All Ireland Football Final 2024 - Galway V Armagh

A P.S.N.I Officer in trouble for celebrating with fans in Armagh using a Police Vehicle, The Gardai do this in every village and town down here. A few years ago this Officer would have been shot if he drove down these same streets. This Officer should be promoted for a great PR job done, instead he will be fined or even sacked for his good deed.

jacktheboy (Donegal) - Posts: 436 - 29/07/2024 11:38:36    2562532

Ah here Bryson and co are caricatures at this stage. Laughable and predictable nonsense from them.

Well done to Armagh. They've had many a setback over these past few years but they stuck at it and got their reward.
It was a year for a dark horse to win it, and they took their chance so fair play to them. I would say there will be a bit of craic around the Orchard county in the coming days and weeks.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9449 - 29/07/2024 11:51:32    2562537

Big Congratulations to Kieran McGeeney and his management team.Maybe this will make supporters realise they have to be patient and realistic.
Kerry lost in extra time to the All Ireland champions same as in 21 and 22 and people saying Jack O Connor should go.
Dessie Farrell has won two All Irelands with Dublin and some saying he should go.
Paraic Joyce brought Galway to two finals and lost this year by a point and some saying he should go.
Kildare got rid of McGeeney and in Armagh last year they tried to get rid of McGeeney too.It did nt end up too bad.Congrats Kieran and your management team.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3840 - 29/07/2024 12:24:18    2562557

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Ah here Bryson and co are caricatures at this stage. Laughable and predictable nonsense from them.

Well done to Armagh. They've had many a setback over these past few years but they stuck at it and got their reward.
It was a year for a dark horse to win it, and they took their chance so fair play to them. I would say there will be a bit of craic around the Orchard county in the coming days and weeks."
The Championship is wide open again in my view

It's there for that Donegal setup next year

It's following Jim's Mc's previous success

Narrowly losing a semifinal only to change up a couple of small things to go again and succeed..

;)

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20681 - 29/07/2024 12:29:27    2562561

I thought the game played out along expected enough lines. The game in sligo was no classic and teams don't change their spots just because it's a final. The defences were on top and both teams got a bit of white line fever. Armagh scored one point after the goal and messed up plenty near the end and Galway shot selection and skill execution was poor.

Realistically you have to wonder how fit the likes of Walsh, finnerty, comer. Mcdaid are and wouldn't want to judge them too hard.

Armagh are the ultimate sum of their parts kind of team that just keep coming back from knock downs. Conaty had a difficult semi and then was motm yesterday. Turbett was almost the complete opposite. The responsibility of winning is shared by them all. Fair play to Armagh.

Ulsterchamps_32 (Donegal) - Posts: 772 - 29/07/2024 12:40:58    2562568

Well done Armagh. Mc Geeney and co deserve credit. Winning an All Ireland with a limited bunch of skilled players. They all work well for team and are hard to break down. Really well set up.

TheRock2121 (Donegal) - Posts: 1184 - 29/07/2024 13:13:18    2562587

Galway dunged the bed. Can't be slagging their neighbours mayo anymore.

LimerickForLiam24 (Limerick) - Posts: 127 - 29/07/2024 13:18:08    2562590

Congrats Armagh, I can only imagine the excitement up there. McGeeney and the players fully deserve this.
Enjoy.

suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1706 - 29/07/2024 13:22:35    2562595

Replying To TheRock2121:  "Well done Armagh. Mc Geeney and co deserve credit. Winning an All Ireland with a limited bunch of skilled players. They all work well for team and are hard to break down. Really well set up."
Armagh have talent but probably no more than any of the top 8 teams. You don't need highly skilled players in football for a good while now, you need really good athletes and a good brain. Saying that, some of the long range shooting especially for Armagh is a great skill.

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 999 - 29/07/2024 13:33:49    2562609

One big positive from this is mcgeeney got the last laugh over Joe brolly. He took years of abuse but ended up with the prize

Kew (Galway) - Posts: 81 - 29/07/2024 13:35:01    2562610

Replying To LimerickForLiam24:  "Galway dunged the bed. Can't be slagging their neighbours mayo anymore."
Limerick for Sam lol

maroondiesel (Mayo) - Posts: 1218 - 29/07/2024 13:41:27    2562613

Replying To LimerickForLiam24:  "Galway dunged the bed. Can't be slagging their neighbours mayo anymore."
You dubged every single prediction.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3840 - 29/07/2024 13:44:49    2562617

Replying To MachaireConnacht:  "Armagh have talent but probably no more than any of the top 8 teams. You don't need highly skilled players in football for a good while now, you need really good athletes and a good brain. Saying that, some of the long range shooting especially for Armagh is a great skill."
Last 3 long range boomers from O'Neill brothers and Grimley gave their team and supporters a huge lift , they were brave enough to take on very difficult shots . Some of their other scores came from getting the head down and breaking through tackles. Got turned over a good few times but regrouped and tried again.

