Kerry GAA Thread

Replying To avonali:  "Is GAA football the only sport in which a team can be beaten but whose supporters can repeatedly claim their team has "the best natural footballers" and their victors are merely highly trained athletes ? It's as if the latest coaching strategies and the actual rules of the game are denying them what's rightfully theirs and their victors are mere journeymen who lack
God given natural talent. But it's more complicated than that. When this sort of thinking becomes part of the culture it becomes a serious part of the problem.
Talent alone doesn't cut it in the modern GAA game.
Setting up a team in which truly natural talents like DC , PC and SO'S are not properly supported - and arguably inhibited- with cohesive forward play is a recipe for disappointment. Very often DC is isolated and teams now have figured out how to neutralise him when management persist in encouraging patterns of play that don't capitalise on his talents. People will say he had a poor game but a lot of thought and resources have been expended on neutralising him.
Hard graft, selfless running off the ball and fitness-which this Kerry team seemed to lack coming toward the end of 70 minutes and ET- are needed if Kerry are to get the best out of the likes of DC. Rarely do you see Kerry forwards making decoy runs in order to leave DC isolated on his marker, a situation in which he thrives.
Kerry do not have an efficient cohesive forward unit. They would well to consider getting Donaghy onto their coaching staff. He had the talent but he also worked very well with his fellow forwards and I believe he knew exactly how to curtail DC; also, he would have huge insight into Jack O C's approach, which is quite regressive and demands too much from his star players. I believe KD contributed significantly to Armagh's success yesterday.
Anyway, commiseration Kerry and congrats Armagh. I hope ye go on and finish the job now."
*isolated and outnumbered rather being in a one on one against a defender

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1989 - 15/07/2024 23:17:52    2559420

Replying To Aibrean:  "Unfortunately, the facts don't support this view."
Offaly 1982
Armagh 2002
Tyrone 2003
Tyrone 2005
Tyrone 2008
Dublin 2011
Dublin 2013
Dublin 2015
Dublin 2016
Dublin 2019
Cork 2020
Tyrone 2021
Dublin 2023

all tight games went to melting pot which kerry couldn't win.

LimerickForLiam24 (Limerick) - Posts: 122 - 16/07/2024 09:23:07    2559433

Replying To Barrowsider:  "Kerry are a hard watch under o Connor, It is so structured it can't be fun to play, kerrys traditional kicking game has been abandoned for a slow ball carrying game, now you can't blame O'connor entirely for that as Fitz Maurice also abandoned it. Kerry are probably the best supported county in the country by people with no connection to the place at all, the amount of people I met wearing Kerry gear from different counties was mad, no other county has that,that Kerry team has no real identity, they should be looking to go back to what they do best"
kerry had to play the blanket defence as poor defence. Get away with fouling high up the pitch to get bodies behind the ball. Fair play to Gough having the stones to blow for kerry off the ball fouling. Hopefully other referees will have the nerve in future.

LimerickForLiam24 (Limerick) - Posts: 122 - 16/07/2024 09:25:54    2559435

Replying To oneoff:  "Funny how the Ulster folk love to pick and choose games to base their logic on."
Just like you pick and choose a couple of posters from Ulster as being the voice of everyone from Ulster in your narrow minded rants, yeah?

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2462 - 16/07/2024 10:33:49    2559447

Replying To LimerickForLiam24:  "Offaly 1982
Armagh 2002
Tyrone 2003
Tyrone 2005
Tyrone 2008
Dublin 2011
Dublin 2013
Dublin 2015
Dublin 2016
Dublin 2019
Cork 2020
Tyrone 2021
Dublin 2023

all tight games went to melting pot which kerry couldn't win."
As a Kerry supporter I've thought for years we don't have the mental strength for the tight, hard games.
I think it's a sub conscious thing based on the fact you can't walk around Kerry without bumping into someone with an AI medal, that pure, raw hunger isn't in us because it doesn't need to be.

Compare that to Armagh who have one AI win in all the years of the Championship, they will be bursting out of their skins to win it.

