Wexford Hurling 2025

Replying To FearBeag:  "Disappointing result but all is not lost, Parnell Park is always worth 4 or 5 points to Dublin and does not suit a team of Wexfords size. Problems were clear to see. Total chaos under the high ball in the full back line. Did we learn nothing from Westmeath two years ago and Dublin last year? It was blindingly obvious very early, fail to understand how it took until the damage was done to bring in Liam Ryan. On the flip side 4-19 was a great return and a returning Jacko will help in Salthill. Galway very beatable. Where would we be without Chin, he looks better than ever to me, if he stays fit we can still progress."
Im hoping a returning Jacko to start and Mac coming off the bench will give us a boost in Salthill. Liam Ryan must start also. Looks like they may be without Daithi Burke. Cathal Mannion is in brilliant form I think Shane Reck could be the man to curtail his influence akin the man marking role he did so well on Tony Kelly. If we can keep Mannion quiet and our main men Jippo, Damien Reck , Chin and ROC perform we have a great chance. I see it as a 50/50 game its now or never for this team we have to perform Saturday week.

Afinestick96 (Wexford) - Posts: 541 - 28/04/2025 10:57:49    2604913

Replying To Viking66:  "If we beat Galway the most points they can finish on is 6, and they won't have the head to head on us or Kilkenny. It's as knockout for them as it is for us."
*If* we were to beat them and they won out, they could still qualify though as they'd have the H2H on Dublin in that situation

I do still think though that they'll treat it like a knockout game (Much the same as us)

ElGranSenor (Wexford) - Posts: 457 - 28/04/2025 11:13:33    2604923

Replying To HurlingBuzz:  "Umpire went to raise the green flag then stops because he obviously sees the ball hasn't crossed the line . Ref calls the goal despite fanning being between him and the ball and more than likely obstructing his line of sight.. Why the referee didn't consult his umpire is a mystery and when he looks back at the incident he'll see he made a huge error"
Standard of hurling refereeing is very poor in my opinion. I know they want to promote younger referees but you simply can't overrule your umpires in that instance and get the decision wrong. The post match meal must have been some craic between the ref and his umpires! A demotion to Joe Mac it should result in for a couple of games. Give respect, get respect. I thought the elbow Crummey threw at Chin was filthy too and he missed that. Poor. Likes of Richie Hogan at half time completely glossed over it.

In saying all that, was it the main reason we lost? No, inter county players shouldnt be missing penos anyway, obviously incredibly harsh on Fanning who made a great save. Our defence couldn't handle the Dubs forwards when they ran at us or went direct at us. Missing Sutcliffe and Burke too. That's with giving the Dubs the puck out for most of the game. Another tactical error. I'm not sure what our plan is with the ball, free up Rory and Cian Byrne inside and withdraw the half forwards I guess but seems a bit muddled. We need better deliveries from our half back line to make that work. Foley is good at that from 5.

Timbertony (Wexford) - Posts: 386 - 28/04/2025 11:26:06    2604930

Replying To grassroots01:  "I agree with you WEX98 but you're point also highlights that it is as harder to be dropped out the of a county panel now than it is to get into it..... With development squads the whole way up to 20's it more about physical development and sadly our basics are being forgotten about. Our basics just are not good enough - catching, striking and first touch. Just because your a good athlete and have been in the county set up since you were under 14 or whatever and a good minor doesn't mean you're going to be good enough for senior inter county - the build up to the penalty clearly shows this . Good hurlers that are from outside of the bubble but are still relatively young never get a call up into training panels or squads where as lads that are average in club champ but have the reputation still are. Then we are surprised when these lads don't perform in championship...."
To be honest I think the county players stand out a mile at club level. The club championship is a very average standard with this silly non competitive format. What players have management failed to give a chance to that actually live in the country? The likes of Conal Flood were tried earlier in the season in the league but were simply miles off the required standard. There aren't any hard luck stories that I can see.

