Wexford Hurling 2025

Replying To StoreysTash:  "For me the final insult for the weekend was The Sunday Game coverage. 10 minutes of a match in Munster which was over before a ball was hit and yet more analysis. The usual round up treatment for Leinster Championship and the patronising pro-Munster jargon from the wan presenting it. Absolute rubbish. Its as if they had the 10 minute slot planned and nothing was changing their mind to say "this match was over after 5 minutes, show another match".
Everybody has seen that match and the Waterford Clare matches and heard enough. Show us and analyse some matches we did not see earlier this year.
Only I got GAA+ as a present I would cancel my subscription.
Mark Fanning did not kick up enough of a stink about the non-goal. Imagine if Davy was in the goal and that decision made. He would not have pucked out the ball until the referee and the umpires consulted and Fanning should have done the same. It was weak by the referee and weak by the umpires as well. They are all mic'd up and no reason they can't come to the correct decision. Not good enough.
There was 10 minutes left and it was a momentum swing in Dublin favour. I'd imagine it gave the Dublin crowd a lift which got them over the line. At that stage of the game, a goal is vital.
Not good enough and could have decided Wexford's season. We've been rode by officials in recent years."
I agree with you on Fanning . As a county we seem way too soft in regards letting bad decisions be made against us both on and off the field. Its about time we stood up for ourselves as a county

Afinestick96 (Wexford) - Posts: 541 - 28/04/2025 12:52:57    2604982

Replying To StoreysTash:  "For me the final insult for the weekend was The Sunday Game coverage. 10 minutes of a match in Munster which was over before a ball was hit and yet more analysis. The usual round up treatment for Leinster Championship and the patronising pro-Munster jargon from the wan presenting it. Absolute rubbish. Its as if they had the 10 minute slot planned and nothing was changing their mind to say "this match was over after 5 minutes, show another match".
Everybody has seen that match and the Waterford Clare matches and heard enough. Show us and analyse some matches we did not see earlier this year.
Mark Fanning did not kick up enough of a stink about the non-goal. Imagine if Davy was in the goal and that decision made. He would not have pucked out the ball until the referee and the umpires consulted and Fanning should have done the same. It was weak by the referee and weak by the umpires as well. They are all mic'd up and no reason they can't come to the correct decision. Not good enough.
There was 10 minutes left and it was a momentum swing in Dublin favour. I'd imagine it gave the Dublin crowd a lift which got them over the line. At that stage of the game, a goal is vital.
Not good enough and could have decided Wexford's season. We've been rode by officials in recent years."
Yeah, have to agree with you in terms of the coverage. Very poor. Dublin / Wexford was the best game of the weekend with the most amount of talking points in comparison to the 2 fairly dull Munster championship games this weekend. Had the flick for the 3rd Dublin goal, or Lee Chin's no-hurl block happened in Munster they'd still be cleaning themselves up in the RTÉ studio! But not even mentioned in the 'analysis' last night.

Decision to allow the first Dublin goal was a very lucky break for us, thankfully we took advantage.

Wouldn't rule Wexford out against Galway or Kilkenny.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13795 - 28/04/2025 12:54:46    2604983

It was the very same in Nowlan park last year.

There are certainly elements of this we can control ourselves but a big part of why we weren't in last year's Leinster final and will likely miss this year's Leinster final is controversial decisions.

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 3531 - 28/04/2025 13:00:08    2604986

Replying To beano:  "Lads, are we too soft and accepting of decisions going against us?

We should have been surrounding the referee straight after the phantom goal, take a yellow from the sideline if needed. Maybe start a row too to re-settle. Instead, our heads seemed to drop and they rocked us with two more goals.

Even when Chin got hit with that elbow before half-time, lads should have piled in on the linesman, make them think about it more.

Let Dublin bully us too much again. The only time I can recall one of our lads sticking up for himself was when Lawlor upended a fella in the immediate aftermath of Chin's yellow when Hetherton started throwing his weight around.

Whatever about Davy, the likes of Lohan and Kiely are well able to give it socks when they feel aggrieved. We just nod and accept it, which means it will be forgotten about in no time."
Absolutely we are too soft. That's why this stuff keeps happening.

Having said that when I watched the game back all I could think was why Charlie attempted that suicide pass.

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 3531 - 28/04/2025 13:01:46    2604987

A positive to be taken from the Dublin game is we are scoring goals. As they say goals win matches.
Well we got 4 on Saturday but didn't win.
On another day if we bag a few goals it might be the winning of a game.
The goals were well taken too.
Cian Byrnes strike from a difficult angle.
Rory's close range batting shot.
Dunbar's hard drive past the helpless keeper.
Chin's brilliant free that beat 6 or 7 backs and placed it right in the corner.
If we can continue to find the net then we might do better than some pundits think.
Let's hope so.

