Two-Group Leinster SHC

Replying To Tadhg2020:  "Cork hurling have always had big crowds. They are the best supported team in the championship. Limerick and Clare would be next. Tipp would be close then. Either way, that's not the point but you already know that. Wexford would be playing Joe McDonagh hurling next season if it wasn't for Kildares presence in the Championship. You have lost your supporters along the way. Thats the point. Ye need to concentrate on that and not the munster championship."
We are already concentrating on what we need to concentrate on, and its not whether supporters come or not.
We need to produce more better hurlers, so we might start winning more games. And thats what we are concentrating on, especially the last few years.
Supporters will come to support a winning team. Sadly thats human nature, and not just in sport. Apart from the wool and the 4 feet most humans are like another type of animal.......

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 19881 - 29/05/2026 17:12:05    2676474

Replying To Viking66:  "Tbh Tadhg we are a little odd. Similar to Limerick people in ways.
An example of this would be that the biggest crowd in the Park in the last good few years was for a Walsh Cup group game against Kilkenny in 2023, nearly 13000 turned up of a January night just to see what the new floodlights looked like."
Ye could do with getting them back any way you can.

Tadhg2020 (Limerick) - Posts: 513 - 29/05/2026 17:14:31    2676475

Replying To Tadhg2020:  "Cork hurling have always had big crowds. They are the best supported team in the championship. Limerick and Clare would be next. Tipp would be close then. Either way, that's not the point but you already know that. Wexford would be playing Joe McDonagh hurling next season if it wasn't for Kildares presence in the Championship. You have lost your supporters along the way. Thats the point. Ye need to concentrate on that and not the munster championship."
Tadgh, this is gone a long way from what the thread is supposed to be about, and nobody said anything and definitely wasn't 'concentrating on' the Munster Championship until you started on about relative attendances.

To try get back to the point - various views on the notion of a two-group, eight-team Leinster Championship. Most would seem to be against it.

Pikeman96 (Wexford) - Posts: 3722 - 29/05/2026 18:04:39    2676483

Replying To Pikeman96:  "Tadgh, this is gone a long way from what the thread is supposed to be about, and nobody said anything and definitely wasn't 'concentrating on' the Munster Championship until you started on about relative attendances.

To try get back to the point - various views on the notion of a two-group, eight-team Leinster Championship. Most would seem to be against it."
It's the so called bigger counties that are against it ,(prefer closed shop) if leinster is so weak ,why did dublin turn limerick over last year !?and ya can b sure b sure one of limerick or cork WONT make final ,and to go to topic ,2 groups of 8 is great idea ,try get these teams to standard it l take 2 r3 years of o e of them to catch a team on the hop

Timmy86 (Sligo) - Posts: 370 - 29/05/2026 20:38:27    2676494

Replying To Tadhg2020:  "Is this your thread?
There isnt a lot of discussion on the limerick thread atm but you know that. I get it, you dont want to hear it. No problem."
Would love to hear solutions if you have any Tadhg, we all know the problems at this stage ;-)

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 19881 - 29/05/2026 21:49:35    2676505

Replying To Tadhg2020:  "Ok, i get it. You are in denial.

For the record, I was one of the limerick fans in Wexford Park that day. There was torrential rain throughout most of the game. I had to buy clothes after the game because I was so wet. There were a lot more than 50 of us there. Many left or didnt go in at all but there were a decent amount of us in the bars. I remember the Rossies were playing there the same day and there were a good few of them around too. I met a few neighbours in that big pub by the water. It was full of Limerick and Rossies."
Denial? Of what now?
I think refusing to admit that 15k between Limerick, Cork, Clare and Wexford is a paltry crowd for a match with a place in the All-Ireland Quarter Final stake is somebody in denial.
GAA fans in every county is a big bandwagon. Nothing wrong with it by the way, I wouldn't want 20k at an All-Ireland semi final.
But you and others are always belittling the attendances in Leinster so its always interesting how defensive you get when it's pointed out to you that its less than a decade ago since it was no different when you were in a similar place to Wexford at the moment.

StoreysTash (Wexford) - Posts: 2083 - 30/05/2026 07:00:51    2676528

Replying To StoreysTash:  "Denial? Of what now?
I think refusing to admit that 15k between Limerick, Cork, Clare and Wexford is a paltry crowd for a match with a place in the All-Ireland Quarter Final stake is somebody in denial.
GAA fans in every county is a big bandwagon. Nothing wrong with it by the way, I wouldn't want 20k at an All-Ireland semi final.
But you and others are always belittling the attendances in Leinster so its always interesting how defensive you get when it's pointed out to you that its less than a decade ago since it was no different when you were in a similar place to Wexford at the moment."
Im getting blamed for this but....
I will leave it alone.

