Limerick Hurling thread 2023

Replying To clooney:  "I realise its futile trying to make a point to you and a few other posters here i can assure that Clare people do not view view Limerick players as anything other than superb hurlers nobody begrudges what they have achieved.
Are so so small minded that you cannot see that what age are you, your posts are always in factual and spiteful."
Nice deflection there Clooney, playing the man and not the ball and not contradicting any of my points. You weren't very happy last summer when your clubmate was highlighted for dirty pull in Munster final and facing a match man yet a club mate of mine and his family have blatant lies and rubbish written about him and I'm spiteful. How would you like if your clubman had this written about him and journalist on 95fm were asking Lohan questions about these stories.
I'm sure you and 95% of Clare fans don't like these made up stories but casual supporters and GAA haters take these as fact to attack us and diminish our achievements, Limerick fans are going to stand up for our lads and defend them just like you did with your clubmate last summer.

updwell (Limerick) - Posts: 817 - 31/05/2023 17:19:33    2483231

Replying To clooney:  "My last comment on I am sorry to hear of that loutish behaviour and I hope that you did get satisfaction Clare/Limerick have rivalry if they diden't it wouldn't be worth watching but ignorance rudeness and especially language are not acceptable.

Unfortunately all Counties have a % of undesirables fans."
100% Clooney I've seen it from all colours of Jersey and my own..its never nice and you never want it to tip over. I love the rivalry and its so close. Family, best mates, Neighbours, work colleagues all have the limerick/clare link and it's great when you do get the one over the neighbour. I remember 94 95 96 being a hurling mad 17-18 year old and those clare matches were special . Dalo said his favourite match to ever play in was the 96 semi defeat to Limerick. Some statement from a 2 time AI winning captain. 2013 broke me a 5th or 6th or maybe 10th time as a long suffering limerick hurling fan and of late we've been blessed.

The Munster final is always great when it's limerick v clare or even Waterford. No offense to the cork or tipp fans here but yeve won enough for another while yet :)

daveboy (Limerick) - Posts: 1128 - 31/05/2023 18:39:32    2483248

Replying To updwell:  "Nice deflection there Clooney, playing the man and not the ball and not contradicting any of my points. You weren't very happy last summer when your clubmate was highlighted for dirty pull in Munster final and facing a match man yet a club mate of mine and his family have blatant lies and rubbish written about him and I'm spiteful. How would you like if your clubman had this written about him and journalist on 95fm were asking Lohan questions about these stories.
I'm sure you and 95% of Clare fans don't like these made up stories but casual supporters and GAA haters take these as fact to attack us and diminish our achievements, Limerick fans are going to stand up for our lads and defend them just like you did with your clubmate last summer."
Fair enough points I suppose real fans have no interest in social media rubbish but I get it that it can be very dangerous weapon in the wrong hands.
Any way let the hurling do the talking

clooney (Clare) - Posts: 888 - 01/06/2023 13:06:52    2483352

Purchasing tickets on Ticketmaster this morning seemed chaotice.
Anyone manage to buy tickets online this morning?

OpenStand (Limerick) - Posts: 673 - 01/06/2023 13:09:26    2483353

Replying To OpenStand:  "Purchasing tickets on Ticketmaster this morning seemed chaotice.
Anyone manage to buy tickets online this morning?"
All gone in 20 minutes apparently!

Londonish (UK) - Posts: 33 - 01/06/2023 13:42:52    2483363

Replying To OpenStand:  "Purchasing tickets on Ticketmaster this morning seemed chaotice.
Yes I got 2

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2479 - 01/06/2023 13:54:59    2483368

Got 4 without issue.

countyman2022 (Wexford) - Posts: 643 - 01/06/2023 14:47:00    2483381

Replying To daveboy:  "100% Clooney I've seen it from all colours of Jersey and my own..its never nice and you never want it to tip over. I love the rivalry and its so close. Family, best mates, Neighbours, work colleagues all have the limerick/clare link and it's great when you do get the one over the neighbour. I remember 94 95 96 being a hurling mad 17-18 year old and those clare matches were special . Dalo said his favourite match to ever play in was the 96 semi defeat to Limerick. Some statement from a 2 time AI winning captain. 2013 broke me a 5th or 6th or maybe 10th time as a long suffering limerick hurling fan and of late we've been blessed.