Magpie2 (Wexford) - Posts: 435 - 28/04/2025 13:02:20    2604988

Replying To Magpie2:  "A positive to be taken from the Dublin game is we are scoring goals. As they say goals win matches.
Well we got 4 on Saturday but didn't win.
On another day if we bag a few goals it might be the winning of a game.
The goals were well taken too.
Cian Byrnes strike from a difficult angle.
Rory's close range batting shot.
Dunbar's hard drive past the helpless keeper.
Chin's brilliant free that beat 6 or 7 backs and placed it right in the corner.
If we can continue to find the net then we might do better than some pundits think.
Let's hope so."
2 well taken goals v Antrim too

WEXILE (Wexford) - Posts: 363 - 28/04/2025 13:16:50    2604990

Replying To Doylerwex:  "Absolutely we are too soft. That's why this stuff keeps happening.

Having said that when I watched the game back all I could think was why Charlie attempted that suicide pass."
If we surround the ref then there's a good chance someone will see red. But agree we are soft. I don't think it's as simple as getting around the ref. The county board surely highlighting the decision on Saturday plus the one v kilkenny last year although I don't know what good that'll do.

Did we even appeal Jack Os sending off? Ya can be sure Galway will be appealing the Burke red although he broke a hurl across.someone. Not a good.look? Was anyone else surprised how easy that hurl broke by the way? It looked like he got him on the head or shoulder but he must generated some.power as it didn't look like he gave him an awful belt.

Also did anyone see Rory O Connor lash out at being held on the goal line? Isn't that what Jack O was red carded for. Rory surely must know that if an umpire calls the ref over then its a red card. He didn't lash out hard or anything but he left it open to chance.

WEXILE (Wexford) - Posts: 363 - 28/04/2025 13:22:11    2604993

One thing that really is annoying me especially with Conor foley is that he is always coming out swinging with one hand. He has no control over the ball and is unbelievable awkward. I've been saying it since his debut and is very unreliable. I don't think he's a bad hurler but this needs to be knocked out of him. Ryan should have been brought on at ht hedgerton was causing problems all through the game.

All in all I taught Dublin were the better team but obviously the pen was a massive point of the game. People say Dublin still won by 4 but if that doesn't go in do wexford push for goals towards the end. If Wexford clear the ball do we go down and score do Dublin get the second Score.

Wexfordgaa (Wexford) - Posts: 360 - 28/04/2025 13:25:52    2604994

Was very disappointed with the coverage on Sunday game last night. It was the best game by far this weekend and got mashed up together in some double analysis with the Galway Offaly game. Seemed very rushed and a tad disrespectful tbh. It was a good game and had some talking points. Even Galway Offaly game was poor but still had more talking points than the Clare Waterford game with the red cards. Was very much an afterthought and just throw the two Leinster games into one. Especially after the two Munster games were on TV that day too.

Throughthemidfieldhewasstormin (Wexford) - Posts: 311 - 28/04/2025 13:28:56    2604997

Replying To Afinestick96:  "Has chose not to commit which is fair enough its his call the same as Paudie and Oisin Foley. No point in talking about players who aren't involved. Im sure other counties are missing a few players who are good enough to contribute too."
They sure are. Sure look who Dublin were missing on Saturday. Same as every county.

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 2267 - 28/04/2025 13:36:16    2605000

Listening to The Hurling POD on off the ball they said Darragh McCarthy will face a 2 game ban for striking another player. Does this mean Jacko is banned for the Galway game aswell?

Afinestick96 (Wexford) - Posts: 541 - 28/04/2025 14:13:50    2605022

Replying To beano:  "Lads, are we too soft and accepting of decisions going against us?

We should have been surrounding the referee straight after the phantom goal, take a yellow from the sideline if needed. Maybe start a row too to re-settle. Instead, our heads seemed to drop and they rocked us with two more goals.

Even when Chin got hit with that elbow before half-time, lads should have piled in on the linesman, make them think about it more.

Let Dublin bully us too much again. The only time I can recall one of our lads sticking up for himself was when Lawlor upended a fella in the immediate aftermath of Chin's yellow when Hetherton started throwing his weight around.

Whatever about Davy, the likes of Lohan and Kiely are well able to give it socks when they feel aggrieved. We just nod and accept it, which means it will be forgotten about in no time."
Definitely, Chin didn't even get a free! Right in front of Rossiter too. Can you imagine if Kelly was taken out in front of Lohan with an elbow like that? To be fair Fanning protested plenty but idiot of a ref had already overruled his umpires by then. Didn't go in and check with them or anything.

But we can't control incompetent referees. We were still far too indisciplined in the tackle, Foley, D Reck and Donohue gave away some awful lazy fouls that led to scored frees. We can control that and address it for Galway.

