All Ireland Football Championship 2025

Replying To brayballer:  "There is a very sneaky side to Donegal. Remember one of Jimmy mcGuinness s best friends was caught up a tree with a camcorder spying on the Kerry team in Tralee before an All Ireland final. Now this was done against the Dubs in 1992 aswell. Brian MC Eniff admitted in a recording I watched last night that that Donegal had an ex Sgt spying on the Dublin team in 1992 . Can they not just go about their business like most counties. There are reasons Donegal are not liked."
Some Donegal gireseach definitely lead you up the garden path once upon a time lad. Dhia sábháil....

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9923 - 25/07/2025 12:04:16    2627880

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Some Donegal gireseach definitely lead you up the garden path once upon a time lad. Dhia sábháil...."
I am only giving the facts. Thats twice Donegal had people spying on other teams.Donegal giving out about the distance to Hyde park and Donegal objecting to Dubs playing in Croke park during super 8s. Now have I printed one lie? Them are the facts.

brayballer (Wicklow) - Posts: 255 - 25/07/2025 12:18:47    2627884

I dunno if what's more annoying, the trolls or the Donegal ones responding to them relentlessly

we've a few other things to be talking about at this stage surely

hope everyone travels safe over the weekend, looking forward to meeting Kerry people tomorrow and Sunday, I've some fond memories of 2014 even if the match itself didn't go how we wanted, had great craic with Kerry ones that time.

on the game itself I am worried about Kerry's attack, they are more than capable of having scores from all over the pitch no more than ourselves but the focus is all on Clifford obviously. I can see Paul Geaney or Killian Spillane or someone having a day with 6 or 7 points which could be a sickener for us.

I walked away from the Meath match thinking that we will perform on the day, my mind hasn't changed on that, I think they will do themselves justice in terms of performance and hopefully that will be good enough to beat this Kerry side

CCFabu (Donegal) - Posts: 252 - 25/07/2025 12:21:02    2627885

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Some Donegal gireseach definitely lead you up the garden path once upon a time lad. Dhia sábháil...."
He is definitely an outlier when it comes to Dublin supporters.I always found them to be the best going and very sporting win or lose.

gunman (Donegal) - Posts: 1183 - 25/07/2025 12:36:39    2627889

Replying To brayballer:  "There is a very sneaky side to Donegal. Remember one of Jimmy mcGuinness s best friends was caught up a tree with a camcorder spying on the Kerry team in Tralee before an All Ireland final. Now this was done against the Dubs in 1992 aswell. Brian MC Eniff admitted in a recording I watched last night that that Donegal had an ex Sgt spying on the Dublin team in 1992 . Can they not just go about their business like most counties. There are reasons Donegal are not liked."
Mr Wicklow man you are very busy this morning going around the Forums. You must have a very boring life?

Scenicparish (Donegal) - Posts: 716 - 25/07/2025 12:38:34    2627891

The RTE GAA Podcast pundits went 2-1 to the north west. So that's where we are. Donegal have been installed as favourites. Just because certain pundits don't feel Kerry will win, that doesn't mean that they are being disrespectful towards Kerry. Pundits are only giving an opinion. Sometimes they are right and sometimes they wrong.
The amount of fires that need to be put out to try and stop Donegal is off the charts. Donegal's statement win over Meath emphasised that. That's the reality of the challenge facing Kerry.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 9040 - 25/07/2025 12:40:27    2627893

Replying To legendzxix:  "The RTE GAA Podcast pundits went 2-1 to the north west. So that's where we are. Donegal have been installed as favourites. Just because certain pundits don't feel Kerry will win, that doesn't mean that they are being disrespectful towards Kerry. Pundits are only giving an opinion. Sometimes they are right and sometimes they wrong.
The amount of fires that need to be put out to try and stop Donegal is off the charts. Donegal's statement win over Meath emphasised that. That's the reality of the challenge facing Kerry."
You are relentless in trying to make Donegal favourites. Are there no bookies in Kerry?