Timbertony (Wexford) - Posts: 386 - 28/04/2025 11:32:20    2604937

Replying To Magpie2:  "Rossi will have to make some hard calls for the Galway game. We will need to step up a gear or two for this game. Jippo and Jacko if fit will be automatic choices and I feel that Richie and Charlie might be the ones to lose out. Its horses for courses so I would suggest Jack Redmond would provide a physical presence. With Chin and Jacko we would then have three ball winners in our front six.
With Jippo steadying the ship at the back and conor Foley at 7 and Shane in the corner I believe would compete better than last Saturday
My team v Galway.
1 Fanning
2 E Ryan
3 L Ryan
4 S Reck
5 C Molloy
6 D Reck
7 C Foley
8 C Hearne
9 S Donohoe
10 Jack O'connor
11 Rory O'connor
12 K Foley
13 J Redmond
14 L Chin
15 C Byrne.
Subs S Roche, C McGuckin, N Murphy, Darren Codd, D Carley, C Dunbar, CBD, T Kinsella, R Lawlor, M Kelly and A Kennedy ( sub goalkeeper )"
Forgot about Mac. It's just so long since he's played.
So Mac to Start instead of Redmond.
Or Maybe Keith will bring him on for the 2nd half.
He will give us height and ariel ability which is badly needed.

Magpie2 (Wexford) - Posts: 435 - 28/04/2025 11:47:17    2604944

Replying To Afinestick96:  "Im hoping a returning Jacko to start and Mac coming off the bench will give us a boost in Salthill. Liam Ryan must start also. Looks like they may be without Daithi Burke. Cathal Mannion is in brilliant form I think Shane Reck could be the man to curtail his influence akin the man marking role he did so well on Tony Kelly. If we can keep Mannion quiet and our main men Jippo, Damien Reck , Chin and ROC perform we have a great chance. I see it as a 50/50 game its now or never for this team we have to perform Saturday week."
I see Galway had Whelan playing out the field against Antrim and was more effective than he was when at 14. So he may cause us problems if he's given any freedom. Super tight marking is the key against the tribesmen in 2 weeks time.

Magpie2 (Wexford) - Posts: 435 - 28/04/2025 11:57:57    2604947

Replying To Timbertony:  "To be honest I think the county players stand out a mile at club level. The club championship is a very average standard with this silly non competitive format. What players have management failed to give a chance to that actually live in the country? The likes of Conal Flood were tried earlier in the season in the league but were simply miles off the required standard. There aren't any hard luck stories that I can see."
I agree there are very few players in wexford that I feel are good enough to start for us in championship that arent currently involved bar maybe AJ Redmond

Afinestick96 (Wexford) - Posts: 541 - 28/04/2025 12:04:37    2604951

Replying To ElGranSenor:  "*If* we were to beat them and they won out, they could still qualify though as they'd have the H2H on Dublin in that situation

I do still think though that they'll treat it like a knockout game (Much the same as us)"
I think we are more likely to win out than Galway, after the next game. Galways recent record against Dublin is alot worse than ours against Kilkenny.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 15506 - 28/04/2025 12:06:04    2604952

Replying To Magpie2:  "I see Galway had Whelan playing out the field against Antrim and was more effective than he was when at 14. So he may cause us problems if he's given any freedom. Super tight marking is the key against the tribesmen in 2 weeks time."
Whelan will need watching too think Cian Molloy might be suited to him. Our match ups will be crucial. I would expect Conor Mac only to be fit enough to come off the bench ? He hasnt played since last year. Think Keith needs to start making subs earlier if someone isnt going well come early in the second half make the call to bring someone in off the bench. Liam Ryan should have been brought on much earlier in my opinion