The Munster final is always great when it's limerick v clare or even Waterford. No offense to the cork or tipp fans here but yeve won enough for another while yet :)"
I also have the Clare relationship issue. I work in Clare. I have significant Clare family connections including a pair of nieces that are playing underage for Clare. I far prefer to see Clare win than any other county. I would always shout against Cork and rarely for Tipp.

I get that counties are desperate to see change and that it's very tough to lose particularly when you feel that you're very competitive but I hope to not see some of the stuff that went on in the Uncovered Stand in the round robin again. I noticed some of the Clare fans mostly but that's probably because I'm less acute with Limerick fans negativity. I just hope people don't get too carried away and that if there are issues, that the stewards will deal with it regardless of affiliation or otherwise, there will have to be defined segregation brought into these games, I have no problem with the banter but I don't like aggression from either side and less face it - there is no difference in the underlying personalities. Neither county is better or worse than the other.

Dealer (Limerick) - Posts: 835 - 01/06/2023 15:04:24    2483389

Got 2 and feel lucky to have them. A good few friends who are not affiliated with clubs didn't get them.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 01/06/2023 15:09:53    2483390

Replying To Dealer:  "I also have the Clare relationship issue. I work in Clare. I have significant Clare family connections including a pair of nieces that are playing underage for Clare. I far prefer to see Clare win than any other county. I would always shout against Cork and rarely for Tipp.

I get that counties are desperate to see change and that it's very tough to lose particularly when you feel that you're very competitive but I hope to not see some of the stuff that went on in the Uncovered Stand in the round robin again. I noticed some of the Clare fans mostly but that's probably because I'm less acute with Limerick fans negativity. I just hope people don't get too carried away and that if there are issues, that the stewards will deal with it regardless of affiliation or otherwise, there will have to be defined segregation brought into these games, I have no problem with the banter but I don't like aggression from either side and less face it - there is no difference in the underlying personalities. Neither county is better or worse than the other."
Spot on

daveboy (Limerick) - Posts: 1128 - 01/06/2023 15:18:06    2483392

Replying To Dealer:  "I also have the Clare relationship issue. I work in Clare. I have significant Clare family connections including a pair of nieces that are playing underage for Clare. I far prefer to see Clare win than any other county. I would always shout against Cork and rarely for Tipp.

I get that counties are desperate to see change and that it's very tough to lose particularly when you feel that you're very competitive but I hope to not see some of the stuff that went on in the Uncovered Stand in the round robin again. I noticed some of the Clare fans mostly but that's probably because I'm less acute with Limerick fans negativity. I just hope people don't get too carried away and that if there are issues, that the stewards will deal with it regardless of affiliation or otherwise, there will have to be defined segregation brought into these games, I have no problem with the banter but I don't like aggression from either side and less face it - there is no difference in the underlying personalities. Neither county is better or worse than the other."
Same as you Dealer, family who support Clare. Tough going :-)

I was working in Clare in 1996 & 1997. I don't think too many Clare workmates wanted us to beat Wexford. I think a lot of Limerick folk were happy to see them win in 95, maybe not so much in 97. But the craic between all was mighty, both counties hurling mad.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 01/06/2023 15:20:24    2483393

Replying To daveboy:  "100% Clooney I've seen it from all colours of Jersey and my own..its never nice and you never want it to tip over. I love the rivalry and its so close. Family, best mates, Neighbours, work colleagues all have the limerick/clare link and it's great when you do get the one over the neighbour. I remember 94 95 96 being a hurling mad 17-18 year old and those clare matches were special . Dalo said his favourite match to ever play in was the 96 semi defeat to Limerick. Some statement from a 2 time AI winning captain. 2013 broke me a 5th or 6th or maybe 10th time as a long suffering limerick hurling fan and of late we've been blessed.

