Mayo GAA Thread

Westport edge Cross in extra time.. Andy Moran has got to be considering what role Lee Keegan can offer his team next year, is their one more year left in Leeroy ?

Sad to see Kobe heading for the AFL, you would have to say Mayo would be a strong outfit if they had all their expats home from AFL and their best available at home all training for the county. The new curse is the AFL

harleys (Leitrim) - Posts: 323 - 12/10/2025 07:19:07    2639417

AFL money can buy you a lot of things, but 80+ years of age looking back on your life wondering what if.
Give it all up for 1 chance as Willie Wallace would say.
Kobe Mullen Leroy…… TBC

Sportsfanatic90 (Westmeath) - Posts: 240 - 12/10/2025 23:37:45    2639628

Replying To Sportsfanatic90:  "AFL money can buy you a lot of things, but 80+ years of age looking back on your life wondering what if.
Give it all up for 1 chance as Willie Wallace would say.
Kobe Mullen Leroy…… TBC"
He can go wherever his talent takes him, if he chooses, but not to the AFL before he's 18.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 8275 - 14/10/2025 04:08:11    2639867

I'm never in favour of hyping up young lads, however the horse has long bolted on this one. Kobe is a generational talent in the making. He has it all. If we lose him to the AFL it will be a fatal blow.

I'm beginning to dislike the AFL very much.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11790 - 14/10/2025 07:03:22    2639868

Ah bless, Mayo are learning what its like to lose players to other sports

Football's been the only show in town and Mayo have taken advantage (or haven't, depending on your perspective) of that for long enough

PressureKick (UK) - Posts: 313 - 14/10/2025 11:39:05    2639915

Replying To yew_tree:  "I'm never in favour of hyping up young lads, however the horse has long bolted on this one. Kobe is a generational talent in the making. He has it all. If we lose him to the AFL it will be a fatal blow.

I'm beginning to dislike the AFL very much."
It wasn't the AFL that cost ye All Irelands

SixtiesKid (Galway) - Posts: 365 - 14/10/2025 12:22:19    2639923

Replying To SixtiesKid:  "It wasn't the AFL that cost ye All Irelands"
What cost you lot v Armagh in 24? What cost you lot being knocked out by Meath this year then went and got a 20 point beating......
Ye are hardly ones to talk !

S1234 (Mayo) - Posts: 396 - 14/10/2025 12:57:09    2639932

Replying To PressureKick:  "Ah bless, Mayo are learning what its like to lose players to other sports

Football's been the only show in town and Mayo have taken advantage (or haven't, depending on your perspective) of that for long enough"
What are you on about we already kmow what it's like we lost Mullin sure . What do you mean we have taken advantage taken advantage of what exactly? Silly comment .

S1234 (Mayo) - Posts: 396 - 14/10/2025 13:03:23    2639934

Replying To S1234:  "What are you on about we already kmow what it's like we lost Mullin sure . What do you mean we have taken advantage taken advantage of what exactly? Silly comment ."
Football is the only popular sport in Mayo. It means you don't lose your best teenage athletes to other sports at anywhere near the same rate as other counties. It's why Mayo have scarcely produced a notable Soccer, Hurling or Rugby player in its history. (Calen Doris is about as from Mayo as Liam Gallagher)

Keith Higgins is a good example. A more talented hurler than footballer when he was younger, and in most counties would end up being solely a hurler. But in Mayo that was hardly an option so Mayo footballers got the good fortune of keeping him. It's not like that in a lot of counties where not only do you have hurling competing with football, you have semi professional Rugby and Soccer teams sniffing around your good minors once they show any bit of athletic promise

PressureKick (UK) - Posts: 313 - 14/10/2025 15:06:19    2639962

Replying To PressureKick:  "Football is the only popular sport in Mayo. It means you don't lose your best teenage athletes to other sports at anywhere near the same rate as other counties. It's why Mayo have scarcely produced a notable Soccer, Hurling or Rugby player in its history. (Calen Doris is about as from Mayo as Liam Gallagher)

Keith Higgins is a good example. A more talented hurler than footballer when he was younger, and in most counties would end up being solely a hurler. But in Mayo that was hardly an option so Mayo footballers got the good fortune of keeping him. It's not like that in a lot of counties where not only do you have hurling competing with football, you have semi professional Rugby and Soccer teams sniffing around your good minors once they show any bit of athletic promise"
What exactly are we supposed to do? We don't pay our players so can't compete with the AFL bar for pride of that dream of hopefully lifting sam one day .

S1234 (Mayo) - Posts: 396 - 14/10/2025 16:57:07    2639985

Replying To PressureKick:  "Football is the only popular sport in Mayo. It means you don't lose your best teenage athletes to other sports at anywhere near the same rate as other counties. It's why Mayo have scarcely produced a notable Soccer, Hurling or Rugby player in its history. (Calen Doris is about as from Mayo as Liam Gallagher)

Keith Higgins is a good example. A more talented hurler than footballer when he was younger, and in most counties would end up being solely a hurler. But in Mayo that was hardly an option so Mayo footballers got the good fortune of keeping him. It's not like that in a lot of counties where not only do you have hurling competing with football, you have semi professional Rugby and Soccer teams sniffing around your good minors once they show any bit of athletic promise"
Doris is from Mayo, Gallagher is from the same place as you

Cumann1 (Mayo) - Posts: 93 - 14/10/2025 17:34:13    2639990

Replying To Cumann1:  "Doris is from Mayo, Gallagher is from the same place as you"
Where is Andy Moran form?

jm25 (Galway) - Posts: 1691 - 14/10/2025 19:02:47    2640001

Replying To jm25:  "Where is Andy Moran form?"
Form?

Cumann1 (Mayo) - Posts: 93 - 14/10/2025 19:23:05    2640005

Gaelic Football is number one sport in Mayo for definite. But Basketball, Rugby, Soccer, Hurling are not popular sports in Mayo? It's not like that in a 'lot of' counties where not only do you have hurling competing with football, you have semi professional Rugby and Soccer teams sniffing around your good minors once they show any bit of athletic promise? Which counties are they? Your post is very vague. Try posting some specifics, some facts maybe. Plenty of underage GAA players play other sports in schools and clubs. I think talented athletes in all sports will be get some sniffing around from sports other than GAA sports, regardless of the most popular sport in the county. It's up to the player themselves to decide if they want to try that sport at a higher level.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 8275 - 14/10/2025 19:28:21    2640007

Roscommon.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 8275 - 14/10/2025 19:29:10    2640008

Andy considersx himself Mayo . If he really loved the Rossies that much why didn't he make himself available to a Rossie club that play in the Rossie league? . Or why didn't he make himself available to play for the Roscommon he didn't because he bleeds green & red and thata just facts !

S1234 (Mayo) - Posts: 396 - 14/10/2025 19:47:41    2640012

These constant Andy Moran jibes are real childish

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 2252 - 14/10/2025 21:11:23    2640023