It's also the reason we hate seeing the team playing anything other than free flowing attacking football, what's the point of winning another AI if you're bore the ***** off everyone in the process?

dolfos (Longford) - Posts: 123 - 16/07/2024 10:45:41    2559450

Replying To LimerickForLiam24:  "kerry had to play the blanket defence as poor defence. Get away with fouling high up the pitch to get bodies behind the ball. Fair play to Gough having the stones to blow for kerry off the ball fouling. Hopefully other referees will have the nerve in future."
David had a very good game to be fair.

Didnt fall for play acting and trying to get easy frees at the end, and kept a close eye on the off the ball stuff and strategic fouling.

One of the best refs we have.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3941 - 16/07/2024 11:07:52    2559454

Who do we fancy in the hurling this week? Is Jack Goulding back for Ballyduff?

Kilmoyley vs Ballyduff

Ballyheigue vs Abbeydorney

Redzer99 (Waterford) - Posts: 71 - 16/07/2024 11:15:16    2559458

Replying To SaffronDon:  "Just like you pick and choose a couple of posters from Ulster as being the voice of everyone from Ulster in your narrow minded rants, yeah?"
The irony of someone from Ulster talking about others and narrow minded rants.

oneoff (UK) - Posts: 1462 - 16/07/2024 11:39:39    2559468

Replying To LimerickForLiam24:  "kerry had to play the blanket defence as poor defence. Get away with fouling high up the pitch to get bodies behind the ball. Fair play to Gough having the stones to blow for kerry off the ball fouling. Hopefully other referees will have the nerve in future."
Funny to see a Limerick fan talk about another team and play acting and fowls off the ball.

oneoff (UK) - Posts: 1462 - 16/07/2024 11:41:18    2559469

Replying To LimerickForLiam24:  "Offaly 1982
Armagh 2002
Tyrone 2003
Tyrone 2005
Tyrone 2008
Dublin 2011
Dublin 2013
Dublin 2015
Dublin 2016
Dublin 2019
Cork 2020
Tyrone 2021
Dublin 2023

all tight games went to melting pot which kerry couldn't win."
So in over the whole history of the GAA you can pick out 13 games. Well done. Then again until recently you'd know a lot about losing games being from Limerick.

oneoff (UK) - Posts: 1462 - 16/07/2024 11:42:46    2559471

Replying To oneoff:  "The irony of someone from Ulster talking about others and narrow minded rants."
You don't even see the irony in your own post. I rest my case

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2462 - 16/07/2024 12:31:47    2559489

If there is one rule that will hopefully go away in the committee review is the advanced mark.

I think its held back David Clifford's progress the last 2 seasons too. He is too good at it and thereby it encourages him to use it and not do what he did before and take on players and make magic happen.

In 2022 final, Kerry were in a world of trouble to Galway until Clifford started pulling in marks and getting the team back into the match. Since then he has regressed and removing that rule would actually be a blessing in disguise.

Imagine Michael Jordan had a rule that if he caught it in the box, he just had a free throw instead of a chance to dunk. What a total waste.

shaggykev (Donegal) - Posts: 284 - 16/07/2024 12:43:42    2559494

It's a pity Gough does not have the 'stones' to blow for 'on the ball fouling'. There were numerous examples of the player in possession being mauled/battered/ struck by hands/arms/fists that went unpunished. By Kerry and Armagh.

Aibrean (Kerry) - Posts: 287 - 16/07/2024 12:55:31    2559500

Replying To shaggykev:  "If there is one rule that will hopefully go away in the committee review is the advanced mark.

I think its held back David Clifford's progress the last 2 seasons too. He is too good at it and thereby it encourages him to use it and not do what he did before and take on players and make magic happen.

In 2022 final, Kerry were in a world of trouble to Galway until Clifford started pulling in marks and getting the team back into the match. Since then he has regressed and removing that rule would actually be a blessing in disguise.

Imagine Michael Jordan had a rule that if he caught it in the box, he just had a free throw instead of a chance to dunk. What a total waste."
I don't know why people are so exercised by the forward mark. Teams use it on average only 1.3 times per game so why will getting rid of it cure all the ills of the game?
Compare that to the malaise of handpassing: 3.2 as many handpasses as kicks. Or, the problem of packed defences? Or the problem of players in possession getting battered and bruised and hammered from all angles.

