a good one from when I visited New York a couple of years ago.
We'd been on the go for pretty much 24 hours - drove to Dublin from Donegal, flight to Heathrow, and from there to JFK.
JFK into midtown.

Sweating away as I lugged cases to our hotel, the wife says to me, first thing you're doing when we get checked in is changing your socks. Jesus I can get the smell of your feet even from here!

Had to convince the naive soul that it was weed she was smelling and not to be blaming my poor wee feet!

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 10160 - 15/12/2025 11:22:12    2648387

Replying To GreenandRed:  "He generates plenty of NFL media interest and on X and YouTube and a lot of comments of him being Irish."
Here or over there ?

Be great if he does but a kicker doesn't generate much headlines compared to other roles like malitia the Aussie rugby league player

jm25 (Galway) - Posts: 1829 - 15/12/2025 11:43:59    2648392

Replying To Lockjaw:  "I remember a good one from when I visited New York a couple of years ago.
We'd been on the go for pretty much 24 hours - drove to Dublin from Donegal, flight to Heathrow, and from there to JFK.
JFK into midtown.

Sweating away as I lugged cases to our hotel, the wife says to me, first thing you're doing when we get checked in is changing your socks. Jesus I can get the smell of your feet even from here!

Had to convince the naive soul that it was weed she was smelling and not to be blaming my poor wee feet!"
Its worse that socks! Horrible whiff off it, At least the old hash lads smoked back in the day had a pleasant enough aroma. Or perhaps I'm older and crankier.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 3873 - 15/12/2025 11:46:50    2648393

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "Its worse that socks! Horrible whiff off it, At least the old hash lads smoked back in the day had a pleasant enough aroma. Or perhaps I'm older and crankier."
As bad as it is not as bad as pong off them fruity vapes

I'd rather smoke 60 player a day then puff on one of those

jm25 (Galway) - Posts: 1829 - 15/12/2025 12:27:37    2648399

Replying To TheFlaker:  "Ah yeah he's a well known supporter of vaccines and doesn't think they are related to autism....oh wait."
Big Pharma agrees with you Comrade.

SouthGalway (Galway) - Posts: 133 - 15/12/2025 12:28:14    2648400

Replying To jm25:  "As bad as it is not as bad as pong off them fruity vapes

I'd rather smoke 60 player a day then puff on one of those"
There's nothing worse than seeing a grown adult with one of those things tuck in their mouth, its pathetic.

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 2628 - 15/12/2025 20:52:43    2648459

Another day another ridiculous outburst. The president statement on the death of Rob Reiner and his wife is disgraceful but sadly not surprising.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11840 - 15/12/2025 21:04:27    2648461

Replying To yew_tree:  "Another day another ridiculous outburst. The president statement on the death of Rob Reiner and his wife is disgraceful but sadly not surprising."
Indeed totally classless post.

jm25 (Galway) - Posts: 1829 - 16/12/2025 09:19:42    2648493

Replying To SouthGalway:  "Big Pharma agrees with you Comrade."
Vaccines account for (and prior to covid it was less) less than 10% of big Pharma sales, they are not the drugs that they are getting rich off. Vaccines by their very definition should save money for public health by preventing illness that would then have to be treated with further drugs. Trump deserves credit for bringing down the price of some drugs, although its ironic that the one touted the most is Ozempic, when the drug is against everything RFK would believe in. What is unusual and rarely mentioned is that the process of negotiation for the drugs under medicare was put in place by Biden and the first round he achieved a 22% reduction in price on the selected drugs where as Trump got double that. He deserves credit for that but he won't mention it in that way but rather he will say he got prices down by 1500%. The irony is that the BBB removed some medicines that would also be up for negotiation from the list for the next round - so I guess its a bit of you give me my day in the spotlight and I will then give it back to you under the table. Of course this is the way US politics operate under all the parties, pretending to do something for the people but making sure big corporations do not foot the bill. In the past year drug manufacturers in the US have risen about 25% in value whereas the S&P has only been up about 12%. If what Trump was doing was really going to hurt big Pharma then the market doesn't seem to think so.

zinny (Wexford) - Posts: 2135 - 16/12/2025 09:46:12    2648501

Replying To jm25:  "The smell of weed especially in Dublin City in recent months is unreal.

Their is a greater Garda visibility around OConnell street then 10 years ago I regularly see people getting nicked when I'm around there"
An acquaintance of mine drives the M50 everyday. He says that when the traffic is slow moving, you can smell it in the air. Particularly in good weather.

Freethinker (Wicklow) - Posts: 1971 - 16/12/2025 10:36:27    2648508

Replying To yew_tree:  "Another day another ridiculous outburst. The president statement on the death of Rob Reiner and his wife is disgraceful but sadly not surprising."
Did you notice that Mr T used a term which has been slung at some of us on here "Trump Derangement Syndrome".