Tadhg2020 (Limerick) - Posts: 513 - 30/05/2026 13:29:03    2676569

Replying To Viking66:  "Would love to hear solutions if you have any Tadhg, we all know the problems at this stage ;-)"
I dont to be honest. I dont live there or know many from Wexford that are actually involved in a club. Only 1 person if im honest but he would be very dedicated and have a good knowledge of the county hurling wise.
I do know a bit about developing young lads and my own lad and daughter went through the academy systems. I dont think you can fix/ improve the academy system without a functioning competent Senior team. Young lads are motivated to emulate and exceed the accomplishments of the current stars. They are attracted by the crowds and atmosphere of a highly functional high performing Senior team. Its a package deal. They are motivated to be as good as or better than what went before that and a significant part of that is the limelight. The crowd and media generate that.
We are lucky in Limerick and Munster that we have that. All young lads into hurling and good enough want that experience. Thats what the Munster Round Robin brings. We have professional rugby, soccer, basketball etc too but the Munster championship is a big draw. We have many concerns in Limerick about our current academy system or how its performing at least but the draw to hurling at the top level remains strong and that, imo, is down in a large part to the crowds and exposure associated with it.
I think wexford, in particular because you have/had the crowd, need to do everything that can be done to turn Wexford Park into a fortress. I know there is the geography issue etc but it takes 18k and there should be no reason why there cant be 10k plus Wexicans at every home championship games. It would obviously help if all the best players made themselves available for selection but the two support each other imo. Wexford seem to have lost their way on both sides of that coin. Is that an easy fix? In theory it should be but who knows. I do know this though, its an easier and quicker fix than developing new players through the academy. Of course that has to happen too.
The above is what Clare have done and Waterford are trying to replicate. Ennis is a very hostile venue. They dont always win but the crowd always play their part. Even this season you could feel the anger on the terraces. The team gave them nothing( in Limerick game) but they were chomping at the bit to be involved. You have to be in the ground there at least an hour before throw in to get a spot between the 2 45s on that sideline terrace. They push you to the corners and its very deliberate.
I hope that what happened in Wexford this season, on and off the pitch, isnt acceptable to the Wexford public. I really do. It should never be acceptable not to get out of the group. Im very confident that its not being accepted in Kilkenny.

Tadhg2020 (Limerick) - Posts: 513 - 30/05/2026 14:24:24    2676576

Replying To Tadhg2020:  "Im getting blamed for this but....
I will leave it alone."
No answer. Fair enough. We both know.

StoreysTash (Wexford) - Posts: 2083 - 30/05/2026 14:55:46    2676585

Replying To StoreysTash:  "No answer. Fair enough. We both know."
Jaysus, im getting the blame for this but you just never let up.

15k for the quarter finals when again? 10 years ago or so and pre round robin. Yes 15k is a poor attendance and no I dont recall it or why it was so low. It wasn't a munster championship match though. You do realise that?

All ireland qualifiers/ hurling qtrs are poorly supported in general. Roscommon won the Connacht final 3 weeks or so ago in front of a full house. They celebrated it big time and rightly so. Last sunday they played Tyrone at home in the qualifiers( or whatever they are called now) and only 16k showed up. Decent crowd but a significant fall off in a couple of weeks. Go figure.

Im not sure what any of this has to do with Wexford support issues though. None of what you post changes that.

Tadhg2020 (Limerick) - Posts: 513 - 30/05/2026 15:19:40    2676589

Replying To Tadhg2020:  "Jaysus, im getting the blame for this but you just never let up.

15k for the quarter finals when again? 10 years ago or so and pre round robin. Yes 15k is a poor attendance and no I dont recall it or why it was so low. It wasn't a munster championship match though. You do realise that?

All ireland qualifiers/ hurling qtrs are poorly supported in general. Roscommon won the Connacht final 3 weeks or so ago in front of a full house. They celebrated it big time and rightly so. Last sunday they played Tyrone at home in the qualifiers( or whatever they are called now) and only 16k showed up. Decent crowd but a significant fall off in a couple of weeks. Go figure.

Im not sure what any of this has to do with Wexford support issues though. None of what you post changes that."
Similar Ros crowd with days I'd say, just not as many Tyrones as Galways.

Seanfan (Roscommon) - Posts: 602 - 30/05/2026 16:17:23    2676608

Replying To Seanfan:  "Similar Ros crowd with days I'd say, just not as many Tyrones as Galways."
Yea fair enough. Roscommon may have sold it out on their own for Connacht final and winning didnt get those out that couldn't get ticket for that is the point im trying to make.
People are interested and will spend their money on the provincials. That doesnt always transfer to the qualifiers and it doesnt, for some reason, translate to the hurling quarter finals. Its like the forgotten round. I dont know why that is but its a thing. Even last year we brought a much smaller crowd to CP snd, in my opinion, it cost us. Our support just wasn't there to pick the team up when they were up against it. As I said in a previous post both are two sides of the one coin. One feeds off the other.