Afinestick96 (Wexford) - Posts: 541 - 28/04/2025 12:08:36    2604954

Replying To Magpie2:  "Rossi will have to make some hard calls for the Galway game. We will need to step up a gear or two for this game. Jippo and Jacko if fit will be automatic choices and I feel that Richie and Charlie might be the ones to lose out. Its horses for courses so I would suggest Jack Redmond would provide a physical presence. With Chin and Jacko we would then have three ball winners in our front six.
With Jippo steadying the ship at the back and conor Foley at 7 and Shane in the corner I believe would compete better than last Saturday
My team v Galway.
1 Fanning
2 E Ryan
3 L Ryan
4 S Reck
5 C Molloy
6 D Reck
7 C Foley
8 C Hearne
9 S Donohoe
10 Jack O'connor
11 Rory O'connor
12 K Foley
13 J Redmond
14 L Chin
15 C Byrne.
Subs S Roche, C McGuckin, N Murphy, Darren Codd, D Carley, C Dunbar, CBD, T Kinsella, R Lawlor, M Kelly and A Kennedy ( sub goalkeeper )"
Id be happy with that team. Cant see Mac being ready to start. Liam Ryan has to start in Galway. Jacko and Jack Redmond add much needed physicality to our forward line.

Afinestick96 (Wexford) - Posts: 541 - 28/04/2025 12:10:39    2604956

Replying To grassroots01:  "I agree with you WEX98 but you're point also highlights that it is as harder to be dropped out the of a county panel now than it is to get into it..... With development squads the whole way up to 20's it more about physical development and sadly our basics are being forgotten about. Our basics just are not good enough - catching, striking and first touch. Just because your a good athlete and have been in the county set up since you were under 14 or whatever and a good minor doesn't mean you're going to be good enough for senior inter county - the build up to the penalty clearly shows this . Good hurlers that are from outside of the bubble but are still relatively young never get a call up into training panels or squads where as lads that are average in club champ but have the reputation still are. Then we are surprised when these lads don't perform in championship...."
Name some standout current club hurlers at any grade that never got the call? Think you will find any lads who are outstanding for their clubs are in our Senior panel, or don't want to be.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 15506 - 28/04/2025 12:17:31    2604960

Replying To Timbertony:  "Standard of hurling refereeing is very poor in my opinion. I know they want to promote younger referees but you simply can't overrule your umpires in that instance and get the decision wrong. The post match meal must have been some craic between the ref and his umpires! A demotion to Joe Mac it should result in for a couple of games. Give respect, get respect. I thought the elbow Crummey threw at Chin was filthy too and he missed that. Poor. Likes of Richie Hogan at half time completely glossed over it.

In saying all that, was it the main reason we lost? No, inter county players shouldnt be missing penos anyway, obviously incredibly harsh on Fanning who made a great save. Our defence couldn't handle the Dubs forwards when they ran at us or went direct at us. Missing Sutcliffe and Burke too. That's with giving the Dubs the puck out for most of the game. Another tactical error. I'm not sure what our plan is with the ball, free up Rory and Cian Byrne inside and withdraw the half forwards I guess but seems a bit muddled. We need better deliveries from our half back line to make that work. Foley is good at that from 5."
Lawlor would be either. Or Molloy. Charlie isn't.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 15506 - 28/04/2025 12:21:05    2604961

Replying To Afinestick96:  "I agree there are very few players in wexford that I feel are good enough to start for us in championship that arent currently involved bar maybe AJ Redmond"
Like everyone else who s good enough but isn't in its his choice.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 15506 - 28/04/2025 12:23:12    2604962

Replying To Afinestick96:  "I agree there are very few players in wexford that I feel are good enough to start for us in championship that arent currently involved bar maybe AJ Redmond"
What's the story with him anyway? Looked imperious on that 2019 minor panel, hit ling range frees too I remember.

Is he physically not there yet or just didn't commit for whatever reason.

WEXILE (Wexford) - Posts: 363 - 28/04/2025 12:28:39    2604968

Replying To WEXILE:  "What's the story with him anyway? Looked imperious on that 2019 minor panel, hit ling range frees too I remember.