Scenicparish (Donegal) - Posts: 716 - 25/07/2025 12:56:04    2627899

Replying To brayballer:  "I am only giving the facts. Thats twice Donegal had people spying on other teams.Donegal giving out about the distance to Hyde park and Donegal objecting to Dubs playing in Croke park during super 8s. Now have I printed one lie? Them are the facts."
You've just spent you're morning posting the same useless point on two separate threads.

How sad is that?

peiledoir20 (Donegal) - Posts: 1289 - 25/07/2025 12:57:50    2627901

Replying To Northsidegaels:  "Donegal to win between 6-8 points. This game is quite straightforward. Kerry might have 3 great forwards but 3 won't be enough against Donegals 8 or 9 scoring threats. Can't believe how many are tipping Kerry"
Kerry are favorites for a good reason, outstanding players all over the pitch, recent experience in both winning and losing All Ireland finals in the last few seasons and players that can adapt to any tactical formation. They have the fitness, intensity, pace and physicality to match Donegal, plus they can transition the ball faster with long kick passing game. Jack O'Connor is no slouch tactically and despite the hysteria around Clifford and O'Shea, they have a team laced with quality players, and Joe O'Connor is one to watch in this game, following his performances in QF and SF, strong man.

Donegal are hugely impressive with their running attacks if they win kick-outs or force turnovers and attack before the opposition can get defensively set. they have got better game by game recently, and seem to have a better attacking game plan than most others. They also have outstanding players in different positions, injuries around the middle seem to be clearing up with McGee and McGonigle back, although they arent fit enough to play 70 minutes. Ciaran Thompson could be the stand out player in this game, he is long due a big game and none bigger than this.

Hard game to call, limiting goals and limit 2 pointers will be key.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3031 - 25/07/2025 13:02:26    2627903

Replying To Scenicparish:  "You are relentless in trying to make Donegal favourites. Are there no bookies in Kerry?"
Be it Tullamore or Croke Park. It is important to be aware of the challenge. Having the solutions or not is a different matter.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 9040 - 25/07/2025 13:21:46    2627911

Replying To legendzxix:  "The RTE GAA Podcast pundits went 2-1 to the north west. So that's where we are. Donegal have been installed as favourites. Just because certain pundits don't feel Kerry will win, that doesn't mean that they are being disrespectful towards Kerry. Pundits are only giving an opinion. Sometimes they are right and sometimes they wrong.
The amount of fires that need to be put out to try and stop Donegal is off the charts. Donegal's statement win over Meath emphasised that. That's the reality of the challenge facing Kerry."
Kerry will stop Donegal's running game at source, Its only effective if Donegal win a kickout in the middle or force a turnover and catch the opposition not set. I think Kerry will look at the Ulster final and take learnings from that game on how best to limit it. Also I think Kerry have the physicality and intensity to match Donegal around the middle, so it could be a difficult game in that regard.

Donegal can push up too much, as if they get turned over, Kerry can transition with kick passing at lighting pace to the inside forwards. So Donegal will need to be mindful of this also, they likely won't commit as many players forward.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3031 - 25/07/2025 13:25:35    2627915

Replying To GaryMc82:  "Kerry will stop Donegal's running game at source, Its only effective if Donegal win a kickout in the middle or force a turnover and catch the opposition not set. I think Kerry will look at the Ulster final and take learnings from that game on how best to limit it. Also I think Kerry have the physicality and intensity to match Donegal around the middle, so it could be a difficult game in that regard.

Donegal can push up too much, as if they get turned over, Kerry can transition with kick passing at lighting pace to the inside forwards. So Donegal will need to be mindful of this also, they likely won't commit as many players forward."
I agree with you on a lot of that. Kerry's physicality in their half back line and midfield was the difference against Tyrone. They gradually stifled Tyrone and even bullied them at times. They then had the platform to move the ball quickly into forwards who will do damage.
That battle is the winning and the losing of the game, in my opinion. All the talk of forwards is irrelevant if one team is losing badly further out the pitch.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2460 - 25/07/2025 14:06:39    2627924

Isn't it grand to have another final without having to worry about Dublin winning it.