Freethinker (Wicklow) - Posts: 1971 - 16/12/2025 10:46:18    2648511

Replying To zinny:  "Vaccines account for (and prior to covid it was less) less than 10% of big Pharma sales, they are not the drugs that they are getting rich off. Vaccines by their very definition should save money for public health by preventing illness that would then have to be treated with further drugs. Trump deserves credit for bringing down the price of some drugs, although its ironic that the one touted the most is Ozempic, when the drug is against everything RFK would believe in. What is unusual and rarely mentioned is that the process of negotiation for the drugs under medicare was put in place by Biden and the first round he achieved a 22% reduction in price on the selected drugs where as Trump got double that. He deserves credit for that but he won't mention it in that way but rather he will say he got prices down by 1500%. The irony is that the BBB removed some medicines that would also be up for negotiation from the list for the next round - so I guess its a bit of you give me my day in the spotlight and I will then give it back to you under the table. Of course this is the way US politics operate under all the parties, pretending to do something for the people but making sure big corporations do not foot the bill. In the past year drug manufacturers in the US have risen about 25% in value whereas the S&P has only been up about 12%. If what Trump was doing was really going to hurt big Pharma then the market doesn't seem to think so."
I find this new wave of anti vax and medicine-sceptic culture that has crept into society baffling. Talk about blinded by their own privilaged position to live in countries where life expectancy is 80+. Maybe they want to turn the clock back by 150 years where most of us will be dead soon after our 40th birthday. Very interesting to look back at the old death certs from the 1800s on the Irish genealogy site where stuff that we take for granted as being minor today was often fatal for people back then. Yet there is a movement out there now whether it be for pregnancy, cancer treatment or even MS, to abandon medical intervention in favour of eating watercress or going to some charlatan abroad to put their hands on your head for top dollar.
Vaccines have to be one of the most remarkable developments by humans. And as you say the benefit is two fold, directly for the person but also their preventative nature saving health services from being overwhelmed with TB, polio, measels etc etc cases.

FullOfPorter (Roscommon) - Posts: 514 - 16/12/2025 11:00:06    2648516

I agree with you for once. Rob Reiner (R.I.P.) was a loud opinionated guy himself and could hold his own in debates and arguments but due to the tragic nature of the deaths I think Trump should have sat this one out.

SouthGalway (Galway) - Posts: 133 - 16/12/2025 11:42:43    2648524

Replying To Freethinker:  "Did you notice that Mr T used a term which has been slung at some of us on here "Trump Derangement Syndrome"."
I did

jm25 (Galway) - Posts: 1829 - 16/12/2025 11:45:59    2648526

Replying To FullOfPorter:  "I find this new wave of anti vax and medicine-sceptic culture that has crept into society baffling. Talk about blinded by their own privilaged position to live in countries where life expectancy is 80+. Maybe they want to turn the clock back by 150 years where most of us will be dead soon after our 40th birthday. Very interesting to look back at the old death certs from the 1800s on the Irish genealogy site where stuff that we take for granted as being minor today was often fatal for people back then. Yet there is a movement out there now whether it be for pregnancy, cancer treatment or even MS, to abandon medical intervention in favour of eating watercress or going to some charlatan abroad to put their hands on your head for top dollar.
Vaccines have to be one of the most remarkable developments by humans. And as you say the benefit is two fold, directly for the person but also their preventative nature saving health services from being overwhelmed with TB, polio, measels etc etc cases."
I see a lot re carnivore diet eating like the cavemen used to back in day to stay healthy.

While I can see some benefit to the diet I do not see it mentioned life expectancy of the cavemen wasn't great

I don't mind a bit of focus on vaccines and skepticism but the crew who can't remember anyone been sick or dieing pre 2020 would sicken yeah

Everything in moderation I say

jm25 (Galway) - Posts: 1829 - 16/12/2025 12:18:14    2648529

Replying To zinny:  "Vaccines account for (and prior to covid it was less) less than 10% of big Pharma sales, they are not the drugs that they are getting rich off. Vaccines by their very definition should save money for public health by preventing illness that would then have to be treated with further drugs. Trump deserves credit for bringing down the price of some drugs, although its ironic that the one touted the most is Ozempic, when the drug is against everything RFK would believe in. What is unusual and rarely mentioned is that the process of negotiation for the drugs under medicare was put in place by Biden and the first round he achieved a 22% reduction in price on the selected drugs where as Trump got double that. He deserves credit for that but he won't mention it in that way but rather he will say he got prices down by 1500%. The irony is that the BBB removed some medicines that would also be up for negotiation from the list for the next round - so I guess its a bit of you give me my day in the spotlight and I will then give it back to you under the table. Of course this is the way US politics operate under all the parties, pretending to do something for the people but making sure big corporations do not foot the bill. In the past year drug manufacturers in the US have risen about 25% in value whereas the S&P has only been up about 12%. If what Trump was doing was really going to hurt big Pharma then the market doesn't seem to think so."
I think where Biden and Big Pharma turned off a lot of people was when they put the MANDATE with the COVID Vaccine. A lot of people lost jobs, were kicked out of the Military, couldn't board planes, attend schools, etc. due to not wanting the vaccine. Take all the vaccines you want but don't force others to get it. And also please put out all relevant information before and after the vaccine not just the positive spin.

SouthGalway (Galway) - Posts: 133 - 16/12/2025 12:43:02    2648534

Good to see there's tinfoil head anti vax people on here.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 8679 - 16/12/2025 14:27:28    2648552

Replying To SouthGalway:  "I think where Biden and Big Pharma turned off a lot of people was when they put the MANDATE with the COVID Vaccine. A lot of people lost jobs, were kicked out of the Military, couldn't board planes, attend schools, etc. due to not wanting the vaccine. Take all the vaccines you want but don't force others to get it. And also please put out all relevant information before and after the vaccine not just the positive spin."
However they were safe and this has been proven out through the subsequent years, Yet today there are people who still try to discredit the publics trust in the vaccinees, like they do others. Even within the FDA they are releasing information on Covid Vaccines and children with no factual basis. Is it just the covid one or you don't see why people need to take Vaccines?
Yes big Frarma made a lot of money out of covid but is that not the American way? I

zinny (Wexford) - Posts: 2135 - 16/12/2025 15:18:08    2648559

Replying To TheFlaker:  "Good to see there's tinfoil head anti vax people on here."
Maybe they're not anti vax just anti mandate or being forced to get one. But I'm sure you know what's best for them Comrade.

SouthGalway (Galway) - Posts: 133 - 16/12/2025 15:38:32    2648565