Non-Gaa Forum

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "I don't think you should be in any country if you don't have a visa/work permit to be there, I know I wouldn't do it but I think the Americans are more worried about protecting their southern border at present.
I don't think you'd be let in through JFK or O'Hare without proper documentation the way the undocumented seem to be able to arrive into Ireland through Dublin airport."
Plenty of Irish turned back in American airports. Pity Ireland can't police their international borders. Trump was right all along, or at least that's what Zelenskyy says. Trump has him dangling like a puppet.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2258 - 05/03/2025 21:26:07    2594954

Replying To Trump2020:  "It was a CBS Poll not Foxnews or some other semi pro Trump site. But hey here's CNN for you: President Donald Trump's address to a joint session of Congress was broadly well-received by Americans who watched it, according to multiple polls after the speech.
CNN found that 69% of watchers had a positive reaction to the speech, with a plurality, 44%, having a "very positive" reaction. A survey from CBS News and YouGov found a similar result, with 76% of watchers reporting having a positive response."
Amazing that Trump and his supporters dismiss all polls except ones where he is favourable.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 8295 - 05/03/2025 21:27:57    2594955

Replying To Viking66:  "The US was already despised in half the countries around the world. Trump's alienating the other half pretty quickly. Putin must be laughing his head off."
Putin knew he was in clover when Trump was elected. Just over one month in, and nothing but chaos. Trump creates a storm by declaring tariffs, then very next day he postpones them when he sees the financial markets tanking. He would be better off doing nothing. In fact one of the highest rated presidents,Ronald Reagan, suffered from dementia for the majority of his second term. Chaos, noise and hatred is the hallmark of this current president! I'm not surprised that he's alienated countries around the world!

Ryanteam (Cork) - Posts: 470 - 05/03/2025 22:07:44    2594958

Replying To Seanfanbocht:  "Wait till the 20,000 illegal Donegals are deported from the U S."
That can happen. On another note , Department of Veterans affairs today announced 76,000 headcount reduction. Didn't I hear Trump say "We love our vets"?? Viking is correct in saying Trump is alienating the world against Americans…. They are alienating themselves from one another, and money gods Trump and Musk are loving it.Wait for the big tax cut for billionaires!

Ryanteam (Cork) - Posts: 470 - 05/03/2025 22:35:50    2594962

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "I don't think you should be in any country if you don't have a visa/work permit to be there, I know I wouldn't do it but I think the Americans are more worried about protecting their southern border at present.
I don't think you'd be let in through JFK or O'Hare without proper documentation the way the undocumented seem to be able to arrive into Ireland through Dublin airport."
Just landed at Dublin airport this morning. Land of thousand welcomes… much more pleasant experience at customs than JFK or Newark!

Ryanteam (Cork) - Posts: 470 - 06/03/2025 05:19:07    2594968

Replying To Saynothing:  "Plenty of Irish turned back in American airports. Pity Ireland can't police their international borders. Trump was right all along, or at least that's what Zelenskyy says. Trump has him dangling like a puppet."
Strict border control at airports in the US has always been around. In fact you won't even get to the plane nowdays as the US border in effect begins in Dublin or Shannon with the pre clearance. All Irish passengers now arrive in the US as in effect domestic due to all the checks being done here.

Plenty of illegal Irish living in the US for years though.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11477 - 06/03/2025 08:27:41    2594976

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "Whatever about American tariffs what we and our Gov should be concerned about is our own country, the Americans will be fine.
Delighted to hear President Trump saying that all the woke stuff and the ev mandate are gone, illegal immigration control really ramped up also. Many people in this country would be delighted to hear our own Gov and Taoiseach saying the same.
They are going to drill for oil big time, I think the Greenland thing is part bluster but with the right incentives I could see the people in Greenland voting to join the USA, that northwest passage could become very important and open up a lot of opportunity for development.
He has Zelensky and Europe over a barrel, they will have to play by Trumps rules if they want the Americans to help which is fair enough imo."
Defence spending is being ramped up here and rightly so. Ireland will have to play its part. Sitting on the fence and pontificating to the rest of the world like Michael D has been doing won't cut it anymore. Ireland will have to be part of a new European military alliance that is coming.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11477 - 06/03/2025 08:31:35    2594977

Replying To Ryanteam:  "Putin knew he was in clover when Trump was elected. Just over one month in, and nothing but chaos. Trump creates a storm by declaring tariffs, then very next day he postpones them when he sees the financial markets tanking. He would be better off doing nothing. In fact one of the highest rated presidents,Ronald Reagan, suffered from dementia for the majority of his second term. Chaos, noise and hatred is the hallmark of this current president! I'm not surprised that he's alienated countries around the world!"
I don't think it's any great secret that the Russians attempted to influence the election which got Trump elected to his first term. I really don't buy into the idea that Trump is some sort of grand business man. His wealth was inherited and you only have to listen to him speak for 5 minutes to conclude that he's an imbecile. But, as the saying goes, what some politicians lack in brains they make up for in neck. If any other US citizen was a known tax cheat and convicted sex offender they wouldn't be within anasses roar of the White House.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9621 - 06/03/2025 08:44:09    2594979

Replying To Trump2020:  "Markets booming today. No wonder you're silent."
Scroll up Dufus. Read my post. Trump adjusted his tariffs one day after installing them, so that's why markets rallied. He installs tariffs one day, postpones them the next day… great opportunity for his friends to insider trade!