As for David Clifford's use of the mark: he did have 2 marks v Galway, but he scored 3 from play! So, his contribution from play was more significant. Generally, as with other top forwards, maybe he would be even more influential if referees didn't take the view 'that he is well able to look after himself'!!

Aibrean (Kerry) - Posts: 287 - 16/07/2024 13:16:58    2559509

More bad news coming from the Kingdom.Word is Cillian Burke being offered contract to play Aussie rules.We are being affected big time by the Aussies.Last year we lost Rob Monaghan a class underage minor midfielder that was expected to be a great Kerry player not to mentin Marl O Connor.If we had those two boys midfield it would be brilliant.Also I hear young Charlie Keating the speedster half back is being looked at.Its hard to blame the young lads though.Life is short and best of luck to them.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3839 - 16/07/2024 13:33:42    2559516

Replying To SaffronDon:  "You don't even see the irony in your own post. I rest my case"
If it makes you happy you think anything you want.

oneoff (UK) - Posts: 1462 - 16/07/2024 14:08:52    2559525

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "More bad news coming from the Kingdom.Word is Cillian Burke being offered contract to play Aussie rules.We are being affected big time by the Aussies.Last year we lost Rob Monaghan a class underage minor midfielder that was expected to be a great Kerry player not to mentin Marl O Connor.If we had those two boys midfield it would be brilliant.Also I hear young Charlie Keating the speedster half back is being looked at.Its hard to blame the young lads though.Life is short and best of luck to them."
The way the game is being coached and played now Mick there will be a lot more young lads packing it in and it won't be to go playing in Australia… The enjoyment is completely gone from the game… If those watching it are not enjoying it God only knows how those having to play it must feel…? It's horrible when young talent leave the game Mick but it's hard to think of a reason why they would want to commit to the game in its current state….

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 2680 - 16/07/2024 14:20:06    2559529

Replying To oneoff:  "So in over the whole history of the GAA you can pick out 13 games. Well done. Then again until recently you'd know a lot about losing games being from Limerick."
Ironic coming from Uk supporter. Hon spain

LimerickForLiam24 (Limerick) - Posts: 122 - 16/07/2024 15:12:23    2559538

Replying To Aibrean:  "I don't know why people are so exercised by the forward mark. Teams use it on average only 1.3 times per game so why will getting rid of it cure all the ills of the game?
Compare that to the malaise of handpassing: 3.2 as many handpasses as kicks. Or, the problem of packed defences? Or the problem of players in possession getting battered and bruised and hammered from all angles.

As for David Clifford's use of the mark: he did have 2 marks v Galway, but he scored 3 from play! So, his contribution from play was more significant. Generally, as with other top forwards, maybe he would be even more influential if referees didn't take the view 'that he is well able to look after himself'!!"
I agree on the packed defences. Will be very interested to see can review committee find a way to fix that issue.

My issue with the mark related to Clifford and other great footballers is the fact that option clouds the judgement. Do I catch, turn, kick or catch, turn and try to beat my man.

Catching and then having a slow ponderous kick at goal is not great for the flow. Think of Donaghy in 2014 against Mayo. Thank god the mark wasnt there then. I want to see Clifford at his best. I want to see him only thinking about catching and taking on players. That kind of thing will improve the spectacle and with confidence, improve him as a player.

shaggykev (Donegal) - Posts: 284 - 16/07/2024 15:15:03    2559539

Replying To ForeverBlue2:  "The way the game is being coached and played now Mick there will be a lot more young lads packing it in and it won't be to go playing in Australia… The enjoyment is completely gone from the game… If those watching it are not enjoying it God only knows how those having to play it must feel…? It's horrible when young talent leave the game Mick but it's hard to think of a reason why they would want to commit to the game in its current state…."
Unfortunately Forever blue ypu do have a point.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3839 - 16/07/2024 17:07:39    2559572