Is he physically not there yet or just didn't commit for whatever reason."
Has chose not to commit which is fair enough its his call the same as Paudie and Oisin Foley. No point in talking about players who aren't involved. Im sure other counties are missing a few players who are good enough to contribute too.

Afinestick96 (Wexford) - Posts: 541 - 28/04/2025 12:31:47    2604971

Replying To Viking66:  "Name some standout current club hurlers at any grade that never got the call? Think you will find any lads who are outstanding for their clubs are in our Senior panel, or don't want to be."
Agree 100% viking.

Magpie2 (Wexford) - Posts: 435 - 28/04/2025 12:32:31    2604972

For me the final insult for the weekend was The Sunday Game coverage. 10 minutes of a match in Munster which was over before a ball was hit and yet more analysis. The usual round up treatment for Leinster Championship and the patronising pro-Munster jargon from the wan presenting it. Absolute rubbish. Its as if they had the 10 minute slot planned and nothing was changing their mind to say "this match was over after 5 minutes, show another match".
Everybody has seen that match and the Waterford Clare matches and heard enough. Show us and analyse some matches we did not see earlier this year.
Only I got GAA+ as a present I would cancel my subscription.
Mark Fanning did not kick up enough of a stink about the non-goal. Imagine if Davy was in the goal and that decision made. He would not have pucked out the ball until the referee and the umpires consulted and Fanning should have done the same. It was weak by the referee and weak by the umpires as well. They are all mic'd up and no reason they can't come to the correct decision. Not good enough.
There was 10 minutes left and it was a momentum swing in Dublin favour. I'd imagine it gave the Dublin crowd a lift which got them over the line. At that stage of the game, a goal is vital.
Not good enough and could have decided Wexford's season. We've been rode by officials in recent years.

StoreysTash (Wexford) - Posts: 1822 - 28/04/2025 12:36:39    2604973

Lads, are we too soft and accepting of decisions going against us?

We should have been surrounding the referee straight after the phantom goal, take a yellow from the sideline if needed. Maybe start a row too to re-settle. Instead, our heads seemed to drop and they rocked us with two more goals.

Even when Chin got hit with that elbow before half-time, lads should have piled in on the linesman, make them think about it more.

Let Dublin bully us too much again. The only time I can recall one of our lads sticking up for himself was when Lawlor upended a fella in the immediate aftermath of Chin's yellow when Hetherton started throwing his weight around.

Whatever about Davy, the likes of Lohan and Kiely are well able to give it socks when they feel aggrieved. We just nod and accept it, which means it will be forgotten about in no time.

beano (Wexford) - Posts: 1485 - 28/04/2025 12:43:24    2604976

Replying To Viking66:  "I think we are more likely to win out than Galway, after the next game. Galways recent record against Dublin is alot worse than ours against Kilkenny."
Actually isn't that much better I checked, last 5 years it's 2 wins and 2 losses v Kilkenny for us, including loosing last year. Galway is 1 win, 1 draw and two losses, including a loss last year…so I wouldn't be counting on that for much now tbh. I think it's just for some reason every time we beat Kilkenny and Dublin beat Galway it's a huge shock, maybe 10 years ago it was but it shouldn't really be at this stage.

Throughthemidfieldhewasstormin (Wexford) - Posts: 311 - 28/04/2025 12:49:35    2604978

My team v Galway.
1 Fanning
2 E Ryan
3 L Ryan
4 S Reck
5 C Molloy
6 D Reck
7 C Foley
8 C Hearne
9 S Donohoe
10 Jack O'connor
11 Rory O'connor
12 K Foley
13 J Redmond
14 L Chin
15 C Byrne.
Is jacko available for the Galway game. My understanding is if he was reported for striking it's a two match ban?

HurlingBuzz (Wexford) - Posts: 542 - 28/04/2025 12:51:11    2604981