Ryanteam (Cork) - Posts: 470 - 06/03/2025 08:44:35    2594980

Replying To tireoghainabu:  "Was that not the Spanish?"
No the French. O'Sullivan and his men force marched the length of the country after that to meet up with O'Neill and O'Donnell but sadly they had flown.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 15047 - 06/03/2025 08:49:39    2594982

Replying To Trump2020:  "China agrees with you. But hey if the USA is so "despised" as you seem to think then why are so many trying to get IN vs OUT of the USA? I mean Trump is having to build a WALL to keep them out."
Have you actually lived anywhere else apart from here and the US? Did you even live here as an adult at all?

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 15047 - 06/03/2025 08:50:45    2594983

Replying To Trump2020:  "China agrees with you. But hey if the USA is so "despised" as you seem to think then why are so many trying to get IN vs OUT of the USA? I mean Trump is having to build a WALL to keep them out."
Doesn't the irony of that post bother you? You are an immigrant yourself ;-)

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 15047 - 06/03/2025 09:04:38    2594986

Replying To Saynothing:  "Plenty of Irish turned back in American airports. Pity Ireland can't police their international borders. Trump was right all along, or at least that's what Zelenskyy says. Trump has him dangling like a puppet."
Irish are heading to Australia much more than USA nowadays. As regards the Zelinsky Trump debacle, Trump just wanted a photo op where he could act the tough guy in front of TV cameras, and kicks Zelinsky out of White House. A few days later he's back doing a deal. Presidency is nothing but a reality TV show for Mr Trump!

Ryanteam (Cork) - Posts: 470 - 06/03/2025 09:04:39    2594987

Replying To Trump2020:  "Markets booming today. No wonder you're silent."
Dow Jones Industrial Average https://g.co/kgs/9YFFNcc
Down alot over the last 5 days. Little bit of recovery today now that Trump is beep beep beeping backwards. But still a good bit down. And down even more when you look at the 1 month figure.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 15047 - 06/03/2025 09:08:28    2594989

Replying To Lockjaw:  "I don't think it's any great secret that the Russians attempted to influence the election which got Trump elected to his first term. I really don't buy into the idea that Trump is some sort of grand business man. His wealth was inherited and you only have to listen to him speak for 5 minutes to conclude that he's an imbecile. But, as the saying goes, what some politicians lack in brains they make up for in neck. If any other US citizen was a known tax cheat and convicted sex offender they wouldn't be within anasses roar of the White House."
He's such a great businessman that he's gone bankrupt multiple times.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 15047 - 06/03/2025 10:15:25    2595003

Replying To yew_tree:  "Strict border control at airports in the US has always been around. In fact you won't even get to the plane nowdays as the US border in effect begins in Dublin or Shannon with the pre clearance. All Irish passengers now arrive in the US as in effect domestic due to all the checks being done here.

Plenty of illegal Irish living in the US for years though."
Most of that security is anti terror based. I noticed a huge ramp up after 9/11.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 15047 - 06/03/2025 10:16:32    2595005

Replying To Viking66:  "No the French. O'Sullivan and his men force marched the length of the country after that to meet up with O'Neill and O'Donnell but sadly they had flown."
Pretty sure it the Spanish who landed in Kinsale in 1601 to link up with O'Neil and O'Donnell who marched over 300 miles in the dead of winter to meet them. One of the saddest events in Irish history and to think that the land of O''Neill is still under foreign rule.

tireoghainabu (Tyrone) - Posts: 371 - 06/03/2025 10:55:00    2595012

Replying To Trump2020:  "I'm not the ONLY smart Galwayman. lol. https://youtu.be/bLHs2O03gvQ?si=2i24nJhMQULt4XSV"
'Smart' lol is right. Spoofer I'd say, but like Trump he clearly enjoys listening to himself.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3994 - 06/03/2025 11:27:35    2595018

Russia want to kill that puppet though, not sit round a table with him. How will the great Trump get Putin and Zelenskyy around the same table? Get the TV cameras into that, and 'let it play out a bit' if the Donald wants it to, and the ratings will exceed the White House flare up.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3994 - 06/03/2025 11:46:18    2595021

GOOD MAN TRUMP!

The Mexican drug cartels are apparently fearing for their lives with the Trump administration targeting them under the auspices of its new border security crackdown initiative, according to reports.

The New York Times, in a bizarrely sympathetic report on Sunday, explained that the cartels are scrambling to figure out how to survive through the second Trump administration after President Donald Trump declared them terrorists and authorized the U.S. military to begin operations against them.

In related news, Mexico last week transferred 29 cartel members to the U.S. as a good-faith gesture to Trump, perhaps as a way of dissuading him from imposing 25% tariffs on Mexico.

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2384 - 06/03/2025 12:54:14    2595032