Non-Gaa Forum

So if it's a done deal for ff/fg is there any real point in going out to vote so??what is the delay in telling people when the official date is?)it is the 29th of November..I can see greens being almost wiped out,sf,ff and fg losing seats and a lot more indepentants being elected..

CTGAA10 (Limerick) - Posts: 2370 - 07/11/2024 09:47:38    2578730

Replying To jm25:  "This is the kind of nonsense I am on about we have no clue what sort of relationship these people have.

Can you elaborate how things will get bad for Gaza/palestine have you been blind to the free rein that Isreal have had for last year.

It was under Biden watch that putin began his invasion of Ukraine too.

I don't like trump but deriding the people who voted as stupid is wrong and part of problem. perhaps listening to their POV will help rather than causing the division to grow and allow the real agitators get their way.

Also are you suggesting it would have been smart to elect Harris or retain Biden?"
Trump has said he doesn't like Starmer, said Britain elected a Communist.
I never mentioned Gaza in any of my posts or called Trump voters dumb and as for electing Harris Americans had a terrible choice, absolutely terrible for the richest most advanced country on the planet. Just read my posts before you jump on me.

updwell (Limerick) - Posts: 844 - 07/11/2024 09:50:35    2578731

Replying To GreenandRed:  "Tech and Pharma multinationals abandoned everything and went back to the US. They didn't want to make a fuss about it so they kept it quiet like. Them stories you hear about pharma companies, Pfizer, Amgen, MSD, Boston Scientific etc, expanding in Ireland is fake news. Though it's not the greatest strategy for Ireland's future to be too reliant on foreign companies. In a way we were governed by the UK, then governed ourselves, but, arguably, in 2024 we are governed by Brussels and US multinationals."
Very true

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 2982 - 07/11/2024 10:04:48    2578733

Replying To Trump2020:  "It skyrocketed under Obama, Bush, Biden, and yes Trump too. Trump kept it in country though with the Military and Infrastructure, etc. The others prefer to send it out of the country for wars and other peoples borders."
Obama took during a global collapse. He did a brilliant job with the economy.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 8108 - 07/11/2024 10:19:50    2578736

Replying To GreenandRed:  "Tech and Pharma multinationals abandoned everything and went back to the US. They didn't want to make a fuss about it so they kept it quiet like. Them stories you hear about pharma companies, Pfizer, Amgen, MSD, Boston Scientific etc, expanding in Ireland is fake news. Though it's not the greatest strategy for Ireland's future to be too reliant on foreign companies. In a way we were governed by the UK, then governed ourselves, but, arguably, in 2024 we are governed by Brussels and US multinationals."
The church governed us more than we ever did ourselves. They still do to a certain extent in schools etc

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12173 - 07/11/2024 10:29:45    2578738

Replying To Doylerwex:  "With FF and FG in bed together now and SF the main opposition party our democracy has been over for quite some time.

I just hope the greens get eradicated.

We'll have another grand coalition who won't solve any real problems but toss out enough crumbs for people to want more."
Spot on as usual Doyler.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 13685 - 07/11/2024 10:54:18    2578745

Replying To jimbodub:  "I don't think Trump will see out his term

A man that wouldn't disclose his medical records

He's not far off 80, I don't think he's a healthy man

Obviously unwell looking, struggling to walk at times

Aging can and does, really speed up very suddenly, with all he's been through in this campaign, and more pressure to follow, his last presidency saw him under constant duress.

At his age, I can see him in a very poor state of health in the not so distant future,

It's why Vance, a loud and obvious enemy of Trump before he could get use out of him, has strategically attached himself to Trump at his advanced age."
I'll be surprised if he lasts the four years. His health is much worse now than before, struggling to form any decent sentence, falling asleep at events and even having issues walking as he is dragging his leg around.

Democrats might learn the hard way now that the women voters don't want a woman to be president and twice as many women voted for Obama than Harris but knowing them they'll likely repeat the same mistake again and opt for Michelle Obama instead of Gavin Newsom who IMO would stroll pass JD Vance if he's the Republican candidate in 2028.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3902 - 07/11/2024 11:20:56    2578752

Replying To Seanfanbocht:  "All seats are dependent on how people vote.
Sin é - democracy.
If 60% of seats are filled by Centrists and right of Centre then there's a serious chance they'll form a Coalition.

I'd prefer a Centre/leftist Coalition but can't see it based on opinion polls and the Euros/locals."
Government options are hamstrung by the fact that FF and FG won't coalesce with SF, which immediately allocates 35-40 seats to the back benches these days.

We're stuck then with only the FF/FG coalition option 'going faarrwwarrd'. This will be 'a rainbow coalition' after Nov 2024, likely needing a good few 'independent deals, if Labour can't be coaxed in, along with the remnants of the Greens.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3862 - 07/11/2024 11:24:49    2578753

Replying To GreenandRed:  "Many of the Trump voters are uneducated in comparison to Harris voters but they're not stupid. Democrats ran another poor candidate against him. Many Democrats voters are, allegedly educated and 'liberal' in comparison to working class Republican voters. It's, generally, easier to be liberal when you've a few quid. Democrats didn't seem to portray Harris in a hugely positive light, explain what she would do to improve America. Reacting to Trumps antics, past and present, many of them staged, seemed to be their tactic, same as in Trump's previous campaigns. They even brought out those good Obama folks out to bash Trump, again! I thought Harris was an infinitely better candidate than Hilary Clinton and should have been their Number 1 pick for all their campaign. They should have left Mayo for Sam as far away from a Presidential race as it was possible. I think most of their campaign, with less Harris positivity and too much reaction to Trump, gave him even more publicity and made them look weak. Same as 2016. You'd think they'd have learned from theur mistakes? For me, they've highlighted the difference between uneducated and stupid."
Were the pollsters and media 'experts' uneducated or stupid I wonder, telling us for 3 months and more that the election was 'too close to call', and we wind up with significant swing to Trump in almost all 50 states, when the ballots get counted? No wonder the Trump fans are a bit obsessed about 'fake news' for the last decade.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3862 - 07/11/2024 11:32:36    2578754

Replying To The_analyser:  "I'll be surprised if he lasts the four years. His health is much worse now than before, struggling to form any decent sentence, falling asleep at events and even having issues walking as he is dragging his leg around.

