Galway Football thread

Replying To yew_tree:  "The vast majority of the "neutral" tickets get hovered up by the counties competing. Some dubs couldn't understand when Mayo outnumbered them in a final or two. Fact is Mayo's diaspora around the country and world helped big time to up the Mayo support. Not that the extra support helped the team.

Good luck to both teams this weekend. Nothing like the build up to an all Ireland final. Every day is like Christmas Eve."
Yeah Mayo seems to have an endless conveyor belt of Gardai and teachers being shipped out to every other County :), as my primary school had 5 teachers from Mayo and my secondary school had 3 teachers from Mayo. And every other Garda in Donegal seems to be from Mayo, so ye must be manufacturing them 24/7 down the West !!! :)

I agree that a lot of neutral tickets get back to the competing Counties, but I still think the GAA should allocate 25000 - 30,000 tickets to each County up front in addition to season tickets, as there is too much chasing tickets going on.

Commodore (Donegal) - Posts: 1182 - 26/07/2024 08:49:37    2561644

Replying To ForeverBlue2:  "What are term tickets…?"
Not sure, possibly boxes bought for 10 years? Not sure tbh.

I think the GAA needs a rethink for All Ireland finals, competing Counties should get 30,000 tickets each, then break the remainder down among Sponsors or others.

Commodore (Donegal) - Posts: 1182 - 26/07/2024 08:53:55    2561646

Replying To Bdonegal1991:  "I think Galways luck will finally desert them. A bit short in terms of a top team, Armagh by 4."
So Galway are not a top team, can you tell me apart from Armagh the other top teams in the country?

Belclare7 (Galway) - Posts: 85 - 26/07/2024 09:43:59    2561655

Armagh team named. It's getting real now boys and girls! After 63 games in the AI football championship, we're at the pinnacle - 1 more game!!! Bring. It. On.
Armagh: Blaine Hughes; Paddy Burns, Aaron McKay, Barry McCambridge; Connaire Mackin, Tiernan Kelly, Aidan Forker; Niall Grimley, Ben Crealey; Joe McElroy, Rian O'Neill, OisínConaty; Rory Gurgan, Andrew Murnin, Conor Turbitt
Subs: Ethan Rafferty, Greg McCabe, Peter McGrane, Ciaran Higgins, Ross McQuillan, Shane McPartlan, Jason Duffy, Oisín O'Neill, Stefan Campbell, Aidan Nugent, Jarly Og Burns

togoutlads (Galway) - Posts: 958 - 26/07/2024 09:53:19    2561658

Replying To sourmilk93:  "Best of luck at the weekend to our neighbours, Hopefully see ye bring Sam back across the Shannon."
Thanks Sourmilk, hope our lads do the business and bring Sam over the Shannon! Up the West and ya know the rest…

togoutlads (Galway) - Posts: 958 - 26/07/2024 10:20:25    2561662

Replying To togoutlads:  "Armagh team named. It's getting real now boys and girls! After 63 games in the AI football championship, we're at the pinnacle - 1 more game!!! Bring. It. On.
Armagh: Blaine Hughes; Paddy Burns, Aaron McKay, Barry McCambridge; Connaire Mackin, Tiernan Kelly, Aidan Forker; Niall Grimley, Ben Crealey; Joe McElroy, Rian O'Neill, OisínConaty; Rory Gurgan, Andrew Murnin, Conor Turbitt
Subs: Ethan Rafferty, Greg McCabe, Peter McGrane, Ciaran Higgins, Ross McQuillan, Shane McPartlan, Jason Duffy, Oisín O'Neill, Stefan Campbell, Aidan Nugent, Jarly Og Burns"
The names on their bench are far more recognizable than a lot of the guys on the pitch.

Galway have the best first 15; but that's an incredible bench.

drumalee11 (USA) - Posts: 315 - 26/07/2024 10:26:07    2561667

Replying To drumalee11:  "The names on their bench are far more recognizable than a lot of the guys on the pitch.

Galway have the best first 15; but that's an incredible bench."
Last 3 times we have played armagh we have raced ahead but they have got the edge in the last quarter, it looks like thats the plan for them anyway this Sunday with that bench

Galway456 (Galway) - Posts: 100 - 26/07/2024 11:31:42    2561689

Our team was named earlier today as well - no surprises at all really same 15 named to start as they last two matches. Sean Kelly named at midfield hopefully he's got enough to get at least 45/50 minutes out of.

LárBáire (Galway) - Posts: 39 - 26/07/2024 11:46:55    2561697

Only change is Kelly in for Darcy which I am ok provided Kelly is fit cant be using a sub after 20mins similar to against the Dubs as I see this going to the wire and Armaghs impact of bench ahs been impressive.