The Munster final is always great when it's limerick v clare or even Waterford. No offense to the cork or tipp fans here but yeve won enough for another while yet :)"
Don't think we'll be getting our hands on the Munster Cup soon Daveboy so win as much as ye can while we're asleep!!

WildPundit (Tipperary) - Posts: 1709 - 01/06/2023 15:54:18    2483400

Replying To countyman2022:  "Got 4 without issue."
No you didn't

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2479 - 01/06/2023 15:55:49    2483402

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "No you didn't"
Haha would you like to place a wager on that?? good god almighty!

countyman2022 (Wexford) - Posts: 643 - 01/06/2023 16:03:13    2483407

Replying To WildPundit:  "Don't think we'll be getting our hands on the Munster Cup soon Daveboy so win as much as ye can while we're asleep!!"
Thats the plan. I was just thinking of cork and tipps potential panels for next year when all fit and it's scary. The cycle like anything comes to an end eventually.

daveboy (Limerick) - Posts: 1128 - 01/06/2023 16:45:22    2483417

JUST WONDERING WHAT HAPPENED IN THAT STAND I SUPPOSE DOPES TOPPED UP WITH DRINK ?

I WAS IN A PORTION OF THAT STAND WAS SUPPOUNDED BY FERVENT BUT SPORTING LIMERICK FANS WHO WISHED UP WELL AFTER ALL GOOD NATURED.

I KNOW A FAIR SHARE OF LIMERICK FANS WHO AREDEAD SOUND

clooney (Clare) - Posts: 888 - 02/06/2023 08:28:46    2483494

Replying To countyman2022:  "Haha would you like to place a wager on that?? good god almighty!"
If you could get two more will you send them my way :)

Fitzy01 (Limerick) - Posts: 387 - 02/06/2023 09:28:02    2483501

The Ulster football final between Armagh & Tyrone was played in about 10 years ago due to heightened demand . Could have went with Croke park for this Munster hurling final if everyone that wants to go was to be facilitated. Lot of neutrals living in Dublin would have gone as well . Munster hurling matchs have the biggest tv audiences to date on tv viewership numbers outside of ulster football final .
PS of the few people I'm aware of got tickets online yesterday. One was from Dublin who got two and coming down by train to experience Munster final day after all good matchs he's watched on tv and another was from Carlow , same story so it wasn't just Limerick and Clare fans trying to buy them .

OpenStand (Limerick) - Posts: 673 - 02/06/2023 10:03:37    2483510

Replying To Fitzy01:  "If you could get two more will you send them my way :)"
Are clubs sorting people out or how are they/co board distributing the rest?

countyman2022 (Wexford) - Posts: 643 - 02/06/2023 10:12:22    2483515

Replying To OpenStand:  "The Ulster football final between Armagh & Tyrone was played in about 10 years ago due to heightened demand . Could have went with Croke park for this Munster hurling final if everyone that wants to go was to be facilitated. Lot of neutrals living in Dublin would have gone as well . Munster hurling matchs have the biggest tv audiences to date on tv viewership numbers outside of ulster football final .
PS of the few people I'm aware of got tickets online yesterday. One was from Dublin who got two and coming down by train to experience Munster final day after all good matchs he's watched on tv and another was from Carlow , same story so it wasn't just Limerick and Clare fans trying to buy them ."
Totally agree.

The demand should dictate the venue (if available). We played Clare there in an all Ireland quarter final in 2007 and an all Ireland semi final there in 2013. I think they'd get at least 60,000 at a Limerick Clare Munster Final there.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 02/06/2023 12:49:54    2483567