Democrats might learn the hard way now that the women voters don't want a woman to be president and twice as many women voted for Obama than Harris but knowing them they'll likely repeat the same mistake again and opt for Michelle Obama instead of Gavin Newsom who IMO would stroll pass JD Vance if he's the Republican candidate in 2028."
I think you are underestimating the pulling power Michelle Obama has. They would have chosen her this time if she really wanted it. But I don't think she is interested. Whitmer also would be a strong pick. If I was predicting now I would say it's Shapiro with a female VP.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 8108 - 07/11/2024 11:39:37    2578757

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "Government options are hamstrung by the fact that FF and FG won't coalesce with SF, which immediately allocates 35-40 seats to the back benches these days.

We're stuck then with only the FF/FG coalition option 'going faarrwwarrd'. This will be 'a rainbow coalition' after Nov 2024, likely needing a good few 'independent deals, if Labour can't be coaxed in, along with the remnants of the Greens."
They're not hamstrung tho.

If nobody votes for FF or FG, then they won't be in government.

But people will vote for them. In huge numbers. Because, despite what those who shout loudest about doom and gloom tell you, the country is doing well.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5160 - 07/11/2024 11:42:07    2578758

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "Government options are hamstrung by the fact that FF and FG won't coalesce with SF, which immediately allocates 35-40 seats to the back benches these days.

We're stuck then with only the FF/FG coalition option 'going faarrwwarrd'. This will be 'a rainbow coalition' after Nov 2024, likely needing a good few 'independent deals, if Labour can't be coaxed in, along with the remnants of the Greens."
As long as them Green yokes are gone I think we'll get a decent enough gov, SF will never see power in this country for a very long time if ever.
Has to be demoralising for the likes of our own Pearse Doherty, a very able politician to know he'll likely always be in opposition.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 3010 - 07/11/2024 11:45:28    2578759

Replying To TheFlaker:  "I think you are underestimating the pulling power Michelle Obama has. They would have chosen her this time if she really wanted it. But I don't think she is interested. Whitmer also would be a strong pick. If I was predicting now I would say it's Shapiro with a female VP."
One thing this election has shown in the USA is been pontificated to by celebs and candidates been endorsed by them doesn't move the dial which I was wrong in thinking it would

jm25 (Galway) - Posts: 1271 - 07/11/2024 12:01:06    2578762

Replying To jm25:  "One thing this election has shown in the USA is been pontificated to by celebs and candidates been endorsed by them doesn't move the dial which I was wrong in thinking it would"
They elected a celebrity

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12173 - 07/11/2024 12:20:00    2578765

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "As long as them Green yokes are gone I think we'll get a decent enough gov, SF will never see power in this country for a very long time if ever.
Has to be demoralising for the likes of our own Pearse Doherty, a very able politician to know he'll likely always be in opposition."
Plenty of able politicians in SF. The problem is that their approach to opposition is the "no to everything" approach rather than constructive engagement.

Doherty bucked that trend somewhat with what he did with insurance industry, to be fair.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5160 - 07/11/2024 12:25:26    2578767

Replying To cavanman47:  "Plenty of able politicians in SF. The problem is that their approach to opposition is the "no to everything" approach rather than constructive engagement.

Doherty bucked that trend somewhat with what he did with insurance industry, to be fair."
They should have chosen him as leader instead of Marylou.
But his accent was too Nordie and he was a man.

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1926 - 07/11/2024 12:34:35    2578772

Replying To Breffni40:  "They elected a celebrity"
True that but a businessman he would claim.

jm25 (Galway) - Posts: 1271 - 07/11/2024 12:43:48    2578775

Replying To cavanman47:  "Plenty of able politicians in SF. The problem is that their approach to opposition is the "no to everything" approach rather than constructive engagement.

Doherty bucked that trend somewhat with what he did with insurance industry, to be fair."
True, the Gov parties also steal their ideas as well, has to be frustrating coming up with ideas and never getting the chance to try them out, and someone else picking the best of them and claiming them as their own ideas.
I can see FF/FG being in Gov for the next 100 years too unless something major changes.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 3010 - 07/11/2024 12:44:09    2578776

Replying To TheFlaker:  "I think you are underestimating the pulling power Michelle Obama has. They would have chosen her this time if she really wanted it. But I don't think she is interested. Whitmer also would be a strong pick. If I was predicting now I would say it's Shapiro with a female VP."
BOTH Obamas were out campaigning for Harris as well as the Clintons and countless celebrities and they STILL lost in a landslide! I think you OVERESTIMATE the pull of Michelle Obama. Whitmer? She couldn't prevent Trump from taking Michigan and the rest of the so called Blue Wall. Shapiro makes more sense than your other suggestions though he'd have a problem in Michigan and places with large Muslim populations.

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2252 - 07/11/2024 12:46:33    2578777