Replying To Lockjaw: "Don't know why I'm bothering repsonding to a child but anyway. Here are some facts for you.
Kerry are the most successful county in terms of All Irelands won. They are favourites with the bookmakers They have the best player in the game
Does that automatically mean they will win? No.
But beneath the veneer of false self-deprecation, a lot of Kerry supporters will consider it their historical right almost to be swatting us aside on Sunday, and taking Sam back to their Kingdom again." Jimmy McGuinness and siege mentality? Nearly all pundits are waxing lyrical about Donegal. McGuinness was giving out about the match venue v Mayo. Kerry were sent all the way to Tullamore to take on Meath.
legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 9038 - 23/07/2025 11:40:30
Replying To S1234: "That's absolutely hilarious yerra talk from Donegal ones!
I think it's the other way around McGuiness and siege mentality..
Kerry 5 !" You wish, Mr Mayo
Scenicparish (Donegal) - Posts: 712 - 23/07/2025 12:02:14
Replying To legendzxix: "Donegal pulled up during the league. To answer your direct question: Cahair O'Kane and Conor McManus are saying that stopping Donegal requires putting out too many fires. Donegal delivered a statement win against Meath." So 2 pundits are 'a lot of the punditry' and they were disrespectful to Kerry management and players by giving their opinions. You seem over-sensitive and can only read and hear what you want to read or hear.
GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 8184 - 23/07/2025 12:03:08
Replying To legendzxix: "He was raging. He was also saying that Meath are a good team. I agreed and thought the same. Meath had beaten Galway. Donegal then blew Meath out of the water! It was a statement win. Donegal are absolute favourites. There can be no qualms about that. The popular punditry is that stopping Donegal requires putting out too many fires." Ah would you give it a rest. Meath couldn't beat a poor Louth team in Leinster. Both semi final wins were easy and won't have any bearing on Sunday. Kerry are slight favourites. End of story
Scenicparish (Donegal) - Posts: 712 - 23/07/2025 12:07:45
Replying To GreenandRed: "So 2 pundits are 'a lot of the punditry' and they were disrespectful to Kerry management and players by giving their opinions. You seem over-sensitive and can only read and hear what you want to read or hear." I don't think there can be any qualms about everyone waxing lyrical about Donegal. Any pundits dismissing Donegal pulling up during the league or dismissing Donegal's emphatic statement win over Meath aren't worth listening to. Donegal delivered a statement win. Some of the cynical commentary around Kerry however and ignoring that Kerry were sent all the way to Tullamore to take on Meath is bang out of order. The Kerry management and players are being completely disrespected.
legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 9038 - 23/07/2025 12:46:22
first all ireland i remember where most neutrals are supporting kerry, usually may happen if kerry played dublin like 2019 or 2023, this is first one where kerry are playing a county outside of dublin where the neutral is up for kerry
dickie10 (UK) - Posts: 865 - 23/07/2025 14:15:09
Replying To dickie10: "first all ireland i remember where most neutrals are supporting kerry, usually may happen if kerry played dublin like 2019 or 2023, this is first one where kerry are playing a county outside of dublin where the neutral is up for kerry" Jope kerry win but big ask vs donegal
Gaaforlife2023 (Longford) - Posts: 810 - 23/07/2025 14:31:13
Bbc social as expected all went for donegal no surprise oisin mc conville the same
Gaaforlife2023 (Longford) - Posts: 810 - 23/07/2025 14:38:11
Replying To legendzxix: "I don't think there can be any qualms about everyone waxing lyrical about Donegal. Any pundits dismissing Donegal pulling up during the league or dismissing Donegal's emphatic statement win over Meath aren't worth listening to. Donegal delivered a statement win. Some of the cynical commentary around Kerry however and ignoring that Kerry were sent all the way to Tullamore to take on Meath is bang out of order. The Kerry management and players are being completely disrespected." Yawn Yawn
Scenicparish (Donegal) - Posts: 712 - 23/07/2025 14:50:41
Replying To S1234: "That's absolutely hilarious yerra talk from Donegal ones!
