Non-Gaa Forum

Replying To KillingFields:  "No they can't fulfil the role as that role in itself is a full time gig and you couldn't do both at same time."
That's it and the President should be independent of the government.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 8411 - 25/10/2025 12:54:38    2641491

Replying To galwayford:  "Stop whining. Stop moaning. Victory to Ms Connolly. And Sinn Féin."
Joke of an election. President with support of 20% of registered voters!

Thousands of SF voters in Dublin spoiling. SF merging with some of most anti national elements in the country to become another middle of the road liberal party. They ought to change their name at this stage.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 3880 - 25/10/2025 13:23:27    2641497

Replying To galwayford:  "Stop whining. Stop moaning. Victory to Ms Connolly. And Sinn Féin."
It's not a victory for Sinn Féin, they were the last ones to jump on the Connolly bandwagon after the Social Democrats, Labour and PBP.
If SF had any heed on the Presidency they would have put their own candidate forward

Cumann1 (Mayo) - Posts: 118 - 25/10/2025 13:32:57    2641501

Replying To galwayford:  "Argentina wants Falkslands back. Spain wants Gibraltar. America wants Canada, Panama, and Greenland. We are a wealthy country."
Good for them, but theres an element up there that would add absolutely nothing but hassle.

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 2640 - 25/10/2025 14:27:29    2641512

In addition to thanking her voters, Connolly thanked the voters who did not vote for her. Humpheys did not thank voters who didn't vote for her, and thanked only voters who did vote for her.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 4504 - 25/10/2025 15:59:35    2641528

Replying To Viking66:  "Five Irish boxers into EU Championship Finals today | Sport Ireland https://share.google/nv6nZ4a3q9E0K1KTI

Karl Frampton won a silver medal at the 2007 European Championships boxing for Ireland. He also won 2 Irish National Championships, in 2005 and 2008 I think."
Boxing is very much a 32 county sport. Paddy Barnes and Michael conlon both medalled for Ireland at Olympics.

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 4101 - 25/10/2025 20:37:47    2641564

Replying To Seanfan:  "Any chance of ye lazy so and sos working hard and paying yer way??"
Men and women payed with their lives fighting for a United Ireland, West Brits don't seem to see that.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2522 - 25/10/2025 20:54:58    2641567

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "Joke of an election. President with support of 20% of registered voters!

Thousands of SF voters in Dublin spoiling. SF merging with some of most anti national elements in the country to become another middle of the road liberal party. They ought to change their name at this stage."
Higher turnout than last presidential election, and highest 1st preference vote in the history of presidential elections. The joke is some of the flutes spoiling votes. One poor divil thought that he going to 'break the system' by voting for Gavin. If there was an IQ threshold to qualify as a registered voter, Connolly's vote would represent a higher proportion of registered voters.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 4504 - 25/10/2025 21:44:18    2641575

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "Be interesting to see what vote he does get. Part of it will be protest vote and part FF diehards who would never vote for the Blueshirts!

I'm predicting around 10% spoiled and Gavin but that's pure guess. Might be higher. Only certainty is that Connolly wins on an historically low turnout that makes a mockery of their claim that there is some sort of "movement.""
That 'certainty' didn't materialise. The turnout was higher than the 2018 presidential election.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 4504 - 25/10/2025 22:00:22    2641578

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "That 'certainty' didn't materialise. The turnout was higher than the 2018 presidential election."
220,000 spoiled votes were the difference.

Did you do do sums in school?

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 3880 - 26/10/2025 00:15:19    2641594

Replying To Bon:  "Exactly, there's enough problems and issues here at the moment without inheriting any more."
I could never agree with your theory or Killingfields either, I want us to reconnect not reject. We are entitled to be an all inclusive 32 county full stop country, irrespective of the financial struggles that may be met along the way.
I do know if I posted comments like those they would have been ignored with a red thumb or two.

supersub15 (Carlow) - Posts: 3330 - 26/10/2025 08:51:22    2641609

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "That 'certainty' didn't materialise. The turnout was higher than the 2018 presidential election."
Only because of the surge of people out to spoil their votes.
A Political TD like Peadar Toibin admitting to spoiling his vote says it all about the whole fiasco?