Curlew66 (Roscommon) - Posts: 571 - 29/07/2024 13:47:25    2562619

Replying To Belclare7:  "Firstly your spelling is terrible.
Nobody in Ireland, media or any genuine GAA fan had Galway as strong favourites.
You seem to have a bone to pick on here for the last two weeks but now is the time to move on, concentrate on Donegal club football or wherever you are actually from!"
He's not from Donegal anyway. Donegal people are sporting people and have no axe to grind with Galway. He's a bitter yoke.

Crashingwaves (Galway) - Posts: 70 - 29/07/2024 13:51:22    2562622

Replying To jimbodub:  "The Championship is wide open again in my view

Narrowly losing a semifinal only to change up a couple of small things to go again and succeed..

;)"
We can but hope. I think we need to unearth another scoring forward.
That might be Conor O'Donnell who has been very unfortunate with injuries.
Or maybe we could tempt the great man back for one last throw of the dice!

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9449 - 29/07/2024 13:57:11    2562632

Congrats Armagh well done on a fully deserved win. Just watched it back now, painful an all as it was, and no doubt about it the better on the day won. While our forwards had their worst day out since the days of Mulholland, our backs did not do so well either in spite on conceding just 1-11. Armagh had much more ease in finding space for an effective shot than we did. Their backs got hands on our lads much more than vice versa. The goal being a perfect example and also their opening score.
The team seemed not to be mentally where they needed to be from the throw in. They seemed to lack confidence in their own abilities and played with fear of Armagh up to around the 70 minute mark. (Apart from Conroy, Maher, McHugh, Silke and Darcy. Hence the amount of awful to watch sideways football. Was surprised at Heaney being introduced when Finnerty had to go off. We will likely never know the full story re injuries but it is remarkable the misses and drop shorts from Shane, most especially considering the monster he did score. Any time he has been asked about it by reporters PJ referred to it as a muscle injury.
Was complacency a factor? Hard to know. The build-up was initially low key but really kicked off from Wednesday and took on something of a carnival atmosphere with the pics from the islands etc. doing the rounds. For a camp that in fairness operates total omerta everyone in north Galway knew that Kelly would not start. He looked miles away from the pace when introduced. Finally, I would have thought the player most unlucky to lose out was Daly, with his unique reading of the game and the ability to deliver an accurate kick pass against such an effective defence.
So what now. I hope PJ remains, his CV is very good. 3 Connacht's in a row, 2 All Ireland finals, losing by a point yesterday, and NFL final runner up position. He has brought through several new players, some who have been named on the team of the year. Galway are very close. Finnerty unlikely to feature in 2025 due to knee surgery and Galway are becoming a bit old as a team. It will be interesting to see how the players on our injury list fare in Club action in the coming weeks. For those calling for managerial change, who have you in mind as a replacement?

giveitlong (Galway) - Posts: 1255 - 29/07/2024 14:05:36    2562635

Replying To Lockjaw:  "We can but hope. I think we need to unearth another scoring forward.
That might be Conor O'Donnell who has been very unfortunate with injuries.
Or maybe we could tempt the great man back for one last throw of the dice!"
It's a hard one to call

Ulster is looking strong anyway and will have a big say

But again, it's wide open with several counties that will fancy their chances with a bit of momentum behind them.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20681 - 29/07/2024 14:06:15    2562637

Replying To jimbodub:  "The Championship is wide open again in my view

;)"
We had a great chance this year, I think Kerry and Dublin will be back stronger next year, Derry under new management might be a bigger threat, Tyrone have massive potential too, Armagh will be out to defend their crown, should be a great Championship next year.
I think we have a chance but we need to unearth a couple more players and hopefully we can be in contention.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2937 - 29/07/2024 14:08:16    2562640

Replying To Crashingwaves:  "He's not from Donegal anyway. Donegal people are sporting people and have no axe to grind with Galway. He's a bitter yoke."
Bitter?

Delighted for Armagh and McGeeney and no one suffered more at the hands of McGeeney and the Armagh teams of the 00's than Donegal.

Would have been happy for Joyce and the likes of Conroy if Galway had got over the line.

No bitterness here, just don't know why Galway think they are so far ahead that the only way they could lose to Armagh is by throwing it away.
You are just 2 very evenly matched teams and Armagh were a bit more efficient and got the bit of luck yesterday

Bdonegal1991 (Donegal) - Posts: 88 - 29/07/2024 14:22:35    2562647

Replying To Curlew66:  "Last 3 long range boomers from O'Neill brothers and Grimley gave their team and supporters a huge lift , they were brave enough to take on very difficult shots . Some of their other scores came from getting the head down and breaking through tackles. Got turned over a good few times but regrouped and tried again."
Those were some of the best scores you'll see. I thought Armagh were just a brilliantly conditioned team and they would have had no bother going to extra time yesterday.

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 999 - 29/07/2024 15:05:03    2562674