I think it's the other way around McGuiness and siege mentality..
Kerry 5 !" Nobody cares what you think, you alleged Mayo threw a game last week. You're an embarrassment to decent Mayo Gaels. Stop also posting as JimB1991 from Donegal, you've nothing to do with Tir Conaill. I note you continue to spell our managers name incorrectly. You also do this on other forums under another pseudonym. Go away.
Ulsterchamps72 (Donegal) - Posts: 169 - 23/07/2025 14:55:59
Replying To WanPintWin: "The bookies have plenty qualms about it, as they don't have Donegal as absolute favourites at all. In fact they have Kerry as slight favourites. The winning of the game will be out the pitch, not how Donegal handle Clifford. If Kerry win the majority of hall out the pitch and turn Donegal over regularly, then they'll be beaten. It's irrelevant what they do with Clifford in that case. He'll do what he does regardless. However, if Donegal can dominate around the middle and make sure they don't get turned over and hit on the break, they have a great chance. The key to Kerry's semi-final win wasn't Clifford. It was the pressure and physicality they applied out the pitch. They squeezed Tyrone and won the ball back regularly. Then moved it quickly to forwards who had plenty space." The bookies have no emotion, the stats and money put on Kerry indicates they are favourites. They also have lads with the medals and All Ireland final experience. But, we have a chance in a two horse race.
Ulsterchamps72 (Donegal) - Posts: 169 - 23/07/2025 15:05:31
Replying To legendzxix: "I don't think there can be any qualms about everyone waxing lyrical about Donegal. Any pundits dismissing Donegal pulling up during the league or dismissing Donegal's emphatic statement win over Meath aren't worth listening to. Donegal delivered a statement win. Some of the cynical commentary around Kerry however and ignoring that Kerry were sent all the way to Tullamore to take on Meath is bang out of order. The Kerry management and players are being completely disrespected." Qualms or no qualms, the bookies have Kerry as slight favourites. A big Qualm Sunday coming up for both counties. The qualm before the storm.
WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2459 - 23/07/2025 15:15:15
Have to say it's very unbecoming of "fans" from other counties coming on here stirring. Why would neutrals side with Kerry after all they have won previously? In almost any other sport, neutrals would favour the outsider coming in, to hopefully win only their third ever Championship against the game's aristocrats.
Good old Irish begrudgery I suppose. A man has stood up and brought his county unprecedented success. Twice. Easier to be a snivelling idiot posting nonsense online that putting your money where your mouth is I suppose.
So what if McGuinness has tapped into siege mentality when it comes to Donegal and our chances? It was ever thus. My own father required a scan recently for a medical issue. No bother at all - except for the fact that it was in Mullingar. People's houses crumbling down around them up here and they've had to fight and scrap for the last decade to get any sort of traction when it comes to redress. A thundering disgrace.
McGuinness has cleverly tapped into that, and we have a team now that is representing us brilliantly with their honesty and ability. It may or may not be enough to beat a great Kerry team. But by God we won't die wondering unlike some posters from other counties here.
Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9923 - 23/07/2025 15:49:54
Replying To Scenicparish: "Ah would you give it a rest. Meath couldn't beat a poor Louth team in Leinster. Both semi final wins were easy and won't have any bearing on Sunday. Kerry are slight favourites. End of story" meath beat Kerry easily.You are as bad as the other fella
brayballer (Wicklow) - Posts: 255 - 23/07/2025 17:08:52
Replying To brayballer: "meath beat Kerry easily.You are as bad as the other fella" Kerry had half a team that day with injuries
Scenicparish (Donegal) - Posts: 712 - 23/07/2025 17:17:16
Replying To Lockjaw: "Have to say it's very unbecoming of "fans" from other counties coming on here stirring. Why would neutrals side with Kerry after all they have won previously? In almost any other sport, neutrals would favour the outsider coming in, to hopefully win only their third ever Championship against the game's aristocrats.