May the best team win Sunday, I reckon it could be a classic

boxtyburgerbuns (Leitrim) - Posts: 493 - 25/07/2025 14:11:25    2627927

I don't think you know what it means to be favourites, it's based on bookies odds not on pundits opinions.
I'm starting to think it will be a draw and replay and another big money spinner for the GAA in 2 weeks time,
if it does go to a replay Kerry will be massive favs for that because the underdogs traditionally get one bite at the cherry the first day out.
On the bright side if you look at other stats and there's nothing that spins a story like stats, Kerry have lost 23 All Ireland finals, Donegal only ever lost one All Ireland Final !!

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 3383 - 25/07/2025 14:37:14    2627932

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "I don't think you know what it means to be favourites, it's based on bookies odds not on pundits opinions.
I'm starting to think it will be a draw and replay and another big money spinner for the GAA in 2 weeks time,
if it does go to a replay Kerry will be massive favs for that because the underdogs traditionally get one bite at the cherry the first day out.
On the bright side if you look at other stats and there's nothing that spins a story like stats, Kerry have lost 23 All Ireland finals, Donegal only ever lost one All Ireland Final !!"
If you go back a few pages, the reasons for the bookies odds being skewed has been mentioned.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 9040 - 25/07/2025 15:37:53    2627951

Replying To boxtyburgerbuns:  "Isn't it grand to have another final without having to worry about Dublin winning it.

May the best team win Sunday, I reckon it could be a classic"
Oh I definitely agree with this point!

trimmer (Meath) - Posts: 556 - 25/07/2025 16:01:46    2627960

Replying To GaryMc82:  "Kerry will stop Donegal's running game at source, Its only effective if Donegal win a kickout in the middle or force a turnover and catch the opposition not set. I think Kerry will look at the Ulster final and take learnings from that game on how best to limit it. Also I think Kerry have the physicality and intensity to match Donegal around the middle, so it could be a difficult game in that regard.

Donegal can push up too much, as if they get turned over, Kerry can transition with kick passing at lighting pace to the inside forwards. So Donegal will need to be mindful of this also, they likely won't commit as many players forward."
big dick and spillane going for kerry, depends on what podcast you look at it, so did tomas o se. we seem to have a few mystic megs on here too..... its a final that can go either way, so many variables as to waht could happen, re match ups, tactics, kick outs, different styles, will either side pull a rabbit out of the hat?

expecting that Donegal will give it a massive go, whether it will take us all the way remains to be seen

totalrecall (Leitrim) - Posts: 1128 - 25/07/2025 16:54:05    2627966

Well GaryMc82, I recognise the Username, and in fairness you are usually not too far off in your opinions.

Just on your opening line, "Kerry will stop Donegals running game at source!" I just wonder how they propose doing that, it's not that easy done by fair means, but entirely possible by foul. This is where I expect that the referees application of the rules will be tested. People I have spoken to say that Cawley is a good referee, and that he let's it flow. I just hope that if the tactic is to interrupt the flow that he will enforce the rules. There's not many as cute as Kerry when it comes to overstepping that line and getting away with it.

My initial opinion watching the semi final against Tyrone live on telly was that Kerry got away with a lot of slowing down the play, little pulls and tugs of the arm etc. I thought Joe McQuillan had a poor day in that regard, and although he often had his arm up for advantage, when no advantage was gained he didn't go back and deal with the actual foul play.

I just hope that the same pattern isn't repeated on Sunday to slow down the Donegal running game.

SouthOfTheGap (Donegal) - Posts: 858 - 25/07/2025 17:59:24    2627969

Kerry will have a plan for the 2 elder statesmen

suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1761 - 25/07/2025 18:14:54    2627973

Replying To legendzxix:  "If you go back a few pages, the reasons for the bookies odds being skewed has been mentioned."
3 words for you..... Donegal For Sam.
Over on the hurling thread I went for Tipperary to win the All Ireland at the Semi Final stage and I said the same regarding Donegal at the Semi Final stage.
It will be the reverse of 2014 where Tipperary and Donegal lost the All Ireland Finals.....2025 Tipperary and Donegal All Ireland Champions, Sin é.

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2671 - 25/07/2025 19:27:56    2627982