1.Gleeson
2.McGrath
3.Fitzgerald
4 Glynn
5.McHugh
6 Silke
7 Mulkerrins
8 Conroy
9 Kelly
10 Tierney
11 Maher
12 McDaid
13 Finnerty
14 Comer
15 Walsh

Eire89 (Galway) - Posts: 275 - 26/07/2024 11:55:13    2561700

Replying To Galway456:  "Last 3 times we have played armagh we have raced ahead but they have got the edge in the last quarter, it looks like thats the plan for them anyway this Sunday with that bench"
Claire, how many pseudonyms do you have? You've just let it slip again with the HaHa on a previous post in this thread.

GDL (Galway) - Posts: 763 - 26/07/2024 12:06:15    2561705

Replying To drumalee11:  "The names on their bench are far more recognizable than a lot of the guys on the pitch.

Galway have the best first 15; but that's an incredible bench."
We've a ferocious bench too.

togoutlads (Galway) - Posts: 958 - 26/07/2024 12:10:04    2561708

Replying To GDL:  "Claire, how many pseudonyms do you have? You've just let it slip again with the HaHa on a previous post in this thread."
Always wondered who this clare one is your all obbssesed with.. GDL is a Galway supporter just cause they say Armagh are in with a chance ya think is a bogus account says it all about ye lot.

S1234 (Mayo) - Posts: 99 - 26/07/2024 12:54:18    2561728

Replying To S1234:  "Always wondered who this clare one is your all obbssesed with.. GDL is a Galway supporter just cause they say Armagh are in with a chance ya think is a bogus account says it all about ye lot."
There you have it, Claire found out to be S1234 and Galway456. It is easy to identify you, as you just can't help yourself, it is like the blog, responding to everyone and every thread. I'm just waiting for the expletives, Ha!

GDL (Galway) - Posts: 763 - 26/07/2024 13:16:37    2561739

Replying To Belclare7:  "So Galway are not a top team, can you tell me apart from Armagh the other top teams in the country?"
Dublin, Mayo, Kerry, Derry and Tyrone all underperformed this year.
Donegal 1st year with Jim back, Galway scraped over the line because of a fluky goal and Donegal being overcatious in the 2nd half, they will be much better next year.

I would have these teams and in fairness Galway and Armagh as the top 8.

I would have Galway and Tyrone a bit behind the other 6 though.

Bdonegal1991 (Donegal) - Posts: 81 - 26/07/2024 13:31:49    2561744

Replying To GDL:  "There you have it, Claire found out to be S1234 and Galway456. It is easy to identify you, as you just can't help yourself, it is like the blog, responding to everyone and every thread. I'm just waiting for the expletives, Ha!"
Again seriously don't know who this clare one is your on about or this so called blog weirdos. I replied as I'm always being accused of being this so called clare one so it's very curious to know who clare actually is..

S1234 (Mayo) - Posts: 99 - 26/07/2024 13:33:13    2561747

Replying To Bdonegal1991:  "Dublin, Mayo, Kerry, Derry and Tyrone all underperformed this year.
Donegal 1st year with Jim back, Galway scraped over the line because of a fluky goal and Donegal being overcatious in the 2nd half, they will be much better next year.

I would have Galway and Tyrone a bit behind the other 6 though."
Claire, put the phone away, Ha!

GDL (Galway) - Posts: 763 - 26/07/2024 13:37:31    2561751

Replying To GDL:  "There you have it, Claire found out to be S1234 and Galway456. It is easy to identify you, as you just can't help yourself, it is like the blog, responding to everyone and every thread. I'm just waiting for the expletives, Ha!"
I can ensure your i am a proud east galway hurling man, no clare around here just biffos

Galway456 (Galway) - Posts: 100 - 26/07/2024 13:39:20    2561753

Replying To Bdonegal1991:  "Dublin, Mayo, Kerry, Derry and Tyrone all underperformed this year.

The day to prove that was at the semifinal just two weeks ago, and not with worthless waffling on here.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3820 - 26/07/2024 13:58:43    2561759

There is no guarantee Donegal will be as successful next year and that's why McGuinness was so disappointed after the semi. Dublin will always be there, Kerry and Mayo are on a downward trend at present but Tyrone has a good team coming down the tracks. Hard to know with Derry but under new management and with good young teams coming they will be there.

JahTribe (Galway) - Posts: 155 - 26/07/2024 14:03:37    2561762

I don't care if we are the worst team to ever win the all Ireland so long as we win it. You can think what you like.

systematic (Galway) - Posts: 95 - 26/07/2024 14:11:49    2561767