Good old Irish begrudgery I suppose. A man has stood up and brought his county unprecedented success. Twice. Easier to be a snivelling idiot posting nonsense online that putting your money where your mouth is I suppose.
So what if McGuinness has tapped into siege mentality when it comes to Donegal and our chances? It was ever thus. My own father required a scan recently for a medical issue. No bother at all - except for the fact that it was in Mullingar. People's houses crumbling down around them up here and they've had to fight and scrap for the last decade to get any sort of traction when it comes to redress. A thundering disgrace.
McGuinness has cleverly tapped into that, and we have a team now that is representing us brilliantly with their honesty and ability. It may or may not be enough to beat a great Kerry team. But by God we won't die wondering unlike some posters from other counties here." Hope your Da is ok Lockjaw and I mean that but people are entitled to cheer for who they want. Im from Dublin and mostly everyone is against us. I dont like Donegal because of their fans going back to 1992. Instead of just enjoying the win they tried to rub our noses in it. Same in 2014 semi. Pure arrogance. Also there s always a problem or whinge from Donegal.IF the journey is nt too long lets complain about the Dubs playing in croke park too much. I have met good and bad fans over the years but as rule I have nt met too many down to earth Donegal fans,You seem to think you are special up there and deserve to win ,Sure your secetary was even saying you are all special. I wont lose any sleep who wins but I can hope for any team i like. Would Donegal shout for Dublin? this is life.
brayballer (Wicklow) - Posts: 255 - 23/07/2025 17:18:46
Replying To dickie10: "first all ireland i remember where most neutrals are supporting kerry, usually may happen if kerry played dublin like 2019 or 2023, this is first one where kerry are playing a county outside of dublin where the neutral is up for kerry" why is that? Kerry have 30 plus All Irelands and Donegal have two. Its obvious many dont like Donegals sense of entitlement and their adoration of jimmy mcguinness. I hate losing to Kerry myself but they not in your face about it.when they win or lose they shake your hand. When Donegal win its in your face and when they lose the run quick
brayballer (Wicklow) - Posts: 255 - 23/07/2025 17:28:36
Replying To Lockjaw: "Have to say it's very unbecoming of "fans" from other counties coming on here stirring. Why would neutrals side with Kerry after all they have won previously? In almost any other sport, neutrals would favour the outsider coming in, to hopefully win only their third ever Championship against the game's aristocrats.
McGuinness has cleverly tapped into that, and we have a team now that is representing us brilliantly with their honesty and ability. It may or may not be enough to beat a great Kerry team. But by God we won't die wondering unlike some posters from other counties here." I hope ye win Lockjaw and that's nothing against Kerry but for me it's 38 v 2 All Irelands titles. Kerry have won plenty and will do again in the future. It's only Donegals fourth ever final appearance so of course I'll be cheering ye on.
Donegal winning with Michael Murphy coming out of retirement would be one of the great GAA stories.
yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11705 - 23/07/2025 17:55:00
Replying To brayballer: "why is that? Kerry have 30 plus All Irelands and Donegal have two. Its obvious many dont like Donegals sense of entitlement and their adoration of jimmy mcguinness. I hate losing to Kerry myself but they not in your face about it.when they win or lose they shake your hand. When Donegal win its in your face and when they lose the run quick" Yeah yeah. Let's not forget that pre Gilroy Dublin were the most insufferable team in the country with fans to match. Easy to be magnanimous when youre hoovering up every title going.
So when we took yez down a peg in 2014 a wee bit of schadenfreude was to be expected.
Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9923 - 23/07/2025 19:13:28
Lest there be any doubt. Just because certain pundits don't feel Kerry will win, that doesn't mean that they are being disrespectful towards Kerry. Pundits are only giving an opinion. Sometimes they are right and sometimes they wrong. There is certain commentary however that is bang out of order. When Donegal were aggrieved about the match venue v Mayo, a blind eye was turned on Kerry having to travel all the way to Tullamore to take on Meath.
legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 9038 - 23/07/2025 20:20:09