Timbertony (Wexford) - Posts: 386 - 28/04/2025 14:39:51    2605040

Replying To WEXILE:  "If we surround the ref then there's a good chance someone will see red. But agree we are soft. I don't think it's as simple as getting around the ref. The county board surely highlighting the decision on Saturday plus the one v kilkenny last year although I don't know what good that'll do.

Did we even appeal Jack Os sending off? Ya can be sure Galway will be appealing the Burke red although he broke a hurl across.someone. Not a good.look? Was anyone else surprised how easy that hurl broke by the way? It looked like he got him on the head or shoulder but he must generated some.power as it didn't look like he gave him an awful belt.

Also did anyone see Rory O Connor lash out at being held on the goal line? Isn't that what Jack O was red carded for. Rory surely must know that if an umpire calls the ref over then its a red card. He didn't lash out hard or anything but he left it open to chance."
Rory did nothing there. Dublin player tried to do him by diving. One of a number of players who did similar over the weekend. At least the pundits called it out this time.

Timbertony (Wexford) - Posts: 386 - 28/04/2025 14:41:28    2605042

Replying To Afinestick96:  "Listening to The Hurling POD on off the ball they said Darragh McCarthy will face a 2 game ban for striking another player. Does this mean Jacko is banned for the Galway game aswell?"
No think he only got 1 game ban. It depends on the circumstances.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 15506 - 28/04/2025 14:58:36    2605052

Replying To Throughthemidfieldhewasstormin:  "Was very disappointed with the coverage on Sunday game last night. It was the best game by far this weekend and got mashed up together in some double analysis with the Galway Offaly game. Seemed very rushed and a tad disrespectful tbh. It was a good game and had some talking points. Even Galway Offaly game was poor but still had more talking points than the Clare Waterford game with the red cards. Was very much an afterthought and just throw the two Leinster games into one. Especially after the two Munster games were on TV that day too."
But that's the new GAA, pile every game on at the same time and as a result focus is lost on individual games. And get it out of fhe way as quickly as possible.

Last weekend there was so many games I would have loved to even look at it but hey who cares about promotion any more.

tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1481 - 28/04/2025 15:03:23    2605055

Replying To Throughthemidfieldhewasstormin:  "Actually isn't that much better I checked, last 5 years it's 2 wins and 2 losses v Kilkenny for us, including loosing last year. Galway is 1 win, 1 draw and two losses, including a loss last year…so I wouldn't be counting on that for much now tbh. I think it's just for some reason every time we beat Kilkenny and Dublin beat Galway it's a huge shock, maybe 10 years ago it was but it shouldn't really be at this stage."
I was thinking since 2019 when we last won anything tbh. It's 3 wins 2 losses and a draw against the Cats, or over 70 minutes 3 wins 2 draws and a loss, but that sole loss was also on account of a terrible decision by the match officials, who gave a penalty for an offence that wasn't inches outside the large rectangle, it was yards.
Dublin have only lost once to Galway in that 6 year period. And won 3 times.
I won't be rushing down the bookies to back any result in the last round of Leinster games.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 15506 - 28/04/2025 15:08:55    2605062

Replying To Doylerwex:  "It was the very same in Nowlan park last year.

There are certainly elements of this we can control ourselves but a big part of why we weren't in last year's Leinster final and will likely miss this year's Leinster final is controversial decisions."
The reason we werent in last years leinster final was we didnt win enough matches cant keep blaming officials for bigger problems we have decisions swings in roundabouts.Missing frees bad discipline bad decisions on the line cost us more last year than anything else plus poor concentration at vital times.

Tiger1 (Wexford) - Posts: 330 - 28/04/2025 15:19:49    2605064

Replying To Viking66:  "No think he only got 1 game ban. It depends on the circumstances."
I hope its only 1 game we need him for Galway

Afinestick96 (Wexford) - Posts: 541 - 28/04/2025 15:27:00    2605066

Replying To Afinestick96:  "Listening to The Hurling POD on off the ball they said Darragh McCarthy will face a 2 game ban for striking another player. Does this mean Jacko is banned for the Galway game aswell?"
As Viking said above, it depends.

A straight red for striking with the hurl "with minimal force" brings a one-game ban.

Striking "with force or causing injury" brings a two-game ban.

So, depends what exactly he was cited for.

Pikeman96 (Wexford) - Posts: 2833 - 28/04/2025 15:41:33    2605077

Replying To Pikeman96:  "As Viking said above, it depends.

A straight red for striking with the hurl "with minimal force" brings a one-game ban.

Striking "with force or causing injury" brings a two-game ban.

So, depends what exactly he was cited for."
possibly be doubled as wasn't he already red carded this year in the league?

MyOhMi (Wexford) - Posts: 178 - 28/04/2025 15:52:52    2605082