James is good but hard listen to paddy on it. They could be trying to talk about lower divisions and yet Paddy will just bring it back to talking about Dublin mayo Kerry. It's the same every week
dave1988 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1140 - 13/05/2022 11:49:22 2416839 Link 2 |
And slightly off topic, but related and similar to my last point. The overall knowledge of the main pundits and podcasters beyond the top counties is very very poor. Some smaller pods are good, as they tend to have some focus on other counties, as they themselves are not from the top counties. Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2445 - 13/05/2022 12:01:46 2416841 Link 1 |
My 3 favourite football podcasts are the football pod, examiner and the GAA social. The GAA social is very different from the other two, it's interviews and discussion rather than analysis of the weekend's matches. McConville is an ever present in both the examiner and the GAA social. Kerry15 (Kerry) - Posts: 971 - 13/05/2022 12:22:01 2416849 Link 1 |
I forgot to mention A Hurlers Life which is great but it has disappeared? I have enough hours on the road to consume them all but I can't see myself paying for Wooly and Our Game. I think Our Game is great but there is enough good free content out there so I don't see myself needing any more. Surely they could get a lucrative sponsor because the content is top-notch. Wooly is a bit of a waffle merchant for me. StoreysTash (Wexford) - Posts: 1783 - 13/05/2022 12:58:44 2416860 Link 1 |
It's exactly because they don't focus totally on hurling, and include things like drinking, horse-racing and greyhound racing that make it for me a more holistic listen. I especially like it when they keep it local and about Munster hurling or the club scenes in their counties. When they go on about Leinster that same local knowledge and nous isn't there.
foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 2091 - 13/05/2022 14:13:53 2416877 Link 1 |
Leitrim GAA podcast is obviously a local-focused show but it is well produced and varied, so generally interesting. LeitrimLover94 (Leitrim) - Posts: 22 - 29/05/2022 21:29:28 2420902 Link 1 |
royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 30/05/2022 08:40:22 2420930 Link 0 |
Maybe a few niche ones. Ocean fm do a good donegal podcast during the season each Thursday and also on Sunday after championship games. It's well put together with good analysis. Conleth gilligan and Rory kavanagh gave real good insight in advance of the ulster final. In fairness to mark mchugh yesterday he spoke well at the end of the ulster final and gave good perspective. Ulsterchamps_32 (Donegal) - Posts: 780 - 30/05/2022 11:21:38 2420995 Link 1 |
AntrimJim (Antrim) - Posts: 39 - 30/05/2022 11:29:02 2420996 Link 1 |
TJ Ryan was and is well able to point out the faults and failings in managers - although he was a pretty poor manager himself.
johnocarroll17 (Limerick) - Posts: 408 - 30/05/2022 11:36:40 2421006 Link 1 |
Cheers Ulsterchamps. Brendan Devenney is always good. Good insights on the game and good craic. Does anyone know if the contributors get a few quid fir talking on some podcasts? Probably not local ones but Oisin McConville is on a lot of them! Fair play to him if he's getting paid a bit, sounds dour enough but he's he's witty and well worth a listen. You rarely hear Sunday Game-style analysis on podcasts. The speakers aren't being censored and not afraid to give their opinions on players and coaches. Sunday Game is like a wake in comparison.
GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7620 - 30/05/2022 11:47:11 2421015 Link 1 |
I like Wooly but a bit like the lads on OurGame there's enough free content out there so I don't need to pay €5 for them. A Hurlers Life is a really good podcast as well. Brian Carroll does a great job interviewing many of the great players from the 90's or 00's. ExiledInWex (Dublin) - Posts: 1256 - 30/05/2022 16:05:27 2421169 Link 0 |
You're better off paying for one that has good content and can entertain than the free ones that aren't interesting. AntrimJim (Antrim) - Posts: 39 - 30/05/2022 16:22:23 2421179 Link 1 |
Hurling Podcasts Seeking_silver (Limerick) - Posts: 411 - 30/05/2022 19:23:49 2421251 Link 1 |
Big issue here is coverage. If the same big teams are shown all the time then thats all people will know. Most decent pundits usually go to their own counties game on a weekend(and maybe a club game or 2) and then watch whatever Sky/RTE show. Very hard to get a good grasp on 32 counties when you only ever see the same 7/8 regularly. This is where having the separate packages for hurling/football and the various tiers would lead to better coverage. If Virgin/TG4 had Tailteann cup then these pundits would have to watch those games and maybe be working at some of them so would gain better knowledge. martyW (Westmeath) - Posts: 333 - 31/05/2022 09:11:16 2421285 Link 1 |
link GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7620 - 29/05/2023 09:10:11 2482447 Link 0 |
Some good ones on YouTube pre football final. Kew (Galway) - Posts: 97 - 25/07/2024 21:44:17 2561607 Link 1 |
Darragh Ose is on this week for the final
Kew (Galway) - Posts: 97 - 26/07/2024 12:34:39 2561717 Link 0 |
Surprised at you, as it's completely Munster biased!!!!
bloodandbandage (Cork) - Posts: 348 - 26/07/2024 12:40:31 2561719 Link 0 |
Tommy Rooney is hard too listen to. Paddy Andrews and James O'D know there stuff but it's all a bit a like a league of their own with all the forced banter. I wouldn't dream of paying for it. 3rdmidfielder (Australia) - Posts: 332 - 26/07/2024 13:35:28 2561748 Link 1 |