Scenicparish (Donegal) - Posts: 812 - 26/10/2025 09:42:22    2641611

You sound like a chap whose house has collapsed but the shed is grand....

This is unprecedented, People are starting to wake up.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 3880 - 26/10/2025 10:41:25    2641617

Replying To Saynothing:  "Men and women payed with their lives fighting for a United Ireland, West Brits don't seem to see that."
Ah there we go..."West brits" chip on the shoulder

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 2640 - 26/10/2025 10:48:33    2641619

Replying To Seanfan:  "They didn't die so that lazy 6 Cos people could sponge off the hard working productive people of the 26 Cos."
If you are looking at it that way, currently the people of Connacht are sponging off the rest of the country. And if you look at it even closer the north Roscommon is sponging off the south of the county.

FullOfPorter (Roscommon) - Posts: 519 - 26/10/2025 11:13:21    2641625

Replying To letsgetgoing:  "To the best of my knowledge the population of Northern Ireland is in the region of 1.93 million and they receive an annual subsidy (subvention) of around 10 BILLION each year from the British Government. That works out around 5,182 sterling per adult and child, or over 20,000 sterling for each family of 4. (Estimated figures)
While some limited industries might be doing ok, a lot of improvement is needed in many areas including the public service. Our economy is booming in comparison to Northern Ireland as can be seen (for example) from the number of Northern Ireland tradesmen crossing the border every day.
As the Irish Tax Institute estimate that 33% of the Republic of Ireland PAYE workers do not pay any income tax, I think it might be a while before we might have a border poll, as we all know who would be picking up the bill."
That 10 billion figure is very misleading and inaccurate as a huge proportion of it is calculated as the norths element in British military defence, that will not be applicable in the case of a reunified Ireland. The north is actually having a mini economic boom but is curtailed being in the UK. If it was within the jurisdiction of the Irish state its GDP would be doubling. The reason they are crossing the border is because we have a chronic shortage of construction workers and are willing to offer crazy money. We've been fed a diet of scaremongering partionist propaganda for far too long in this country.

FullOfPorter (Roscommon) - Posts: 519 - 26/10/2025 11:16:56    2641626

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "Higher turnout than last presidential election, and highest 1st preference vote in the history of presidential elections. The joke is some of the flutes spoiling votes. One poor divil thought that he going to 'break the system' by voting for Gavin. If there was an IQ threshold to qualify as a registered voter, Connolly's vote would represent a higher proportion of registered voters."
Cry harder. SF people in Dublin who you would imagine be over the moon look to me like lads hit by a truck. THEY can read the tea leaves in places where they have dominated for 20 years...

Huge mistake on their part to form an alliance with lefties who basically despise them. Have lost one chunk of their vote to the "far right" and another to middle class liberals.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 3880 - 26/10/2025 11:25:38    2641629

Replying To Bon:  "Ah there we go..."West brits" chip on the shoulder"
He wasn't far wrong in what he said in all fairness.

tireoghainabu (Tyrone) - Posts: 445 - 26/10/2025 11:39:07    2641632

Replying To Seanfan:  "They didn't die so that lazy 6 Cos people could sponge off the hard working productive people of the 26 Cos."
Did you ever hear the quote (probably not), "better to remain silent and be thought a fool than to speak and remove all doubt".

tireoghainabu (Tyrone) - Posts: 445 - 26/10/2025 11:46:06    2641634

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "Higher turnout than last presidential election, and highest 1st preference vote in the history of presidential elections. The joke is some of the flutes spoiling votes. One poor divil thought that he going to 'break the system' by voting for Gavin. If there was an IQ threshold to qualify as a registered voter, Connolly's vote would represent a higher proportion of registered voters."
People can vote what way they like.

Not sure why you are mocking people for doing so.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6627 - 26/10/2025 12:05:32    2641638