Tadhg2020 (Limerick) - Posts: 513 - 30/05/2026 16:45:28    2676611

Replying To Tadhg2020:  "Jaysus, im getting the blame for this but you just never let up.

Im not sure what any of this has to do with Wexford support issues though. None of what you post changes that."
You are the person who was lecturing Wexford people like Pikeman, Viking, etc above about bad Wexford support. That's why I pointed out to you.
Wexford support is no better or worse than Limerick / Cork / Clare / whoever. It's easy to support any team during the good times. During the bad times, 4 counties bring 15k to a match.
Its the same bandwagon in every county.

StoreysTash (Wexford) - Posts: 2083 - 30/05/2026 17:10:37    2676614

Replying To StoreysTash:  "You are the person who was lecturing Wexford people like Pikeman, Viking, etc above about bad Wexford support. That's why I pointed out to you.
Wexford support is no better or worse than Limerick / Cork / Clare / whoever. It's easy to support any team during the good times. During the bad times, 4 counties bring 15k to a match.
Its the same bandwagon in every county."
I didnt lecture anybody.
I made a comment on this thread. The end of that comment stated that the current hurling structure is based on a pyramid system , albeit a not perfect one, and people came st me over the munster championship.
I stated my position, one that I have stated every time this comes up on many different threads, that the Munster Championship is the best supported competition in iteland and averages 27k per game in the round robin.
Then people came at me, mainly wexicans, going back into historic attendances in an attempt, I presume, to discredit my claim. I highlighted the attendance at Wexfords most recent championship game and basically said people in glasshouses shouldn't throw stones and wexicans have let up since. Yes I've responded but that's all I have done since.

Tadhg2020 (Limerick) - Posts: 513 - 30/05/2026 17:26:14    2676615

Replying To StoreysTash:  "You are the person who was lecturing Wexford people like Pikeman, Viking, etc above about bad Wexford support. That's why I pointed out to you.
Its the same bandwagon in every county."
And you do realise that 20k( for MSHC) is 5 times 4k. Thats without the bandwagoners. But that's beside the point.

Tadhg2020 (Limerick) - Posts: 513 - 30/05/2026 17:28:05    2676616

Replying To Tadhg2020:  "I didnt lecture anybody.
I made a comment on this thread. The end of that comment stated that the current hurling structure is based on a pyramid system , albeit a not perfect one, and people came st me over the munster championship.
I stated my position, one that I have stated every time this comes up on many different threads, that the Munster Championship is the best supported competition in iteland and averages 27k per game in the round robin.
Then people came at me, mainly wexicans, going back into historic attendances in an attempt, I presume, to discredit my claim. I highlighted the attendance at Wexfords most recent championship game and basically said people in glasshouses shouldn't throw stones and wexicans have let up since. Yes I've responded but that's all I have done since."
Your claim deserves discrediting. Because you are wrong. The current hurling structure in Ireland isnt a pyramid one, as essentially 5 counties are outside it.
As regards attendances, any times we had teams capable of winning AIs we had at least as good support as most Munster counties. Or better than some.
You are partially right in that currently Munster counties' attendances are way higher than ourselves. But we already know that information, its common knowledge and hardly worth us giving you a pat on the back for sharing.

"Good man Tadhg2020".

There, do you feel better now?

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 19881 - 31/05/2026 09:25:26    2676692

Two Group Leinster SHC:

1. Dublin

2 (or 1a) Everyone else :-)

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 4350 - 31/05/2026 10:24:09    2676696

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "Two Group Leinster SHC:

1. Dublin

2 (or 1a) Everyone else :-)"
Split Dublin hurling in 2! /s

ColmFlaherty (Galway) - Posts: 63 - 31/05/2026 12:08:05    2676714

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "Two Group Leinster SHC:

1. Dublin

2 (or 1a) Everyone else :-)"
;-)

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 19881 - 31/05/2026 12:55:48    2676729

Replying To Viking66:  "Your claim deserves discrediting. Because you are wrong. The current hurling structure in Ireland isnt a pyramid one, as essentially 5 counties are outside it.
As regards attendances, any times we had teams capable of winning AIs we had at least as good support as most Munster counties. Or better than some.
You are partially right in that currently Munster counties' attendances are way higher than ourselves. But we already know that information, its common knowledge and hardly worth us giving you a pat on the back for sharing.

"Good man Tadhg2020".

There, do you feel better now?"
Here we go again.....

I feel great.

Tadhg2020 (Limerick) - Posts: 513 - 31/05/2026 13:57:02    2676739